DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Regarding first argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended abstract overcomes prior objection.
Examiner has reviewed amended abstract and agrees with applicant assertion. Objection of specification for deficient abstract is hereby withdrawn,
Regarding second argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended independent claims overcome prior art rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the TDW is not determined by the UE and is determined by the network. The claim language does not identify whether the apparatus is the UE or the network. Further, as evidenced in [¶0092] of Bhamri it is said that ” In various embodiments, if the TDW duration is not configured, then the TDW duration is implicitly determined.” Which discloses that the apparatus can be determined. Applicant further argues that the amended claim language of determining based on a capability of an apparatus is not disclosed. The disclosure of the prior art implies that there is a capability factor, as there is a configuration applied. One of ordinary skill in the art would know that a function or configuration can not be applied or executed if the capability to execute does not exist as the device would be left in an unusable state due to an incorrect configuration. The overall length of the multiple pusch transmissions is disclosed in the prior art as cited below. For at least these reasons the rejection is proper and thus maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhamri (US 20240114490 A1) hereafter Bhamri.
Regarding Claim 17:
Bhamri discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising; circuitry, which, in operation, ([¶0051] Furthermore, the network unit 104 may include a processor 302, a memory 304,) determines multiple time domain windows for multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions,([¶0053] In certain embodiments, the transmitter 310: transmits a first configuration, wherein the first configuration includes: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling, wherein the duration of the TDW indicates a number of symbols across which joint channel estimation is performed; or a combination thereof; and transmits a second configuration. The second configuration includes: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof. [¶0092] In certain embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). In various embodiments, if the TDW duration is not configured, then the TDW duration is implicitly determined.) and a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits reference signals based on the multiple time domain windows, ([¶0052] the transmitter 310: transmits a first configuration, wherein the first configuration includes: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel;) wherein, lengths of the multiple time domain windows are (i) determined based on a capability of the communication apparatus, and (ii) less than or equal to an overall length of the multiple PUSCH transmissions ([¶0123] In some embodiments, the third indication to enable the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is determined by a TDRA table, and if the number of transmission occasions across which the single TB is transmitted is not configured in the TDRA table or if the number of number of transmission occasions across which the single TB is transmitted is configured and the number is equal to one, then the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is not enabled. [¶0124] In one embodiment, a method of a network device comprises: transmitting a first configuration, wherein the first configuration comprises: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling, wherein the duration of the TDW indicates a number of symbols across which joint channel estimation is performed; or a combination thereof; and transmitting a second configuration, wherein the second configuration comprises: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof. [¶0092] In certain embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). In various embodiments, if the TDW duration is not configured, then the TDW duration is implicitly determined. [¶0093] the TDW duration is determined based on a number of contiguous time-domain symbols across multiple transmission occasions. In certain embodiments, if frequency hopping is enabled, then the TDW duration is not greater than the frequency hopping duration. In some embodiments, the DM-RS bundle duration comprises at least two durations for a multiple number of transmission occasions.)
Regarding Claim 18:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein a length of each of the multiple time domain windows is indicated by radio resource control (RRC). ([¶0062] In a first embodiment, additional DM-RS configuration enhancements may be made for DM-RS bundling. According to the first embodiment, two sets of additional DM-RS configurations are semi-statically (e.g., radio resource control (“RRC”) signaling) configured to a UE,)
Regarding Claim 19:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein a length of each of the multiple time domain windows is determined from a subset of candidate lengths of a time domain window. ([¶0093] the TDW duration is determined based on a number of contiguous time-domain symbols across multiple transmission occasions. In certain embodiments, if frequency hopping is enabled, then the TDW duration is not greater than the frequency hopping duration. In some embodiments, the DM-RS bundle duration comprises at least two durations for a multiple number of transmission occasions. [¶0095] the third indication to enable the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is determined by a TDRA table)
Regarding Claim 20:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein each candidate length included in the subset is a number from two up to a total number of the multiple PUSCH transmissions. ([¶0057] In various embodiments, there may be DM-RS bundling across multiple transmissions and/or repetitions (e.g., such as multiple PUSCH or multiple PUCCH) and single TB transmission across multi-slot physical channel (e.g., such as multi-slot PUSCH).)
