DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 15-16, 18 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a terminal or base station for performing the steps such as determining without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) determining whether multiplexing transmission of uplink channels having different priorities is allowed in case that the uplink channels overlap in a time domain; determining that the uplink channels need to meet a predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed; and determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are just determined a result which is mental process which can be implemented by human. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the result does not use to improve the communication system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 15-16, 18 and 21-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Yin [US 2025/0089085].
As claims 1, 9 and 18, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses a channel multiplexing method, performed by a terminal, comprising: determining whether multiplexing transmission of uplink channels having different priorities is allowed in case that the uplink channels overlap in a time domain [Fig 2-4, Par. 0029, 0032, 0034, 0038, 0040 discloses UE determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain]; determining that the uplink channels need to meet a predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Par. 0034, 0039-0041 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition]; and determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed [Par. 0036, 0041-0042 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on MUXEnableInd is absent which received from base station, then UE does not need to meet a timeline because it drops low priority and transmit high priority without performing multiplexing].
As claims 2 and 10, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the determining whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities is allowed comprises: determining, in accordance with configuration signaling, whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Par. 0032 discloses device to determine if the device allows to multiplex uplink channels overlap in time domain having different priorities], wherein the configuration signaling comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) in a downlink control channel corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the DCI carries indication information; or high-layer signaling [Par. 0032 discloses device to determine if the device allows to multiplex uplink channels overlap in time domain having different priorities via DCI or RRC].
As claim 3, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the indication information indicates whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Par. 0032 discloses DCI or RRC conveys one or more conditions to allow to UE to multiplex the uplink channels having different priority and overlapping in time domain] or [Not consider because or statement], [Not consider because or statement].
As claims 7 and 15, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels need to meet the predetermined timeline , checking, prior to the multiplexing transmission, whether the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline [Par. 0040-0041 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition].
As claims 8 and 16, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline, omitting a step of checking, prior to the multiplexing transmission, whether the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline [Par. 0036, 0041 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on MUXEnableInd is absent, then UE does not need to perform the step of determining multiplexing meet a timeline or not].
As claim 21, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses in case that it is determined that the uplink channels need to meet the predetermined timeline and it is determined that the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline, determining to perform the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities[Par. 0040-0041 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition, then multiplexing the low priority and high priority]; in case that it is determined that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline, determining not to perform the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities Par. 0040-0041 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are not meet timeline condition], and determining to transmit the uplink channel having a high priority among the overlapped uplink channels and discard the uplink channel having a low priority [Par. 0036, 0041 discloses determining if timeline is not meet, it drops low priority and transmit high priority].
As claims 22 and 26, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses a channel multiplexing method, performed by a base station comprising: determining whether multiplexing transmission of uplink channels having different priorities is allowed in case that the uplink channels overlap in a time domain [Fig 2-4, Par. 0029, 0032, 0034, 0038, 0040 discloses base station determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain]; determining that the uplink channels need to meet a predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Par. 0034, 0039-0041 discloses base station determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition]; and determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed [Par. 0036, 0041-0042 discloses base station is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on MUXEnableInd is absent which received from base station, then UE does not need to meet a timeline because it drops low priority and transmit high priority without performing multiplexing].
As claims 23 and 27, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the determining whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities is allowed comprises: determining, in accordance with configuration signaling, whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Par. 0032 discloses device to determine if the device allows to multiplex uplink channels overlap in time domain having different priorities], wherein the configuration signaling comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) in a downlink control channel corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the DCI carries indication information; or high-layer signaling [Par. 0032 discloses device to determine if the device allows to multiplex uplink channels overlap in time domain having different priorities via DCI or RRC].
As claim 24 and 28, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises in case that it is determined that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline [Par. 0036, 0041 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on MUXEnableInd is absent, then UE does not need to meet a timeline because it drops low priority and transmit high priority], omitting a step of ensuring that the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline when scheduling or configuring the uplink channels [Par. 0041 discloses the step of determining if multiplexing timeline is meet or not can be omit because the Base station set UE can not perform multiplexing].
As claims 25 and 29, Yin [US 2025/0089085] discloses the communication device is a base station, and the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels need to meet the predetermined timeline [Par. 0040-0041 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition], ensuring that the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline when scheduling or configuring the uplink channels [Par. 0034, the base station makes sure multiplexing the scheduled channels meet timeline before multiplex by enabling multiplexing enable parameter].
