DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 2 and 14 have been canceled. The amendments have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/17/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 103 rejections, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues Bohm fails to teach “the plurality of optical filters comprises a movable filter, and the movable filter is arranged to be rotatable with respect to the turntable” as recited in amended independent claim 1. Specifically, applicant argues this is not taught because the filters remain fixed within their respective filter wheels 18 and 20. However, in the rejection the examiner mapped the turntable to filter wheel 18 and the movable filter to any filter of filter wheel 20. Since Bohm teaches that filter wheel 20 rotates relative to filter wheel 18, any filter of filter wheel 20 (i.e. the movable filter) will also rotate relative to filter wheel 18 (i.e. the turntable).
Applicant argues Darty fails to teach “the support shaft portion is a portion with an axis protruding from the base portion along an optical axis of a camera lens” as recited in amended claim 10. Specifically, applicant argues that this is not taught because the shaft 302 protrudes from the turntable 204 and not from the base 208. However, the figure is a disassembled view of the device. When assembled, the shaft would indeed protrude from the base. Further, even if applicant were to argue that the shaft is meant to be integral with the base, it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson 144 USPQ 347, 349, (CCPA 1965).
Applicant argues Jia fails to teach “an electric wire for supplying power to the turntable drive portion passes through the support shaft portion; and the electric wire is configured to be conductive in case that the turntable rotates” as recited in amended claim 10. Specifically, applicant argues that because the shaft does not protrude from a turntable that the shaft 20 cannot be considered equivalent to the support shaft portion. However, Jia teaches a shaft which connects to a rotating portion and an electric wire that connects to the rotating portion. Applicant’s stated issue is to supply power even when the turntable rotates, see instant application ¶0034. Jia teaches an electric wire 30 for supplying power even when the rotation portion rotates. Examiner notes the elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990) MPEP § 2131. Additionally, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). It is further noted that “[a] person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” and in addition it has been further held that "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle" and taking into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007), see MPEP 2141.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: examiner suggests "has a circular outer circumference shape[[.]]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “the filter changer according to claim 2” has clarity issues. Since claim 2 was canceled it is unclear what claim this claim should be dependent on. For the purposes of examination, examiner assumed “the filter changer according to claim 1[[2]]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Bohm et al. (US 20120243079 A1), hereinafter Bohm, and further in view of Miyazawa et al. (US 20040227433 A1), hereinafter Miyazawa.
Regarding independent claim 1, Darty discloses a filter changer, comprising:
a base portion (208; Fig. 2; ¶0099);
a support shaft portion (302; Fig. 3; ¶0095) protruding from the base portion (208) (Fig. 2);
a turntable (204; Fig. 2; ¶0095) supported on the support shaft portion (302) (Fig. 2) to be rotatable about an axis (¶0095);
a plurality of optical filters (304; Fig. 3; ¶0095) arranged on the turntable (204) along a circumferential direction (Figs. 2-3); and
a turntable drive portion (206; Fig. 2; ¶0095) fixed to the base portion (208) (Fig. 2) and configured to drive the turntable (204) to rotate around the axis (Fig. 2; ¶0095).
Darty is silent on the specific details of the turntable drive portion – specifically, Darty does not disclose the turntable drive portion comprises: a first drive source part comprising a first piezoelectric element and a second piezoelectric element configured to be elongated by energization, and attached in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions; and a first abutting part abutting against a part of the turntable and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory according to deformation of the first drive source part. Darty additionally does not disclose the plurality of optical filters comprises a movable filter, and the movable filter is arranged to be rotatable with respect to the turntable, and has a circular outer circumference shape; the turntable has a filter drive portion for rotating the movable filter, and the filter drive portion comprises: a second drive source part comprising a third piezoelectric element and a fourth piezoelectric element configured to be elongated by energization, in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions; and a second abutting part abutting against an outer circumferential edge of the movable filter and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory according to deformation of the second drive source part.
However, Bohm teaches a similar filter changer comprising a turntable (18; Fig. 2; ¶0046) and a plurality of optical filters (11; Fig. 2; ¶0044) and a movable filter (20/any filter 11 in wheel 20; Fig. 2; ¶0046), and the movable filter (20) is arranged to be rotatable with respect to the turntable (18) (¶0046), and has a circular outer circumference shape (Fig. 7); and a filter drive portion (14; ¶0046) for rotating the movable filter (20) (¶0046).
