DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 08/03/2025 concerning application no. 18/553,249 filed on 09/29/2023.
Claims 1-14 are pending (Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from consideration).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-7 and 12-14) in the reply filed on 08/03/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The amendment for claim 8 has made it dependent upon claim 1. However, the common technical feature of the entirety of claim 1 does not make a contribution over the art (See below rejections). Claims 8-11 remain withdrawn as the common technical does not make a contribution over the art.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings (Figs. 6-8) are objected to because, according to MPEP 608.02 and 67 CFR 1.84, "India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings". Drawings should be presented as India ink drawings unless the illustration is not capable of being accurately or adequately depicted by India ink drawings.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an object detector comprising a classifier that is configured to detect…” in claims 1, 6, and 13: Paragraph 0049 discloses “Part of the signal processor is an object detector according to the invention.”
“signaling means that are operatively connected to the object detector and that are configured to emit…” in claims 6 and 14: A review of the original specification does not appear to set forth a corresponding structure for the claimed “signaling means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites “an implantable object that is configured to exhibit an exclusive feature that can only be detected by the ultrasound system”. Paragraph 0045 of the specification establishes “The object preferably is an implantable object that is configured to exhibit an exclusive feature that can only be detected by the ultrasound system. For instance the object may have an unique feature the object detector of the ultrasound system is trained for. Accordingly, the exclusive feature is a feature of the implantable object, wherein the exclusive feature can only be detected in the ultrasound data. The exclusive feature of the object thus causes ultrasound data that is characteristic for the object to be detected, for instance an implantable marker.” However, the specification fails to provide support to such that the implantable object can be detected only by the ultrasound system. The specification does not provide any disclosure on what this feature is such that it is incapable of detection by any means other than ultrasound. Furthermore, the specification is silent regarding what the object or the feature are at all. There is no disclosure on how this feature is only able to be detected by ultrasound. Therefore, the claim contains subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one with ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claim invention at the time of filing.
Claims 1-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “to generate an object detection signal representing a likelihood that an object to be detected is represented by the input data set generated by the ultrasound hardware controller”. This claim element is indefinite. The claim establishes “to detect data representing an object to be detected in an input data set generated by and received from the ultrasound hardware controller”. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art instances where there is a likelihood that the object is detected as the claim already establishes that the object is detected. That is, the object being detected provides an assurance that there is no likelihood that detection of the object is not performed.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “an object to be detected”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “object to be detected” is the same as the “object to be detected” established preceding claim element or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “for a front end”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what “front end” is being referred to and with what respect.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “an object to be detected”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “object to be detected” is the same as the “object to be detected” established claim 1 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 3 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “an object to be detected”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “object to be detected” is the same as the “object to be detected” established claim 1 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the likelihood that an object to be detected is represented by the input data set generated by the ultrasound hardware controller”. This claim element is indefinite. The claim 1 establishes “to detect data representing an object to be detected in an input data set generated by and received from the ultrasound hardware controller”. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art instances where there is a likelihood that the object is detected as the claim already establishes that the object is detected. That is, the object being detected provides an assurance that there is no likelihood that detection of the object is not performed.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 4 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “an implanted marker as to object to be detected”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish the object as the implanted marker or that the implanted marker is situated with respect to the object.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language. Applicant is encouraged to use proper grammar and punctuation to set forth the proper scope of the claim.
Recites “an implanted marker”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “implanted marker” is the same as the “implanted marker” established the preceding claim element or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 7 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “an implantable object that is configured to exhibit an exclusive feature that can only be detected by the ultrasound system”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what the scope of the claim is as it is unclear if the claim is attempting to establish an echogenic feature or if the claim is attempting to establish an object that is imperceivable by means other than ultrasound system.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “an exclusive feature”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the feature is exclusive with respect to the marker’s other features or if the feature is exclusive with respect to the other claimed components. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what establishes a feature to be considered “exclusive”.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 12 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “an implanted marker as to object to be detected”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish the object as the implanted marker or that the implanted marker is situated with respect to the object.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language. Applicant is encouraged to use proper grammar and punctuation to set forth the proper scope of the claim.
Recites “an implanted marker”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “implanted marker” is the same as the “implanted marker” established in the preceding claim element or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 13 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “The ultrasound system according to at least one of claim 12”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish a plurality. The claim only establishes accordance to a single claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim limitation “signaling means” (See claims 6 and 14) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what structural features or components are needed to satisfy this claimed “signaling means”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For purposes of examination, the Office is considering central processing unit (CPU) or display as a “signaling means”.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simopoulos (PGPUB No. US 2007/0055153).
