DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the applicant argued that Baldemair does not teach the amended “units, wherein the first indication information indicates a plurality of time intervals for the plurality of non-continuous time units, or a plurality of time intervals for a plurality of non-continuous time unit groups, or a plurality of non-continuous time units in a specified time unit segment; “
The examiner interpreted the limitation “first indication information indicates … a plurality of time intervals” with broadest reasonable interpretation. Specification [0168] teaches a bitmap of 32 bits each corresponded to a slot. A person with ordinary skill in the art would understand this bitmap is also relative time information that has to be implemented with other timing information.
The argument is not persuasive because, in Baldemair teaches [0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number.
Secondly, The applicant argued that n and k are separately configurated therefore bi along cannot indicate the time interval.
However, Baldemair [0062] teaches “[0062] The field indicating how many slots are scheduled may also indicate which slots, at least in combination with some other information, e.g. a semi-statically configured slot offset.” Table 1 following [0062] teaches how the offsets are being configured, see [0062] The first bit indicates that the assignment starts in slot n+n_(OS,1) or n+n_(OS,2), with n_(OS,1) and n_(OS,2) semi-statically configured offset values, which could e.g. be 0 and 1 (typical values for DL), or 1 and 2 (typical values for UL). n is the slot the DCI has been received in. Thus, the location of the first slot (starting slot) as reference slot is indicated. The offset discussed in [0063] is specified in [0062] as the “slot allocation bits” shown in Table 1.
Together with the slot allocation bits in [0062] and the bitmap for non-continuous slot aggregation configuration in [0063] Baldemair teaches the amended limitation.
For the reasons above, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 15-16, 19-21, 23, 41, and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BALDEMAIR; Robert et al. US PGPUB 20190200355 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Baldermair teaches A method for determining time domain resources, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving first indication information, ([0058] The time-domain resource allocation field of a DCI message for slot aggregation may comprise two parts (e.g., two fields or a joint field from which both information can be derived, and/or a two bit patterns, or one bit pattern joined from two bit patterns to a larger bit pattern), the two parts representing a symbol allocation indication and a slot allocation indication.)
wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a plurality of non-continuous time units; ( [0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number.)
wherein the first indication information indicates a plurality of time intervals for the plurality of non-continuous time units, or a plurality of time intervals for a plurality of non-continuous time unit groups, or a plurality of non-continuous time units in a specified time unit segment; ([0061] Slot allocation is discussed in more detail in the following.
[0062] The field indicating how many slots are scheduled may also indicate which slots, at least in combination with some other information, e.g. a semi-statically configured slot offset… Table 1 shows a table where the slot allocation contains 3 bits. The first bit indicates that the assignment starts in slot n+n_(OS,1) or n+n_(OS,2), with n_(OS,1) and n_(OS,2) semi-statically configured offset values,
[0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number. )
and
determining, based on the first indication information, at least one of a start position or an end position corresponding to each time unit of the plurality of non-continuous time units. ([0065] Table 2 shows an example how DL symbols are allocated to PDSCH. Depending on presence and form of a control channel region, a PDSCH start position of 0 and 1 can imply that PDSCH shares an OFDM symbol with PDCCH (assuming a control channel region ranging from 0 to 2 OFDM symbols).)
Regarding claim 3. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a time unit is at least one of: a slot, a mini-slot, a symbol, or a subframe. (([0058] The time-domain resource allocation field of a DCI message for slot aggregation may comprise two parts (e.g., two fields or a joint field from which both information can be derived, and/or a two bit patterns, or one bit pattern joined from two bit patterns to a larger bit pattern), the two parts representing a symbol allocation indication and a slot allocation indication.)
Regarding claim 4. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing communication transmission over the plurality of non-continuous time units. ([0022] Communicating utilizing a slot aggregation may comprise transmitting and/or receiving on the channels allocated according to the allocation pattern.)