Regarding the turntable drive portion and the filter drive portion, this type of drive portion is well-known. Miyazawa teaches a base portion (4; Fig. 1l ¶0093), a turntable (5; Fig. 1; ¶0093), and a drive portion (Figs. 7-10), the drive portion comprising: a first drive source part (6; Fig. 1; ¶0093) comprising a first piezoelectric element (61b; Fig. 7; ¶0103, ¶0109); and a second piezoelectric element (61c; Fig. 7; ¶0103, ¶0109) configured to be elongated by energization, and attached in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions (Fig. 8; ¶0109); and a first abutting part (66; Figs. 7-8; ¶0096) abutting against a driven element (51; Fig. 8) and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory (Fig. 8; ¶0109) according to deformation of the first drive source part (6; Figs. 7-9; ¶0109). One would have been motivated to incorporate the drive portion of Miyazawa as the turntable drive portion for the purpose of providing a rotary turning force with improved reliability (¶0004 of Miyazawa). It has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would be motivated to duplicate the drive portion taught by Miyazawa and incorporate the drive portion of Miyazawa as the filter drive portion for the purpose of being able to drive a movable filter. Further, Bohm teaches a stepper motor for driving the movable filter is instead of a piezoelectric driver. Miyazawa shows that a piezoelectric driver is an equivalent structure in the art. Therefore, because these two drivers were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a piezoelectric driver for the stepper motor, and the results thereof would have been predictable. See MPEP §2144.06 ad 2143 (I)(B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty to incorporate a movable filter and a filter drive portion for rotating the movable filter as taught by Bohm for the purpose of being able to independently move the movable filter relative to the other filters of the device and provide more flexibility in the attenuation of the light. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Bohm to incorporate the drive portion of Miyazawa as the turntable drive portion and the filter drive portion for the purpose of providing a rotary turning force with improved reliability (¶0004 of Miyazawa).
Regarding claim 3, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses the filter changer according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Darty, Miyazawa, nor Bohm disclose the movable filter is a polarizing filter.
However, Bohm teaches a polarizing filter (38; Fig. 4; ¶0048) disposed on the turntable (18) (Fig. 4; ¶0048). One would be motivated to have the movable filter be a polarizing filter for the purpose of being able to polarize light and further attenuate light in conjunction with another filter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the movable filter to be a polarizing filter for the purpose of being able to polarize light and further attenuate light in conjunction with another filter.
Regarding claim 7, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses the filter changer according to claim 1, as set forth above. Darty further discloses the plurality of optical filters (304) are arranged on the turntable (204) at a certain angle interval in the circumferential direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses the filter changer according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Darty nor Bohm disclose the first abutting part is a protrusion-shaped part located at an end of the turntable drive portion and protruding in a length direction of the first drive source part, and is arranged at a boundary of the first piezoelectric element and the second piezoelectric element.
However, Miyazawa teaches the first abutting part (66) is a protrusion-shaped part (Figs. 7-9) located at an end of the turntable drive portion (Figs. 7-10) and protruding in a length direction of the first drive source part (6), and is arranged at a boundary of the first piezoelectric element (61b) and the second piezoelectric element (61c) (Figs. 7-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty to incorporate the drive portion of Miyazawa for the purpose of providing a rotary turning force with improved reliability (¶0004 of Miyazawa).
Regarding independent claim 9, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses a filter changer, the filter changer having all the same features as the device of claim 1 (as set forth above). Darty further discloses a camera module (Fig. 2; ¶0101) comprising a camera lens (implicit there would be a camera lens since ¶0101 states the external device can be a smart phone or a digital camera, which each have a camera lens), wherein each of the plurality of optical filters (304) is configured to be arranged on an optical axis of the camera lens (¶0104: “the filter housing 204 is moved thereby positioning a different filter 304 of the filter housing in the first optical path 230”).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Bohm (US 20120243079 A1), further in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1), and further in view of Platt et al. (US 20160025949 A1), hereinafter Platt.
