DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 24 August 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-3 and 5-8 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 24 August 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of O'hara et al (US 20110076179 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'hara et al – hereafter O’hara – (US 20110076179 A1).
Regarding claim 1, O’hara teaches a nickel-based superalloy (¶2, note “nickel-base single crystal superalloys”) consisting of, in weight percentages, 6.0 to 7.0% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 1.0 to 4.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), 0.50 to 2.5% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 3.0 to 7.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 8.0 to 10.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 1.5 to 2.5% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 0 to 2.5% of tungsten (¶9, note “from about 2 to about 7% tungsten”), up to 1% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.05 to 0.25% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0 to 0.15% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), a remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
O’hara further discloses “optionally, up to about 0.005% boron, optionally, up to about 0.06% carbon, optionally, up to about 0.03% of a rare earth addition selected from the group consisting of yttrium, lanthanum, cesium, and combinations thereof” (¶9) as part of the nickel-based superalloy. However, all of these elements are disclosed as optional, therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara by leaving out the optional elements of boron, carbon and rare earths because these elements are not required by the disclosed nickel-based superalloy which would still be expected to provide an oxidation resistant, lower density superalloy composition with greater cyclic damage resistance and improved microstructure stability (¶7).
Furthermore, the disclosed nickel-based superalloy of O’hara comprises, in percentage, a [secondary reaction zone (ZRS)]1/2 of -67.0 to -50.0. Note below selected examples of the disclosed element compositions of the nickel-based superalloy by O’hara in weight percentages, also included for purposes of the calculation of the atomic percentages, is the atomic weight (accessed on 21 April 2025 via https://www.britannica.com/science/atomic-weight) of each element in the compositions. Note the formula at the bottom (accessed on 21 April 2025 via https://plasmaterials.com/converting-atomic-percent-to-weight-percent-and-vice-versa/) was used as a guideline to calculate the atomic percentages of each element and the right most column includes values of the secondary reaction zone based on the formula disclosed by Walston et al (US 5,270,123 A) which fall within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, O’hara further teaches in weight percentages, 6.8 to 7.5% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 4.0 to 8.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), 0.50 to 1.5% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 8.0 to 10.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 1.5 to 2.5% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 3.0 to 7.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 2 to 7% of tungsten (¶9, note “from about 2 to about 7% tungsten”), 1.5 to 2.8% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.05 to 0.25% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0 to 0.15% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), the remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
However, does not explicitly disclose 6.0 to 6.5% of aluminum, 1.0 to 3.0% of tantalum, 0.5 to 1.5% of tungsten.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges and with respect to silicon, the claimed amount is merely close to the disclosed amount by O’hara.
Regarding claim 3, O’hara further teaches in weight percentages, 6.5 to 7.0% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 4.0 to 8.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), 0.50 to 1.5% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 8.0 to 10.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 1.5 to 2.5% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 3.0 to 7.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 2 to 7% of tungsten (¶9, note “from about 2 to about 7% tungsten”), 1.5 to 2.8% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.05 to 0.25% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0 to 0.15% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), the remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
However, does not explicitly disclose 1.0 to 3.0% of tantalum, 0.5 to 1.5% of tungsten.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges and with respect to silicon, the claimed amount is merely close to the disclosed amount by O’hara.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 5, O’hara further teaches in weight percentages, 6.8 to 7.5% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 4.0 to 8.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), up to 0.50% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 8.0 to 10.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 1.5 to 2.5% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 5.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 2 to 7% of tungsten (¶9, note “from about 2 to about 7% tungsten”), 1.5 to 2.8% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.15 to 0.7% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0.10% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), the remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
