Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument regarding, RYU fails to disclose the feature "receiving, by a base station, request information for requesting the paging cause from a terminal' as recited in amended claim 8, has been fully considered but the argument is not persuasive.
The examiner calls attention to the prior art of RYU. RYU writes, “The UE may send a registration request message, via a base station to the AMF of the PLMN B, requesting the registration with PLMN B. The registration request message may comprise a request to include paging cause values for the paging messages to the UE...” (column 38, lines 5-10). The applicant argues that, “RYU does not teach receiving, by a base station request information for requesting the paging cause from a terminal”. However, RYU does teach the UE sends a registration request message via a base station, wherein the registration request message may comprise a request to include paging cause values. Though the destination for the request message is the AMF, the message is first received by a base station. Figure 4 illustrated in the application, including steps 310 and 320 as described in paragraphs 0116-0118 are similar to the what RYU describes above. RYU further goes on to explain, as illustrated in figure 6, that the figures can be understood to include an additional step. RYU writes, “Although step 4a, 4b and 4c are shown in FIG. 6 with one lines each from the AMF to the UE for simplicity reason, each line can be split into two parts, one over the N2 interface between the AMF and NG-RANs and the other one over the air interface between the NG-RAN and the UE” (paragraph 0208; figure 6). So it can be interpreted that the communication isn’t between the UE and AMF, but the communication is between the UE, BS, and AMF.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8-11, 15, 17, 21-22, and 49-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU, et al. (US 11412478 B2, hereinafter, "RYU") in view of TIWARI, et al. (US 20220078742 A1, hereinafter, "TIWARI").
Regarding claim 1, RYU teaches a paging processing method, comprising:
RYU writes, “A method comprising: sending, by a wireless device to a mobility management function, a
first request to include a paging cause value in a paging message; receiving the paging message
comprising the paging cause value; and sending, based on the paging message, a second request for a
connection setup” (claim 1)
receiving, by a core network device, request information for requesting the paging cause;
RYU writes, “...the UE may send a request to an AMF to provide a paging cause value in the paging message” (column 37, lines 32-33).
and sending, by the core network device, a paging message that contains a paging cause;
RYU writes, “In an example, the AMF may send a paging message to the UE via base station(s). The
paging message may comprise the paging cause value, UE identity, an access type, and/or the like”
(column 40, lines 26-29).
RYU fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein receiving the request information for requesting the paging cause, comprises: receiving a next generation application protocol (NGAP) message carrying the request information or an Sl application protocol (S IAP) message carrying the request information.”
However, in analogous art, TIWARI teaches wherein receiving the request information for requesting the paging cause, comprises: receiving a next generation application protocol (NGAP) message carrying the request information or an Sl application protocol (S IAP) message carrying the request information.
TIWARI writes, “The AMF initiates a paging procedure to SUPI-2 by sending a NGAP paging message containing paging cause, the temporary identity (e.g. 5G-GUTI) and n2. The NG-RANs perform a paging containing paging cause, the temporary identity and n2” (paragraph 0207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of RYU to include aspects described by TIWARI that “relates to the procedure to handle services provided by a UE supporting multiple USIM card.” TIWARI provides the motivation for modification stating, “This disclosure is related to the procedure to handle the services provided by a UE (100) supporting multiple USIM card (105). More specifically it provides a method for paging co-ordination when a UE (100) is registered to a PLMN for more than two USIM cards (105) separately” (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the request
information for requesting the paging cause, comprises:
Additionally, RYU teaches receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) message carrying the request information, wherein the NAS message is sent by a terminal.
RYU writes, “FIG. 28 illustrates an example of a paging cause value request procedure and paging cause
determination between a UE and an MME regarding 4G system case in accordance with embodiments
of the present disclosure. In the example of FIG. 28, compared to the previous example of FIG. 27, the
AMF is replaced with the MME and the SMF is replaced with the S-GW” (column 41, lines 33-39). RYU
adds, “In an example, the UE 100 may initiate the UE 100 requested PDU session establishment
procedure by the transmission of the NAS message containing a PDU session establishment request
within the N1 SM container. The PDU session establishment request may include a PDU type, SSC mode,
protocol configuration options, and/or the like” (column 25, lines 1-6). RYU indicates the UE transmits a
NAS message containing an establishment request including request information.
Regarding claim 5, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 1, wherein sending the paging message that contains the paging cause, comprises:
Additionally, RYU teaches sending the paging message that contains the paging cause upon
determining to send the paging cause based on the request information.
RYU writes, “In an embodiment of the present disclosure, a UE may determine whether a paging cause
value (or a paging cause) needs to be included in a paging message. Based on the determination, the UE
may send a request to an AMF to provide a paging cause value in the paging message. If the AMF
accepts the request, the AMF may add one or more paging cause values in a paging message for the UE”
(column 37, lines 29-35).