Regarding claim 5. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 4, wherein performing communication transmission over the plurality of non-continuous time units, comprises one of:
in response to the plurality of non-continuous time units being at least one of uplink time units and/or or flexible time units, performing physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) data transmission ([0052] In FIGS. 8 to 10, examples for UL slot aggregation are shown. As it can be seen, the symbols available for PUSCH as well as the symbol pattern depend very much on the slot aggregation format. FIGS. 8 to 10 in particular show examples of UL slot aggregation. In these examples, the slot length is N_slot=14. In FIG. 8, an UL-heavy slot is followed by an UL-only slot. In FIG. 9, both slots are UL-heavy. In FIG. 10, both slots are UL-heavy and have an UL control region in the end.)over the plurality of non-continuous time units; ([0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled,)or
in response to the plurality of non-continuous time units being at least one of downlink time units or flexible time units, performing physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) data transmission ([0051] FIGS. 5 to 7 show examples of different DL slot aggregates. As it can be seen, the symbols available for PDSCH as well as the symbol pattern depend very much on the slot aggregation format. These examples show that PDSCH does not overlap the DL control region, however, it is also possible that PDSCH overlaps (partly or fully in time) with the DL control region. Specifically, FIGS. 5 to 7 show examples of slot aggregation.) over the plurality of non-continuous time units. ([0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled,)
Regarding claim 6. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first indication information is downlink control information (DCI). ([0058] The time-domain resource allocation field of a DCI message for slot aggregation may comprise two parts (e.g., two fields or a joint field from which both information can be derived, and/or a two bit patterns, or one bit pattern joined from two bit patterns to a larger bit pattern), the two parts representing a symbol allocation indication and a slot allocation indication.)
Regarding claim 7. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the plurality of time intervals for the plurality of non-continuous time units according to the first indication information, wherein a number of the plurality of time intervals is M, and M is an integer, wherein a first time interval is configured to indicate a time interval between a first time unit and the first indication information, and an ith time interval is configured to indicate a time interval between an i−1th time unit and an ith time unit, wherein i is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M. ([0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number.)
Regarding claim 9. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the plurality of time intervals for the plurality of non-continuous time unit groups according to the first indication information, ([0062] see offset information above, [0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number.) wherein each of the time unit groups comprises a plurality of continuous time units. (Fig. 9, PUSCH separated by DL symbols )
Regarding claim 10. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 9, further comprising: determining a number of time units comprised in each time unit group according to at least one of third indication information or first pre-configured information, ([0065] To keep the number of bits to 3, the combination of start position 0 and end position N_slot-4 has been omitted. In Table 2 start and stop position are provided, start (or stop) and length indication would be an alternative signaling.)
wherein the number of time units comprised in each time unit group is the same, ([0059] FIG. 11 shows an example for DL slot aggregation. The time-domain resource allocation field specifies that 2 slots are aggregated, and that the PDSCH starts in symbol 1 and ends in symbol 11. The same pattern of PDSCH start and stop symbols is applied to both slots.) is greater than or equal to a first threshold. (Id. that the PDSCH starts in symbol 1 and ends in symbol 11)
Regarding claim 15. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether each time unit in the specified time unit segment is allocated to the terminal device according to the first indication information, wherein the specified time unit segment comprises the plurality of non-continuous time units. (([0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number.) wherein each of the time unit groups comprises a plurality of continuous time units. (Fig. 9, PUSCH separated by DL symbols )
Regarding claim 16. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 15, wherein the specified time unit segment comprises a plurality of continuous time units, and the method further comprises: determining a number of the plurality of continuous time units according to at least one of fourth indication information or second pre-configured information, ([0070] In particular, in FIG. 13, all slots use symbol allocation 1 to 6 (100 in Table 2) for PDSCH and holes in PDSCH mapping occur. In FIG. 14, utilising corresponding deviation indication, all slots use symbol allocation 0 to 6 (001 in Table 2) for PDSCH and holes in PDSCH mapping can be avoided. Adjustment signaling (deviation indication) is used for the first slot.) wherein the number of the plurality of continuous time units is less than or equal to a third threshold. (Id. all slots use symbol allocation 0 to 6)
Regarding claim 19. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a number of the plurality of non-continuous time units indicated by the first indication information is less than or equal to a fourth threshold. ([0059] FIG. 11 shows an example for DL slot aggregation. The time-domain resource allocation field specifies that 2 slots are aggregated, and that the PDSCH starts in symbol 1 and ends in symbol 11. The same pattern of PDSCH start and stop symbols is applied to both slots.)
Regarding claim 20. Baldamair teaches A method for determining time domain resources, performed by a network device, comprising: sending first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a plurality of non-continuous time units. ([0058] The time-domain resource allocation field of a DCI message for slot aggregation may comprise two parts (e.g., two fields or a joint field from which both information can be derived, and/or a two bit patterns, or one bit pattern joined from two bit patterns to a larger bit pattern), the two parts representing a symbol allocation indication and a slot allocation indication.)
wherein the first indication information indicates a plurality of time intervals for the plurality of non-continuous time units, or a plurality of time intervals for a plurality of non-continuous time unit groups, or a plurality of non-continuous time units in a specified time unit segment; ([0061] Slot allocation is discussed in more detail in the following.
