Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 13, 16, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, 8, 13, 16, and 19, the acronym “DRB” is undefined (data radio bearer, per ¶ [0002] of the specification), neither within the said claim(s) nor in the preceding claim(s) which the said claim(s) is dependent on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 13-14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240179753, hereinafter, “Wu”) in view of Agiwal et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230380003, hereinafter, “Agiwal”).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches:
A terminal device, comprising (Wu: [0033] FIG. 1 shows an example communication environment 100 in which example embodiments of the present disclosure can be implemented. In the communication environment 100, a plurality of communication devices, including a first device 110 and a second device 120 can communicate with each other.... Figs. 1-5):
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the terminal device to (Wu: [0134] A computer program 530 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 510. The program 530 may be stored in the memory, e.g., ROM 524. The processor 510 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 530 into the RAM 522 ... Figs. 1-5):
determine whether a signaling radio bearer (SRB) is allowed for small data transmission (SDT) (Wu: [0053] In some example embodiments, as the MAC layer 206 also confirms that SDT is allowed, the RRC layer 202 may determine 306A to perform SDT RRC resumption with the radio bearers for SDT in order to initiate the communication procedure for SDT. The radio bearers to be resumed for SDT may include a signaling radio bearer (SRB), such as SRB1 or SRB2 ... Figs. 1-5);
determine whether the SRB is allowed to initiate the SDT without arrival of SDT DRB data (Wu: [0044] … In this solution, allowance of SDT initiation is checked at different protocol layers. If SDT is found allowed for initiation, a communication procedure for the SDT is initiated … [0049] Specifically, the first device 110 determines 302 whether SDT is allowed (or available) to be initiated at a first protocol layer, e.g., the higher layer, RRC layer 202. The initiation of the SDT is triggered at the first device 110 if some predetermined criteria are satisfied … [0051] In some example embodiments, if it is determined at the RRC layer 202 that the SDT is allowed to be initiated, the RRC layer 202 may send 303, to the MAC layer 206, a request to determine whether SDT is allowed. … [0053] In some example embodiments, as the MAC layer 206 also confirms that SDT is allowed, the RRC layer 202 may determine 306A to perform SDT RRC resumption with the radio bearers for SDT in order to initiate the communication procedure for SDT ... In an example embodiment, the RRC layer 202 may resume SRB1 or SRB2 for SDT. In an example embodiment, the RRC layer 202 may transmit 307, to the PDCP layer 204, a request to resume at least one radio bearer (e.g., SRB or DRB) for SDT … [0056] In some example embodiments, SDT may be performed based on a random access (RA) procedure or using a Configured Grant (CG) ... Figs. 1-5).
Although Wu teaches a device confirming if SDT is allowed, and determining whether SDT is allowed to be initiated at different layers, Wu does not explicitly teach:
transmit messages carried on the SRB to a network device based on the determinations,
wherein the terminal device is in a non-Radio Resource Control (RRC)_CONNECTED state with the network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Agiwal teaches:
transmit messages carried on the SRB to a network device based on the determinations (Agiwal: [0164] ... Note that upon initiation of SDT, UE resumes SRB1, UE resumes SRB 2 if SDT is allowed/enabled/configured for SRB2 and/or UE resumes DRB(s) for which SDT is allowed/enabled/configured, UE derive security keys and transmit RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest as explained earlier ... Fig. 4),
wherein the terminal device is in a non-Radio Resource Control (RRC)_CONNECTED state with the network device (Agiwal: [0162] UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state [i.e., not in RRC_CONNECTED state] at operation 410. Network (i.e., gNB) has signaled to UE the DRB(s) for which SDT is enabled/allowed ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to include the features as taught by Agiwal above in order to not delay the data transmission of non small data transmission (SDT) radio bearer. (Agiwal, ¶ [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches:
A method performed by a terminal device, the method comprising (Wu: [0033] FIG. 1 shows an example communication environment 100 in which example embodiments of the present disclosure can be implemented. In the communication environment 100, a plurality of communication devices, including a first device 110 and a second device 120 can communicate with each other.... Figs. 1-5):
