DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 06/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24, lines 3-4, recites “the at least one vertical storage cell” despite previously reciting “at least one vertical storage cell column” in line 3. For purposes of consistency, it is recommended that this recitation be amended to “the at least one vertical storage cell column”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites “a pathway”, despite previously introducing “a pathway” in Claim 28. It is unclear if this recitation in Claim 32 intends to reference the previous recitation or intends to introduce new, additional “pathway.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 28-29 and 31-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curlander et al. (US 20170175413 A1) in view of Siewert (US 10501205 B1).
Regarding Claim 24, Curlander discloses a logistics tower (fulfillment center 100, Fig. 1A) comprising:
a frame (shell 112, Fig. 1A);
at least one vertical storage cell column defined by the frame (levels 120 from 120(N) to the top of 120(2) make up a vertical storage column, Fig. 1B), the at least one vertical storage cell having a first end (top of 120(N), Fig. 1B) and an oppositely disposed second end (top of 120(2), Fig. 1B), the at least one vertical storage cell column including a plurality of storage modules (storage locations 122 between 116 and top of 120(2), Fig. 1B) and an elevator shaft (vertical shafts associated with passages 118, examiner notes there are three vertical shafts with no storage locations 122 depicted in Fig. 1B), the elevator shaft extending through the at least one vertical storage cell column between the first and second ends thereof (Fig. 1B), each storage module of the plurality of storage modules being situated adjacent to the elevator shaft within the frame (Fig. 1B);
at least one vertical retrieval system (elevator robot 124(M), Fig. 1B), the at least one vertical retrieval system including a robotic bin handler (elevator robot 124(M), see para. [0038], “…may…stow items, pick items, and/or perform other item-related operations”);
at least a first horizontal shuttle system (124(2), Fig. 1B), the first horizontal shuttle system including a horizontal shuttle grid (area of passage 136, Fig. 1C), the first horizontal shuttle system being situated below the at least one vertical storage cell column and the at least one vertical retrieval system (124(2) is below the top of 120(2) and below 124(M) when 124(M) is located above 120(2), Fig. 1B); and
at least one tower drone port in communication with the elevator shaft (118 and 114, Figs. 1A-1C), the at least one tower drone port providing access for a delivery drone to enter the logistics tower and to exit the logistics tower (UAVs 108 and paras. [0030] and [0034]),
wherein the robotic bin handler is configured to securely engage with and transport the delivery drone to the first horizontal shuttle system (124(M) “may be configured to move…UAVs…between different floors”, see para. [0038]), and
wherein the robotic bin handler is configured to securely engage with and transport storage bins between the plurality of storage modules and the first horizontal shuttle system (para. [0038]).
Curlander is silent about a primary winch, and the primary winch being in operative communication with the robotic bin handler to effect vertical movement of the robotic bin handler in the elevator shaft of the at least one vertical storage cell column.
Siewert teaches a primary winch (52), the primary winch being in operative communication with a similar handler to effect vertical movement a similar elevator shaft (Col. 12, lines 23-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the logistics tower of Curlander with the winch as taught by Siewert, whereby Siewert’s winch is in operative communication with Curlander’s robotic bin handler to effect vertical movement of the robotic bin handler in the elevator shaft of the at least one vertical storage column, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a mechanism for vertical movement of the robotic bin handler.
Regarding Claim 28, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 24, wherein the at least one tower drone port defines a pathway by which the robotic bin handler can extend therethrough to engage the delivery drone situated within the at least one tower drone port (Curlander, pathway between 120, as exemplified by 130 in Fig. 1C, and 106, and pathway between delivery shaft and 130, Fig. 1C), and
wherein the robotic bin handler is configured to securely engage with and transport the delivery drone between the at least one tower drone port and the first horizontal shuttle system (Curlander, para. [0040] and Figs. 1B-1C).
Regarding Claim 29, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 28, wherein the frame includes a plurality of horizontal-facing openings (Curlander, 118 and 114, Fig. 1A), and wherein each of the at least one tower drone port is aligned with a corresponding one of the plurality of horizontal-facing openings, respectively (Curlander, Figs. 1A-1C).
Regarding Claim 31, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 28, wherein the at least one tower drone port includes a sidewall (Curlander, sidewall located on edges of opening 114, Fig. 1A), and wherein the pathway includes an opening in the sidewall (Curlander, aperture 114, Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 32, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 28, wherein each of the plurality of horizontal- facing openings provides a pathway to a particular storage level, respectively (Curlander, Figs. 1A-1B, examiner notes openings 114 provide pathways to a particular storage level as depicted in Fig. 1C).