Regarding claim 4, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses the filter changer according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Darty, Bohm, nor Miyazawa disclose a permanent magnet is arranged on one of the base portion and the turntable and a Hall element is arranged on the other of the base portion and the turntable to detect rotation of the turntable.
However, Platt teaches a similar filter changer comprising a base portion (112; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0062) and a turntable (116; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0062), wherein a permanent magnet (280; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0077) arranged on the turntable (116) (Figs. 2c-2d) and a Hall element (270; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0078) is arranged on the base portion (112) (Figs. 2c-2d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa to incorporate the Hall element and permanent magnet of Platt for the purpose of being able to detect the rotation of the turntable (¶0074 of Platt).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Bohm (US 20120243079 A1), further in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1), and further in view of Jia (US 20200322515 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses the filter changer according to claim 1, as set forth above. Darty further discloses the support shaft portion (302) is a portion with an axis protruding from the base portion (208) (Fig. 2) along an optical axis of a camera lens (226; Fig. 2). Neither Darty, Bohm, nor Miyazawa disclose an electric wire for supplying power to the turntable drive portion passes through the support shaft portion; and the electric wire is configured to be conductive in case that the turntable rotates.
However, Jia teaches a shaft portion (20; Figs. 10, 12; ¶0028), a rotating element (10; Figs. 10, 12; ¶0027), and an electric wire (30; Figs. 10, 12; ¶0063) for supplying power (¶0064) that passes through the shaft portion (20) (¶0063); and the electric wire (30) is configured to be conductive in case that the rotating element rotates (¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa to incorporate the electric wire passing through the support shaft portion as taught by Jia for the purpose of prolonging the service life of the wire (¶0064 of Jia).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Bohm (US 20120243079 A1), further in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1), and further in view of Zeng (CN 212321978 U).
Regarding claim 6, Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa discloses the filter changer according to claim 1, and the electronic device according to claim 10, as set forth above. Darty further discloses the turntable (204) comprises a flat-plate-shaped filter support portion (204; Fig. 3). Neither Darty, Bohm, nor Miyazawa disclose the turntable comprises a rotation shaft portion, and the rotation shaft portion orthogonally extends from a rotation center of the filter support portion to the base portion; and the rotation shaft portion is mounted to the support shaft portion by a bearing.
However, Zeng teaches a similar filter changer comprising a base (13; Fig. 2; ¶0027), a support shaft portion (9; Fig. 2; ¶0028), a turntable (1, 3; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027), and a plurality of optical filters (Fig. 1), wherein the turntable (1, 3) comprises a flat-plate-shaped filter support portion (1; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027) and a rotation shaft portion (3; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027), and the rotation shaft portion (3) orthogonally extends from a rotation center of the filter support portion (1) to the base portion (13) (Figs. 2-3); and the rotation shaft portion (3) is mounted to the support shaft portion (9) by a bearing (5, 6; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Bohm and further in view of Miyazawa to incorporate the rotation shaft portion and bearings of Zeng for the purpose of ensuring movement rigidity and parallelism of the filter changer when rotating (¶0007 of Zeng).
Claim(s) 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1) and further in view of Jia (US 20200322515 A1).
Regarding independent claim 10, Darty discloses an electronic device, comprising a filter changer, wherein the filter changer comprises:
a base portion (208; Fig. 2; ¶0099);
a support shaft portion (302; Fig. 3; ¶0095) protruding from the base portion (208) (Fig. 2);
a turntable (204; Fig. 2; ¶0095) supported on the support shaft portion (302) (Fig. 2) to be rotatable about an axis (¶0095);
a plurality of optical filters (304; Fig. 3; ¶0095) arranged on the turntable (204) along a circumferential direction (Figs. 2-3); and
a turntable drive portion (206; Fig. 2; ¶0095) fixed to the base portion (208) (Fig. 2) and configured to drive the turntable (204) to rotate around the axis (Fig. 2; ¶0095).
Darty is silent on the specific details of the turntable drive portion – specifically, Darty does not disclose the turntable drive portion comprises: a first drive source part comprising a first piezoelectric element and a second piezoelectric element configured to be elongated by energization, and attached in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions; and a first abutting part abutting against a part of the turntable and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory according to deformation of the first drive source part.