determining whether a signaling radio bearer (SRB) is allowed for small data transmission (SDT) (Wu: [0053] In some example embodiments, as the MAC layer 206 also confirms that SDT is allowed, the RRC layer 202 may determine 306A to perform SDT RRC resumption with the radio bearers for SDT in order to initiate the communication procedure for SDT. The radio bearers to be resumed for SDT may include a signaling radio bearer (SRB), such as SRB1 or SRB2 ... Figs. 1-5);
determining whether the SRB is allowed to initiate the SDT without arrival of SDT DRB data (Wu: [0044] … In this solution, allowance of SDT initiation is checked at different protocol layers. If SDT is found allowed for initiation, a communication procedure for the SDT is initiated … [0049] Specifically, the first device 110 determines 302 whether SDT is allowed (or available) to be initiated at a first protocol layer, e.g., the higher layer, RRC layer 202. The initiation of the SDT is triggered at the first device 110 if some predetermined criteria are satisfied … [0051] In some example embodiments, if it is determined at the RRC layer 202 that the SDT is allowed to be initiated, the RRC layer 202 may send 303, to the MAC layer 206, a request to determine whether SDT is allowed. … [0053] In some example embodiments, as the MAC layer 206 also confirms that SDT is allowed, the RRC layer 202 may determine 306A to perform SDT RRC resumption with the radio bearers for SDT in order to initiate the communication procedure for SDT ... In an example embodiment, the RRC layer 202 may resume SRB1 or SRB2 for SDT. In an example embodiment, the RRC layer 202 may transmit 307, to the PDCP layer 204, a request to resume at least one radio bearer (e.g., SRB or DRB) for SDT … [0056] In some example embodiments, SDT may be performed based on a random access (RA) procedure or using a Configured Grant (CG) ... Figs. 1-5).
Although Wu teaches a device confirming if SDT is allowed, and determining whether SDT is allowed to be initiated at different layers, Wu does not explicitly teach:
transmitting messages carried on the SRB to a network device based on the determinations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Agiwal teaches:
transmitting messages carried on the SRB to a network device based on the determinations. (Agiwal: [0164] ... Note that upon initiation of SDT, UE resumes SRB1, UE resumes SRB 2 if SDT is allowed/enabled/configured for SRB2 and/or UE resumes DRB(s) for which SDT is allowed/enabled/configured, UE derive security keys and transmit RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest as explained earlier ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to include the features as taught by Agiwal above in order to not delay the data transmission of non small data transmission (SDT) radio bearer. (Agiwal, ¶ [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches:
A processor for wireless communication, comprising (Wu: [0033] FIG. 1 shows an example communication environment 100 in which example embodiments of the present disclosure can be implemented. In the communication environment 100, a plurality of communication devices, including a first device 110 and a second device 120 can communicate with each other.... Figs. 1-5):
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (Wu: [0134] A computer program 530 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 510. The program 530 may be stored in the memory, e.g., ROM 524. The processor 510 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 530 into the RAM 522 ... Figs. 1-5):
determine whether a signaling radio bearer (SRB) is allowed for small data transmission (SDT) (Wu: [0053] In some example embodiments, as the MAC layer 206 also confirms that SDT is allowed, the RRC layer 202 may determine 306A to perform SDT RRC resumption with the radio bearers for SDT in order to initiate the communication procedure for SDT. The radio bearers to be resumed for SDT may include a signaling radio bearer (SRB), such as SRB1 or SRB2 ... Figs. 1-5);
determine whether the SRB is allowed to initiate the SDT without arrival of SDT DRB data (Wu: [0044] … In this solution, allowance of SDT initiation is checked at different protocol layers. If SDT is found allowed for initiation, a communication procedure for the SDT is initiated … [0049] Specifically, the first device 110 determines 302 whether SDT is allowed (or available) to be initiated at a first protocol layer, e.g., the higher layer, RRC layer 202. The initiation of the SDT is triggered at the first device 110 if some predetermined criteria are satisfied … [0051] In some example embodiments, if it is determined at the RRC layer 202 that the SDT is allowed to be initiated, the RRC layer 202 may send 303, to the MAC layer 206, a request to determine whether SDT is allowed. … [0053] In some example embodiments, as the MAC layer 206 also confirms that SDT is allowed, the RRC layer 202 may determine 306A to perform SDT RRC resumption with the radio bearers for SDT in order to initiate the communication procedure for SDT ... In an example embodiment, the RRC layer 202 may resume SRB1 or SRB2 for SDT. In an example embodiment, the RRC layer 202 may transmit 307, to the PDCP layer 204, a request to resume at least one radio bearer (e.g., SRB or DRB) for SDT … [0056] In some example embodiments, SDT may be performed based on a random access (RA) procedure or using a Configured Grant (CG) ... Figs. 1-5).