Regarding claim 1, Simopoulos teaches a ultrasound system comprising an ultrasound hardware controller for ultrasound data acquisition applying acquisition parameter values for acquisition parameters that include at least a focal depth, an ultrasound data processor for ultrasound data processing and an image processing and display unit for image data processing and displaying (Paragraph 0022 teaches an ultrasound system with a processor and display for identifying anatomical features, controlling imaging as a function of imaged anatomical features, and/or imaging as a function of anatomical information. Paragraph 0029 teaches the processor sets one or more imaging parameters. Paragraph 0081 teaches imaging according to the focal positions. See Fig. 1),
further comprising an object detector comprising a classifier (Abstract teaches application of a classifier) that is configured
to detect data representing an object to be detected in an input data set generated by and received from the ultrasound hardware controller (Paragraph 0034 teaches the application of the classifier to identify the anatomical information from the image. See Fig. 2),
to generate an object detection signal representing a likelihood that an object to be detected is represented by the input data set generated by the ultrasound hardware controller (Paragraph 0034 teaches the application of the classifier to identify the anatomical information from the image. See Fig. 2. Paragraph 0039 teaches a probabilistic boosting tree (PBT), which unifies classification, recognition, and clustering into one treatment, may be used. Paragraphs 0056-58 teaches the calculation of the probability of the classification. Paragraph 0049 teaches the model is achieving maximum likelihood) and
to feed object detection signal back to the ultrasound hardware controller for adapting acquisition parameter values for a front end depending on the object detection signal generated by the object detector (Paragraph 0080 teaches that the value of the image parameters is set as a function of the anatomical information. Imaging or scanning is controlled as a function of the particular canonical view, tissue structure, flow pattern, other anatomical information, or combination thereof. The medical imaging system operates to scan a patient and generate medical images in response to one or more settings for imaging parameter. Paragraph 0034 teaches the application of the classifier to identify the anatomical information from the image. See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Simopoulos further teaches an ultrasound system, wherein the object detector comprises at least one neural network that is trained with training data sets comprising data representing an object to be detected (Paragraph 0028 teaches that the classifier can be a neural network classifier. The classifier is instructions, a matrix, a learned code, or other software and/or hardware for distinguishing between information in a medical image. Learned feature vectors are used to classify the anatomy. Paragraph 0035 teaches the classifier is trained. Paragraphs 0037-42 teaches the training such that the classifier is able to distinguish between classes. Paragraphs 0069-74 teaches training with the anatomical information).
Regarding claim 3, Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Simopoulos further teaches an ultrasound system, wherein the object detection signal is based on a prediction generated by the neural network, said prediction representing the likelihood that an object to be detected is represented by the input data set generated by the ultrasound hardware controller (Paragraph 0028 teaches that the classifier can be a neural network classifier. Paragraph 0034 teaches the application of the classifier to identify the anatomical information from the image. See Fig. 2. Paragraph 0039 teaches a probabilistic boosting tree (PBT), which unifies classification, recognition, and clustering into one treatment, may be used. Paragraphs 0056-58 teaches the calculation of the probability of the classification. Paragraph 0049 teaches the model is achieving maximum likelihood. Paragraph 0022 teaches an ultrasound system with a processor and display for identifying anatomical features, controlling imaging as a function of imaged anatomical features, and/or imaging as a function of anatomical information).
Regarding claim 5, Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Simopoulos further teaches an ultrasound system, wherein the input data set fed to the object detector comprises ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound hardware controller and acquisition parameter values that were applied for acquiring the ultrasound data (Abstract teaches anatomical information is identified from a medical image and/or used for controlling a medical diagnostic imaging system, such as an ultrasound system. To identify anatomical information from a medical image, a processor applies a multi-class classifier. Paragraph 0035 teaches the classifier is trained. Paragraphs 0037-42 teaches the training such that the classifier is able to distinguish between classes. Paragraphs 0069-74 teaches training with the anatomical information).
Regarding claim 6, Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Simopoulos further teaches an ultrasound system, further comprising signaling means that are operatively connected to the object detector and that are configured to emit a user perceivable signal that changes depending on an output of the object detector (Paragraph 0029 teaches the display of the anatomical information. Paragraph 0031 teaches that the image data corresponds to the displayed image. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the recognition of the anatomy by the classier is in real time and during the same imaging session. Optimal imaging and measurements are automatically adjusted based on the anatomy. See Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simopoulos (PGPUB No. US 2007/0055153) in view of Ralovich et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0287214).
Regarding claim 4, Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 2, as discussed above.
