DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Non-final Rejection is in response to the Response After Final Action dated June 17, 2026 filed in response to the Final Rejection dated April 7, 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 30 is withdrawn in view of the amendment of claim 30 addressing the rejection.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office action are maintained as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Starting at the bottom of page 12, in relation to claim 32, Applicant argues the Office action does not establish why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the grinding mill structure of Lechner and Haack using features from Hartnett. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Numbered paragraph 70 of the previous Office action establishes why a person of ordinary skill would have made the modification, stating “A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to Lechner’s spacers would provide additional support to Haack’s circular knife blade elements as Hartnett teaches.” Emphasis added.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). M.P.E.P. 2141,I states, in relevant part, “the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that "[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. The Supreme Court stated that there are "[t]hree cases decided after Graham [that] illustrate this doctrine." Id. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. (1) "In United States v. Adams, . . . [t]he Court recognized that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result." Id.” This first cited case applies here. Numbered paragraphs 64-70 establish the mill claimed in claim 32 is a structure already known in the prior art (Lechner) that is altered by the mere substitution of a blade element (Haack) and a spacer element (Hartnett) with the combination yielding predictable results.
Applicant next argues, in the next-to-last paragraph of page 13, Lechner does not disclose Applicant’s claimed flow-generating arrangement. Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because the argued limitation involves recitation regarding the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the teaching of the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack because the prior art reference combination teaches all of the structural elements of the claim. See M.P.E.P. 2114,II.
Applicant then argues, in the last paragraph of page 13, the Office action does not identify a non-hindsight reason why a person of ordinary skill would have taken Haack’s structure and incorporated it into Lechner. As explained above, the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. Numbered paragraph 18 of the previous Office action explains a person of ordinary skill would have recognized Haack’s substituted circular knife elements would perform the same grinding function as Lechner’s blade element set 9 when mounted on the output shaft of Lechner’s drive motor 2. Accordingly, Examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
Applicant next argues, in the bottom half of page 14, the Office action does not establish why a person of ordinary skill would have modified Lechner as modified by Haack to incorporate Barone’s projections. As expressed above, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. The test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. Numbered paragraph 42 of the previous Office action explains a person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Barone to Lechner’s spacers would provide additional support to Haack’s circular knife blade elements by deviating the contour of the spacers. Accordingly, Examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
Applicant then argues, starting in the middle of page 15, the Office action relies on Hartnett’s blade elements and support elements as allegedly corresponding to Applicant’s claimed webs and spacer projections. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hartnett was only cited for teaching it was known to contour spacer elements to correspond to the contour of an adjacent blade to provide support to the blade. The rejection relies upon the combined teaching of Haack and Hartnett and how they would suggest to modify the disclosure of Lechner.
Lastly, starting on page 18, Applicant argues the Office action relies on isolated structural features without establishing a reason why a person of ordinary skill would have incorporated the features into the claimed blade element as claimed. In response, the test for obviousness is not that the claimed invention is expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. The rejection stated in numbered paragraphs 71-75 of the previous Office action explains how Wenzel teaches an end disc arrangement as claimed and how it would have been obvious to modify Lechner’s end disc based on Wenzel’s teaching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14-26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Application Publication No. EP 2 305 385 A2 by Lechner, hereinafter “Lechner”, in view of German Patent Publication No. DE 10 2014 014 238 A1 by Haack et al., hereinafter “Haack”.
Regarding claim 1, Lechner discloses a mill comprising a grinding unit (the mill shown in Figs. 1 and 2; ¶[0012] and [0013]), wherein a rotatable blade element (9) (blade element set 9 in Fig. 2; ¶[0015]) drivable by a motor (2) (motor 2 in Figs. 1 and 2; ¶[0013]) is arranged in the grinding unit, characterized in that the blade element (9) (individual knife blade element 11 in Fig. 3; ¶[0016]) has a hub portion (11a) (see “Hub Portion” annotation to Fig. 3 of Lechner reproduced below) and an outer ring portion (11b) (12 in Fig. 3) which is concentric with an axis of rotation of the blade element (9) (the Hub Portion is concentric with the axis of rotation as annotated below), which are connected by at least one web (11c) (see “Web Portions” annotation below), and in that the blade element (9) has on its outer circumference at least one through-passage (see “Through Passage” annotation below) which is in connection with a space between the hub portion (11a) and the outer ring portion (11b).
