Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/10/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 11, and 19 have been amended. No dependent claims have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new and have been entered. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 19, under 35 USC § 103, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph (Pub.: No.: US 20200137615 A1, hereafter “Joseph”) in view of De Andrade Jardim (Pub. No.: US 20220046462 A1, hereafter “De Andrade Jardim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 11, and Claim 19
Joseph teaches the device, medium, and method comprising
A device of a centralized network configuration (CNC) device (Joseph Fig. 5: 130) for a wired (Joseph ¶0058: CNC may be configured to send information to a wired TSN Bridge, 520) and wireless (Joseph ¶0056: wireless communication system) time-sensitive networking (TSN) network (Joseph ¶0056: time-sensitive network traffic), the device comprising processing circuitry (Joseph Fig. 2: 290) coupled to storage (Joseph Fig. 2: 292; Joseph teaches a processor coupled to memory, with a CNC device connected wired to another system, while in a wireless TSN network), the processing circuitry configured to: Identify (Joseph ¶0074: network controller 103 many determine one or more TNS capability parameters) a frame (Joseph ¶0075: frame) received from a TSN domain (Joseph ¶0075: TSN capability parameter) comprising wired (Joseph ¶0075: an ethernet frame) and wireless (Joseph ¶0075: via a wireless communication system 520) TSN traffic (Joseph ¶0075: between TSN endpoints 510; Joseph teaches the network controller determining a TNS capability parameter associated with a frame comprising an ethernet frame for a wireless system and for a wireless communication system between TSN endpoints);
Joseph does not explicitly teach
decode the frame to extract one or more fields, wherein the one or more fields comprise bridge parameters including at least one wireless-specific bridge delay attribute representing a dynamic link variation; and determine based on the at least one wireless-specific bridge delay attribute whether a port associated with the device is wireless capable.
However, De Andrade Jardim teaches
decode (De Andrade Jardim ¶0200: QoS mapping) the frame to extract one or more fields (De Andrade Jardim ¶0198-¶0204: QoS related information), wherein the one or more fields comprise bridge parameters (De Andrade Jardim ¶0200-¶0201: TSN) including at least one wireless-specific bridge delay attribute (De Andrade Jardim ¶0201: independentDelayMax) representing a dynamic link variation (De Andrade Jardim ¶0201: PDB, e.g. 5GS Packet Delay Budget (PDB), see ¶0192; De Andrade Jardim teaches QoS mapping relating to QoS information that includes TSN status relating to a delay metric for a dynamic delay allocation);
and determine (De Andrade Jardim ¶0201: mapped) based on the at least one wireless-specific bridge delay attribute (De Andrade Jardim ¶0201: independentDelayMax) whether a port associated with the device (De Andrade Jardim ¶0201: independentDelayMax here is per port) is wireless capable (De Andrade Jardim ¶0201: mapped from the respective 5QI; De Andrade Jardim teaches mapping the delay metric per port for the respective 5QI).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Joseph by way of De Andrade Jardim, to include an element that teaches QoS mapping relating to QoS information that includes TSN status relating to a delay metric for a dynamic delay allocation and mapping the delay metric per port for the respective 5QI, as taught by De Andrade Jardim in ¶0198-¶0204, to enable TSN networks to enable stringent service requirements for high availability, ultra-reliable, low latency, low jitter, and determinism of 1019ms end0to-end latency, with 1-100 microsecond packet delay variation.
Claim 11 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Joseph teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (Joseph Fig. 2: 242) storing computer-executable instructions (Joseph ¶0043: store data and program codes) which when executed by one or more processors (Joseph Fig. 2: 240; Joseph teaches a storage medium containing program codes coupled with a processor)
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 12, and Claim 20
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 1. Joseph further teaches
wherein the one or more fields comprise a wireless port description object (Joseph ¶0080: 5QI parameter; Joseph teaches a 5QI parameter based on the TSN capability parameter).
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 13
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 2. Joseph further teaches
wherein the wireless port description object comprises a wireless capable flag (Joseph ¶0109: 5G QoS Indictor (5QI); Joseph teaches the indicator being used to show it’s related to 5G capability).
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 15
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 1. Joseph further teaches
wherein the one or more fields comprise a wireless type that indicates a specific type of a wireless port (Joseph ¶0080: 5QI parameter; Joseph teaches a 5QI parameter based on the TSN capability parameter).
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 16
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 5. Joseph further teaches
wherein the specific type of the wireless port comprise at least one of a Wi-Fi 5 port (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a Wi-Fi 6 port (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a Wi-Fi 7 port (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a 5G release 16 port (Joseph ¶0075: 3GPP technical specification 23.501 version 16.2.0), or a 5G release 17 port (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Joseph teaches the 5QI indicator being set with an example from the 16 release of 5G).
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 17
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 1. Joseph further teaches
wherein the one or more fields comprise a wireless type specific element that indicates information about TSN traffic (Joseph ¶0076: frame-dependent TSN capability parameter; Joseph teaches a frame-dependent TSN parameter inside of the TSN capability parameter).
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 18
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 7. Joseph further teaches
wherein the one or more fields comprise at least one of an IndependentDelayMin/Max parameter (Joseph ¶0076: maximum delay), a WirelessLinkDependendDelay parameter (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a MeanDelay parameter (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a DelayStdDeviation parameter (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a DelayUpdateInterval parameter (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Joseph teaches the frame-dependent TSN capability parameter can include a maximum delay parameter).
Regarding Claim 9
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 1. Joseph further teaches
further comprising a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (Joseph Fig. 2: 234; Joseph teaches receiving and sending signals through a transceiver).
Regarding Claim 10
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 9. Joseph further teaches
further comprising an antenna (Joseph Fig. 2: 234) coupled to the transceiver to cause to send the frame (Joseph ¶0031: send a transmission; Joseph teaches communicating to a downstream station containing information).
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph (Pub.: No.: US 20200137615 A1, hereafter “Joseph”) in view of De Andrade Jardim (Pub. No.: US 20220046462 A1, hereafter “De Andrade Jardim”), further in view of Bull (Pub. No.: US 20190268973 A1, hereafter “Bull”).
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 14
Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim teaches the device, medium, and method as explained above in Claim 3. Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim does not explicitly teach
wherein the wireless capable flag is set to 1 to indicate the port is wireless capable.
However, Bull teaches
wherein the wireless capable flag (Bull ¶0077: SD-WAN policy) is set to 1 (Bull ¶0077: 5Q1 value 10, examiners note, it is a design choice to assign the value 10, rather than the value 1) to indicate the port is wireless capable (Bull ¶0077: 5QI value; Bull teaches a policy for assigning a 5QI value to say that a system is able to receive 5G communications).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Joseph in view of De Andrade Jardim by way of Bull, to include an element that teaches a policy for assigning a 5QI value to say that a system is able to receive 5G communications, as taught by Bull in ¶0077, to better improve critical components of operations by better improving routing policies, performance measurements, data packet source and packet classification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415