However, Simopoulos is silent regarding an ultrasound system, wherein the neural network is trained to identify data representing an implanted marker as to object to be detected and is trained with training data sets that comprise data representing an implanted marker.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding classifier-based ultrasound imaging, Ralovich teaches an ultrasound system, wherein the neural network is trained to identify data representing an implanted marker as to object to be detected and is trained with training data sets that comprise data representing an implanted marker (Paragraph 0040 teaches the use of a neural network. Para 0039 teaches that the object of interest can be distinguished with the machine learnt classifier. Paragraph 0042 teaches that the object to be detected may be an implant. Paragraphs 0039-41 teaches that the training data includes information of the object of interest and used as feedback to indicate the correctness of located objects).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Simopoulos with Ralovich’s teaching of a neural network operating with implanted markers. This modified apparatus would allow the user to generate images with a greater temporal and/or spatial resolution than scanning of the entire original volume (Abstract of Ralovich). Furthermore, the modification to ensure more targeted usage of available acquisition time and scanning with higher resolution (Paragraph 0002 of Ralovich).
Regarding claim 7, modified Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Simopoulos is silent regarding an ultrasound system, and further comprising an implantable object that is configured to exhibit an exclusive feature that can only be detected by the ultrasound system.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding classifier-based ultrasound imaging, Ralovich teaches an ultrasound system, and further comprising an implantable object that is configured to exhibit an exclusive feature that can only be detected by the ultrasound system (Paragraph 0040 teaches the use of a neural network. Para 0039 teaches that the object of interest can be distinguished with the machine learnt classifier. Paragraph 0042 teaches that the object to be detected may be an implant. Paragraph 0043 teaches detected anatomy or device has any spatial extent. For example, the anatomy extends by multiple voxels in one or more dimensions. The anatomy has any shape, such as smoothly varying curved shape. Jagged or flat portions may occur. A device may have a smooth surface. Abstract teaches that the volume of interest is ultrasonically imaged).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Simopoulos with Ralovich’s teaching of implant being detectable by ultrasound. This modified apparatus would allow the user to generate images with a greater temporal and/or spatial resolution than scanning of the entire original volume (Abstract of Ralovich). Furthermore, the modification to ensure more targeted usage of available acquisition time and scanning with higher resolution (Paragraph 0002 of Ralovich).
Regarding claim 12, Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 3, as discussed above.
However, Simopoulos is silent regarding an ultrasound system, wherein the neural network is trained to identify data representing an implanted marker as to object to be detected and is trained with training data sets that comprise data representing an implanted marker.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding classifier-based ultrasound imaging, Ralovich teaches an ultrasound system, wherein the neural network is trained to identify data representing an implanted marker as to object to be detected and is trained with training data sets that comprise data representing an implanted marker (Paragraph 0040 teaches the use of a neural network. Para 0039 teaches that the object of interest can be distinguished with the machine learnt classifier. Paragraph 0042 teaches that the object to be detected may be an implant. Paragraphs 0039-41 teaches that the training data includes information of the object of interest and used as feedback to indicate the correctness of located objects).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Simopoulos with Ralovich’s teaching of a neural network operating with implanted markers. This modified apparatus would allow the user to generate images with a greater temporal and/or spatial resolution than scanning of the entire original volume (Abstract of Ralovich). Furthermore, the modification to ensure more targeted usage of available acquisition time and scanning with higher resolution (Paragraph 0002 of Ralovich).
Regarding claim 13, modified Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 12, as discussed above.
Simopoulos further teaches an ultrasound system, wherein the input data set fed to the object detector comprises ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound hardware controller and acquisition parameter values that were applied for acquiring the ultrasound data (Abstract teaches anatomical information is identified from a medical image and/or used for controlling a medical diagnostic imaging system, such as an ultrasound system. To identify anatomical information from a medical image, a processor applies a multi-class classifier. Paragraph 0035 teaches the classifier is trained. Paragraphs 0037-42 teaches the training such that the classifier is able to distinguish between classes. Paragraphs 0069-74 teaches training with the anatomical information).
Regarding claim 14, modified Simopoulos teaches the ultrasound system in claim 13, as discussed above.
Simopoulos further teaches an ultrasound system, further comprising signaling means that are operatively connected to the object detector and that are configured to emit a user perceivable signal that changes depending on an output of the object detector (Paragraph 0029 teaches the display of the anatomical information. Paragraph 0031 teaches that the image data corresponds to the displayed image. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the recognition of the anatomy by the classier is in real time and during the same imaging session. Optimal imaging and measurements are automatically adjusted based on the anatomy. See Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Patil et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0128114): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Henderson et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0262720): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Choi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0282200): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Errico et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0113190): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Levy et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0307427): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Schnellbäche et al. (PGPUB No. US 2023/0148382): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Bedi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0045710): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
Wang et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0287214): Teaches the adjustment of focal depth and imaging parameters according to the image processing and identification of an object according to a machine learning system.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798