DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RADO (US 2016/0183596).
Rado teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system, wherein the article comprises at least one aerosol outlet (254 in figure 8); and at least one airflow channel (airflow A and V in figure 8), wherein the at least one aerosol outlet is arranged in fluid communication with the at least one airflow channel (see figure 8), and wherein the at least one airflow channel has a longitudinal section (266, 162, 160, 250) and a lateral section (252) connected together via a joint section (252), wherein the joint section has a curved outer wall (see 252 in figure 12, circular opening).
Regarding claim 2, figure 10C shows there are multiple airflow channels (184).
Regarding claim 3, Rado teaches the article comprises an inner housing (180 in figure 9) defining a storage area for aerosol forming material (200) to be stored.
Regarding claim 7, Rado teaches the at least one airflow channel contains a further joint section with a curved outer wall (184 in figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Rado teaches a non-combustible aerosol provision system comprising the article and a device comprising a power source (20) and a control unit (para. 0045).
Regarding claim 11, figure 6 shows the device and the article are separably connected.
Claim(s) 1,3-5, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WENSLEY et al. (US 2016/0213065).
Wensley teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system, wherein the article comprises at least one aerosol outlet (52); and at least one airflow channel (88), wherein the at least one aerosol outlet is arranged in fluid communication with the at least one airflow channel (see figure 6), and wherein the at least one airflow channel has a longitudinal section and a lateral section (see figure 6) connected together via a joint section, wherein the joint section has a curved outer wall (88 in figures).
Regarding claim 3, Wensley teaches the article comprises an inner housing (100 in figure 9) defining a storage area for aerosol forming material to be stored.
Regarding claim 4, figure 9 shows an outer housing, the at least one airflow channel (88) extending between the outer housing and the inner housing (100).
Regarding claim 5, figure 9 shows the curved outer wall of the joint section is formed by the outer housing.
Regarding claim 10, Wensley teaches a non-combustible aerosol provision system comprising the article and a device comprising a power source (34) and a control unit (46).
Regarding claim 11, Wensley teaches the device and the article are separably connected (para. 0064).
Regarding claim 12, Wensley teaches the device and the article are permanently connected (para. 0064).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by POTTER (WO 2020/002924).
Potter teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system, wherein the article comprises at least one aerosol outlet (118); and at least one airflow channel (see figure 8), wherein the at least one aerosol outlet is arranged in fluid communication with the at least one airflow channel (see figure 1), and wherein the at least one airflow channel has a longitudinal section and a lateral section (see figure 8) connected together via a joint section, wherein the joint section has a curved outer wall (180 in figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Potter teaches the article comprises an inner housing (120 in figure 8) defining a storage area (110) for aerosol forming material to be stored.
Regarding claim 6, Potter teaches the joint section is a bend having a degree of bend of 90° or more (page 8 lines 28-29) which overlaps with the claimed range of between 80° and 100°.
Regarding claim 10, Potter teaches a non-combustible aerosol provision system comprising the article and a device comprising a power source (177) and a control unit (175).
Regarding claim 11, Potter teaches the device and the article are separably connected (page 6 line 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WENSLEY et al. (US 2016/0213065) in view of VO et al. (US 2019/0021396).
Wensley teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system, wherein the article comprises at least one aerosol outlet (52); and at least one airflow channel (88), wherein the at least one aerosol outlet is arranged in fluid communication with the at least one airflow channel (see figure 6), and wherein the at least one airflow channel has a longitudinal section and a lateral section (see figure 6) connected together via a joint section, wherein the joint section has a curved outer wall (88 in figures). Figure 3 shows that the outlet has a circular shape.
Vo teaches a non-combustible aerosol provision system comprising at least one aerosol outlet (104); and at least one airflow channel (612), wherein the at least one aerosol outlet is arranged in fluid communication with the at least one airflow channel (see figure 6) and wherein the at least one airflow channel has a longitudinal section and a lateral section (see figure 6) connected together via a joint section (514). Vo teaches the at least one outlet takes the form of at least one slot (see figure 1, para 0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the at least one slot of Vo for the circular outlet of Wensley because Vo teaches that they are known equivalents for outlet shapes (para. 0017).
Regarding claim 9, Wensley teaches that the heating assembly comprises slots having length of 8 mm (para. 0048), which falls into the claimed range of greater than 2mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a similar length in the outlet slots of Wensley because Wensley teaches that this size is suitable for airflow through an aerosol provision system (para. 0048).
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741