DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species in the reply filed on May 13, 2026, is acknowledged:
Ac-PKKKRKV-miniPEG-K(cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ)-PEG12-OH, as disclosed in the specification in para. [0794]:
further including a conjugated cargo (see, e.g. FIGS. 16 and 17).
The elected species was searched and is free of the prior art but is rejected for non-statutory double patenting. The search was extended and prior art was found that reads on claims 111, 120-121, and 135. The search was not extended further in accordance with MPEP § 803.02.
Claim 132 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 13, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 121 is objected to because the spacing implies that “wherein B is beta-alanine” is part of (ii) of the claim. To avoid confusion, the claim should be amended to include a hard return prior to “wherein” to clarify that this definition for B applies to both (i) and (ii).
Claims 124 and 132 are objected to because the symbol Φ is defined in the specification at [0091] but not in the claims. To avoid confusion, the claims should be amended to include the definition “wherein Φ is 3-(2-napthyl)-L-alanine”.
Claim 125 objected to because the symbol Nal is defined in the specification at [0091] but not in the claims. To avoid confusion, the claims should be amended to include the definition “wherein Nal is 3-(2-napthyl)-L-alanine”.
Claims 124, 125, and 132 are objected to because the use of lower case amino acid symbols is defined in the specification at [0091] but not in the claims. To avoid confusion, the claims should be amended to include the definition “wherein lower case amino acid symbols denote D-amino acids and upper case amino acid symbols denote L-amino acids”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 135 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 135 is drawn to a method of using the claimed compounds to treat a disease. The claims include all cargos and all diseases. The specification does not disclose a single working example wherein the elected species Ac-PKKKRKV-miniPEG-K(cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ)-PEG12-OH is conjugated to a cargo and used to deliver said cargo to treat a disease. The elected species is not disclosed in the prior art. Given that the level of unpredictability in the pharmaceutical arts is high, one of ordinary skill would not be able to predict in the absence of even a single working example, whether the elected species could be used to treat any disease at all, let alone full genus of diseases. It is not even clear whether the elected species can be used to deliver a full range of cargo from oligonucleotides, peptides, and small molecules. There would be extraordinary burden to practice the full scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 111, 117, 119-124, 133, and 135 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 111, the configuration of the cyclic peptide, exocyclic peptide, and linker is unclear. BRI of this limitation includes multiple, plausible constructions: 1) the linker connects to the cargo and also connects the cyclic peptide to the exocyclic peptide, 2) the cyclic peptide and exocyclic peptides are directly connected and the linker connects this combined peptide structure to the cargo, 3) the cyclic peptide and exocyclic peptides are connected by a different unrecited linker and the claimed linker connects this combined peptide structure to the cargo. The language is indefinite because it is not clear which construction is covered (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what construction is included in the claim). See MPEP § 2173.04. In addition, it is not clear how the connectivity is achieved.
Dependent claims 117, 119-124, 133, and 135 fail to remedy this issue and are likewise rejected.
Claim 120 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 120, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 125 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The issue in this claim is illustrated with respect to the elected species but applies to all of the claimed compounds. From the compound name,
Ac-PKKKRKV-miniPEG-K(cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ)-PEG12-OH, it is not clear how the structure is formed. The confusion stems from the lysine and glutamine amino acids, each of which include a NH group. If both of these residues are present as implied in the claimed compound name, there would be an N-N bond. In contrast, the compound has a structure as disclosed in the specification in para. [0794]:
wherein the side chain of lysine forms an amide bond with the side chain of glutamine. To avoid this issue, Applicant should amend the claims to depict the structure.
Furthermore, it is not clear how this structure can be present in its entirety and also be conjugated to a cargo via a bonding group M. It is not clear if the bonding group M is part of the species depicted above and if so, which atoms correspond to M.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 133 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to depend from a claim previously set forth. Claim 133 depends on claim 135.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 111, 120-121, and 135 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wissner.1
Claim Interpretation: BRI of the limitation “exocyclic peptide comprising from 2 to 10 amino acids” includes peptides limited to a length of 2 to 10 amino acid residues as well as those having a minimum length of 2 to 10 amino acid residues because the transitional phrase “comprising” is open and allows for additional unrecited elements (MPEP § 2111.03(I)).