However, this type of drive portion is well-known. Miyazawa teaches a base portion (4; Fig. 1l ¶0093), a turntable (5; Fig. 1; ¶0093), and a drive portion (Figs. 7-10), the drive portion comprising: a first drive source part (6; Fig. 1; ¶0093) comprising a first piezoelectric element (61b; Fig. 7; ¶0103, ¶0109); and a second piezoelectric element (61c; Fig. 7; ¶0103, ¶0109) configured to be elongated by energization, and attached in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions (Fig. 8; ¶0109); and a first abutting part (66; Figs. 7-8; ¶0096) abutting against a driven element (51; Fig. 8) and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory (Fig. 8; ¶0109) according to deformation of the first drive source part (6; Figs. 7-9; ¶0109).
Neither Darty nor Miyazawa disclose an electric wire for supplying power to the turntable drive portion passes through the support shaft portion; and the electric wire is configured to be conductive in case that the turntable rotates.
However, Jia teaches a shaft portion (20; Figs. 10, 12; ¶0028), a rotating element (10; Figs. 10, 12; ¶0027), and an electric wire (30; Figs. 10, 12; ¶0063) for supplying power (¶0064) that passes through the shaft portion (20) (¶0063); and the electric wire (30) is configured to be conductive in case that the rotating element rotates (¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty to incorporate the drive portion of Miyazawa for the purpose of providing a rotary turning force with improved reliability (¶0004 of Miyazawa), and to have modified Darty in view of Miyazawa to incorporate the electric wire passing through the support shaft portion as taught by Jia for the purpose of prolonging the service life of the wire (¶0064 of Jia).
Regarding claim 16, Darty in view of Miyazawa and further in view of Jia discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, as set forth above. Darty further discloses the plurality of optical filters (304) are arranged on the turntable (204) at a certain angle interval in the circumferential direction (Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1), further in view of Jia (US 20200322515 A1), and further in view of Bohm et al. (US 20120243079 A1), hereinafter Bohm.
Regarding claim 11, Darty in view of Miyazawa and further in view of Jia discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, as set forth above. Neither Darty, Miyazawa, nor Jia disclose the plurality of optical filters comprises a movable filter, and the movable filter is arranged to be rotatable with respect to the turntable, and has a circular outer circumference shape; the turntable has a filter drive portion for rotating the movable filter; and the filter drive portion comprises: a second drive source part comprising a third piezoelectric element and a fourth piezoelectric element configured to be elongated by energization, in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions; and a second abutting part abutting against an outer circumferential edge of the movable filter and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory according to deformation of the second drive source part.
However, Bohm teaches a similar filter changer comprising a turntable (18; Fig. 2; ¶0046) and a plurality of optical filters (11; Fig. 2; ¶0044) and a movable filter (20/any filter 11 in wheel 20; Fig. 2; ¶0046), and the movable filter (20) is arranged to be rotatable with respect to the turntable (18) (¶0046), and has a circular outer circumference shape (Fig. 7); and a filter drive portion (14; ¶0046) for rotating the movable filter (20) (¶0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Miyazawa to incorporate a movable filter and a filter drive portion for rotating the movable filter as taught by Bohm for the purpose of being able to independently move the movable filter relative to the other parts of the device and provide more flexibility in the attenuation of the light.
Bohm does not teach the filter drive portion comprises: a second drive source part comprising a third piezoelectric element and a fourth piezoelectric element configured to be elongated by energization, in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions; and a second abutting part abutting against an outer circumferential edge of the movable filter and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory according to deformation of the second drive source part.
However, Miyazawa teaches a drive portion comprising: a first drive source part (6; Fig. 1; ¶0093) comprising a first piezoelectric element (61b; Fig. 7; ¶0103, ¶0109); and a second piezoelectric element (61c; Fig. 7; ¶0103, ¶0109) configured to be elongated by energization, and attached in a direction orthogonal to their elongation directions (Fig. 8; ¶0109); and a first abutting part (66; Figs. 7-8; ¶0096) abutting against a driven element (51; Fig. 8) and configured to move to depict an elliptical trajectory (Fig. 8; ¶0109) according to deformation of the first drive source part (6; Figs. 7-9; ¶0109).
It has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would be motivated to duplicate the drive portion taught by Miyazawa for the purpose of being able to drive a movable filter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have duplicated the drive portion of Miyazawa for the purpose of being able to drive a movable filter.