Regarding claim 8, RYU teaches a paging processing method, comprising:
RYU writes, “A method comprising: sending, by a wireless device to a mobility management function, a
first request to include a paging cause value in a paging message; receiving the paging message
comprising the paging cause value; and sending, based on the paging message, a second request for a
connection setup” (claim 1)
receiving, by a base station, request information for requesting the paging cause from a terminal;
RYU writes, “The UE may send a registration request message, via a base station to the AMF of the PLMN B, requesting the registration with PLMN B. The registration request message may comprise a request to include paging cause values for the paging messages to the UE...” (column 38, lines 5-10).
receiving, by the base station, a paging message containing a paging cause from the core network;
RYU writes, “In an example, the AMF may send a paging message to the UE via base station(s). The
paging message may comprise the paging cause value, UE identity, an access type, and/or the like”
(column 40, lines 26-29).
and sending, by the base station, the paging message containing the paging cause to the terminal.
RYU writes, “In an example, the AMF may send a paging message to the UE via base station(s). The
paging message may comprise the paging cause value, UE identity, an access type, and/or the like”
(column 40, lines 26-29).
RYU fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “sending, by the base station, a next generation application protocol (NGAP) message carrying the request information or an S1 application protocol (SlAP) message carrying the request information based on the request information to a core network;”
However, in analogous art, TIWARI teaches sending, by the base station, a next generation application protocol (NGAP) message carrying the request information or an S1 application protocol (SlAP) message carrying the request information based on the request information to a core network;
TIWARI writes, “The AMF initiates a paging procedure to SUPI-2 by sending a NGAP paging message containing paging cause, the temporary identity (e.g. 5G-GUTI) and n2. The NG-RANs perform a paging containing paging cause, the temporary identity and n2” (paragraph 0207). TIWARI adds, “Although step 4a, 4b and 4c are shown in FIG. 6 with one lines each from the AMF to the UE for simplicity reason, each line can be split into two parts, one over the N2 interface between the AMF and NG-RANs and the other one over the air interface between the NG-RAN and the UE” (paragraph 0208; figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 8, wherein sending the paging message that contains the paging cause to the terminal, comprises:
Additionally, RYU teaches sending the paging message that contains the paging cause to the
terminal upon determining that the base station supports sending the paging cause.
RYU writes, “In an embodiment of the present disclosure, a UE may determine whether a paging cause
value (or a paging cause) needs to be included in a paging message. Based on the determination, the UE
may send a request to an AMF to provide a paging cause value in the paging message. If the AMF
accepts the request, the AMF may add one or more paging cause values in a paging message for the UE”
(column 37, lines 29-35).
Regarding claim 10, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 8, further comprising:
Additionally, RYU teaches sending second capability information, wherein the second
capability information indicates whether the base station supports the sending of the paging cause.
RYU writes, “The wireless device may send, based on the paging cause value in the paging message,
a second request for a connection setup with the PLMN” (column 49, lines 56-59). RYU continues, “At
3830, based on the paging message, a second request for a connection setup may be sent” (column 48,
lines 33-34; figure 38, step 3830). RYU adds, “At 4330, the AMF may send to the network function, an
event report message indicating the RRC state of the wireless device. According to an embodiment, the
AMF may send, to the base station, a second request message requesting to inform an RRC state
transition of the wireless device. According to an embodiment, the second request message may be
based on the first request message” (column 53, lines 6-13). RYU states the device may send a second
request for a connection setup based on the paging message. The AMF may send, to the base station, a
second request message based on the first request message. Therefore, RYU indicates the base station
supports the sending of the paging cause since the AMF will send the request for a connection setup if
the base station meets the needs as based on the first request message (i.e., paging cause).
Regarding claim 11, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 10, wherein sending the second capability information, comprises:
Additionally, RYU teaches sending system information carrying the second capability
information; or sending a radio resource control (RRC) message carrying the second capability
information.
RYU writes, “According to an embodiment, the base station may send to the wireless device, a second
request message to transition the wireless device from a radio resource connection (RRC) connected
state to an RRC inactive state” (column 51, lines 10-19).
Regarding claim 49, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 1.
Additionally, RYU teaches a communication device (column 4, line 34; figure 3, UE: 100),
comprising
a processor (column 4, line 19-24; figure 3, processor: 318),
a transceiver (column 4, line 19-24; figure 3, communication interface(s): 320),
a memory and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the
processor (column 4, line 19-24; figure 3, memory: 326),
wherein the processor, when running the executable program, performs the method of claim
1.
