DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed on 05/28/2026 have been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20180099404).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a securing surface (Fig. 1, panel 100, para [0017]) configured to secure a first tool (Fig. 4, first stud 406, para [0028]) and a second tool (Fig. 9, clamps 900, para [0042]), the securing surface comprising:
a first surface (Fig. 1, top surface 102, para [0017]) comprising a plurality of first through-holes (See Fig. 1, 4, there are shown to be six first identical through holes, different than dog holes 122, that are along a perimeter of the top surface 102. These holes are shown to mount the studs 406, 408.) and a plurality of linear guides (Fig. 1, upper slots 110 that are along the width of the top surface.), each of the plurality of first through-holes comprising a shaft receiving area (See Fig. 1, the holes are shown to be counter bored holes, wherein the shaft receiving area is the area of smaller diameter that receives a shaft of a rod or bolt.) configured to receive a shaft extending from the first tool (See Fig. 4, the studs 406 are shown to be mounted in the first through holes.) and a protrusion receiving area (See Fig. 1, the area of larger diameter of the counterbored first through holes is shown to be the protrusion receiving area.) configured to receive a protrusion extending from the shaft of the first tool (See Fig. 4-6, the head of the bolt is shown to be a protrusion extending from the shaft that sits in the protrusion receiving area.);
a second surface (Fig. 2, bottom surface 104, para [0017]) comprising a plurality of second through-holes (See Fig. 2, the plurality of second through holes are shown to be the holes on the second surface that connect through the securing surface to the first plurality of through holes.), the second surface disposed below the first surface (See Fig. 2, the second surface is shown below the first surface.) and offset from the first surface by a distance (See Fig. 2, the surfaces are shown to be offset by the distance of the side surface 106.), each of the plurality of second through-holes configured to receive the shaft of the first tool (See Fig. 4, the studs 406 are shown to be mounted in the through holes.) and aligned with a respective first-through hole of the plurality of first through-holes (See Fig. 2, the first and second through holes are shown to be aligned.), the second surface together with the first surface configured to restrict movement of the first tool (See Fig. 4-6, the surfaces are shown to be restrict movement of the first tool.);
a plurality of tracks (Fig. 3, second post 312, clamp 314, para [0025]) disposed within and secured by the plurality of linear guides (See Fig. 3, the track 312 is shown in the linear guides.), each of the plurality of tracks configured to engage a keyed distal region of a shaft of a second tool (See Fig. 3, the tracks 312, 314 are shown to engage a keyed region of a shaft of clamp 900.) such that each track of the plurality of tracks is configured to restrict movement of the second tool to one direction of freedom along a respective linear guide of the plurality of linear guides (See Fig. 3, the tracks 312 are shown to restrict movement of the clamp 900 to one direction of freedom along the linear guides.); and wherein the first surface and the second surface merge on at least two sides of the securing surface to form at least two beveled edges of the securing surface (See Fig. 3, the two surfaces are shown to connect at the side surfaces 106, wherein the edges are shown to be beveled edges.).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses that the securing surface of claim 1, and discloses further comprising a frame (Fig. 4, connector assembly 400, para [0028]) configured to couptle the securing surface to a first structure (See Fig. 4, the connector assembly 400 is shown to coupled the securing surface to other structures 402.).
Regarding claim 9, Wang further discloses the securing surface of claim 1, and discloses further wherein the first surface further comprises second plurality of linear guides (Fig. 1, upper slots 110 that are along the length of the top surface.), the second plurality of linear guides oriented perpendicular to the plurality of linear guides (See Fig. 1, the second plurality of linear guides are shown to be perpendicular to the first plurality of linear guides.).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further discloses a core material disposed between the first surface and the second surface (See Fig. 3, the first and second surfaces are shown to have material located between them.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pascarella (US 20200164781) discloses a table for use with a vehicle tailgate, including a base member having a top surface and a bottom surface wherein the bottom surface of the base member is operatively arranged to be removably secured to the tailgate of a vehicle.
Johnson (US 20060099044) discloses a configurable base is formed from a plurality of interlocking tiles that may fit within a frame. Anchoring tiles have receptacles for accepting anchors. Smooth panels support heavy items. Accessories are formed to either attach to the anchor or integrally with the anchor.
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
06/12/2026