[0062] The field indicating how many slots are scheduled may also indicate which slots, at least in combination with some other information, e.g. a semi-statically configured slot offset… Table 1 shows a table where the slot allocation contains 3 bits. The first bit indicates that the assignment starts in slot n+n_(OS,1) or n+n_(OS,2), with n_(OS,1) and n_(OS,2) semi-statically configured offset values,
[0063] If non-contiguous slot aggregation is supported, a bitmap is needed with a bit position for each slot that can be scheduled, e.g. [b0 b1 b2 b3] could refer to slots n+k+bi with n being the slot the DCI has been received in, and k being a fixed or semi-statically configured offset number. )
Regarding claim 21. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 20, further comprising: wherein a time unit is at least one of: a slot, a mini-slot, a symbol, or a subframe. ([0058] The time-domain resource allocation field of a DCI message for slot aggregation may comprise two parts (e.g., two fields or a joint field from which both information can be derived, and/or a two bit patterns, or one bit pattern joined from two bit patterns to a larger bit pattern), the two parts representing a symbol allocation indication and a slot allocation indication.)
Regarding claim 23. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 20, further comprising of steps performed in claim 5. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 41. Baldemair teaches A terminal device, comprising: a processor; ([0079] FIG. 15 schematically shows a terminal or wireless device 10, … comprises processing circuitry (which may also be referred to as control circuitry) 20)and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, ([0079]… which may comprise a controller connected to a memory.) )wherein the process is configured to peroform the method in claim 1. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 47. Baldemair teaches The terminal device of claim 41, wherein the processor is further configured to: wherein a time unit is at least one of: a slot, a mini-slot, a symbol, or a subframe. (([0058] The time-domain resource allocation field of a DCI message for slot aggregation may comprise two parts (e.g., two fields or a joint field from which both information can be derived, and/or a two bit patterns, or one bit pattern joined from two bit patterns to a larger bit pattern), the two parts representing a symbol allocation indication and a slot allocation indication.))
Regarding claim 48. Baldemair teaches The terminal device of claim 41, wherein the processor is further configure to perform the steps recited in claim 5. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair as applied to claim 9 and 15 above, and further in view of SHI; Jing et al. US PGPUB 20190045525 A1.
Regarding claim 13. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 9, but it does not teach wherein a number of the plurality of time intervals is N, and N is an integer; wherein a first time interval is configured to indicate a time interval between a first time unit group and the first indication information, and an ith time interval is configured to indicate a time interval between an i−1th time unit group and an ith time unit group, wherein i is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to N, wherein a number of the plurality of non-continuous time unit groups is less than or equal to a second threshold.
However, Shi teaches wherein a number of the plurality of time intervals is N, and N is an integer; wherein a first time interval is configured to indicate a time interval between a first time unit group and the first indication information, and an ith time interval is configured to indicate a time interval between an i−1th time unit group and an ith time unit group, wherein i is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to N, (([0087] For example, within the scheduled paging non-continuous value set, k3=k4/4, k2=k4/16, k1=k4/64; within the scheduled unicast service non-continuous value set, k3=k4/2, k2=k4/4, k1=k4/8; (Situation 2) ) wherein a number of the plurality of non-continuous time unit groups is less than or equal to a second threshold. ([0087] The value set element quantity of the scheduling gap indication in the DCI for scheduled paging is greater than the value set quantity of the scheduling gap indication in the DCI for scheduled unicast service, but the specific value elements are different, wherein the element gap of the former value set is even larger.)
in order to improve resource usage efficiency
Baldemair and Shi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Baldemair with the technique of scheduling gap configuration in Shi in order to improve resource usage efficiency.
Regarding claim 18. Baldemair teaches The method of claim 15, but it does not teach further comprising: determining a time interval between a first time unit in the time unit segment and the first indication information according to the first indication information.
However, Shi teaches determining a time interval between a first time unit in the time unit segment and the first indication information according to the first indication information. ([0087] The value set of the scheduling gap indication in the DCI for scheduled paging is different from the value set of the scheduling gap indication in the DCI for scheduled unicast service.)
in order to improve resource usage efficiency
Baldemair and Shi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Baldemair with the technique of scheduling gap configuration in Shi in order to improve resource usage efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468