DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/553353 filed on September 29, 2023. Claims 1-28 are subject to examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-22 are allowed. Claims 9-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 9-12 and 14-22, none of the art cited discloses the comparison of configuration parameter indication related to occasions/resources between air-to-ground (ATG) RACH configuration and legacy RACH configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 13, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210251012, hereinafter, “Shrestha”) in view of Shao et.al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication, 20230268983, hereinafter, “Shao”).
Regarding claim 1, Shrestha teaches:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Shrestha: [0094] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a non-terrestrial network that supports random access procedures for non-terrestrial networks, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure ... The UE 115-b communicates with the non-terrestrial base station 105b via wireless communications links 335.):
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Shrestha: [0085] Controller/processor 240 of base station 105, controller/processor 280 of UE 115, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform one or more techniques associated with random access procedures, as described in more detail elsewhere. For example, controller/processor 240 of base station 105, controller/processor 280 of UE 115, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, the methods 1200, 1300 of FIGS. 12 and 13 and/or other processes as described. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 105 and UE 115, respectively ... Fig. 2):
receive, from a base station, an indication of an air-to-ground (ATG) dedicated random access channel (RACH) configuration (Shrestha: [0095] .. . Enhancements are desired for NR non-terrestrial networks, especially those with nodes in low earth orbit (LEO), medium Earth orbit (MEO) and geostationary orbit (GEO). Such enhancements may also be compatible with high altitude platform station (HAPS) and air-to-ground (ATG) scenarios … [0096] Aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques to align random access channel (RACH) occasions between the UE and the network node (e.g., eNB/gNB (also referred to as a base station)). Random access is a procedure for establishing a connection between a UE and a base station. During a random access procedure, a UE transmits a preamble via a RACH to a base station to initiate establishment of a connection. Upon receiving the preamble, the base station schedules uplink resources for the UE and assigns the resources in a random access response (RAR) [i.e., RACH configuration].); and
communicate with the base station based at least in part on the uplink grant of the RAR (Shrestha: [0097] … One or more examples include address uplink (UL) grant handling in the RAR (e.g., message two (Msg2) of the random access procedure) where in one example, the RAR includes an uplink grant. In this example, message three (Msg3) of the random access procedure may be transmitted based on the uplink grant of the RAR [i.e., dedicated RACK config].).
Although Shrestha teaches an UE receiving an uplink grant from a base station during random access procedure, including in air-to-ground (ATG) scenarios, Shrestha does not explicitly teach dedicated access grant for ATG UE; i.e.,:
communicate with the UE based at least in part on the ATG dedicated RACH configuration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shao teaches:
communicate with the UE based at least in part on the ATG dedicated RACH configuration (Shrestha: [0097] … One or more examples include address uplink (UL) grant handling in the RAR (e.g., message two (Msg2) of the random access procedure) where in one example, the RAR includes an uplink grant. In this example, message three (Msg3) of the random access procedure may be transmitted based on the uplink grant of the RAR [i.e., dedicated RACK config].) (Shao: [0092] In an ATG communications system, ground ATG base stations and an ATG terminal (e.g., CPE type) communicate with each other, and user equipment (UE) of passengers onboard the plane are connected to the ATG terminal via WiFi, thus the ATG terminal needs to report a terminal type, and the network side issues an access grant indication according to the terminal type, to grant the ATG terminal the access to the ATG base station, and prevent ground terminals (e.g., NR UE) and terminals (e.g., NR UE) of passengers onboard the plane from accessing the ATG base station [i.e., dedicated ATG config].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shrestha to include the features as taught by Shao above in order to suppress interferences caused by the ATG communications network. (Shao, ¶ [0010]).
