Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/25/2026, in which:
Claims 1-11 were amended.
Claims 12-13 were cancelled.
No claims were added.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13 is/are independent claim(s).
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note Regarding AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 7-8 read: “the control terminal being configured to comprising”, it should read: “the control terminal being configured to”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somatani Akifumi et al (JP20100166723A: Published: 07/29/2010)(hereinafter: Akifumi)as applied to claim 1 above in view of Carolina Ledesma et al (US PG Pub No. US2022/0069587; Filed: 09/02/2020)(hereinafter: Ledesma).
Note: A translation of JP20100166723 is provided along with this Office Action.
Claim 1:
As per independent claim 1, Akifumi discloses a control terminal for controlling output power of a power generation system, the power generation system including a plurality of power generators and a plurality of power generation controllers, the control terminal being configured to comprising: [[0023] the power output adjustment system comprises a plurality of power generation devices Fl to Fn, a power grid 1,] and
obtain a power consumption level of a load [[0035] The measurement unit 31 measures the load power consumed by the power load group 5 and the received power supplied from the power system 1 at arbitrary interval].
obtain a total allowable power generation level of the power generation system [[0027] the monitoring device 3 measures the output power generated and output by each power generation device Fl to Fn individually at arbitrary intervals and calculates the "total output power value," which is the sum of the output powers of each power generation device Fl to Fn.Note that the total output power value is the "sum"].
determine whether the total allowable power generation level of the power generation system decreases or increases with respect to the total allowable power generation level at a time (t =t0) in a preceding cycle by calculating the total allowable power generation level based on the power consumption level and a total power generation level of the plurality of power generators [[0010] a process of calculating a target power value, which is a power value obtained by subtracting the power received from the power system from the load power consumed by the power load group [0037] Each time the measurement unit 31 notifies the load power and received power of the target power, the target power setting unit 32 sets a target power value based on the load power and received power, and notifies the comparison unit 361 of the target power value.]
calculate, based on a result of the determining, an output command value at a current time (t =t1) for each of the plurality of power generation controllers [[0010] comparing the total with the target power value; and, if the total and the target power value are different as a result of the comparison, an adjustment process of sequentially adjusting the output power of the plurality of power generation devices by an adjustment amount assigned to each device in a predetermined order until the total and the target power value become the same [0042] the adjustment order setting unit 33 assigns a new order to each power generation device other than power generation device Fj, with power generation device Fj, which has been newly set to No. 1, as the first power source, according to the current adjustment direction of the total output power (hereinafter simply referred to as "current output adjustment direction") and the adjustment direction of the total output power performed immediately before (hereinafter simply referred to as "previous output adjustment direction")].
Akifumi discloses a plurality of power generators, However it is not specifically clear from Akifumi whether there are a plurality of generation controllers. Therefore, Akifumi failed to specifically disclose a plurality of power generation controllers to control output power generation levels of the plurality of power generators.
Ledesma, in the same field of power generation and load sharing discloses this limitation in that [[0032] With the preceding in mind, FIG. 2 depicts a power grid system 100 including a multiple gas turbine generators (GTGs) and respective GTG controllers. Each of the GTGs may operate in a specific mode (stand-alone, parallel or island) depending on power grid configurations, loads, electrical switch (or breaker) states, etc. [0040] To share information among a group of operating GTGs (either in the parallel operation or in island operation), the interconnection data bus 170 is used to handle communications among the GTGs 102, 112, 122, and 132 via GTG controllers 104, 114, 124, and 134.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akifumi’s generator devices to include a plurality of power generation controllers to control output power generation levels of the plurality of power generators as disclosed by Ledesma. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow generators to work in parallel even if a central controller is not available, resulting in evenly distributed loads among the generators and/or stable power generation(0002).
Claim 2:
As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Akifumi and Ledesma disclose wherein the determining includes determining whether the total allowable power generation level decreases, and when determining that the total allowable power generation level decreases, the determining at least includes. Akifumi, [[0058] The comparison unit 361 compares the total output power value notified by the measurement unit with the target power value notified by the target value setting unit, and notifies the adjustment unit of the comparison result. [0059] Furthermore, the comparison unit calculates the sign (positive or negative) when the total output power value is subtracted from the target power value, and notifies the increase/decrease comparison unit of that sign. [0061] If the comparison result notified by the comparison unit indicates that the total output power value and the target power value are different, the adjustment unit causes each power generator Fj to adjust its output power within its respective allowable output adjustment range Pjk in the order assigned to each power generator Fl to Fn.]
calculating a decrease target value. Akifumi, [[0061] the adjustment unit 362 causes each power generator Fj to adjust its output power within its respective allowable output adjustment range Pjk in the order assigned to each power generator Fl to Fn.]
reflecting the decrease target value with respect to the output command value for the selected power generation controller. Akifumi, [[0064] which is given the initial value 1 in the sequence, to adjust the output power within the allowable output adjustment range P11.] and
determining whether the decrease target value is achieved. Akifumi, [[0074] the adjustment unit 362 identifies whether the comparison result notified by the comparison unit 361 indicates that the total output power value and the target power value are the same.].