RYU writes, “According to various embodiments, a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-
network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and
memory. The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause
the device to perform a series of actions. Embodiments of example actions are illustrated in the
accompanying figures and specification. Features from various embodiments may be combined to
create yet further embodiments” (column 48, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 50, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 1
Additionally, RYU teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium, storing an executable
program, wherein the executable program, when executed by a processor, enables the method of
claim 1.
RYU writes, “According to various embodiments, a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-
network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and
memory. The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause
the device to perform a series of actions. Embodiments of example actions are illustrated in the
accompanying figures and specification. Features from various embodiments may be combined to
create yet further embodiments” (column 48, lines 18-26).
Claims 15, 17, and 21-22 are method claims corresponding to method claims 1, 3, and 9-10 that
have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 9-10. Claims 15, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1, 3 and 9-10.
Claims 51-52 are apparatus claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 49 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 49. Claims 51-52 are rejected under the same rational as claim 49.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU and TIWARI as applied to claims 3 and 17 above, and further in view of PARK, et al. (US 20190116483 A1, hereinafter, "PARK").
Regarding claim 4, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 3, wherein the NAS message comprises at least one of:
RYU and TIWARI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “an attach request message; a tracking area update (TAU) message; and a routing area update (RAU) message.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches an attach request message; a tracking area update
(TAU) message; and a routing area update (RAU) message.
PARK writes, “In another aspect of the present invention, a method for performing, by a mobility
management entity (MME), a tracking area update (TAU) procedure in a wireless communication system
includes: receiving a TAU request message from a user equipment (UE); and transmitting a TAU accept
message from the UE, in which when a first active flag is set in the TAU request message, a non-access
stratum (NAS) signaling connection between the UE and the MME may not be released after completion
of the TAU procedure, and the first active flag may indicate a request for maintaining the non-access
stratum (NAS) signaling connection between the UE and the MME after the completion of
the TAU procedure” (paragraph 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of RYU and TIWARI to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for performing or supporting a tracking update procedure and an apparatus for supporting the same.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment of the present invention, a UE which uses control plane cellular Internet of things (CIoT) evolved packet system (EPS) optimization may efficiently transmit user data via a control plane after a tracking area update is completed. Furthermore, according to an embodiment of the present invention, a UE which uses user plane CIoT EPS optimization may efficiently transmit the user data via a user plane after the tracking area update is completed.” (paragraph 0021-0022).
Claim 18 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 4 that have already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU and TIWARI as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of GURUMOORTHY, et al. (US 20210014822 A1, hereinafter, "GURUMOORTHY").
Regarding claim 23, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 15, wherein sending the request information for requesting the paging cause, comprises:
RYU and TIWARI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “sending, in response to a first SIM of the terminal having a connection to a first base station, the request information for requesting the paging cause to a network to which a second SIM of the terminal is connected via the second SIM.”
However, in analogous art, GURUMOORTHY teaches sending, in response to a first SIM of the
terminal having a connection to a first base station, the request information for requesting the paging
cause to a network to which a second SIM of the terminal is connected via the second SIM.
GURUMOORTHY writes, “The UE 106 may (e.g., in cooperation with the network, e.g. BS 102) coordinate
communications associated with different SIMs (808), according to some embodiments. In order to
coordinate communications, the UE 106 may provide a coordination request and/or relevant
information to one or more networks associated with one or more of the SIMs. Such a coordination
request and/or information may indicate to one or more of the networks to adjust upcoming
communications (e.g., a paging schedule, provision of alert system messages, etc.) to the UE 106 to
avoid a potential collision between communications associated with the different SIMs. In other words,
the coordination request may be based on the potential collision” (paragraph 0095). GURUMOORTHY
adds, “Thus, the UE 106 may consider the paging cause (e.g., as indicated in a page of a first SIM) to
determine a priority level (e.g., to distinguish between high and low priority) of activity associated with
the page and to determine whether or not to preempt activity of a second SIM based on the page”
(paragraph 0107). GURUMOORTHY states the UE provides coordination request and/or relevant
information to one or more networks associated with one or more of the SIMs which may indicate to
one or more of the networks to adjust upcoming communications to the UE 106 to avoid a potential
collision. The UE 106 may consider the paging cause. Therefore, GURUMOORTHY indicates the request
