DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-8 in the reply filed on 03/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US20200338284).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches an aerosol generating device (inhaler device 100A) comprising:
an air path (aerosol flow path 121 as indicated by arrow 124) including an aerosol generating region (atomizing part 118 ¶[0099]);
a porous element (flavor source 128) downstream of the aerosol generating region located in the air path (fig. 1B; ¶[0098], [0107]);
a sensor 112 for determining a change in a characteristic at least one pressure or direction of airflow in the air path (The sensor 112 may include a pressure sensor that detects fluctuation in pressure in the air intake channel 120 and / or the aerosol flow path 121 or a flow sensor that detects a flow rate in the air intake channel 120 and / or the aerosol flow path 121 ¶[0103])
with respect to the limitation “to indicate a change in a characteristic of the porous element”, Yamada teaches that detected variables, including airflow parameters, are used to determine whether a predefined condition relating to an element of the device is satisfied, where the element includes the flavor source disposed in the airflow path, and wherein the condition corresponds to a change in capacity or residual amount of the element (¶¶ [00116], [1030]). The capacity or residual amount of the flavor source constitutes a characteristic of the porous element. Accordingly, the airflow parameter determined by the sensor is used to indicate a change in a characteristic of the porous element.
To the extent the claim language “to indicate a change in a characteristic of the porous element” is interpreted as functional language, such language does not impose structural limitation on the claimed device, as the claim does not require any specific structural modification of the sensor beyond determing airflow paraments.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada teaches wherein the sensor is arranged to determine the change in at least one of the following characteristics: pressure of the airflow in the air path ((The sensor 112 may include a pressure sensor that detects fluctuation in pressure in the air intake channel 120 and/or the aerosol flow path 121 or a flow sensor that detects a flow rate in the air intake channel 120 and/or the aerosol flow path 121 ¶[0103]); temperature of the airflow in the air path; humidity of the airflow in the air path; density of vapor in the air path; change in content of the airflow in the air path; or direction of the airflow of the air path.
Regarding limitation of claim 3,” a controller arranged to receive a signal relating to the determination of the sensor of the change in the characteristic of the airflow in the air path”,
Yamada teaches a controller configured to receive signals from a sensor that detects airflow parameters such as pressure or flow rate in the air path (¶¶[0114], [0132]). The controller uses the detected airflow parameter to determine whether a predefined condition is defined.
“wherein the controller is arranged to prevent activation of the aerosol generating device in response to a predetermined value of the determination of the sensor”
Yamada teaches that the controller determines whether a detected airflow parameter meets a predefined condition or threshold (¶¶ [0130], [0132]). When the condition is satisfied, the controller prohibits energization of the atomizing part, thereby stopping generation of aerosol ¶[0137]). The preventing energization of the atomizing part corresponds to preventing activation of aerosol generating device in response to a predetermined value of the sensor determination.
Regarding the additional limitation of claim 4:
“wherein the porous element is arranged to become less porous over time of use”
Yamada teaches:
a tobacco flavor source (porous element) disposed in the airflow path (¶¶ [0106]–[0107])
heated aerosol generation at the atomizing part (¶ [0099])
air and aerosol flowing through the tobacco flavor source during use (¶¶ [0099]–[0100])
Accordingly, Yamada teaches that the same material (tobacco porous element) is subjected to the same conditions (heated and/or moisture-containing airflow during use).
Applicant’s specification confirms that tobacco exposed to hot and/or wet airflow degrades over time, resulting in reduced porosity (Spec., p. 4–5).
Therefore: same material plus same operating conditions equals same result, namely the porous tobacco element becomes less porous over time of use.
Accordingly, the porous element of Yamada is inherently arranged to become less porous over time of use.
To the extent the claim recites functional language, such language does not impose a structural limitation beyond the porous tobacco element already taught by Yamada.
Regarding claim 7, Yamada teaches wherein the porous element comprises a flavorant ([0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada teaches wherein the flavorant is at least one of menthol, fruit, tobacco, or blends thereof ([0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US20200338284).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada teaches: the porous element comprises a plurality of channels for airflow, as Yamada teaches a porous tobacco flavor source through which air and aerosol pass, and such porous material is reasonably understood to include multiple airflow paths/channels (¶¶ [0099]–[0100], [0106]–[0107]).
Yamada does not teach: wherein a majority of the plurality of channels close over time of use.
However, Yamada teaches a porous tobacco element through which heated aerosol and airflow pass during use (¶¶ [0099]–[0100], [0106]–[0107]). It is well understood that porous materials subjected to heated and/or moisture-containing airflow undergo accumulation of constituents and structural changes over time, resulting in a reduction of available flow paths within the material.
As use continues, an increasing number of channels become obstructed while the total number of channels remains fixed, such that the number of closed channels increases relative to the number of open channels.
This represents the application of a known behavior of porous materials under known operating conditions (heated aerosol flow) to the device of Yamada, yielding the predictable result of progressive channel closure over time of use (MPEP § 2143).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a majority of the plurality of channels close over a time of use, as continued exposure of the porous tobacco element of Yamada to heated and/or moisture-containing airflow would result in accumulation of constituents and structural changes that reduce available flow paths over time. Such modification represents the application of a known behavior of porous materials under known operating conditions to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143). One would have been motivated to make such modification in order to account for and accommodate expected changes in airflow through the porous element during use, thereby maintaining predictable operation of the device.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US20200338284). as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bodaghi (US 6,488,801).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada teaches: the porous element comprises a plurality of channels for airflow, as Yamada teaches a porous tobacco flavor source through which air and aerosol pass, and such porous material is reasonably understood to include multiple airflow paths/channels (¶¶ [0099]–[0100], [0106]–[0107]).
Yamada does not explicitly teach: that a majority of the plurality of channels of the porous element are arranged to close when subjected to airflow at about 40°C to about 120°C for a predetermined period of time.
Bodaghi teaches: a porous fibrous material having a plurality of pores/channels for fluid flow, that pore size corresponds to permeability (col. 14, lines 1–5)
hat the material shrinks under a temperature differential, resulting in:
reduction in pore size
restriction or elimination of fluid flow through the pores (col. 13, lines 40–55)
that such pore reduction occurs at elevated temperatures, including temperatures in the range of approximately 25–110°C or higher (col. 19, lines 40–65)
Bodaghi is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor because it relates to behavior of porous materials under thermal conditions affecting fluid flow. The present claims likewise concern airflow through a porous element subjected to temperature. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably consulted Bodaghi for its teachings regarding temperature-dependent changes in porous structures. See MPEP §2141.01(a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a porous material as taught by Bodaghi for the porous element of Yamada, since Bodaghi teaches that such porous materials exhibit temperature-dependent pore size reduction when subjected to elevated temperatures, including temperatures overlapping the claimed range of about 40°C to about 120°C, resulting in restricted or eliminated flow through the pores.
Such modification represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, as the porous element of Yamada is exposed to heated airflow, and Bodaghi teaches the known effect of temperature on porous materials, namely shrinkage resulting in reduced pore size and restricted flow at elevated temperatures.
Furthermore, the temperature-dependent pore size reduction taught by Bodaghi occurs as a function of exposure to temperature, such that the reduction in pore size necessarily takes place over a period of time under the applied thermal conditions, thereby meeting the claimed requirement of a predetermined period of time.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747