Akifumi and Ledesma disclose adjusting the power level of a generator in order to achieve a decreasing value. However, Akifumi failed to specifically disclose selecting, from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a maximum actual power generation level.
Ledesma discloses this limitation in that [[0040] The interconnection data bus 170 may include multiple cables/wires (such as coax signal cables, Ethernet cables, and the like) and/or wireless connections, which carry signals containing information related to load sharing using any suitable communication protocol for communicating between controllers 38 of the GTGs 102, 112, 122, and 132. The load sharing information may include identification information for respective GTG or GTG controller ID, online/offline operating status information of respective GTGs, power output information for the respective GTGs, GTG configuration information (e.g., maximum power output), and the like.[0055] By using the load sharing module 39 to analyze the indication that the other GTG is within a threshold of maximum power and other relevant information, the GTG controller 104 may determine to increase the power output of online GTG(s) other than the other GTG].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akifumi’s generator devices to select from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a maximum actual power generation level as disclosed by Ledesma. The motivation for doing so would have been to load balance generators while preventing overworking generators, thus reducing possible downtime.
Claim 4:
As per claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Akifumi and Ledesma disclose wherein the determining includes determining whether the total allowable power generation level decreases, and when determining that the total allowable power generation level does not decrease, the determining at least includes. Akifumi, [[0058] The comparison unit 361 compares the total output power value notified by the measurement unit with the target power value notified by the target value setting unit, and notifies the adjustment unit of the comparison result. [0059] Furthermore, the comparison unit calculates the sign (positive or negative) when the total output power value is subtracted from the target power value, and notifies the increase/decrease comparison unit of that sign. [0061] If the comparison result notified by the comparison unit indicates that the total output power value and the target power value are different, the adjustment unit causes each power generator Fj to adjust its output power within its respective allowable output adjustment range Pjk in the order assigned to each power generator Fl to Fn.]
calculating an increase target value. Akifumi, [[0061] the adjustment unit 362 causes each power generator Fj to adjust its output power within its respective allowable output adjustment range Pjk in the order assigned to each power generator Fl to Fn.]
reflecting the increase target value with respect to the output command value for the selected power generation controller. Akifumi, [[0064] which is given the initial value 1 in the sequence, to adjust the output power within the allowable output adjustment range P11.] and
determining whether the increase target value is achieved. Akifumi, [[0074] the adjustment unit 362 identifies whether the comparison result notified by the comparison unit 361 indicates that the total output power value and the target power value are the same.].
Akifumi and Ledesma disclose adjusting the power level of a generator in order to achieve a decreasing value. However, Akifumi failed to specifically disclose selecting, from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a minimum actual power generation level.
Ledesma discloses this limitation in that [[0040] The interconnection data bus 170 may include multiple cables/wires (such as coax signal cables, Ethernet cables, and the like) and/or wireless connections, which carry signals containing information related to load sharing using any suitable communication protocol for communicating between controllers 38 of the GTGs 102, 112, 122, and 132. The load sharing information may include identification information for respective GTG or GTG controller ID, online/offline operating status information of respective GTGs, power output information for the respective GTGs, GTG configuration information (e.g., maximum power output), and the like.[0055] By using the load sharing module 39 to analyze the indication that the other GTG is within a threshold of maximum power and other relevant information, the GTG controller 104 may determine to increase the power output of online GTG(s) other than the other GTG].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akifumi’s generator devices to select from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a minimum actual power generation level as disclosed by Ledesma. The motivation for doing so would have been to load balance generators while preventing underworking generators, thus increasing power balancing.
Claim 6:
As per claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Akifumi and Ledesma disclose wherein the determining includes determining whether the total power generation level at the current time (t =tl) is higher than the total allowable power generation level at the current time (t =tl), and when determining that the total power generation level is higher than the total allowable power generation level, the determining at least includes calculating a decrease target value… from the plurality of power generation controllers reflecting the decrease target value with respect to an actual power generation level for the selected power generation controller, and determining whether the decrease target value is achieved. Akifumi, [[0063] each power generation device Fl to Fn is assigned an initial value (number 1 to n), and the example given is to start with all power generation devices Fl to Fn operating at their rated output and reduce the output power until the total output power value equals the target power value [0065] The adjustment unit 362 then causes each power generation device Fl to Fn to repeatedly perform the above-described operation until the comparison unit 361 notifies it of a comparison result indicating that the total output power value and the target power value are the same.]