information for requesting the paging cause is sent to the network associated with different SIMs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of RYU and TIWARI to include aspects described by GURUMOORTHY that “relates to wireless communications, and more particularly to systems, apparatuses, and methods for coordinating communication and avoiding and/or mitigating collisions for multi-subscriber identity module devices in a wireless communication system.” GURUMOORTHY provides the motivation for modification stating, “The MUSIM device may coordinate communication in order to avoid collisions and/or otherwise improve communication schedules to improve performance and/or reduce energy use. The MUSIM device may mitigate some collisions, e.g., by prioritizing communications according to various decision rules. The MUSIM device may communicate with one or more base stations according to the coordination and mitigation.” (paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 24, RYU, TIWARI, and GURUMOORTHY teach the method of claim 23,
Additionally, GURUMOORTHY teaches wherein sending, in response to the first SIM of the
terminal having the connection to the first base station, the request information for requesting the
paging cause to the network to which the second SIM of the terminal is connected via the second SIM,
comprises:
GURUMOORTHY writes, “The UE 106 may (e.g., in cooperation with the network, e.g. BS 102) coordinate
communications associated with different SIMs (808), according to some embodiments. In order to
coordinate communications, the UE 106 may provide a coordination request and/or relevant
information to one or more networks associated with one or more of the SIMs. Such a coordination
request and/or information may indicate to one or more of the networks to adjust upcoming
communications (e.g., a paging schedule, provision of alert system messages, etc.) to the UE 106 to
avoid a potential collision between communications associated with the different SIMs. In other words,
the coordination request may be based on the potential collision” (paragraph 0095). GURUMOORTHY
adds, “Thus, the UE 106 may consider the paging cause (e.g., as indicated in a page of a first SIM) to
determine a priority level (e.g., to distinguish between high and low priority) of activity associated with
the page and to determine whether or not to preempt activity of a second SIM based on the page”
(paragraph 0107). GURUMOORTHY states the UE provides coordination request and/or relevant
information to one or more networks associated with one or more of the SIMs which may indicate to
one or more of the networks to adjust upcoming communications to the UE 106 to avoid a potential
collision. The UE 106 may consider the paging cause. Therefore, GURUMOORTHY indicates the request
information for requesting the paging cause is sent to the network associated with different SIMs.
sending, in response to the first SIM of the terminal having the connection to the first base
station and there being a transmission on the connection, the request information for requesting the
paging cause to the network to which the second SIM of the terminal is connected via the second SIM.
GURUMOORTHY writes, “The UE 106 may (e.g., in cooperation with the network, e.g. BS 102) coordinate
communications associated with different SIMs (808), according to some embodiments. In order to
coordinate communications, the UE 106 may provide a coordination request and/or relevant
information to one or more networks associated with one or more of the SIMs. Such a coordination
request and/or information may indicate to one or more of the networks to adjust upcoming
communications (e.g., a paging schedule, provision of alert system messages, etc.) to the UE 106 to
avoid a potential collision between communications associated with the different SIMs. In other words,
the coordination request may be based on the potential collision” (paragraph 0095). GURUMOORTHY
adds, “Thus, the UE 106 may consider the paging cause (e.g., as indicated in a page of a first SIM) to
determine a priority level (e.g., to distinguish between high and low priority) of activity associated with
the page and to determine whether or not to preempt activity of a second SIM based on the page”
(paragraph 0107). GURUMOORTHY states the UE provides coordination request and/or relevant
information to one or more networks associated with one or more of the SIMs which may indicate to
one or more of the networks to adjust upcoming communications to the UE 106 to avoid a potential
collision. The UE 106 may consider the paging cause. Therefore, GURUMOORTHY indicates the request
information for requesting the paging cause is sent to the network associated with different SIMs.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU and TIWARI as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of BAO, et al. (US 20210185515 A1, hereinafter, "BAO").
Regarding claim 53, RYU and TIWARI teach the method of claim 11,
RYU and TIWARI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein sending the system information carrying the second capability information, comprises: sending minimum system information carrying the second capability information; or sending other system information carrying the second capability information, wherein the other system information is system information other than the minimum system information.”
However, in analogous art, BAO teaches wherein sending the system information carrying the second capability information, comprises: sending minimum system information carrying the second capability information; or sending other system information carrying the second capability information, wherein the other system information is system information other than the minimum system information.
BAO writes, “Some aspects may further include receiving, from the base station, second capability information indicating that the base station supports at least one neural network block, where transmitting the capability information to the base station may be based on receiving the second capability information. In some aspects, the second capability information may be included in a system information block, a master information block, a downlink control information message, a media access control element, or a radio resource control message, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of RYU and TIWARI to include aspects described by BAO that “relates generally to wireless communications and more specifically to neural network configuration for wireless communication system assistance.” BAO provides the motivation for modification stating, “Particular aspects of the subject matter described herein may be implemented to realize one or more advantages. The described techniques may support the use of one or more neural network blocks which may result in increased throughput, increased reliability of signaling, increased system efficiency and improved user experience. As such, supported techniques may include improved network operations and, in some examples, may promote device and network efficiencies, among other benefits” (paragraph 0087).
Claims 2, 6-7, 12-14, 16, 19-20, and 25-48 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 3/24/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475