Regarding claim 23, Shrestha teaches:
A base station for wireless communication, comprising (Shrestha: [0094] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a non-terrestrial network that supports random access procedures for non-terrestrial networks, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure ... The UE 115-b communicates with the non-terrestrial base station 105b via wireless communications links 335.):
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Shrestha: [0085] Controller/processor 240 of base station 105, controller/processor 280 of UE 115, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform one or more techniques associated with random access procedures, as described in more detail elsewhere. For example, controller/processor 240 of base station 105, controller/processor 280 of UE 115, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, the methods 1200, 1300 of FIGS. 12 and 13 and/or other processes as described. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 105 and UE 115, respectively ... Fig. 2):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of an air-to-ground (ATG) dedicated random access channel (RACH) configuration (Shrestha: [0095] .. . Enhancements are desired for NR non-terrestrial networks, especially those with nodes in low earth orbit (LEO), medium Earth orbit (MEO) and geostationary orbit (GEO). Such enhancements may also be compatible with high altitude platform station (HAPS) and air-to-ground (ATG) scenarios … [0096] Aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques to align random access channel (RACH) occasions between the UE and the network node (e.g., eNB/gNB (also referred to as a base station)). Random access is a procedure for establishing a connection between a UE and a base station. During a random access procedure, a UE transmits a preamble via a RACH to a base station to initiate establishment of a connection. Upon receiving the preamble, the base station schedules uplink resources for the UE and assigns the resources in a random access response (RAR) [i.e., RACH configuration].); and
communicate with the UE based at least in part on the uplink grant of the RAR (Shrestha: [0097] … One or more examples include address uplink (UL) grant handling in the RAR (e.g., message two (Msg2) of the random access procedure) where in one example, the RAR includes an uplink grant. In this example, message three (Msg3) of the random access procedure may be transmitted based on the uplink grant of the RAR [i.e., dedicated RACK config].).
Although Shrestha teaches an UE receiving an uplink grant from a base station during random access procedure, including in air-to-ground (ATG) scenarios, Shrestha does not explicitly teach dedicated access grant for ATG UE; i.e.,:
communicate with the base station based at least in part on the ATG dedicated RACH configuration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shao teaches:
communicate with the base station based at least in part on the ATG dedicated RACH configuration (Shao: [0092] In an ATG communications system, ground ATG base stations and an ATG terminal (e.g., CPE type) communicate with each other, and user equipment (UE) of passengers onboard the plane are connected to the ATG terminal via WiFi, thus the ATG terminal needs to report a terminal type, and the network side issues an access grant indication according to the terminal type, to grant the ATG terminal the access to the ATG base station, and prevent ground terminals (e.g., NR UE) and terminals (e.g., NR UE) of passengers onboard the plane from accessing the ATG base station [i.e., dedicated ATG config].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shrestha to include the features as taught by Shao above in order to suppress interferences caused by the ATG communications network. (Shao, ¶ [0010]).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 23 as outlined above.
Shao further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the ATG dedicated RACH configuration, are configured to receive the indication of the ATG dedicated RACH configuration based at least in part on an identification of a type of the UE (Shao: [0092] In an ATG communications system, ground ATG base stations and an ATG terminal (e.g., CPE type) communicate with each other, and user equipment (UE) of passengers onboard the plane are connected to the ATG terminal via WiFi, thus the ATG terminal needs to report a terminal type, and the network side issues an access grant indication according to the terminal type, to grant the ATG terminal the access to the ATG base station, and prevent ground terminals (e.g., NR UE) and terminals (e.g., NR UE) of passengers onboard the plane from accessing the ATG base station.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Shao is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 1 and 23.
Regarding claims 4 and 26, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 23 as outlined above.
Shao further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine that the base station is a New Radio-ATG specific base station, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the ATG dedicated RACH configuration, are configured to receive the indication of the ATG dedicated RACH configuration based at least in part on determining that the base station is a New Radio-ATG specific base station (Shao: [0092] In an ATG communications system, ground ATG base stations and an ATG terminal (e.g., CPE type) communicate with each other, and user equipment (UE) of passengers onboard the plane are connected to the ATG terminal via WiFi, thus the ATG terminal needs to report a terminal type, and the network side issues an access grant indication according to the terminal type, to grant the ATG terminal the access to the ATG base station, and prevent ground terminals (e.g., NR UE) and terminals (e.g., NR UE) of passengers onboard the plane from accessing the ATG base station.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Shao is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 1 and 23.