However, does not explicitly disclose 6.0% of aluminum, 2.0% of tantalum, 1.0% of titanium, 1.0% of tungsten, 0.10% hafnium.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges and with respect to silicon, the claimed amount is merely close to the disclosed amount by O’hara.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 6, O’hara further teaches in weight percentages, 7.0% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 4.0 to 8.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), up to 0.50% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 8.0 to 10.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 1.5 to 2.5% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 5.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 2 to 7% of tungsten (¶9, note “from about 2 to about 7% tungsten”), 1.5 to 2.8% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.15 to 0.7% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0.10% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), the remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
However, does not explicitly disclose 2.0% of tantalum, 1.0% of titanium, 1.0% of tungsten, 0.10% hafnium.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges and with respect to silicon, the claimed amount is merely close to the disclosed amount by O’hara.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 7, O’hara further teaches in weight percentages, 6.8 to 7.5% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 4.0 to 8.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), up to 0.5% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 5.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 9.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 1.5% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 2.0% of tungsten (¶9, note “from about 2 to about 7% tungsten”), 2.0% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.15 to about 0.7% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0.10% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), a remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
However, does not explicitly disclose 6.5% of aluminum, 3% tantalum, 1.0% of titanium, 0.10% of hafnium.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges and with respect to silicon, the claimed amount is merely close to the disclosed amount by O’hara.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 8, O’hara further teaches in weight percentages, 6.8 to 7.5% of aluminum (¶9, note “from about 6.8 to about 7.5% aluminum”), 4.0 to 8.0% of tantalum (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 8% tantalum”), up to 0.5% of titanium (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 0.5% titanium”), 5.0% of cobalt (¶9, note “up to about 5% cobalt”), 9.0% of chromium (¶9, note “from about 4 to about 10% chromium”), 2.0% of molybdenum (¶9, note “optionally, up to about 4% molybdenum”), 2.0% of rhenium (¶9, note “up to about 6% rhenium”), 0.15 to about 0.7% of hafnium (¶9, note “from about 0.15 to about 0.7% hafnium”), 0.10% of silicon (¶9, note “up to about 0.2% silicon”), a remainder consisting of nickel (¶9, note “balance nickel”) and unavoidable impurities (¶9, note “incidental impurities”).
However, does not explicitly disclose 6.5% of aluminum, 2% tantalum, 2.0% of titanium, 0% of tungsten, 0.10% of hafnium.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges and with respect to silicon, the claimed amount is merely close to the disclosed amount by O’hara.
Note that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara to include the claimed ranges because O’hara clearly discloses ranges that overlap or lie inside the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 9, O’hara further teaches a single-crystal blade for a turbomachine (¶2) comprising a nickel-based superalloy according to claim 1 (see above).
Regarding claim 12, O’hara further teaches a turbomachine comprising a blade (¶2) according to claim 9 (see above).
Regarding claims 14-15, O’hara further teaches the nickel-based superalloy according to claim 1, having a volumetric mass less than or equal to 8.50 g/cm3 and less than or equal to 8.20 g/cm3. Note screenshots below from the alloy density calculator from handymath.com. In the calculated example, the volumetric mass (density) of the superalloy resulted in 7.71 g/cm3.
With respect to screenshots above, weights entered have weight percent values and densities (volumetric masses) entered have g/cm3 units. Similarly, the resultant weight and density (volumetric mass) calculated in the screenshot below have weight percent values and g/cm3 units, respectively. Finally, note that 7.71 g/cm3 is less than or equal to 8.50 g/cm3 and less than or equal to 8.20 g/cm3.
Regarding claim 16, O’hara further teaches the nickel-based superalloy has a y' solvus temperature of at least 1200°C. Note that “where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.” In the current instance, the prior art composition and the claimed composition of the nickel-based superalloy is the same. Furthermore, applicant’s disclosure states that the y' solvus temperature is obtained via a calculation using software based on the composition of the superalloy (see applicant’s specification ¶83-85. Therefore, a person of ordinary skills in the art would be expected to obtain the calculated y' solvus temperature being at least 1200°C for the prior art disclosed superalloy composition and the obvious claimed superalloy composition; compositions of the superalloy as discussed in the claim rejections above.