Regarding Claim 21:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein the multiple time domain windows include time domain windows having lengths different from one another. ([¶0059] In some embodiments, if a single TB is required to be scheduled across multiple transmission occasions (e.g., such as one uplink (“UL”) TB to be scheduled across multiple PUSCHs) or a single TB is required to be scheduled across a single transmission occasion spanning multiple slots (e.g., such as one UL TB scheduled across multi-slot PUSCH), then to configure, indicate, and/or provide at least two durations for a transmission occasion (e.g., two values of “L” in a time-domains resource allocation table such as layer 1 (“L1”) and layer 2 (“L2”)) and a number of transmission occasions (e.g., either by TDRA table and/or separately), where a total length (e.g., duration) of the transmission is applied as: L1*number of transmission occasions+L2. In such embodiments, for two values of duration (L) for transmission occasions, the first value of the duration is applied to all transmission occasions except the last transmission occasion and the second value of the durations is applied only to the last transmission occasion.[¶0119] In some embodiments, the DM-RS bundle duration comprises at least two durations for a multiple number of transmission occasions.)
Regarding Claim 23:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein a length of each of the multiple time domain windows is a same length as an inter-slot frequency hopping interval. ([¶0077] In some embodiments, if both frequency hopping and DM-RS bundling are configured and/or indicated to a UE, then a duration of frequency hop and duration for DM-RS bundling is same. In one instance, even if the duration of configured TDW for DM-RS bundling is greater than the duration of the frequency hop, still the actual duration of the TDW would be equal to the duration of frequency hop. Basically, the DM-RS bundle cannot span beyond the hop.)
Regarding Claim 24:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein an inter-slot frequency hopping interval is a multiple of a length of each of the multiple domain windows. ([¶0088] In certain embodiments, if frequency hopping is enabled for PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission, a UE is configured with time-domain resources for a single hop and additionally configured and/or indicated with a number of frequency hops. Then the total duration of the transmission is calculated by number of hops*length of each hop.)
Regarding Claim 25:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein a length of each of the multiple time domain windows is different from an inter-slot frequency hopping interval. ([¶0078] FIG. 8 is a schematic block diagram illustrating one embodiment of timing 800 with multiple DM-RS bundles due to frequency hopping. As illustrated, a frequency hop is between a DM-RS bundle 1 802 and a DM-RS bundle 2 804. In FIG. 8, 4 slots are scheduled, and DM-RS bundling duration is configured and/or indicated as 2 slots and frequency hopping is enabled, then a duration of each hop is also considered as 2 slots. Furthermore, a UE is configured with two sets of additional DM-RS configuration, the additional DM-RS pattern is applied according to a first configuration on a 1st slot of each of the hops and an additional DM-RS pattern is applied according to a second configuration on a 2nd slot of each of the hops.)
Regarding Claim 26:
Bhamri discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Bhamri discloses:
wherein a length of each of the multiple time domain windows is determined based on the number of symbols, slots, or repetitions allocated for the multiple PUSCH transmissions. ([¶0093] In one embodiment, the TDW duration is determined based on a number of contiguous time-domain symbols across multiple transmission occasions.)
