DETAILED ACTION
In Response to Election filed on 11/20/2025, claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 18-21 are withdrawn based on restriction. Claims 1-17 are considered in the current Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2023 and 01/02/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1A-2C should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
The Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR2010/0022817 (“Choi et al” hereinafter Choi), machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Choi teaches an imprinting device (Figure 1, fine pattern forming apparatus 100) comprising:
a stamp holder (Figure 1, stamp elevating part 160) configured such that a stamp is mounted thereon (Figure 1 and page 3, lines 15-17, the stamp elevating portion 160 elevates the stamp 20 and adjusts the distance of the stamp 20 relative to the substrate 10 supported on the stage 140);
a substrate holder (Figure 1, substrate chuck 141) arranged in a first direction with respect to the stamp holder (Figure 1) and configured such that a substrate is mounted thereon (Figure 1 and page 3, lines 38-39, substrate chuck 141 for attaching the substrate 10 thereto);
an ultraviolet emitter (Figure 1, ultraviolet module 181) configured to emit ultraviolet rays toward the substrate mounted on the substrate holder (page 4, lines 49-54); and
a pressing module (Figure 1, stamp pressing portion 170) configured to move at least one of the stamp holder such that the substrate holder and the stamp mounted on the stamp holder come into contact with each other (page 4, lines 10-15),
wherein the imprinting device is configured to allow the stamp to be mounted on the stamp holder in a state in which the substrate holder and the stamp holder are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance or more (Figure 1, stamp 20 mounted upon stamp elevating part 160 and substrate 10 mounted upon substrate chuck 141 are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance).
Regarding Claim 2, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, further comprising:
a support (Figure 1, substrate lift 130) disposed in the first direction with respect to the substrate holder (Figure 1), the support being configured to be brought into contact with and spaced apart from the substrate mounted on the substrate holder and configured to be capable of supporting the substrate mounted on the substrate holder to prevent the substrate from being separated (page 2, lines 43-49 and page 3, lines 38-39),
wherein the imprinting device is configured to allow the substrate to be mounted on the substrate holder in a state in which the support and the substrate holder are spaced apart from each other (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 2, wherein the pressing module, the stamp holder, the substrate holder, and the support are sequentially arranged in the first direction (see annotated Figure 1),
wherein the pressing module is configured to be brought into contact with and spaced apart from the stamp holder (Figure 1) and configured to press the stamp holder in the first direction (page 4, lines 10-15), and
wherein the pressing module presses the stamp holder in the first direction to move the stamp holder in the first direction (page 4, lines 10-15) so that the stamp mounted on the stamp holder comes into contact with the substrate holder and the substrate holder moves in the first direction to come into contact with the support (Figure 7 and page 4, lines 10-18).
Regarding Claim 4, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, wherein the pressing module is configured to be brought into contact with and spaced apart from the stamp holder and configured to press the stamp holder in the first direction (Figure 7 and page 4, lines 10-18), and
wherein, in a contact state in which the pressing module, the stamp holder, the stamp mounted on the stamp holder, and the substrate holder are in contact with one another (Figure 7), the stamp, the stamp holder, and the pressing module are configured to be in close contact with one another to form a chamber space (Figure 7, processing space 115 and page 4, lines 2-11).
Regarding Claim 5, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 4, further comprising: a pipe (Figure 7, exhaust pipe 121) configured to guide fluid introduced into the chamber space (page 2, lines 37-40, exhaust pipe 121 which communicates with the process space 115 through the upper chamber 111 and the lower chamber 113 and thus capable of guiding fluid into the space. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114).
Regarding Claim 6, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 4, wherein the pressing module comprises a chamber cover (Figure 1, upper chamber 111) configured to be in contact with the stamp holder in the contact state (Figure 1, upper chamber 111 in contact with the stamp pressing portion 170), and wherein the chamber space is surrounded by the stamp, the stamp holder, and the chamber cover (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, wherein the ultraviolet emitter is disposed in the first direction with respect to the substrate holder (Figure 1) so that the ultraviolet rays penetrate the substrate and irradiate contact surfaces between the substrate and the stamp (page 4, lines 49-54).
Regarding Claim 11, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, wherein the ultraviolet emitter is disposed in a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the stamp holder so that the ultraviolet rays penetrate the stamp and irradiate contact surface between the substrate and the stamp (Figure 1 and page 4, lines 49-54).
Regarding Claim 12, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 11, wherein the pressing module is disposed in the second direction with respect to the stamp holder (Figure 1, stamp pressing portion is disposed in the second direction with respect to the stamp elevating portion), and wherein the ultraviolet emitter is disposed in the pressing module (Figure 1, UV emitter is disposed in the stamp pressing portion).
Regarding Claim 14, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the stamp holder is configured to rotate or move in a direction transverse to the first direction (page 4, lines 35-36).
Regarding Claim 17, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, wherein the stamp holder has a protrusion (Figure 1, stamp guide 163) protruding in a direction facing the stamp mounted on the stamp holder (Figure 1 and page 3, line 60-page 4, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR2010/0022817 (“Choi et al” hereinafter Choi), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of KR20090071031 (“Kim et al” hereinafter Kim), machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 7, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 6, Choi discloses a vacuum processing space 115 (Figure 7 and page 4, lines 5-7) but fails to teach a sealer located at least one of between the stamp and the stamp holder or between the stamp holder and the chamber cover to prevent fluid in the chamber space from leaking.
