DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed 29 September 2023. Claims 1-24 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-099271, filed on 15 June 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 29 September 2023 and 26 November 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS’s were considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the second parameter changes along with a changing of the first parameter in accordance with the stroke motion of the first actuator” and further recites “determine a first target stroke length of the first actuator and a second target stroke length of the second actuator to change the first parameter in accordance with the operation of the first operating member and hold the second parameter constant”. It is not clear whether the second parameter is changing with first parameter OR being held constant. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claims have been interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 15 recites similar language as claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons above.
Claim 3 recites “the first parameter changes along with a changing of the second parameter in accordance with the stroke motion of the second actuator” and further recites “determine the first target stroke length and the second target stroke length to change the second parameter in accordance with the operation of the second operating member and hold the first parameter constant”. It is not clear whether the first parameter is changing with second parameter OR being held constant. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claims have been interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 16 recites similar language as claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons above.
Claim 4 recites “…the second parameter and the third parameter change along with the changing of the first parameter in accordance with the stroke motion of the first actuator” and further recites “determine the first target stroke length, the second target stroke length, and a third target stroke length of the third actuator to change the first parameter in accordance with the operation of the first operating member and hold the second parameter and the third parameter constant”. It is not clear whether the third parameter is changing with first parameter OR being held constant. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claims have been interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 17 recites similar language as claim 4 and is rejected for similar reasons above.
Claims 3-7 and 16-20 are rejected by virtue of the dependency on previously rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto (JPH06101247, paragraph numbers cited based on the attached machine translated copy) in view of Stotlar (US20200123735).
As to claims 1 and 14, Sakamoto teaches a work machine and a method comprising:
a vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text);
a work implement movably connected to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, para 0014, Fig. 1 and related text);
a plurality of actuators that are connected to the work implement and change an orientation of the work implement with respect to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, para 0014, para 0010, Fig. 1 and related text);
an operating device that is operable to change the orientation of the work implement (Sakamoto, para 0009-0010: left and right operation levers…control values… solenoid valves supplying pressure oil to lift cylinders…; para 0014: …the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends. When the lateral feed cylinder 5 is extended, the blade 9 moves to the right, and when it is retracted, the blade 9 moves to the left. When the shift cylinder 10 is extended, the blade 9 shifts to the left, and when it is retracted, the blade 9 shifts to the right…; Fig. 1 and related text);
a controller configured to (Sakamoto, para 0009)
acquire a current orientation of the work implement (Sakamoto, para 0017: When the blade is to rotate left…),
determine a target orientation of the work implement corresponding to an operation of the operating device (Sakamoto, para 0017: When the blade is to rotate left, the rotation hydraulic motor 7 is driven, and the blade 9 rotates together with the rotation circle 6 in the direction of the arrow a as shown in FIG. 9(a), also see para 0010-0014),
determine respective target stroke lengths of the plurality of actuators so that the work implement assumes the target orientation from the current orientation with a combination of stroke motions of the plurality of actuators (Sakamoto, para 0017: when the blade is to rotate left, the rotation hydraulic motor is driven…shift cylinder contracts, causing the blade to move to the right relative to the turning circle…the blade is moved to the right by the shift cylinder 10…, also see para 0010-0014), and
control the plurality of actuators based on the target stroke lengths (Sakamoto, para 0017: when the blade is to rotate left, the rotation hydraulic motor is driven…shift cylinder contracts, causing the blade to move to the right relative to the turning circle…the blade is moved to the right by the shift cylinder 10…, also see para 0006-0014).