Regarding claim 13, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Shrestha further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the base station, are configured to transmit a RACH preamble based at least in part on the ATG dedicated RACH configuration (Shrestha: [0096] Aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques to align random access channel (RACH) occasions between the UE and the network node (e.g., eNB/gNB (also referred to as a base station)). Random access is a procedure for establishing a connection between a UE and a base station. During a random access procedure, a UE transmits a preamble via a RACH to a base station to initiate establishment of a connection. Upon receiving the preamble, the base station schedules uplink resources for the UE and assigns the resources in a random access response (RAR) [i.e., RACH configuration].).
Claims 3, 5-7, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha-Shao in view of Wang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220393957, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claims 2 and 24 as outlined above.
Shrestha-Shao does not explicitly teach:
wherein the type of the UE is an aircraft type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein the type of the UE is an aircraft type (Wang: [0169] ... The ATG communication system includes an air-to-ground ATG network device and a terminal. The ATG network device includes a terrestrial base station, and the terminal includes a high-altitude mobile terminal, for example, a high-altitude airplane … Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shrestha-Shao to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to improve accuracy of the Timing Advance. (Wang, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
Shrestha-Shao does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors, to determine that the base station is a New Radio-ATG specific base station, are configured to receive system information that indicates that the base station is a New Radio-ATG specific base station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to determine that the base station is a New Radio-ATG specific base station, are configured to receive system information that indicates that the base station is a New Radio-ATG specific base station (Wang: [0255] Manner 1: A network device may carry parameters such … ATG reference point coordinates of a target cell/beam in broadcast information such as a SIB1, OSI, an MIB, or the like, and the network device sends the broadcast information to a terminal in a unicast, broadcast, or multicast manner.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shrestha-Shao to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to improve accuracy of the Timing Advance. (Wang, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Shrestha-Shao-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the system information, are configured to receive at least one of a master information block or a system information block (Wang: [0255] Manner 1: A network device may carry parameters such as a service link common timing advance value/service link reference point coordinates, a common compensation timing advance value/compensation reference point coordinates, and ATG reference point coordinates of a target cell/beam in broadcast information such as a SIB1, OSI, an MIB, or the like, and the network device sends the broadcast information to a terminal in a unicast, broadcast, or multicast manner.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Regarding claims 7 and 27, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 23 as outlined above.
Shrestha-Shao does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the ATG dedicated RACH configuration, are configured to receive one or more ATG dedicated RACH configuration parameters, the one or more ATG dedicated RACH configuration parameters comprising at least one of:
an ATG dedicated RACH common configuration parameter, or
an ATG dedicated RACH generic configuration parameter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the ATG dedicated RACH configuration, are configured to receive one or more ATG dedicated RACH configuration parameters, the one or more ATG dedicated RACH configuration parameters comprising at least one of an ATG dedicated RACH generic configuration parameter (Wang: [0334] Example 3: The network side may send a common compensation timing advance value to the terminal by using a random access generic configuration (RACH-ConfigGeneric) parameter, to enable the terminal to obtain an accurate TA value and apply to access a communication system. TA-common is used to represent the common compensation timing advance value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shrestha-Shao to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to improve accuracy of the Timing Advance. (Wang, ¶ [0005]).
Claims 8 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha-Shao-Wang in view of Ke et.al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication, CN112449439A, hereinafter, “Ke”).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Shrestha-Shao discloses on the features with respect to claims 7 and 27 as outlined above.
Shrestha-Shao-Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more ATG dedicated RACH configuration parameters indicate one or more ATG dedicated RACH occasions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ke teaches:
wherein the one or more ATG dedicated RACH configuration parameters indicate one or more ATG dedicated RACH occasions (Ke: [n0307] In this embodiment of the invention, each airway and/or air route within the airspace covered by the network-side device corresponds to a second random access resource set, that is, the network-side device allocates a second random access resource set to each airway and/or air route within its airspace coverage area … [n0312] If the number of random access resources NPRACH in the second random access resource set satisfies the above relationship, then it can be guaranteed that within the airspace covered by the network-side equipment, different ATG airborne terminals on the airway or route are allocated different random access resources.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shrestha-Shao-Wang to include the features as taught by Ke above in order to improve the random access success rate of the current ATG onboard terminal. (Ke, ¶ [n0006]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416