Regarding Claim 27:
Bhamri discloses:
A communication method,([¶0093] the method 1100) comprising: determining by a communication apparatus one or more time domain windows for multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions, ([¶0053] In certain embodiments, the transmitter 310: transmits a first configuration, wherein the first configuration includes: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling, wherein the duration of the TDW indicates a number of symbols across which joint channel estimation is performed; or a combination thereof; and transmits a second configuration. The second configuration includes: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof. [¶0092] In certain embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). In various embodiments, if the TDW duration is not configured, then the TDW duration is implicitly determined.) wherein lengths of the multiple time domain windows are (i) determined based on a capability of the communication apparatus, and (ii) less than or equal to an overall length of the multiple PUSCH transmissions; ([¶0123] In some embodiments, the third indication to enable the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is determined by a TDRA table, and if the number of transmission occasions across which the single TB is transmitted is not configured in the TDRA table or if the number of number of transmission occasions across which the single TB is transmitted is configured and the number is equal to one, then the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is not enabled. [¶0124] In one embodiment, a method of a network device comprises: transmitting a first configuration, wherein the first configuration comprises: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling, wherein the duration of the TDW indicates a number of symbols across which joint channel estimation is performed; or a combination thereof; and transmitting a second configuration, wherein the second configuration comprises: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof. [¶0092] In certain embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). In various embodiments, if the TDW duration is not configured, then the TDW duration is implicitly determined. [¶0093] the TDW duration is determined based on a number of contiguous time-domain symbols across multiple transmission occasions. In certain embodiments, if frequency hopping is enabled, then the TDW duration is not greater than the frequency hopping duration. In some embodiments, the DM-RS bundle duration comprises at least two durations for a multiple number of transmission occasions.) and transmitting reference signals based on the multiple time domain windows. ([¶0097] In various embodiments, the method 1100 includes transmitting 1102 a first configuration. The first configuration includes: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling, wherein the duration of the TDW indicates a number of symbols across which joint channel estimation is performed; or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the method 1100 includes transmitting 1104 a second configuration. The second configuration includes: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof.)
Regarding Claim 28:
Bhamri discloses:
A communication method, ([¶0102] a method of a user equipment (UE) comprises) comprising: receiving, by a communication apparatus, an indication of multiple time domain windows for multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions, ([¶0102] receiving a first configuration from a network, wherein the first configuration comprises: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling,) determining, by the communication apparatus, lengths of the multiple time domain windows; and transmitting reference signals based on the multiple time domain windows, ([¶0093] the TDW duration is determined based on a number of contiguous time-domain symbols across multiple transmission occasions. In certain embodiments, if frequency hopping is enabled, then the TDW duration is not greater than the frequency hopping duration. In some embodiments, the DM-RS bundle duration comprises at least two durations for a multiple number of transmission occasions. [¶0102] and receiving a second configuration from the network, wherein the second configuration comprises: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof.)
wherein, lengths of the multiple time domain windows are (i) determined based on a capability of the communication apparatus, and (ii) less than or equal to an overall length of the multiple PUSCH transmissions. ([¶0123] In some embodiments, the third indication to enable the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is determined by a TDRA table, and if the number of transmission occasions across which the single TB is transmitted is not configured in the TDRA table or if the number of number of transmission occasions across which the single TB is transmitted is configured and the number is equal to one, then the single TB transmission across multiple transmission occasions is not enabled. [¶0124] In one embodiment, a method of a network device comprises: transmitting a first configuration, wherein the first configuration comprises: a first indication to enable demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundling for a physical channel; a second indication of a duration for a time-domain window (TDW) length for DM-RS bundling, wherein the duration of the TDW indicates a number of symbols across which joint channel estimation is performed; or a combination thereof; and transmitting a second configuration, wherein the second configuration comprises: a third indication to enable a single transport block (TB) scheduling across multiple transmission occasion for a physical channel; and a fourth indication of a number of transmission occasion over which a single transport block is transmitted, received, or a combination thereof. [¶0092] In certain embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some embodiments, the physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). In various embodiments, if the TDW duration is not configured, then the TDW duration is implicitly determined. [¶0093] the TDW duration is determined based on a number of contiguous time-domain symbols across multiple transmission occasions. In certain embodiments, if frequency hopping is enabled, then the TDW duration is not greater than the frequency hopping duration. In some embodiments, the DM-RS bundle duration comprises at least two durations for a multiple number of transmission occasions.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463