DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending in the instant application. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected. Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on April 2, 2024 has been considered and a signed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2017024522 A.
KR 2017024522 A discloses the compound (I) or 2-phenylamino-benzooxazol-5-ol, for example, which can be useful in a health food composition (see English translation of the abstract). Therefore, a health functional food composition for preventing or improving chronic kidney disease and a food composition for preventing or improving chronic kidney disease, comprising a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 wherein L1 is a single bond, R1 is -OH, R2 is -H, and R3-R7 are -H of the claims are anticipated by the reference.
With respect to the art rejection above, it is noted that the reference does not teach that the composition can be used in the manner instantly claimed (i.e., for preventing or improving chronic kidney disease). However, the intended use of the claimed compositions does not patentably distinguish the compositions, per se, since such disclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed compositions and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting.
Double Patenting
Claims 10 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/553,414 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons given below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Copending Application No. 18/553,414 claims a health functional food composition and a food composition for preventing or improving neurodegenerative disease, comprising a compound represented by the same Chemical Formula 1 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof as is used in the health functional food composition and food composition for preventing or improving chronic kidney disease of the instant claims. Since the intended use of the claimed compositions does not patentably distinguish the compositions, per se, since such disclosed use is inherent in the reference compositions. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed compositions and the prior art compositions. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting. Therefore, the health functional food composition and food composition claimed in the reference anticipate those of the instant claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed. No prior art was found.
The closest prior art is WO 2016/176473 A1 which discloses compounds, such as compounds of structural Formula I (see claim 1), II (see claim 2) and III (see claim 4), that are useful for the treatment of renal conditions (see abstract). The reference does not disclose using a compound which fits within the scope of those used in the method of the claims nor does it disclose an obvious variant (i.e., L1 in the compounds of instant Chemical Formula 1 is a single bond or
).
Conclusion
/KRISTIN A VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622