Further, Bohm teaches a stepper motor for driving the movable filter is instead of a piezoelectric driver. Miyazawa shows that a piezoelectric driver is an equivalent structure in the art. Therefore, because these two drivers were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a piezoelectric driver for the stepper motor, and the results thereof would have been predictable. See MPEP §2144.06 ad 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 12, Darty in view of Miyazawa, further in view of Jia, and further in view of Bohm discloses the electronic according to claim 11, as set forth above. Neither Darty, Miyazawa, Jia, nor Bohm disclose the movable filter is a polarizing filter.
However, Bohm teaches a polarizing filter (38; Fig. 4; ¶0048) disposed on the turntable (18) (Fig. 4; ¶0048). One would be motivated to have the movable filter be a polarizing filter for the purpose of being able to polarize light and further attenuate light in conjunction with another filter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the movable filter to be a polarizing filter for the purpose of being able to polarize light and further attenuate light in conjunction with another filter.
Regarding claim 17, Darty in view of Miyazawa, further in view of Jia, and further in view of Bohm discloses the electronic device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Darty does not disclose the first abutting part is a protrusion-shaped part located at an end of the turntable drive portion and protruding in a length direction of the first drive source part, and is arranged at a boundary of the first piezoelectric element and the second piezoelectric element.
However, Miyazawa teaches the first abutting part (66) is a protrusion-shaped part (Figs. 7-9) located at an end of the turntable drive portion (Figs. 7-10) and protruding in a length direction of the first drive source part (6), and is arranged at a boundary of the first piezoelectric element (61b) and the second piezoelectric element (61c) (Figs. 7-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty to incorporate the drive portion of Miyazawa for the purpose of providing a rotary turning force with improved reliability (¶0004 of Miyazawa).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1), further in view of Jia (US 20200322515 A1), and further in view of Platt et al. (US 20160025949 A1), hereinafter Platt.
Regarding claim 13, Darty in view of Miyazawa and further in view of Bohm discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, as set forth above. Neither Darty, Miyazawa, nor Jia disclose a permanent magnet is arranged on one of the base portion and the turntable and a Hall element is arranged on the other of the base portion and the turntable to detect rotation of the turntable.
However, Platt teaches a similar filter changer comprising a base portion (112; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0062) and a turntable (116; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0062), wherein a permanent magnet (280; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0077) arranged on the turntable (116) (Figs. 2c-2d) and a Hall element (270; Figs. 2c-2d; ¶0078) is arranged on the base portion (112) (Figs. 2c-2d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Miyazawa and further in view of Jia to incorporate the Hall element and permanent magnet of Platt for the purpose of being able to detect the rotation of the turntable (¶0074 of Platt).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 20200240840 A1) in view of Miyazawa (US 20040227433 A1), further in view of Jia (US 20200322515 A1), and further in view of Zeng (CN 212321978 U).
Regarding claim 15, Darty in view of Miyazawa and further in view of Jia discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, as set forth above. Darty further discloses the turntable (204) comprises a flat-plate-shaped filter support portion (204; Fig. 3). Neither Darty, Miyazawa, nor Jia disclose the turntable comprises a rotation shaft portion, and the rotation shaft portion orthogonally extends from a rotation center of the filter support portion to the base portion; and the rotation shaft portion is mounted to the support shaft portion by a bearing.
However, Zeng teaches a similar filter changer comprising a base (13; Fig. 2; ¶0027), a support shaft portion (9; Fig. 2; ¶0028), a turntable (1, 3; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027), and a plurality of optical filters (Fig. 1), wherein the turntable (1, 3) comprises a flat-plate-shaped filter support portion (1; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027) and a rotation shaft portion (3; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027), and the rotation shaft portion (3) orthogonally extends from a rotation center of the filter support portion (1) to the base portion (13) (Figs. 2-3); and the rotation shaft portion (3) is mounted to the support shaft portion (9) by a bearing (5, 6; Figs. 2-3; ¶0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darty in view of Miyazawa and further in view of Jia to incorporate the rotation shaft portion and bearings of Zeng for the purpose of ensuring movement rigidity and parallelism of the filter changer when rotating (¶0007 of Zeng).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 May 15th, 2026
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872