Sakamoto does not explicitly teach a sensor that detects the orientation of the work implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stotlar teaches …one or more sensors may also be provided to observe and detect various parameters associated with the blade 30 of the work vehicle 10 in order to provide a signal indicative of a position of the blade 30…the sensors 59 may be angular, linear, or acceleration sensors… the signals from the sensors 59 can be used to indicate the position of the blade 30… the sensors 59 may include a GNSS 60 with one or two transceiver units mounted directly to the blade 30… the GNSS 60 may include a first GNSS transceiver unit 61a mounted in a predetermined position relative to a first end 66 of the blade 30 … additional sensors 62a-62c for the blade 30 may also be disposed on or near the circle 22... include angle sensors to detect rotational angle orientations of the circle 22 and/or the blade 30, linear sensors to detect the "length" of an associated cylinder of the circle 22 and/or the blade 30, or microelectromechanical sensors (MEMS) that observe a force of gravity and an acceleration associated with the circle 22 and/or the blade 30 (see at least Stotlar, para 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakamoto so as to include a sensor that detects the orientation of the work implement in view of Stotlar et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the sensor that detects the orientation of the work implement of Stotlar can be used in Sakamoto, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Sakamoto and Stotlar because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a method to determine the position and angle of the work implement so that the operation of the work implement could be more precisely and accurately performed.
As to claims 2 and 15, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 14.
Sakamoto further teaches the orientation of the work implement is defined by a plurality of parameters that represent at least one of a position and a direction of the work implement with respect to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, para 0004: …raising, lowering, or tilting the blade 9…; para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…),
the plurality of parameters include a first parameter and a second parameter (Sakamoto, para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…),
the operating device includes a first operating member that is operable to change the first parameter (Sakamoto, para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…), and
the plurality of actuators include a first actuator and a second actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…),
the second parameter changes along with a changing of the first parameter in accordance with the stroke motion of the first actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…),
at least the second parameter changes with the stroke motion of the second actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…), and
the controller is configured to
determine a first target stroke length of the first actuator and a second target stroke length of the second actuator to change the first parameter in accordance with the operation of the first operating member and hold the second parameter constant (Sakamoto, para 004: …raising, lowering, or tilting the blade 9…; para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…the length of the lateral feed cylinder 5 is adjusted to tilt the blade 9 relative to the horizontal, thereby preventing the position of the left lower portion 9a of the blade 9 from changing),
control the first actuator based on the first target stroke length (Sakamoto, para 004: …raising, lowering, or tilting the blade 9…; , para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…), and
control the second actuator based on the second target stroke length (Sakamoto, para 004: …raising, lowering, or tilting the blade 9…; , para 0014: when the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends…).
As to claims 3 and 16, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 2 and the method according to claim 16.
Sakamoto further teaches the operating device further includes a second operating member that is operable to change the second parameter (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f)), and
the first parameter changes along with a changing of the second parameter in accordance with the stroke motion of the second actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f)), and
the controller is configured to
determine the first target stroke length and the second target stroke length to
change the second parameter in accordance with the operation of the second operating member and hold the first parameter constant (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f)),
control the first actuator based on the first target stroke length (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f)), and
control the second actuator based on the second target stroke length (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f)).
As to claims 4 and 17, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 2 and the method according to claim 15.
Sakamoto further teaches the plurality of parameters further include a third parameter (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right…),
the plurality of actuators further include a third actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f))),
the second parameter and the third parameter change along with the changing of the
first parameter in accordance with the stroke motion of the first actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f))), and
at least the second parameter changes with the stroke motion of the second actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f))), and
at least the third parameter changes with the stroke motion of the third actuator (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f))), and
the controller is configured to
determine the first target stroke length, the second target stroke length, and a third target stroke length of the third actuator to change the first parameter in accordance with the operation of the first operating member and hold the second parameter and the third parameter constant, control the first actuator based on the first target stroke length, and control the second actuator based on the second target stroke length, and control the third actuator based on the third target stroke length (Sakamoto, para 0014: …when the blade is at the upper right corner, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by approximately twice its stroke, and the traverse cylinder 5 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the upper right as shown in FIG. 8(d). At this time, the position of the lower left portion 9a of the blade 9 remains unchanged, as in the case described above. When the blade moves up and to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 contracts, and the right lift cylinder 4 contracts by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move up and to the left as shown in FIG. 8(e), with the position of the lower right portion 9b of the blade 9 remaining unchanged. When the blade moves downward to the left, the left lift cylinder 3 extends, and the right lift cylinder 4 extends by half its stroke, causing the blade 9 to move downward to the left as shown in FIG. 8(f))).
