DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scholl (U.S. 3,025,854). Scholl teaches a hole closure element (elements 1-7; figure 2) for closing an opening located in a car body component of a motor vehicle during a production process of the motor vehicle (capable of closing an opening in a car body component), comprising a carrier element 1 made of a film material (“thermoplastic film”), and an adhesive at 5 located on one side of the carrier element 1, wherein the adhesive at 5 does not require thermal activation (pressure sensitive adhesive; col. 3 lines 11-26) and covers a first surface region of the carrier element (figure 3), wherein the adhesive does not cover a second surface region at 2 of the carrier element (col. 3 lines 1-2), and wherein the second surface region at 2 not covered by the adhesive protrudes from a virtual plane (figure 2) formed by the carrier element and is configured to guide the hole closure element into the opening via the second surface region projecting into the opening (protruding portion at 2 capable of guiding the hole closure element into the opening via the tapered shape of the second surface region), and a protective layer 6, 7, wherein the protective layer is removably disposed on the carrier element 1 such that the protective layer covers the first surface region covered by the adhesive 5 and the second surface region 2 not covered by the adhesive that protrudes from the virtual plane when the hole closure element is not disposed in the opening located in the body component (figure 2) and such that the protective layer is removed to expose the first surface region covered by the adhesive and the second surface region not covered by the adhesive that protrudes from the virtual plane when the hole closure element is to be disposed in the opening located in the body component (col. 3 lines 11-26) for closing the opening.
Regarding claim 12, the second surface region 2 not covered by the adhesive is formed by a thickening of the film material (thickening formed by heat sealing of element 2 to element 1).
Regarding claim 13, the second surface region 2 not covered by the adhesive is formed by a protrusion of the film material (figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, the second surface region 2 not covered by the adhesive 5 has a peripheral taper at an end that is most distant from the adhesive (see lead line 4 in figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, the second surface region 2 not covered by the adhesive 5 is located in a center of the hole closure element (figure 2) and wherein the first surface region covered by the adhesive is located outside of the center of the hole closure element (figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, the adhesive is a pressure-sensitive adhesive (col. 3 lines 11-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholl (U.S. 3,025,854).
Regarding claim 16, Scholl discloses the claimed invention except for A1 being between ¼ and 1/3 the size of A2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Scholl with A1 being between ¼ and 1/3 the size of A2, in order to cover an appropriately sized wound, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholl (U.S. 3,025,854) in view of Kolmorgen (DE102004018047A1).
Regarding claim 18, Scholl discloses the claimed invention except for the body component being a car body. Kolmorgen teaches that it is known to provide a hole sealing apparatus on a car body (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hole sealing apparatus of Scholl being used on a car body, as taught by Kolmorgen, in order to seal holes in a car body.
Regarding claim 19, the second surface region 2 not covered by the adhesive is at a distance from an edge of the opening when the hole closure element is disposed in the opening (depending on size of wound).
Regarding claim 20, Scholl discloses the claimed invention except for A3 being between ¼ and 1/3 the size of A2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Scholl with A3 being between ¼ and 1/3 the size of A2, in order to cover an appropriately sized wound, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Scholl does not teach that the apparatus is applied to a car body. Regarding claims 11-17, these claims are drawn to the subcombination of the apparatus and not the combination of the car body and apparatus. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is the examiner’s position that the apparatus of Scholl may be applied to any opening including an opening in a car body. The claims do not include any structural limitations drawn to the apparatus which distinguishes the present apparatus from the apparatus of Scholl.
Regarding claims 18-20 which are drawn to the combination of the car body and apparatus, the secondary reference of Kolmorgen has been added to the rejection for the teaching of applying an adhesive apparatus to seal an opening in a car body. The teaching is used to modify the apparatus of Scholl.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736