Although Wu teaches a device confirming if SDT is allowed, and determining whether SDT is allowed to be initiated at different layers, Wu does not explicitly teach:
transmit messages carried on the SRB to a network device based on the determinations, wherein the processor is in a non-Radio Resource Control (RRC)_CONNECTED state with the network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Agiwal teaches:
transmit messages carried on the SRB to a network device based on the determinations (Agiwal: [0164] ... Note that upon initiation of SDT, UE resumes SRB1, UE resumes SRB 2 if SDT is allowed/enabled/configured for SRB2 and/or UE resumes DRB(s) for which SDT is allowed/enabled/configured, UE derive security keys and transmit RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest as explained earlier ... Fig. 4), wherein the processor is in a non-Radio Resource Control (RRC)_CONNECTED state with the network device (Agiwal: [0162] UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state [i.e., not in RRC_CONNECTED state] at operation 410. Network (i.e., gNB) has signaled to UE the DRB(s) for which SDT is enabled/allowed ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to include the features as taught by Agiwal above in order to not delay the data transmission of non small data transmission (SDT) radio bearer. (Agiwal, ¶ [0050]).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, and 19 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
whether the SRB is allowed for the SDT is configured by the network device on a per message to be carried on the SRB basis or on a per RB basis (Agiwal: [0163] ... In an alternate embodiment, SDT procedure is initiated by UE when MO [mobile originated] data (can be user data or signaling data) becomes available at UE for RB(s) (i.e., DRB(s) and/or SRBs) for which SDT is configured and data is not available for RBs for which SDT is not configured and other criteria (e.g., SDT data threshold, RSRP threshold, SDT resource validity, etc.) to initiate SDT is met. Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claims 1 and 19.
Regarding claims 3, 18, and 21, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 16, and 19 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
whether the SRB is allowed to initiate the SDT is configured by the network device on a per message to be carried on the SRB basis or on a per RB basis (Agiwal: [0163] ... In an alternate embodiment, SDT procedure is initiated by UE when MO [mobile originated] data (can be user data or signaling data) becomes available at UE for RB(s) (i.e., DRB(s) and/or SRBs) for which SDT is configured and data is not available for RBs for which SDT is not configured and other criteria (e.g., SDT data threshold, RSRP threshold, SDT resource validity, etc.) to initiate SDT is met. Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claims 1, 16, and 19.