As to claims 5 and 18, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 4 and the method according to claim 17.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the work implement includes
a supporting member movably connected to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text), and
a blade movably connected to the supporting member (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text),
the blade includes a first end part and a second end part in a left-right direction of the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text),
the first parameter is a height of the first end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017),
the second parameter is a height of the second end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017), and
the third parameter is a yaw angle of the supporting member with respect to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017).
As to claims 6 and 19, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 4 and the method according to claim 17.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the work implement includes
a supporting member movably connected to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text), and
a blade movably connected to the supporting member (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text),
the blade includes a first end part and a second end part in a left-right direction of the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text),
the first parameter is a yaw angle of the supporting member with respect to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017),
the second parameter is a height of the first end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017), and
the third parameter is a height of the second end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017).
As to claims 7 and 20, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 4 and the method according to claim 17.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the work implement includes
a supporting member movably connected to the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text), and
a blade movably connected to the supporting member (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text),
the blade includes a first end part and a second end part in a left-right direction of the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text),
the first parameter is a tilt angle of the blade (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017),
the second parameter is a height of the first end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017), and
the third parameter is a height of the second end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017).
As to claims 8 and 21, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 14.
Sakamoto further teaches a rotation actuator that rotates at least a portion of the blade (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0017),
the controller being configured to
determine the target stroke lengths of each of the plurality of actuators and a target rotation angle of the rotation actuator so that the work implement assumes the target orientation with a combination of the stroke motions of the plurality of actuators and a rotation motion of the rotation actuator (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017),
control the rotation actuator based on the target rotation angle (Sakamoto, para 0014-0017),
control the plurality of actuators based on the target stroke lengths (Sakamoto, para 0014-0017).
As to claims 9 and 22, (Currently Amended) Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 8 and the method according to claim 21.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the orientation of the work implement is defined by a plurality of parameters that represent at least one of a position and a direction of the work implement with respect to the vehicle body, the plurality of parameters include a first parameter, a second parameter, and a third parameter, the second parameter and the third parameter change along with a changing of the first parameter in accordance with the rotation motion of the rotation actuator, the plurality of actuators include a first actuator and a second actuator, at least the second parameter changes in accordance with the stroke motion of the first actuator, at least the third parameter changes in accordance with the stroke motion of the second actuator, the operating device includes a first operating member that is operable to change the first parameter (Sakamoto, para 0014-0017: …the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends. When the lateral feed cylinder 5 is extended, the blade 9 moves to the right, and when it is retracted, the blade 9 moves to the left. When the shift cylinder 10 is extended, the blade 9 shifts to the left, and when it is retracted, the blade 9 shifts to the right… the length of the lateral feed cylinder 5 is adjusted to tilt the blade 9 relative to the horizontal, thereby preventing the position of the left lower portion 9a of the blade 9 from changing…When the blade is to rotate left, the rotation hydraulic motor 7 is driven… When the blade is turning left with the right end of the blade fixed, the turning hydraulic motor 7 is driven to turn the turning circle 6 to the left, and at the same time the shift cylinder 10 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move to the right relative to the turning circle 6, so that the position of the right end 9c of the blade 9 is fixed as shown in Figure 9(b)… when the blade 9 is turned left as shown in FIG. 9(a), the right end 9c of the blade 9 is shifted to the left due to the turning angle θ and the blade length, so the blade 9 is moved to the right by the shift cylinder 10 to make the position of the right end 9c the same… When the blade left end is kept constant and turns right, the swing hydraulic motor 7 is driven and the shift cylinder 10 is simultaneously extended, causing the blade 9 to swing right as shown in Figure 9(c) and simultaneously move leftward, so that the position of the blade left end 9d remains the same), and