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 15-16, 18 and 21-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Yin [US 2023/0064087 which claim provisional application 62/975917 filed on 2/13/2020].
As claims 1, 9 and 18, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses a channel multiplexing method, performed by a terminal, comprising: determining whether multiplexing transmission of uplink channels having different priorities is allowed in case that the uplink channels overlap in a time domain [Fig 2-4, Par. 0035-0037 discloses UE determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain, Fig 11, Re 1102-1104]; determining that the uplink channels need to meet a predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Fig 11, Ref 1110 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition]; and determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed [Fig 11, Ref 1106, 0057, 0067 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on signaling which received from base station, then UE does not need to meet a timeline because it drops low priority and transmit high priority without performing multiplexing].
As claims 2 and 10, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the determining whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities is allowed comprises: determining, in accordance with configuration signaling, whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Fig 11, Ref 1102-1104, Par. 0038 discloses UE determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain], wherein the configuration signaling comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) in a downlink control channel corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the DCI carries indication information; or high-layer signaling [Par. 0038 discloses UE determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain via RRC].
As claim 3, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the indication information indicates whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Par. 0038 discloses DCI or RRC conveys one or more conditions to allow to UE to multiplex the uplink channels having different priority and overlapping in time domain] or [Not consider because or statement], [Not consider because or statement].
As claims 7 and 15, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels need to meet the predetermined timeline , checking, prior to the multiplexing transmission, whether the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline [Fig 11, Ref 1110 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition].
As claims 8 and 16, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline, omitting a step of checking, prior to the multiplexing transmission, whether the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline [Fig 11, Ref 1104, 1106 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on the received signaling from the base station, then UE does not need to perform the step of determining multiplexing meet a timeline or not].
As claim 21, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses in case that it is determined that the uplink channels need to meet the predetermined timeline and it is determined that the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline, determining to perform the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities [Fig 11, 1104, 1110 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition, then multiplexing the low priority and high priority]; in case that it is determined that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline, determining not to perform the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities Fig 11, Ref 1104, 1106 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are not meet timeline condition], and determining to transmit the uplink channel having a high priority among the overlapped uplink channels and discard the uplink channel having a low priority [Par. 1106 discloses determining if timeline is not meet, it drops low priority and transmit high priority].
As claims 22 and 26, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses a channel multiplexing method, performed by a base station , comprising: determining whether multiplexing transmission of uplink channels having different priorities is allowed in case that the uplink channels overlap in a time domain [Fig 2-4, Par. 0035-0037 discloses determining if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain, Fig 11, Re 1102-1104]; determining that the uplink channels need to meet a predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Fig 11, Ref 1110 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition]; and determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed [Fig 11, Ref 1106, 0057, 0067 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on signaling which received from base station, then UE does not need to meet a timeline because it drops low priority and transmit high priority without performing multiplexing].
As claims 23 and 27, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the determining whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities is allowed comprises: determining, in accordance with configuration signaling, whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is allowed [Fig 11, Ref 1102-1104, Par. 0038 discloses UE determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain], wherein the configuration signaling comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) in a downlink control channel corresponding to the uplink channel, wherein the DCI carries indication information; or high-layer signaling [Par. 0038 discloses UE determines if it is enabled to multiplex two overlapped channels with different priority in time domain via RRC].
As claims 24 and 28, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline [Fig 11, Ref 1104 discloses UE is not allow to perform a multiplexing of overlapped uplink channels having different priority based on signaling which received from base station, then UE does not need to meet a timeline because it drops low priority and transmit high priority without performing multiplexing], omitting a step of ensuring that the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline when scheduling or configuring the uplink channels [Fig 11, Ref 1104 discloses the Base station set UE can not perform multiplexing, then the step of determining to meet timeline or not can be omitted].
As claims 26 and 29, Yin [US 2023/0064087] discloses the channel multiplexing method further comprises: in case that it is determined that the uplink channels need to meet the predetermined timeline [Fig 11, Ref 1104 discloses UE determines if the multiplexing is allowed then determining if the multiplexing of low and high priority are meet timeline condition], ensuring that the uplink channels meet the predetermined timeline when scheduling or configuring the uplink channels [Fig 11, Ref 1110, the base station makes sure multiplexing the scheduled channels meet timeline before multiplex by enabling multiplexing enable parameter].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin [US 2025/0089085] or Yin [US 2023/0064087] in view of Guo [US 2023/0422242].