Regarding claim 4, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
the SRB is configured to allow for the SDT and allowed to initiate the SDT without any data radio bearers (DRBs) data arrival for the SDT (Agiwal: [0163] ... In an alternate embodiment, SDT procedure is initiated by UE when MO [mobile originated] data (can be user data or signaling data) becomes available at UE for RB(s) (i.e., DRB(s) and/or SRBs) for which SDT is configured and data is not available for RBs for which SDT is not configured and other criteria (e.g., SDT data threshold, RSRP threshold, SDT resource validity, etc.) to initiate SDT is met. Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
the SRB is configured to allow for the SDT, but not allowed to initiate the SDT, when there is no data arrival from DRBs for the SDT (Agiwal: [0160] Small data transmission is configured by the network (i.e., gNB) on a per DRB (or radio bearer (RB)) basis. The SDT procedure is initiated by UE in RRC_INACTIVE when data arrives only for DRB(s) (or RB(s)) for which SDT is configured …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
when the SRB is not configured for the SDT, the messages carried on the SRB are transmitted by multiplexing with an allowed data for the SDT or DRBs for the SDT (Agiwal: [0176] In the UL grant received during the SDT procedure, UE may multiplex data from both SDT and non SDT LCHs …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein
criteria for whether the SRB initiates the SDT include a criterion user data volume is smaller than a data volume threshold, wherein calculation of the user data volume includes:
counting in only the arrival data volume of the configured SDT DRBs if the SDT is configured to be initiated only by DRBs for the SDT (Agiwal: [0163] SDT procedure is initiated by UE when mobile originated (MO) data becomes available at UE for DRB(s) for which SDT is configured/enabled/allowed and data is not available for DRBs for which SDT is not configured and other criteria (e.g., sum of data volume in all RB(s) for which SDT is configured/enabled/allowed is less than (or less than equal to) the SDT data threshold ... Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
criteria for whether the SRB initiates the SDT include at least defining a timer for the SRB, wherein once data for the SRB arrives, the timer is started, and if a UL resource for the SDT arrives, the data is transmitted depending on the state of the timer (Agiwal: [0187] (Alternate) While the SDT procedure is ongoing (in other words while the SDT timer is running), if data arrives for non SDT SRB or if cumulative volume of data for non SDT DRBs is greater than threshold, where threshold is configured to UE by gNB in RRCRelease message or in RRCReconfiguration message or system information or another signaling message, UE may perform the following operation: … [0188] If the priority of LCH of non SDT DRB (or RB) having UL data available is higher than the highest priority LCH of SDT DRB(s) (or RB(s)) having UL data available; or if none of LCHs have UL data available: MAC entity in the UE triggers BSR at operation 540. In an embodiment, the BSR can be regular BSR … [0190] In an embodiment, for BSR triggered due to arrival of data of non SDT DRB (or RB), SR is not triggered, and RA is not triggered. BSR MAC CE is transmitted in UL grant received during the SDT procedure at operation 560.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
wherein the SRB specific for the SDT is configured by the network (Agiwal: [0162] ... In an alternate embodiment, gNB has signaled to UE the RB(s) (i.e., DRB(s) and/or SRBs) for which SDT is enabled/allowed. Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
the SRB as a normal SRB is configured by the network, wherein the priority of the SRB is configured and used temporarily with a specific priority of the DRB for the SDT (Agiwal: [0170] In case of data arrival for SDT DRB (or RB) while SDT is ongoing or in case of data arrival for a DRB (or RB) while SDT is not ongoing (e.g. in RRC connected state), if data become available for LCH of a DRB (or RB) and if the priority of LCH of DRB (or RB) for which UL data becomes available is higher than the highest priority LCH of DRB(s) (or RB(s)) having UL data available, then regular BSR is triggered. However, while the SDT procedure is ongoing and if data becomes available for one or more DRBs (or RB(s)) for which SDT is not configured, then irrespective of LCH priority of non SDT DRB (or RB), BSR is triggered).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
wherein the SRB is SRB2 Agiwal: [0164] ... Note that upon initiation of SDT, UE resumes SRB1, UE resumes SRB 2 if SDT is allowed/enabled/configured for SRB2 and/or UE resumes DRB(s) for which SDT is allowed/enabled/configured, UE derive security keys and transmit RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest as explained earlier ... Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
Agiwal further teaches:
