DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 6-13 and 15-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims start with “A liquid storage cavity,” however, since they are dependent claims, they should start with “The liquid storage cavity.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2021/0031195, hereinafter Kersaudy.
Regarding claim 1, Kersaudy teaches a liquid storage cavity (figure 6), comprising: a base (item 322); one or more walls (the walls of item 321) extending from the base (figure 6), wherein the liquid storage cavity has a volume defined by the base and the one or more walls (figure 6); and a periphery (the chamfered part of item 321) at which the one or more walls are joined to the base (figure 6), wherein at least a portion of the periphery includes a peripheral recess (the chamfered part of item 321) defined by the base and at least one of the one or more walls (figure 6), wherein the peripheral recess is configured to house a volume of liquid (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, Kersaudy teaches the at least one of the one or more walls extends outwardly from an interior of the liquid storage cavity to define the peripheral recess (figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kersaudy teaches the at least one of the one or more walls comprises: a first wall portion (the vertical and horizontal portions of the wall of item 321) and a second wall portion (the angled portion of the wall of item 321), wherein the first wall portion extends between the base and the second wall portion around the portion of the periphery (figure 6); wherein the second wall portion extends from the first wall portion in a direction away from the base (figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, Kersaudy teaches the liquid storage cavity is a capsule, wherein the height of the liquid storage cavity is less than or equal to 5 mm (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Kersaudy teaches wherein the height of the liquid storage cavity is less than or equal to 3.5 mm (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Kersaudy teaches wherein the second wall portion extends away from the base in a direction substantially perpendicular to the base (figure 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kersaudy teaches wherein the peripheral recess extends around the entire periphery of the liquid storage cavity (figure 6).
Regarding claim 18, Kersaudy teaches further comprising an outlet in the base (item 314).
Regarding claim 19, Kersaudy teaches herein the outlet is coincident with the portion of the periphery (figure 6).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2008/0283439, hereinafter Sullivan.
Regarding claim 1, Sullivan teaches a liquid storage cavity (item 801, figure 35), comprising: a base (item 803); one or more walls extending from the base (the walls of item 801, not including item 803), wherein the liquid storage cavity has a volume defined by the base and the one or more walls (figure 36); and a periphery (item 804) at which the one or more walls are joined to the base (figure 39), wherein at least a portion of the periphery includes a peripheral recess defined by the base and at least one of the one or more walls (items 808, 809 and 810), wherein the peripheral recess is configured to house a volume of liquid figure 40).
Regarding claim 2, Sullivan teaches the at least one of the one or more walls extends outwardly from an interior of the liquid storage cavity to define the peripheral recess (figure 36).
Regarding claim 3, Sullivan teaches wherein the at least one of the one or more walls comprises: a first wall portion (the flat and angled portions of the wall of item 801) and a second wall portion (the vertical portion of the wall of item 801), wherein the first wall portion extends between the base and the second wall portion around the portion of the periphery (figure 36); wherein the second wall portion extends from the first wall portion in a direction away from the base (figure 36).
Regarding claim 7, Sullivan teaches the first wall portion extends at an acute angle between the base and the second wall portion (figure 36), such that the peripheral recess has a triangular cross-section (figure 36).
Regarding claim 10, Sullivan teaches the first wall portion comprises a first part (the horizontal part of the wall of item 801) and a second part (the angled portion of the wall of item 801); wherein the first part of the first wall portion is joined to the second wall portion and extends outwardly from an interior of the liquid storage cavity in a direction substantially parallel to the base (figure 40); and the second part of the first wall portion extends between the first part and the base (figure 40), such that the elongate recess has a quadrilateral cross-section (figure 40).
Regarding claim 16, Sullivan teaches wherein the second wall portion extends away from the base in a direction substantially perpendicular to the base (figure 36).
Regarding claim 17, Sullivan teaches wherein the peripheral recess extends around the entire periphery of the liquid storage cavity (figure 35).
Regarding claim 18, Sullivan teaches further comprising an outlet in the base (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 19, Sullivan teaches the outlet is coincident with the portion of the periphery (figure 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersaudy.
Regarding claim 4, Kersaudy teaches the first wall portion defines a fillet between the second wall portion and the base (the rounded part between the first wall part and the second wall part).
Kersaudy discloses the claimed invention except for the radius of the fillet defined by the first wall portion is between 0.15 mm and 1 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to select the radius of the fillet defined by the first wall portion to be between 0.15 mm and 1 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 6, Kersaudy teaches all limitations of claim 4; however, Kersaudy does not teach the radius of the fillet defined by the first wall portion is between 0.15 mm and 1 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to select the radius of the fillet defined by the first wall portion to be between 0.15 mm and 1 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan.
Regarding claim 8, Sullivan teaches all limitations of claim 7; however, Sullivan does not teach the acute angle being less than or equal to 45 degrees. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to select the acute angle to be less than or equal to 45 degrees, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 9, Sullivan teaches all limitations of claim 7; however, Sullivan does not teach the amount the first wall portion extends beyond a join between the first wall portion and the second wall portion. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to select the first wall portion to extend laterally beyond a join between the first wall portion and the second wall portion by a distance of less than or equal to 0.5 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11, Sullivan teaches all limitations of claim 10; however, Sullivan does not teach the first part of the first wall portion has a width of less than or equal to 0.5 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to select the first part of the first wall portion to have a width of less than or equal to 0.5 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 12, Sullivan teaches all limitations of claim 10; however, Sullivan does not teach the second part of the second wall portion has a height of less than or equal to 0.5 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to select the second part of the second wall portion to have a height of less than or equal to 0.5 mm., since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796