As claim 4, Yin [US 2025/0089085] or Yin [US 2023/0064087] fails to disclose what Guo disclose the determining whether the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels having different priorities is allowed [Fig 4, 404 discloses multiplexing is enabled] comprises: determining a reference bit quantity n of UCI having a low priority which is transmitted simultaneously with UCI having a high priority on a same uplink channel in accordance with a bit quantity of the UCI having the high priority [Fig 4, Ref 406a discloses number of bits of LP is determined according the number of bit of HP] [Fig 4, Ref 406b and Fig 5 discloses if the determined number of LP bits fixed payload of the channel then multiplexing them].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining the number of LP based on maximum allowed bits in order to multiplex with HP bits as disclosed by Gou into the teaching of Yin or Islam or Yin ‘087. The motivation would have been to improve throughput of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to page 9, the applicant states that Lin, Yin or Islam fails to disclose determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined
timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink
channels is not allowed. In reply, the examiner disagree with applicant because:
Lin discloses determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed [Par. 0033-0034 discloses MUXEEanbleInd is absent, the multiplexing is not support. So, without multiplexing, the uplink transmission is not regarded as high priority, meaning URLLC timeline does not apply and Par. 0041 clearly discloses the multiplexing is not perform in this. Therefore, no multiplexing timeline condition is applied to the uplink channel transmission]
Yin discloses determining that the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline in case that it is determined that the multiplexing transmission of the uplink channels is not allowed [if multiplexing between the different priorities is not configured or enabled , See Fig 11, 1104, the UE drops low priority following drop timeline and transmit high priority without applying multiplexing timeline, Par. 0143, Ref 1106]. Since multiplexing is not performed. Therefore, no multiplexing timeline is applied to the uplink channel transmission.
So, Lin or Yin discloses when multiplexing is not allow, the uplink channels do not need to meet the predetermined timeline.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hossein [US 20220086863] discloses a user equipment (UE) may determine that multiple physical uplink channels scheduled for the UE overlap. The multiple physical uplink channels may include a first physical uplink channel and a second physical uplink channel that are associated with different priority levels. The UE may transmit at least one of the first physical uplink channel or the second physical uplink channel according to a prioritization or a multiplexing of the first physical uplink channel and the second physical uplink channel. The prioritization or the multiplexing is based at least in part on whether the UE is enabled to perform simultaneous physical uplink control channel and physical uplink shared channel transmissions.
Yin [US 2023/055720] discloses The UE includes a processor configured to determine uplink control information (UCI) multiplexing on a single physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) when a low priority PUCCH carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) collides with a high priority PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK. The processor is also configured to determine a processing timeline for the UCI multiplexing. The UE also includes transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the UCI multiplexing on the single PUCCH based on the processing timeline.
Yin [US 2023/0155720] discloses The UE includes a processor configured to determine a coding method for multiplexing hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) with different priorities on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). The coding method is determined based on higher layer signaling, an uplink control information (UCI) payload size or PUCCH resource configuration. The processor is also configured to multiplex the HARQ-ACK based on the determined coding method. The UE also includes transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the multiplexed HARQ-ACK on the PUCCH.
Wang [US 2022/0132537] discloses method includes receiving a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration including a first PUCCH resource configuration and a second PUCCH resource configuration, receiving a first Downlink Control Information (DCI) format that schedules a first Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) and a second DCI format that schedules a second PDSCH, determining a first PUCCH for a first Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) codebook corresponding to the first PDSCH according to the first PUCCH resource configuration, determining a second PUCCH for a second HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the second PDSCH according to the second PUCCH resource configuration, and transmitting the first PUCCH when the first PUCCH overlaps the second PUCCH in a time domain, the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook multiplexed in the first PUCCH.
Yin [US 2022/0312445] discloses The UE a higher layer processor configured to determine an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) uplink control information (UCI) multiplexing starting symbol on an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The higher layer processor is also configured to determine a resource element (RE) mapping for URLLC UCI multiplexing on the eMBB PUSCH from the UCI multiplexing starting symbol. The UE also includes transmitting circuitry configured to perform multiplexing of the URLLC UCI on the eMBB PUSCH based on the RE mapping.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414