wherein the terminal device is not in a Radio Resource Control (RRC)_CONNECTED state with the network device (Agiwal: [0162] UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state [i.e., not in RRC_CONNECTED state] at operation 410. Network (i.e., gNB) has signaled to UE the DRB(s) for which SDT is enabled/allowed ... Fig. 4).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Agiwal is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 16.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu-Agiwal in view of Ericsson, “CP aspects for SDT”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #113e, R2-2101177, hereinafter, “Ericsson”, Also in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 7, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wu-Agiwal does not explicitly teach:
criteria for whether the SRB initiates the SDT include a criterion that the data for the SRB arrives earlier than the uplink (UL) resource for the SDT by a time interval less than a threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ericsson teaches:
criteria for whether the SRB initiates the SDT include a criterion that the data for the SRB arrives earlier than the uplink (UL) resource for the SDT by a time interval less than a threshold (Ericsson: The UE attempting an SDT access either via CG Type 1 or RACH depends on the availability of a grant, i.e. if the UL synchronization state is adequate according to a running timer … For the CG-SDT case, the situation is somewhat different. Similar to RA-SDT, the first UL transmission will contain an RRC ResumeRequest. Since the periodicity of a CG configuration can be within a wide range it cannot always be expected that the RRC Release will come after each CG transmission ... Therefore, it is advantageous that the new timer for SDT failure detection is restarted after each UL or DL transmission, giving better flexibility for the gNB to control the validity and effectiveness of the configuration. After every transmission on a CG occasion the UE will expect HARQ acknowledgement and possibly other DL data. However, the UE does not need a new NCC or I-RNTI after each CG transmission. It should therefore be sufficient to send the RRC Release if the gNB wishes to update the configuration, e.g. issuing a new TA when TAT is about to expire, keep the new timer for SDT failure detection from expiring or to release the configuration ... [Page 3, Section 2.1.1 and Page 5, Section 2.2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu-Agiwal to include the features as taught by Ericsson above in order to provide better flexibility for the gNB to control the validity and effectiveness of the configuration. (Ericsson, ¶ [Page 5, Section 2.2]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu-Agiwal in view of Kadiri et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210259031, hereinafter, “Kadiri”).
Regarding claim 11, Wu-Agiwal discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wu-Agiwal does not explicitly teach:
a configuration for the SRB allowed for the SDT is implicitly or explicitly requested by the UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kadiri teaches:
a configuration for the SRB allowed for the SDT is implicitly or explicitly requested by the UE (Kadiri: [0057] Selecting a SRB configuration without knowing a UE's radio capabilities may limit the base station's ability to tailor or optimize the SRB configuration for the UE. This may be particularly problematic for cellular IoT (CIoT) devices, such as eMTC or NB-IoT devices, using control plane optimization for small data transmission and these CIoT devices may have varying radio capabilities for different radio enhancements. Thus, it is desirable for the base station to obtain the UE radio capabilities of such devices before selecting and transmitting the SRB configuration in the RRC connection setup message … [0169] At block 1226, the BS transmits the SRB configuration to the UE in an RRC connection setup message ... Figs. 4, 12C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu-Agiwal to include the features as taught by Kadiri above in order to optimize the SRB configuration. (Kadiri, ¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu-Agiwal-Kadiri discloses on the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Kadiri further teaches:
the implicit request includes at least the UE capability with an indication of SRB based SDT (Kadiri: [0057] Selecting a SRB configuration without knowing a UE's radio capabilities may limit the base station's ability to tailor or optimize the SRB configuration for the UE. This may be particularly problematic for cellular IoT (CIoT) devices, such as eMTC or NB-IoT devices, using control plane optimization for small data transmission and these CIoT devices may have varying radio capabilities for different radio enhancements. Thus, it is desirable for the base station to obtain the UE radio capabilities of such devices before selecting and transmitting the SRB configuration in the RRC connection setup message … [0169] At block 1226, the BS transmits the SRB configuration to the UE in an RRC connection setup message ... Figs. 4, 12C).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Kadiri is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 11.
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416