Regarding Claim 33, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 24, wherein the at least one tower drone port is situated within the elevator shaft (Curlander, 118 is located within the top of the elevator shafts in communication with 124(M), for example), and wherein the tower drone port includes an internal cavity (Curlander, internal cavities to accommodate the elevator shafts, see Fig. 1B) to permit the robotic bin handler to traverse through the internal cavity as the robotic bin handler is moved up and down within the elevator shaft (para. [0038]).
Regarding Claim 34, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 24, wherein the at least one tower drone port is situated atop the logistics tower (Curlander, 118, Fig. 1A-1B and para. [0034]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Curlander as applied above, in further view of Fernandez et al. (US 11814170 B2), hereafter Fernandez.
Regarding Claim 30, modified Curlander teaches the logistics tower of claim 28, wherein the at least one tower drone port includes a flange (Curlander, 106, Fig. 1A) that defines an opening (Curlander, 106 defines opening 114, Fig. 1A) in the at least one tower drone port that provides access for the delivery drone to enter the logistics tower and to exit the logistics tower (Curlander, Fig 1A and para. [0031]).
Modified Curlander is silent about wherein at least one guidance aid is located on the flange.
Fernandez teaches a guidance aid (320 and 330, Fig. 3) on a similar flange.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the flange of modified Curlander with the at least one guidance aid as taught by Fernandez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the UAV to determine the correct delivery location (Fernandez, Col. 4, lines 62-57).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (US 20180330313 A1), hereafter Clarke, in further view of:
Farley et a. (US 20220291700 A1), hereafter Farley
Curlander et al. (US 20170175413 A1)
Siewert (US 10501205 B1).
Regarding Claim 26, Clarke discloses a delivery drone system for transporting goods between locations (Fig. 8a), which comprises:
at least one delivery drone (100, Fig. 7a), the at least one delivery drone having an airframe (body of 100, Fig. 7a);
a drive module joined to the airframe (housing depicted at 110, Fig. 7a), the drive module having a housing, the housing of the drive module defining an internal cavity (Fig. 7a, housing at 110 and cavity of the housing);
at least one storage module joined to one of the airframe and the drive module (means for carrying a delivery container 2, Fig. 7A), the storage module having a housing (outer shell of 2, Fig. 7a and para. [0065]-[0066]), the housing of the at least one storage module defining an internal cavity (internal cavity of 2, Fig. 7a and para. [0065]-[0066]);
at least one motor joined to the airframe (para. [0065], “motor”);
at least one rotor operatively coupled to the at least one motor (para. [0065], “motor linked to four propeller means”);
at least one drone delivery port (Fig. 10b), the at least one drone delivery port including a delivery shaft (chute 155, Fig. 10b), the delivery shaft having a top end (top of 155, Fig. 10b), a bottom end disposed opposite the top end (bottom of 155, Fig. 10b) and a side wall extending between the top end and the bottom end (sidewall of 155, Fig. 10b), the side wall defining an internal cavity (interior of chute 155, Fig. 10b, and para. [0079]);
a drone docking platform situated at the top end of the delivery shaft (receiving box 130, Fig. 10a), the drone docking platform having a top section (top lid of receiving box 130, Fig. 10a), an oppositely disposed bottom section situated on the top end of the delivery shaft (bottom of 130 with 160, Fig. 10a) and a plurality of support legs (support legs between top and bottom of 130, Fig. 10a), the plurality of support legs extending between and interconnecting the top section and the bottom section (Fig. 10a), the top section and the bottom section being separated from one another and defining a space therebetween into which the at least one delivery drone may travel and dock (interior of 130, Fig. 10a), the bottom section having an opening formed therein that is in alignment and communication with the internal cavity of the delivery shaft (160, Fig. 10a and para. [0079]); and
at least one delivery compartment situated at the bottom end of the delivery shaft (170, Fig. 10b); and
wherein the at least one delivery drone is selectively navigable to and dockable with the at least one drone delivery port (para. [0072]-[0074]).
Clarke is silent about drive circuitry in electrical communication with the at least one motor;
at least one battery in electrical communication with the drive circuitry and the at least one motor; and at least one computer in electrical communication with the drive circuitry, the at least one battery and the at least one motor, wherein the drive circuitry, the at least one battery and the at least one computer are at least partially situated within the internal cavity of the drive module; and
at least one logistics tower, the at one logistics tower having:
at least one vertical storage cell column having a first end and an oppositely disposed second end, the at least one vertical storage cell column including a plurality of storage modules and an elevator shaft, the elevator shaft extending through the at least one vertical storage cell column between the first and second ends thereof, each storage module of the plurality of storage modules being situated adjacent to the elevator shaft;
at least one vertical retrieval system, the at least one vertical retrieval system including a primary winch and a robotic bin handler, the primary winch being in operative communication with the robotic bin handler to effect vertical movement of the robotic bin handler in the elevator shaft of the at least one vertical storage cell column;
at least a first horizontal shuttle system, the first horizontal shuttle system including a horizontal shuttle grid, the first horizontal shuttle system being situated below the at least one vertical storage cell column and the at least one vertical retrieval system;
and at least one tower drone port for facilitating entry of the at least one delivery drone into the elevator shaft of the logistics tower, the at least one tower drone port being mounted to the elevator shaft wherein the at least one drone port is situated at a residential or commercial property, and
wherein the at least one delivery drone is selectively navigable between and dockable with the at least one drone delivery port and the at least one logistics tower.