Akifumi and Ledesma disclose adjusting the power level of a generator in order to achieve a decreasing value. However, Akifumi failed to specifically disclose selecting a power generation controller having a maximum actual power generation level.
Ledesma discloses this limitation in that [[0040] The interconnection data bus 170 may include multiple cables/wires (such as coax signal cables, Ethernet cables, and the like) and/or wireless connections, which carry signals containing information related to load sharing using any suitable communication protocol for communicating between controllers 38 of the GTGs 102, 112, 122, and 132. The load sharing information may include identification information for respective GTG or GTG controller ID, online/offline operating status information of respective GTGs, power output information for the respective GTGs, GTG configuration information (e.g., maximum power output), and the like.[0055] By using the load sharing module 39 to analyze the indication that the other GTG is within a threshold of maximum power and other relevant information, the GTG controller 104 may determine to increase the power output of online GTG(s) other than the other GTG].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akifumi’s generator devices to select from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a maximum actual power generation level as disclosed by Ledesma. The motivation for doing so would have been to load balance generators while preventing overworking generators, thus reducing possible downtime.
Claim 8:
As per claim 8, which depends on claim 6, Akifumi and Ledesma disclose Akifumi and Ledesma disclose wherein the determining includes determining whether the total power generation level at the current time (t =tl) is higher than the total allowable power generation level at the current time (t =tl), and. Akifumi, [[0058] The comparison unit 361 compares the total output power value notified by the measurement unit with the target power value notified by the target value setting unit, and notifies the adjustment unit of the comparison result. [0059] Furthermore, the comparison unit calculates the sign (positive or negative) when the total output power value is subtracted from the target power value, and notifies the increase/decrease comparison unit of that sign. [0061] If the comparison result notified by the comparison unit indicates that the total output power value and the target power value are different, the adjustment unit causes each power generator Fj to adjust its output power within its respective allowable output adjustment range Pjk in the order assigned to each power generator Fl to Fn.]
when determining that the total power generation level is not higher than the total allowable power generation level, the determining at least includes determining whether all the plurality of power generation controllers are operating at values lower than or equal to the output command values, and when determining that all the plurality of power generation controllers are operating at values lower than or equal to the output command values, determining whether a power generation level at the current time (t =tl) has increased from a power generation level at a time (t =tO) in a preceding cycle, and when determining that all the plurality of power generation controllers are operating at values lower than or equal to the output command values and the power generation level at the current time (t =tl) has not increased from the power generation level at the time (t =tO) in the preceding cycle, maintaining an output level at the time (t =tO) in the preceding cycle and returning to the obtaining the power consumption level. Akifumi, [[0064] As shown in Figure 6, first, the adjustment unit 362 causes the power generator Fl, which is given the initial value 1 in the sequence, to adjust the output power within the allowable output adjustment range P<sub> 11 </sub>. If power generator Fl does not reach the target power value even after adjusting its output power within the allowable output adjustment range P<sub>11</sub>, the adjustment unit 362 causes power generator F2, which is given the next turn (number 2), to adjust its output power within the allowable output adjustment range P<sub> 21 </sub>.]. output level of generators are determined each cycle.
Claim 9:
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Akifumi and Ledesma disclose wherein the determining includes determining whether the total power generation level at the current time (t =tl) is higher than the total allowable power generation level at the current time (t =tl) . Akifumi, [[0058] The comparison unit 361 compares the total output power value notified by the measurement unit with the target power value notified by the target value setting unit, and notifies the adjustment unit of the comparison result. [0059] Furthermore, the comparison unit calculates the sign (positive or negative) when the total output power value is subtracted from the target power value, and notifies the increase/decrease comparison unit of that sign. [0061] If the comparison result notified by the comparison unit indicates that the total output power value and the target power value are different, the adjustment unit causes each power generator Fj to adjust its output power within its respective allowable output adjustment range Pjk in the order assigned to each power generator Fl to Fn.]and when determining that the total power generation level is not higher than the total allowable power generation level, the determining at least includes determining whether all the plurality of power generation controllers are operating at values lower than or equal to the output command values, and when determining that all the plurality of power generation controllers are operating at values lower than or equal to the output command values, determining whether a power generation level at the current time (t =tl) has increased from a power generation level at a time (t =tO) in a preceding cycle, and when determining that not all the plurality of power generation controllers are operating at values lower than or equal to the output command values or when determining that the power generation level at the current time (t =tl) has increased in the determining , reflecting the increase target value with respect to an actual power generation level for the selected power generation controller, and determining whether the increase target value is achieved. Akifumi, [[0064] As shown in Figure 6, first, the adjustment unit 362 causes the power generator Fl, which is given the initial value 1 in the sequence, to adjust the output power within the allowable output adjustment range P<sub> 11 </sub>. If power generator Fl does not reach the target power value even after adjusting its output power within the allowable output adjustment range P<sub>11</sub>, the adjustment unit 362 causes power generator F2, which is given the next turn (number 2), to adjust its output power within the allowable output adjustment range P<sub> 21 </sub>.]. output level of generators are determined each cycle.