Lechner does not disclose the Web Portions are curved as claim 1 claims.
Haack teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design blade elements of the same type of construction as Lechner’s blade element 11 (the blade elements shown in Figs. 1 and 2 of Haack) with curved web portions (curved heat-treated web portions 2 in Figs. 1 and 2) connecting between the hub portion (see “Hub Portion” annotation to Fig. 2 of Haack reproduced below) and the outer ring portion concentric with the axis of rotation of the blade element (the base of cutting edge 4 in Fig. 2 is an outer ring portion concentric with the axis of rotation 5). See paragraphs [0009], [0014]-[0015] and [0019]. Paragraph [0009] further teaches a portion of soft areas 3 in Figs. 1 and 2 may also be partially removed to form openings in the blade element such that through passages are located between the Hub Portion and the outer ring portion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Haack’s circular knife for Lechner’s blade element 11 to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill fitted with blade elements having curved web portions connecting the hub to the outer ring portion as Haack teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized Haack’s substituted circular knife elements would perform the same grinding function as Lechner’s blade element set 9 when mounted on the output shaft of Lechner’s drive motor 2.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the limitation “wherein the at least one curved web (11c) is configured such that, during rotation of the blade element (9), a flow of air and/or ground material is generated from the space between the hub portion (11a) and the outer ring portion (11b) through the at least one through-passage toward the outer circumference of the blade element (9)”. This limitation involves recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the teaching of the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack because the prior art reference combination teaches all of the structural elements of the claim as explained above. See M.P.E.P. 2114,II.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Haack further discloses the circular knife blade elements are integrally formed. Paragraph [0006] teaches curved web portions 2 in Figs. 1 and 2 are heated-treated portion of the knife body itself.
Regarding claim 3, Lechner discloses a mill comprising a grinding unit (the mill shown in Figs. 1 and 2; ¶[0012] and [0013]), wherein a rotatable blade element (9) (blade element set 9 in Fig. 2; ¶[0015]) including multiple disc-shaped blades (11) (blade set 9 in Fig. 2 includes multiple disc-shaped blades 11 shown in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0016]), which are spaced apart by means of at least one spacer element (16) (Fig. 4 shows spacer elements 16a, 16b and 16c spacing apart blade elements 11; ¶[0017] and [0018]) and which are drivable by a motor (2), is arranged in the grinding unit (motor 2 in Figs. 1 and 2; ¶[0013]), characterized in that at least one blade (11) has a hub (11a) (see Hub Portion annotation to Fig. 3 of Lechner reproduced above) and an outer ring (11b) concentric with an axis of rotation of the blade element (9) (12 in Fig. 3), which are connected by at least one web (11c) (see Web Portions annotation to Fig. 3 of Lechner above).
Lechner does not disclose the Web Portions are curved as claim 3 claims.
Haack teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design blade elements of the same type of construction as Lechner’s blade element 11 (the blade elements shown in Figs. 1 and 2 of Haack) with curved web portions (curved heat-treated web portions 2 in Figs. 1 and 2) connecting between the hub portion (see “Hub Portion” annotation to Fig. 2 of Haack reproduced above) and the outer ring portion concentric with the axis of rotation of the blade element (the base of cutting edge 4 in Fig. 2 is an outer ring portion concentric with the axis of rotation 5). See paragraphs [0009], [0014]-[0015] and [0019]. Paragraph [0009] further teaches a portion of soft areas 3 in Figs. 1 and 2 may also be partially removed to form openings in the blade element such that through passages are located between the Hub Portion and the outer ring portion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Haack’s circular knife for Lechner’s blade element 11 to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill fitted with blade elements having curved web portions connecting the hub to the outer ring portion as Haack teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized Haack’s substituted circular knife elements would perform the same grinding function as Lechner’s blade elements when mounted on the output shaft of Lechner’s drive motor 2.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses blades 11 have at least two opposing Web Portions as annotated above. Haack also teaches at least two opposing web 2s and shown in Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Both Lechner and Haack teach an even number of webs, with Lechner illustrating four in Fig. 3 and Haack illustrating 6 in Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Paragraph [0006] of Haack teaches web stability element supports 2 may be arranged in an odd number to reduce risk of resonance vibrations.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 14 unpatentable as explained above. Both Lechner and Haack disclose arranging the webs in a star shape with equal distances between them.