However, Kim discloses a sealer (Figure 4, sealing member 113) located at least one of between the stamp holder and the chamber cover to prevent fluid in the chamber space from leaking (Figure 4 and page 2, lines 24-26).
Choi and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of imprinting method using stamp and UV emitter to cure the imprintable material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Choi such that it disclosed all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Kim to form a vacuum chamber to obtain a uniform imprint pressure and to simplify the structure (page 1, lines 18-19).
Regarding Claim 8, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 6, but fails to teach wherein at least one of the stamp holder or the chamber cover comprises an elastic portion formed of an elastic material to prevent fluid in the chamber space from leaking.
However, Kim teaches at least one of the stamp holder comprises an elastic portion (Figure 4, elastic member 130 and page 2, lines 16-17) formed of an elastic material (page 2, lines 26-37) to prevent fluid in the chamber space from leaking (page 2, lines 28-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Choi such that it disclosed all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Kim to form an airtight chamber (page 2, lines 28-29).
Regarding Claim 10, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 9, further comprising:
a support (Figure 1, substrate lift 130) disposed in the first direction with respect to the substrate holder (Figure 1) and configured to be capable of supporting the substrate holder to prevent the substrate holder from being separated (page 2, lines 43-49 and page 3, lines 38-39), but fails to teach wherein the ultraviolet emitter is disposed in the support.
However, Kim teaches wherein the ultraviolet emitter is disposed in the support (Figure 3, curing unit 170 comprises light source 172 disposed in the lower chamber and page 2, lines 51-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Choi such that it disclosed all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Kim to cured the resin with a predetermined pattern and contain the vacuum chamber (page 2, lines 51-53). Furthermore, it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to rearrange the position of the ultraviolet emitter for the purpose of curing the resin with a predetermined pattern without breaking the airtight chamber. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR2010/0022817 (“Choi et al” hereinafter Choi), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2018/0318833 (“Barcelo et al” hereinafter Barcelo).
Regarding Claim 13, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, Choi fails to teach wherein the ultraviolet emitter comprises: a first ultraviolet emitter disposed in the first direction with respect to the substrate holder so that the ultraviolet rays penetrate the substrate and irradiate contact surfaces between the substrate and the stamp; and a second ultraviolet emitter disposed in a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the stamp holder so that the ultraviolet rays penetrate the stamp and irradiate the contact surfaces between the substrate and the stamp.
However, Barcelo teaches the ultraviolet emitter (Figure 2) comprises: a first ultraviolet emitter disposed in the first direction with respect to the substrate holder (See annotated Figure 2) so that the ultraviolet rays penetrate the substrate and irradiate contact surfaces between the substrate and the stamp (Figure 2 and [0024], one and/or the other of the substrate 100 and the imprint stamp 104 can be formed of fused silica in order to remain transparent to enable ultra-violet (UV) curing of an imprintable polymer material 108 deposited in the microfluidic channel 102); and a second ultraviolet emitter disposed in a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the stamp holder (see annotated Figure 2) so that the ultraviolet rays penetrate the stamp and irradiate the contact surfaces between the substrate and the stamp (Figure 2 and [0024], one and/or the other of the substrate 100 and the imprint stamp 104 can be formed of fused silica in order to remain transparent to enable ultra-violet (UV) curing of an imprintable polymer material 108 deposited in the microfluidic channel 102).
Choi and Barcelo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of imprinting method using stamp and UV emitter to cure the imprintable material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Choi such that it disclosed all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Barcelo to enable UV light come through either the substrate or the imprint stamp to cure the imprintable polymer material ([0024]) to increase efficiency of the curing process.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR2010/0022817 (“Choi et al” hereinafter Choi), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2009/0123590 (“Komoriya et al” hereinafter Komoriya).
Regarding Claim 15, Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 1, but fails to teach an optical path guide configured to guide a movement of ultraviolet rays to the ultraviolet emitter.
However, Komoriya teaches an optical path guide configured to guide a movement of ultraviolet rays to the ultraviolet emitter (Figure 6, exposure unit 31 comprises an UV irradiating plate (e.g., sapphire plate) 33 , an irradiating lens 35 , and an UV lightguide means (e.g., optical fiber) 37; thus, the UV lightguide means such as optical fiber guide the movement of the UV rays [0041]).
Choi and Komoriya are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of imprinting method using stamp and UV emitter to cure the imprintable material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Choi such that it disclosed all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Komoriya to guide the UV ray to the desired location ([0042]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR2010/0022817 (“Choi et al” hereinafter Choi), machine translation provided, in view of US2009/0123590 (“Komoriya et al” hereinafter Komoriya) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of US2018/0318833 (“Barcelo et al” hereinafter Barcelo).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Choi teaches the imprinting device of Claim 15, wherein the ultraviolet emitter and the optical path guide are disposed in the pressing module (Komoriya, Figure 6 and [0042], exposure unit 31 is located on the stamper holding jig 29 that functioned to press the stamp toward the substate [0056]); but fails to teach wherein the imprinting device further comprises a light source located separately outside the pressing module and configured to generate the ultraviolet rays moving along the optical path guide.
However, Barcelo teaches the imprinting device further comprises a light source located separately outside the pressing module (See annotated Figure 2; a plurality of light source are present and at least one of the light source is located outside of the pressing module) and configured to generate the ultraviolet rays moving along the optical path guide ([0024]).
Choi and Barcelo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of imprinting method using stamp and UV emitter to cure the imprintable material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Choi such that it disclosed all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Barcelo to enable multiple light sources to simultaneously cure the materials to increase efficiency of the curing process.
Conclusion
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754