Akifumi and Ledesma disclose adjusting the power level of a generator in order to achieve a decreasing value. However, Akifumi failed to specifically disclose selecting, from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a minimum output command value,
Ledesma discloses this limitation in that [[0040] The interconnection data bus 170 may include multiple cables/wires (such as coax signal cables, Ethernet cables, and the like) and/or wireless connections, which carry signals containing information related to load sharing using any suitable communication protocol for communicating between controllers 38 of the GTGs 102, 112, 122, and 132. The load sharing information may include identification information for respective GTG or GTG controller ID, online/offline operating status information of respective GTGs, power output information for the respective GTGs, GTG configuration information (e.g., maximum power output), and the like.[0055] By using the load sharing module 39 to analyze the indication that the other GTG is within a threshold of maximum power and other relevant information, the GTG controller 104 may determine to increase the power output of online GTG(s) other than the other GTG].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akifumi’s generator devices to select, from the plurality of power generation controllers, a power generation controller having a minimum output command value as disclosed by Ledesma. The motivation for doing so would have been to load balance generators while preventing underworking generators, thus increasing power balancing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and they overcome the USC 101 rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited prior art of record, alone or in any reasonable combination, discloses the subject matter of the indicated claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed 6/25/2026 with regard to the 35 USC 101 rejection have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection is herein withdrawn in response to amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 with regard to the claim rejections under 35 USC 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “the Office relies on Akifumi at paragraphs [0010] and [0042] for this limitation. However, Akifumi discloses a technique in which the total output power of a plurality of power generators is adjusted sequentially according to a predetermined order and an adjustment amount, based on the difference between a target power value and a total output power value. Akifumi does not calculate an individual output command value for each of a plurality of power generation controllers in the manner claimed. Rather, Akifumi adjusts the output of successive power generation devices one at a time in a queue, based on a global comparison between total output and a target value. This is different from the claimed control terminal, which calculates, as a result of the claimed determining, a specific output command value for each power generation controller.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In regards to the Applicant argument that Akifumi does not calculate an indicial output command value for each of the a plurality of power generation controllers, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Akifumi specifically discloses measuring the output power generate by each power generation device (0027), as well as comparing a calculated (determined) total with a target power value and determining an adjustment power level to each of the power generators (0010) additionally, Akifumi clearly discloses an adjustment order setting unit assigns a new order to each power generation device thus Akifumi a specific output command value at the power generators.
Applicant further argues “Indeed, the Office itself acknowledges at page 7 of the Office action that "Akifumi failed to specifically disclose a plurality of power generation controllers to control output power generation levels of the plurality of power generators," which is the very structure to which the individualized output command value calculation is directed”. It is noted that the Examiner made clear Akifumi discloses a plurality of generation devices and that the power output level of the generators can be adjusted (0010 and 0027) but that Akifumi did not specify a plurality of power generation controllers each controlling output power generation levels of the plurality of power generators as claimed.
The Examiner relied upon Ledesma to disclose the “a plurality of power generation controllers each controlling power generation levels” Ledesma discloses this limitation in (0032) which states that there are multiple power generators (GTGs) and respective GTC controllers. Ledesma goes on to disclose there is intercommunication between GTC controllers.
Applicant argues “Because Ledesma is directed to a distributed peer-to-peer architecture, it would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ledesma's teachings with the centralized sequential adjustment technique of Akifumi to arrive at the claimed control terminal. The architectures are not merely combinable design choices; they reflect different system philosophies. Modifying Akifumi to incorporate Ledesma's distributed controller-to-controller communication would require a fundamental restructuring of Akifumi's system, and there is no adequate motivation in the record to make such a modification.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the Examiner is not relying on any specific architecture in Ledesma to modify Akifumi. The Examiner merely relied on the fact that for each of Ledesma’s power generation units, there is a corresponding controller and that it would and the combination would only require to modify Akifumi’s generator devices to include a plurality of power generation controllers to control output power generation levels of the plurality of power generators as disclosed by Ledesma.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/HOWARD CORTES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118