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Haack’s circular knife may be substituted for each of Lechner’s blade 11 such that the curvature of webs 2 of Haack’s circular knife will be curved backward in a direction of intended rotation of Lechner’s blade element 9 in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 18 unpatentable as explained above. Haack is silent regarding a relative radius of curvature of a part of a trailing edge of webs 2 in the direction of rotation. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the radius of curvature of at least a part of a trailing edge of webs 2 in the direction of rotation to be 65 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, Lechner’s mill would not operate differently with Haack’s circular knives having the claimed dimension. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the dimension claimed. Pages 9 and 10 of applicant’s written description only states the radius of curvature is 65 mm in a specific embodiment.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Haack’s circular knife may be substituted for each of Lechner’s blade 11 such that the curvature of webs 2 of Haack’s circular knife will be curved forward in a direction of intended rotation of Lechner’s blade element 9 in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. The leading and trailing edges of webs 2 in Figs. 1 and 2 of Haack are illustrated as having more than one radius of curvature.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Haack further teaches a width in a circumferential direction of webs 2 in Figs. 1 and 2 decreases outward in the radial direction. That is, the width of webs 2 at the point where they emanate from the hub is wider than the width at their midpoints.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses a plurality of teeth (blade 11 in Fig. 3 is illustrated with a plurality of teeth), which have cutting plates on the front flanks in the direction of rotation, are arranged on the outer circumference of the outer ring portion or outer rings, and the teeth are inclined forward in the direction of rotation with respect to a radius of the blade element (the teeth are illustrated as meeting these limitations when blades 11 are rotated in a clockwise direction during use).
Regarding claim 24, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses a plurality of teeth (blade 11 in Fig. 3 is illustrated with a plurality of teeth), which have cutting plates on the front flanks in the direction of rotation, are arranged on the outer circumference of the outer ring portion or outer rings, and the teeth are inclined forward in the direction of rotation with respect to a radius of the blade element (the teeth are illustrated as meeting these limitations when blades 11 are rotated in a counterclockwise direction during use).
Regarding claim 25, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses spacer elements 16 in Fig. 4 are discs.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 25 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses spacer elements 16 in Fig. 4 may be 4 to 5 mm thick. See paragraphs [0005] and [0018].
Regarding claim 29, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 25 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses the spacer discs 16a and 16b in Fig. 4 are formed in a ring-like manner for mounting on the drive shaft of motor 2 as shown in Fig. 2.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,988,541 to Barone, hereinafter “Barone”.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. However, Lechner does not disclose at least one of spacer elements 16a, 16b and 16c shown in Fig. 4 has a contour that deviates from a round cross-section and comprises at least one projection curved in the same direction as the Web Portions of blade element 11 as claim 4 claims.
Barone teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the field of rotating knife comminutors to construct blade element spacer disks (30 in Figs. 6-8) with a contour deviating from a round cross-section comprising at least one projection (raised portions 31) curved in the same direction as the cutter blade projections (29 in Figs. 6-8). See col. 7, line 14-35.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct Lechner’s spacers according to Barone’s teaching to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill with Haack’s blade elements where Lechner’s spacers have projections curved in the same direction of Haack’s heat-treated Web Portions. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Barone to Lechner’s spacers would provide additional support to Haack’s circular knife blade elements.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Barone renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. But Barone does not teach the number of projections 31 on spacer disks 30 correspond to the number of cutter blade projections 29 as shown in Figs. 6-8 of Barone. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See M.P.E.P. 2144,VI,B. In the instant case, duplicating the number of projections on the spacers to correspond to the number of Web Portions on Haack’s circular knife blade elements would not produce a new and unexpected result.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Barone renders the mill according to claim 4 or 5 unpatentable as explained above. The curved outer contour of projections 31 of Barone’s spacer disks 30 at least partially correspond to the curved outer contour of Haack’s heat-treated Web Portions.
Claims 4-13, 27-28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2008/0197221 A1 by Hartnett et al., hereinafter “Hartnett”.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. However, Lechner does not disclose at least one of spacer elements 16a and 16b shown in Fig. 4 has a contour that deviates from a round cross-section and comprises at least one projection curved in the same direction as the Web Portions of blade element 11 as claim 4 claims.