the controller is configured to determine the target rotation angle, the first target stroke length of the first actuator, and the second target stroke length of the second actuator to change the first parameter in accordance with the operation of the first operating member and hold the second parameter and the third parameter constant, control the rotation actuator based on the target rotation angle, control the first actuator based on the first target stroke length, and control the second actuator based on the second target stroke length (Sakamoto, para 0014-0017: …the left and right lifting cylinders 3 and 4 are extended, the blade 9 descends, and when they are retracted, the blade 9 ascends. When the lateral feed cylinder 5 is extended, the blade 9 moves to the right, and when it is retracted, the blade 9 moves to the left. When the shift cylinder 10 is extended, the blade 9 shifts to the left, and when it is retracted, the blade 9 shifts to the right… the length of the lateral feed cylinder 5 is adjusted to tilt the blade 9 relative to the horizontal, thereby preventing the position of the left lower portion 9a of the blade 9 from changing…When the blade is to rotate left, the rotation hydraulic motor 7 is driven… When the blade is turning left with the right end of the blade fixed, the turning hydraulic motor 7 is driven to turn the turning circle 6 to the left, and at the same time the shift cylinder 10 contracts, causing the blade 9 to move to the right relative to the turning circle 6, so that the position of the right end 9c of the blade 9 is fixed as shown in Figure 9(b)… when the blade 9 is turned left as shown in FIG. 9(a), the right end 9c of the blade 9 is shifted to the left due to the turning angle θ and the blade length, so the blade 9 is moved to the right by the shift cylinder 10 to make the position of the right end 9c the same… When the blade left end is kept constant and turns right, the swing hydraulic motor 7 is driven and the shift cylinder 10 is simultaneously extended, causing the blade 9 to swing right as shown in Figure 9(c) and simultaneously move leftward, so that the position of the blade left end 9d remains the same).
As to claim 10, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 9.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the work implement includes a supporting member movably connected at least to the vehicle body, and a blade movably connected to the supporting member, the blade includes a first end part and a second end part in a left-right direction of the vehicle body, the first parameter is a rotation angle of the rotation actuator, the second parameter is a height of the first end part, and the third parameter is a height of the second end part (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017).
As to claim 11, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 1.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the vehicle body includes a rear frame, and a front frame that extends forward from the rear frame, the work implement includes a drawbar swingably supported at least in an up-down direction and a left-right direction of the vehicle body with respect to the front frame, and a blade supported by the drawbar, and the plurality of actuators include a left lift cylinder that is connected to the drawbar and the front frame and that moves a left end of the blade up and down, a right lift cylinder that is connected to the draw bar and the front frame and that moves a right end of the blade up and down, and a draw bar shift cylinder that is connected to the draw bar and the front frame and that causes the drawbar to swing in the left-right direction of the vehicle body (Sakamoto, Fig. 1 and related text, para 0014-0017).
As to claims 12 and 23, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 14.
Sakamoto further teaches a mode switching member that is operable by an operator in order to switch a control for changing the orientation of the work implement between an integrated control mode and a direct control mode (Sakamoto para 0012, 0019-0021, para 0028-0030), the plurality of actuators including include a first actuator, the operating device including includes a first operating member, and the controller being configured to determine the target orientation corresponding to an operation of the first operating member, determine respective target stroke lengths of the plurality of actuators so that the work implement assumes the target
orientation from the current orientation with a combination of the stroke motions of the plurality of actuators, and control the plurality of actuators based on the target stroke lengths in the integrated control mode, and actuate only the first actuator in accordance with the operation of the first operating member in the direct control mode (Sakamoto para 0010-0017).
As to claims 13 and 24, Sakamoto in view of Stotlar teaches the work machine according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 14.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the plurality of actuators include a first actuator, and the operating device includes a first operating member, and a first cancel button corresponding to the first operating member (Sakamoto para 0012, 0019-0021, para 0028-0030, Tables 1-8), and the controller is configured to change the orientation of the work implement based on an integrated control mode when the first cancel button is not operated and the first operating member is operated, determine the target orientation corresponding to an operation of the first operating member, determine respective target stroke lengths of the plurality of actuators so that the work implement assumes the target orientation from the current orientation with a combination of the stroke motions of the plurality of actuators, and control the plurality of actuators based on the target stroke lengths in the integrated control mode, change the orientation of the work implement based on a direct control mode when the first operating member is operated while the first cancel button is being pressed, and actuate only the first actuator in accordance with the operation of the first operating member in the direct control mode (Sakamoto para 0010-0021, para 0028-0030; Tables 1-8).
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
Inquiry
/HONGYE LIANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664