Regarding claim 17, O’hara further teaches the nickel-based superalloy has a heat treatment interval of at least 50°C. Note that “where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.” In the current instance, the prior art composition and the claimed composition of the nickel-based superalloy is the same. Furthermore, applicant’s disclosure states that the heat treatment interval is obtained via a calculation using software based on the composition of the superalloy (see applicant’s specification ¶86-88. Therefore, a person of ordinary skills in the art would be expected to obtain the calculated heat treatment interval being at least 50°C for the prior art disclosed superalloy composition and the obvious claimed superalloy composition; compositions of the superalloy as discussed in the claim rejections above.
Regarding claim 18, O’hara further teaches the nickel-based superalloy has a volume fraction of y' phase of at least 40% at 1100°C. Note that “where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.” In the current instance, the prior art composition and the claimed composition of the nickel-based superalloy is the same. Furthermore, applicant’s disclosure states that the volume fraction of y' phase is obtained via a calculation using software based on the composition of the superalloy (see applicant’s specification ¶89-92. Therefore, a person of ordinary skills in the art would be expected to obtain the calculated volume fraction of y' phase being at least 40% at 1100°C for the prior art disclosed superalloy composition and the obvious claimed superalloy composition; compositions of the superalloy as discussed in the claim rejections above.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’hara as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Skoog et al – hereafter Skoog – (US 6,210,791 B1).
Regarding claim 10, O’hara teaches all the limitations of claim 9, see above, and further teaches scenarios where a thermal barrier coating is used (¶28), however, does not explicitly teach a protective coating comprising a metal sub-layer deposited on the nickel-based superalloy and a ceramic thermal barrier deposited on the metal sub-layer.
Skoog teaches a nickel-based superalloy (column 5 line 33-45, note “nickel-base superalloys”) comprising aluminum (column 5 line 33-45), tantalum (column 5 line 33-45), titanium (column 5 line 33-45), cobalt (column 5 line 33-45), chromium (column 5 line 33-45), molybdenum (column 5 line 33-45), tungsten (column 5 line 33-45), rhenium (column 5 line 33-45), hafnium (column 5 line 33-45), silicon (column 5 line 33-45), nickel (column 5 line 33-45) and unavoidable impurities (column 5 line 33-45). Skoog further teaches a protective coating comprising a metal sub-layer (Skoog Fig.2, 24; column 6 line 20-27, note “bond coat 24 may optionally be applied overlying and contacting a surface of the substrate 22”) deposited on the superalloy and a ceramic thermal barrier (Skoog Fig.2, 26; column 6 line 50-54, note “thermal barrier coating 26 may optionally be applied overlying the bond coat 24 … thermal barrier coating 26 is preferably yttria-(partially) stabilized zirconia, which is a zirconium oxide-base ceramic material”) deposited on the metal sub-layer (Skoog Fig.2). Thermal barrier coatings are known to increase temperatures at which turbine blades/components can operate at.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the blade of O’hara by having a protective coating comprising a metal sub-layer deposited on the nickel-based superalloy and a ceramic thermal barrier deposited on the metal sub-layer based on the teachings of Skoog because this would allow increasing temperatures at which turbine blades/components can operate at.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’hara as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hazel et al – hereafter Hazel – (US 20100254822 A1).
Regarding claim 11, O’hara teaches all the limitations of claim 9, see above, and further teaches the blade including a single grain with a single crystallographic orientation (¶16), however, does not explicitly teach the blade having a structure oriented in a <001> crystallographic direction.
Hazel teaches the nickel-based superalloy being directionally solidified with the intent of being used high pressure turbine blade applications for a gas turbine engine (Hazel abstract), therefore, the crystallographic direction (i.e., directional solidification) is recognized as a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the nickel-based superalloy of O’hara by having a structure oriented in a <001> crystallographic direction via routine optimization because "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." (MPEP 2144.05 II A). In the current instance, Hazel has recognized directional solidification which results in crystallographic direction as a result effective variable, and claiming a specific form or degree of the crystallographic direction is not an invention that will sustain a patent.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745