In the same field of comminuting apparatus, Hartnett teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space apart multiple disc-shaped blades by means of spacer elements where the spacer elements have projections that deviate their shape from a round cross-section which project in the same direction as the blades. Shredder apparatus 10 shown in Fig. 1 uses driven rotatable shafts 20 shown in Fig. 2 that have multiple pairs of metal blades 42 spaced apart by supports 44 as shown in Figs. 5-8. See paragraphs [0029]-[0032]. Supports 44 have multiple tooth support portions 52 which deviate the shape of supports 44 from a round cross-section and project in the same direction as tooth portions 50 of metal blades 42. See paragraphs [0033] and [0034].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct Lechner’s spacers according to the teaching of Hartnett to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill with Haack’s blade elements where Lechner’s spacers have support projections curved in the same direction of Haack’s heat-treated webs 2. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to Lechner’s spacers would provide additional support to Haack’s circular knife blade elements as Hartnett teaches.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach arranging a support projection 52 for each tooth portion 50. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a support projection on Lechner’s spacers 16 for each web 2 of Haack’s circular knife in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of adding support projections to Lechner’s spacers to support the webs of Haack’s circular knives.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach the contour of projection supports 52 corresponds at least partially to the contour of tooth portions 50. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to contour the projection supports added to Lechner’s spacers 16 to at least partially correspond to the contour of webs 2 of Haack’s circular knives in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of contouring the projections added to Lechner’s spacers to correspond to the webs of Haack’s circular knives as Hartnett teaches.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach projection supports 52 extend to the outer circumference of tooth portions 50 of blades 42. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the projection supports added to Lechner’s spacers 16 to the outer ring of Haack’s circular blades in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of extending the projections added to Lechner’s spacers to extend to the outer ring of Haack’s circular blades.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach projection supports 52 have a width in a circumferential direction of the projections which decreases outward in the radial direction. Groove shape 60 decreases a width in the radial direction. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrease the width of the projection supports in the radial direction added to Lechner’s spacers 16 in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of decreasing the width of the projection supports in the radial direction as Hartnett teaches.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach blades 42 and spacer supports 44 are provided such that the trailing edge of the tooth portion 50 in the direction of rotation and a trailing edge of projection support portion 52 in the direction of rotation are aligned. See annotations to Fig. 5 of Hartnett reproduced below.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to align the trailing edge of the projection supports added to Lechner’s spacers 16 with the trailing edge of webs 2 of Haacks’s circular blades in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of aligning the trailing edges of the spacer projections with the trailing edges of the curved webs Haack teaches.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach tooth portions 50 and support portions 44 are provided such that the trailing edge of the tooth in the direction of rotation and a trailing edge of the projection support portions 44 in the direction of rotation are offset from each other by a certain amount where the certain amount is zero. See “Trailing Edges” annotation to Fig. 5 above. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to offset the trailing edge of projection supports added to Lechner’s spacer 16 from the trailing edge of web 2 of Haack’s circular blade by an offset of zero in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would yield the predictable result of offsetting the trailing edge by an offset amount of zero as Hartnett teaches.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach blades 42 and spacer supports 44 are provided such that the leading edge of the tooth portion 50 in the direction of rotation and a leading edge of projection support portion 52 in the direction of rotation are aligned. See annotations to Fig. 5 of Hartnett reproduced below.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to align the leading edge of the projection supports added to Lechner’s spacers 16 with the leading edge of webs 2 of Haacks’s circular blades in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of aligning the leading edges of the spacer projections with the leading edges of the curved webs Haack teaches.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach tooth portions 50 and support portions 44 are provided such that the leading edge of the tooth in the direction of rotation and a leading edge of the projection support portions 44 in the direction of rotation are offset from each other by a certain amount where the certain amount is zero. See “Leading Edges” annotation to Fig. 5 above. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to offset the leading edge of projection supports added to Lechner’s spacer 16 from the leading edge of web 2 of Haack’s circular blade by an offset of zero in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would yield the predictable result of offsetting the leading edge by an offset amount of zero as Hartnett teaches.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses each blade 11 in Fig. 4 of blade element 9 in Fig. 2 has the same number of Web Portions arranged in a star shape with equal distances between the webs as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above. When Haack’s circular knife is substituted for each of Lechner’s blade elements 11 as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, each blade of the blade element will have the same number of webs arranged in a star shape with equal distances between the webs, as shown in Figs. 1 and 2 of Haack. When Lechner’s spacers 16 are modified by the teaching of Hartnett as explained in the rejection of claim 4 above, each spacer element 16 of Lechner will have a number of projection support portions 52 corresponding to the number of webs 2of the blades of Haack with aligned leading and trailing edges in the same way Harnett teaches. Surfaces of the edges of the projection support portions aligned with the leading and trailing edges of webs 2 of Haack will form continuous fluid guidance surfaces during use which accelerates and directs flow through Haack’s blade elements.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 25 unpatentable as explained above. However, Lechner does not disclose spacer elements 16a and 16b have projections on the outer circumference.