Rejection: Wissner teaches (Figure 2):
With respect to claim 111,
is a cyclic peptide of Formula (IIb) wherein AAsc is glutamine, each of R2a and R2c is a side chain of arginine, and each n’ is 0.
is a linker comprising a -(OCH2CH2)z’- subunit wherein z’ is 2.
is a 182-residue polypeptide connected to a His-tag. The N-terminal sequence of SNAP is MDKDCEMKRTTL.2 This amino acid sequence comprises KR, which is a dipeptide comprising at least one arginine. The portion of the SNAP-His6 directly linked to the
constitutes the cargo of claim 111. The segment of SNAP-His6 comprising KR constitutes the exocyclic peptide of claim 111.
Therefore, the compound of Wissner satisfies all of the limitations of claim 111.
Regarding claims 120-121, the exocyclic peptide comprises KR.
Regarding claim 135, Wissner teaches this compound in Tris buffer, which is a pharmaceutically-acceptable carrier (p. 1388, col 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 111-114, 116-117, 119-125, 133, and 135 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/506,057 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 111-112, 116-117, and 119-124, reference claim 18 recites the elected species Ac-PKKKRKV-miniPEG-K(cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ)-PEG12-OH and reference claim 9 requires that the compound is further conjugated to a cargo, specifically a therapeutic oligonucleotide, peptide, or small molecule.
Regarding claims 113-114 and 125, reference claims 3-4 require that the compound is attached to the cargo via
or
wherein t’ is 0-10.
Regarding claims 133 and 135, reference claim 21 recites a method of treating a disease comprising administering an effective amount of the compound.
Claims 111-114, 116-117, 119-125, 133, and 135 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 141-162 of copending Application No. 18/289,944 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 111-112, 116-117, and 119-124, reference claim 149 recites the elected species Ac-PKKKRKV-miniPEG-K(cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ)-PEG12-OH conjugated to an oligonucleotide cargo.
Regarding claims 113-114 and 125, reference claim 147 requires that the compound is attached to the cargo via
or
wherein t’ is 0-10.
Regarding claims 133 and 135, reference claim 156 recites a method of treating a disease comprising administering an effective amount of the compound.
Claims 111-114, 116-117, 119-125, 133, and 135 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 156-172 of copending Application No. 18/289,946 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 111-112, 116-117, and 119-124, reference claim 164 recites the elected species Ac-PKKKRKV-miniPEG-K(cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ)-PEG12-OH conjugated to an oligonucleotide cargo.
Regarding claims 113-114 and 125, reference claim 162 requires that the compound is attached to the cargo via
or
wherein t’ is 0-10.
Regarding claims 133 and 135, reference claim 172 recites a method of treating a disease comprising administering an effective amount of the compound.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claims drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, are presented to applicant for consideration. These claims would only be allowable if the non-statutory double patenting rejections made above are overcome.
136. A compound consisting of:
wherein the -OH of the terminal carboxylic acid group is replaced by a bonding group M, which is linked to a cargo moiety.
137. The compound of claim 136, wherein the bonding group M comprises
.
138. The compound of claim 136, wherein the bonding group M comprises
wherein t’ is 0-10.
139. The compound of claim 136, wherein the cargo moiety is a therapeutic moiety selected from an oligonucleotide, a peptide, and a small molecule.
140. A pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 139 and a pharmaceutically-acceptable carrier.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of Pei et al. (US 2019/0309020 A1) discloses cyclic cell-penetrating cyclic peptides and their use to deliver biologically active moieties into cells. The genus of cyclic peptides includes cyclic octapeptides comprising two or three arginines wherein the remaining amino acids are not arginine, and at least two amino acids are hydrophobic ([0005]-[0009]). The cyclic peptide is attached to a cargo, which can include a targeting moiety, a linker, and a therapeutic moiety ([0149]). Although the prior art genus includes the elected species, there is nothing in the reference to suggest the species or direct one of ordinary skill in the art to the species. For example, Table 4 of Pei et al. discloses specific cyclic peptides, none of which is the claimed cyclo(Ff-Nal-GrGrQ). In addition, Pei et al. nowhere discloses the targeting moiety PKKKRKV. In addition, Pei et al. nowhere discloses the specific linker or configuration between the cyclic peptide, targeting peptide, linker, and cargo present in the elected species.
Conclusion
CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1654
/CHRISTINA BRADLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
1 Wissner et al. Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy Reveals Efficient Cytosolic Delivery of Protein Cargo by Cell-Permeant Miniature Proteins. ACS Central Science 2018 4 (10), 1379-1393, DOI: 10.1021/acscentsci.8b00446; hereafter “Wissner”
2 The amino acid sequence of SNAP is reported by www.snapgene.com/plasmids/basic_cloning_vectors/SNAP-tag.