Farley teaches drive circuitry (para. [0027], “processing circuit”) in electrical communication with the a similar motor (para. [0027];
at least one battery (para. [0027], “battery”) in electrical communication with the drive circuitry and the at least one motor (para. [0027]); and
at least one computer (para. [0027], “controller”) in electrical communication with the drive circuitry, the at least one battery and the at least one motor, wherein the drive circuitry (para. [0027]), the at least one battery and the at least one computer are at least partially situated within a similar internal cavity of the drive module (104, para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delivery drone system of Clarke with the drive circuitry, at least one battery, and at least one computer as taught by Farley, whereby Farley’s are situated in Clarke’s internal cavity, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide control system for the delivery drone.
Curlander teaches at least one logistics tower (100, Fig. 1A), the at one logistics tower having:
at least one vertical storage cell column (levels 120 from 120(N) to the top of 120(2) make up a vertical storage column, Fig. 1B) having a first end (top of 120(N), Fig. 1B) and an oppositely disposed second end (top of 120(2), Fig. 1B), the at least one vertical storage cell column including a plurality of storage modules (storage locations 122 between 116 and top of 120(2), Fig. 1B) and an elevator shaft (vertical shafts associated with passages 118, examiner notes there are three vertical shafts with no storage locations 122 depicted in Fig. 1B), the elevator shaft extending through the at least one vertical storage cell column between the first and second ends thereof (Fig. 1B), each storage module of the plurality of storage modules being situated adjacent to the elevator shaft (Fig. 1B);
at least one vertical retrieval system (elevator robot 124(M), Fig. 1B), the at least one vertical retrieval system including a robotic bin handler (elevator robot 124(M), see para. [0038], “…may…stow items, pick items, and/or perform other item-related operations”);
at least a first horizontal shuttle system (124(2), Fig. 1B), the first horizontal shuttle system including a horizontal shuttle grid (area of passage 136, Fig. 1C), the first horizontal shuttle system being situated below the at least one vertical storage cell column and the at least one vertical retrieval system (124(2) is below the top of 120(2) and below 124(M) when 124(M) is located above 120(2), Fig. 1B);
and at least one tower drone port (118 and 114, Figs. 1A-1C) for facilitating entry of the at least one delivery drone into the elevator shaft of the logistics tower (UAVs 108 and paras. [0030] and [0034]), the at least one tower drone port being mounted to the elevator shaft (Fig. 1B-1C) wherein the at least one drone port is situated at a residential or commercial property (para. [0029], examiner notes “a self service location…for customers to pick up items” may be considered a commercial property),
wherein a similar delivery drone is navigable to and dockable with the at least one logistics tower (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delivery drone system of Clarke with the logistics tower as taught by Curlander, whereby Clarke’s delivery drone is selectively navigable between Clarke’s at least one drone delivery port and Curlander’s at least one logistics tower, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a fulfillment center to provide loading of packages for delivery and service of the drones (Curlander, para. [0030]-[0033]).
Modified Clarke is silent about a primary winch, and the primary winch being in operative communication with the robotic bin handler to effect vertical movement of the robotic bin handler in the elevator shaft of the at least one vertical storage cell column.
Siewert teaches a primary winch (52), the primary winch being in operative communication with a similar handler to effect vertical movement a similar elevator shaft (Col. 12, lines 23-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delivery drone system of modified Clarke with the winch as taught by Siewert, whereby Siewert’s winch is in operative communication with modified Clarke’s robotic bin handler to effect vertical movement of the robotic bin handler in the elevator shaft of the at least one vertical storage column, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a mechanism for vertical movement of the robotic bin handler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ragan et al. (US 11993396 B2) teaches a package storage and retrieval system employing a drone.
Bryant (US 10351261 B1) teaches a drone delivery port.
Ortiz et al. (US 20180352988 A1) teaches a drone delivery port.
Weilbuchner (DE 102014112480 A1) teaches a drone delivery system and logistics tower.
/ANNA L. GORDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642