In the same field of comminuting apparatus, Hartnett teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space apart multiple disc-shaped blades by means of spacer elements which have projections on their outer circumference. Shredder apparatus 10 shown in Fig. 1 uses driven rotatable shafts 20 shown in Fig. 2 that have multiple pairs of metal blades 42 spaced apart by supports 44 as shown in Figs. 5-8. See paragraphs [0029]-[0032]. Supports 44 have multiple tooth support portions 52 which project in the same direction as tooth portions 50 of metal blades 42. See paragraphs [0033] and [0034].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct Lechner’s spacers according to the teaching of Hartnett to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill with Haack’s blade elements where Leckner’s spacers have support projections curved in the same direction of Haack’s heat-treated Web Portions. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to Lechner’s spacers would provide additional support to Haack’s circular knife blade elements as Hartnett teaches.
Regarding claim 28, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Hartnett renders the mill according to claim 27 unpatentable as explained above. Projection supports 52 in Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett are taught as being the same shape and are not of differing shape. However, changing the shape of one or more projections to be different from one other projection is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence. Applicant’s written description (top half of page 6) merely states the projections can have various shapes but does not present evidence regarding the criticality of shaping projections differently on the same spacer disc. See M.P.E.P. 2144.04,IV,B.
Regarding claim 32, Lechner discloses a mill comprising a grinding unit (the mill shown in Figs. 1 and 2), wherein a rotatable blade element (blade element knife set 9 in Fig. 2) including multiple disc-shaped blades (blade knives 11 in Fig. 4), which are spaced apart by means of at least one spacer element (spacer elements 16a and 16b in Fig. 4) and are drivable by a motor (motor 2 in Figs. 1 and 2), is arranged in the grinding unit, characterized in that:
each blade has a hub (see “Hub Portion” annotation to Fig. 3 of Lechner reproduced in the rejection of claim 1 above) and an outer ring concentric with an axis of rotation of the blade element (outer ring 12 in Fig. 3), which are connected by at least one web (see “Web Portions” annotation to Fig. 3 of Lechner above);
the spacer element or spacer elements together with the blades are drivable by the motor, the blades and the spacer elements being rotatable about the same axis of rotation (Fig. 4 shows spacer elements 16a and 16b together with blade knives 11 are arranged on the drive shaft of motor 2 such that they are driven in rotation about the same axis of rotation of the drive shaft of motor 2); and
each blade has a number of webs arranged in a star shape with equal distances between the webs (Fig. 3 shows blade knife 11 has four webs arranged in a star shape with equal distances between them),
and a plurality of teeth (teeth 13 in Fig. 3), which have cutting plates on the front flanks in the direction of rotation (teeth 13 are shown with cutting plates on the front flanks in the direction of rotation), are arranged on the outer circumference of the outer ring (teeth 13 are arranged on the outer circumference of outer ring 12 in Fig. 3).
Lechner does not disclose the webs connecting the outer ring to the hub are curved as claim 32 claims.
Haack teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design blade elements of the same type of construction as Lechner’s blade element 11 (the blade elements shown in Figs. 1 and 2 of Haack) with curved web portions (curved heat-treated web portions 2 in Figs. 1 and 2) connecting between the hub portion (see “Hub Portion” annotation to Fig. 2 of Haack reproduced below) and the outer ring portion concentric with the axis of rotation of the blade element (the base of cutting edge 4 in Fig. 2 is an outer ring portion concentric with the axis of rotation 5). See paragraphs [0009], [0014]-[0015] and [0019]. Paragraph [0009] further teaches a portion of soft areas 3 in Figs. 1 and 2 may also be partially removed to form openings in the blade element such that through passages are located between the Hub Portion and the outer ring portion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Haack’s circular knife for Lechner’s blade element 11 to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill fitted with blade elements having curved web portions connecting the hub to the outer ring portion as Haack teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized Haack’s substituted circular knife elements would perform the same grinding function as Lechner’s blade element set 9 when mounted on the output shaft of Lechner’s drive motor 2.
Lechner also does not disclose:
at least one spacer element has a contour that deviates from a round cross-section and comprises at least one projection that is curved in the same direction with respect to the direction of rotation as the web or webs,
each spacer element has a number of projections corresponding to the number of webs, the projections being arranged in a star shape with equal distances between the projections,
the contour of the projections corresponds to the contour of the webs, and the projections extend to the outer circumference of the outer ring,
the blades and the spacer elements are provided such that leading edges of the webs and leading edges of the projections, as well as trailing edges of the webs and trailing edges of the projections, are aligned to form continuous fluid guidance surfaces.
In the same field of comminuting apparatus, Hartnett teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space apart multiple disc-shaped blades by means of spacer elements where the spacer elements have projections that deviate their shape from a round cross-section which project in the same direction as the blades and extend the projections to the outer circumference of the blade. Shredder apparatus 10 shown in Fig. 1 uses driven rotatable shafts 20 shown in Fig. 2 that have multiple pairs of metal blades 42 spaced apart by supports 44 as shown in Figs. 5-8. See paragraphs [0029]-[0032]. Supports 44 have multiple tooth support portions 52 which deviate the shape of supports 44 from a round cross-section and project in the same direction as tooth portions 50 of metal blades 42, extending to the outer circumference of the blade. See paragraphs [0033] and [0034]. Figs. 5-8 of Hartnett teach blades 42 and spacer supports 44 are provided such that the leading and trailing edges of the tooth portion 50 in the direction of rotation and the leading and trailing edges of projection support portion 52 in the direction of rotation are aligned. See annotations to Fig. 5 of Hartnett reproduced above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct Lechner’s spacers according to the teaching of Hartnett to achieve the predictable result of Lechner’s mill with Haack’s blade elements where Lechner’s spacers have projections curved and extended to support Haack’s curved heat-treated webs 2 in the same way Hartnett teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Hartnett to Lechner’s spacers would provide additional support to Haack’s circular knife blade elements as Hartnett teaches. The resulting apparatus would guide fluid during use as claimed.
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of German Patent Publication No. DE 10 2007 036 818 A1 by Wenzel, hereinafter “Wenzel”.
Regarding claim 30, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack renders the mill according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lechner further discloses, in an axial direction of the blade element (blade element knife set 9 in Fig. 2), the blade element is provided with an end disc on the side (end disc spacers 16c in Fig. 4). However, Lechner does not disclose end disc spacers 16c in Fig. 4 are provide with projections on the circumference and on the free surface facing the grinding chamber.
In the same field of grinding apparatus, Wenzel teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide projections on the circumference of the free surface of an end disc of a blade element within a grinding chamber. Output disc 121 in Fig. 1 is positioned at an end of shaft 22 which carries rotatable tool blade elements 91. See at least paragraph [0032]. Fig. 10 shows output disc 121 is provided with cup-shaped wing projections 122 around the circumference of the free surface facing the grinding chamber as shown in Fig. 1. See at least paragraph [0031].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lechner’s end discs 16c with projections around their circumference in the same way Wenzel teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Wenzel to the mill of Lechner as modified by Haack would achieve the predictable result of end discs 16c in Lechner’s mill having projections thereon as Wenzel teaches.
Regarding claim 31, the prior art reference combination of Lechner in view of Haack and further in view of Wenzel renders the mill according to claim 30 unpatentable as explained above. Projections 122 in Fig. 10 are taught as being the same shape and are not of differing shape. However, changing the shape of one or more projections to be different from one other projection is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence. Applicant’s written description (top half of page 6) merely states the projections can have various shapes but does not present evidence regarding the criticality of shaping projections differently on the same spacer disc. See M.P.E.P. 2144.04,IV,B.
Conclusion
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725