Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a storage unit (recites in claim 1, discloses as a storage area in a memory of a computer device, See Specification at fig.1 and [0016]),
a display control unit (recites in claims 1-4, discloses as a function of processing performed according to the control program by the CPU, and are not necessarily clearly distinguishable in a physical structure and a program structure), and
a setting unit (recites only in claim 4; discloses as a function of processing performed according to the control program by the CPU, and are not necessarily clearly distinguishable in a physical structure and a program structure, See Specification at fig.1 and [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 recite the elements “a display control unit” and “a setting unit” that have been interpreted to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See claim interpretation above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. Written description fails to clearly link or associate the disclosed structure, material or acts to the claimed function such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material or acts perform the claimed function.
As disclosed in the specification, “the display control unit 14, and the setting unit 15 are categorized according to the function of processing performed according to the control program by the CPU, and are not necessarily clearly distinguishable in a physical structure and a program structure” (See Specification at [0016]). It is unclear and indefinite when these elements that invoked 112f to not have a clear distinguishable physical structure. Presumedly, if these elements to be interpreted as a program structure, the specification fails to disclose a detailed algorithm (step-by-step) plan for each of the claimed units (the display control unit and the setting unit) and functions that invoked 112f. Thus, the claimed limitations are not supported by the specification and are not in accordance with MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(0) and 2181.
Claims 2-4 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, for being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Okochi et al. (US 2016/0082504-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Okochi teaches an injection molding control device for controlling an injection molding operation of an injection molding machine (control device 20 of the injection molding machine 1, fig.1), comprising:
a touch panel (touch panel 27, fig.1);
a storage unit (storage unit 20b, fig.1 and [0068]) that stores data collected with regard to the injection molding machine (customize the menu button for each injection molding machine so as to be stored in the storage unit, [0068]); and
a display control unit (processing unit 20a, fig.1) that displays, on the touch panel, a graph of part of the data extracted from the storage unit (the processing unit 20a reads various information stored in the storage unit 20b according to instruction and selection from a user and displays the information on the display unit 29, [0055]; touch panel 27 includes a touch information detection unit 28…specifies a position of a touched area when the surface of the display unit 29 is pressed (touched), and which can perform operations corresponding to the touched area and has both a function of a display device and a function for allowing input [0061], different graphs are displayed in area 30 of fig.2, [0062]) and changes a displayed content of the graph according to a touch operation on the touch panel (the menu buttons may be a two-step menu button in which when an arbitrary button (Temp) from the first selection button list L1 is touched [0063]; synchronously scroll the first display image P1 and the second display image P2, fig.2 and [0073]; the exchange operation of the screen may be performed by a predetermined touch action [0125]),
wherein the display control unit changes the displayed content of the graph differently based on whether the touch operation is a predetermined gesture operation with a single touch (switching between the right and left positions and switching between the scroll directions may be performed by a touching operation of one touch type [0130]) or a gesture operation with a multi-touch1.
With respect to claim 2, Okochi teaches wherein the display control unit determines, as the gesture operation, at least one of swipe (a swipe operation in which the surface of the second display area 32 is traced in the horizontal direction X may be applied [0131]), drag (scroll may be performed by pressing soft switches or hard switches such as sheet keys on the touch panel, and may be performed by a touch action operation of moving the image in the scroll direction while touching the touch panel, that is, a so-called swipe operation [0085]; switching between the right and left positions and switching between the scroll directions may be performed by a touching operation of one touch type or a switch operation [0130], scroll directions based on one touch is interpreted as a drag gesture operation), or flick.
With respect to claim 3, Okochi teaches wherein a change in the displayed content by the display control unit includes at least one of movement of a range of an axis of the graph, a change in a scale of an axis of the graph, movement of a cursor for selecting a data element on the graph or a position on an axis of the graph, or a change in a data item to be displayed (synchronously scroll the first display image P1 and the second display image P2, fig.2 and [0073]; switching between the right and left positions and switching between the scroll directions may be performed by a touching operation of one touch type [0130]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okochi et al. (US 2016/0082504-A1) in view of Nishiyama et al. (JP-2002361702-A).
With respect to claim 4, Okochi teaches further comprising: a setting unit that sets an appropriate data in the injection molding operation (Okochi: the menu buttons are customized to the setting screens including parameters greatly influencing each mold or each molded part [0065]; setting screens are displayed on the entire screen, and the user can input conditions while checking all setting values on the screen…input and change the setting values while reviewing the setting values closely related to each other in a series of mechanical operations even if the mechanical operations are different from each other [0080]).
Nishiyama does not appear to teach: wherein the display control unit displays, on the graph, a management marker indicating the appropriate range, the change in the displayed content by the display control unit includes movement or deformation of the management marker, and the setting unit changes a set value for the appropriate range according to the movement or deformation of the management marker
However, it is known by Nishiyama to teach of an injection molding machine including a graph display device (Nishiyama: fig.3), particularly, a setting unit that sets an appropriate range of the data in the injection molding operation (Nishiyama: in the multi-stage setting, a marker whose operation range is defined by the number of stages and stroke range information can be set while preventing malfunction, p.10; a number of markers set based on the number of injection stages set by the number of injection stages setting unit are displayed in time series, p.13), wherein the display control unit displays, on the graph (Nishiyama: display control unit displays a graph 303, fig.3), a management marker indicating the appropriate range, the change in the displayed content by the display control unit includes movement or deformation of the management marker, and the setting unit changes a set value for the appropriate range according to the movement or deformation of the management marker (Nishiyama: set number of markers can be displayed in chronological order…by moving the displayed marker in time series, the injection speed switching position corresponding to the marker can be changed, and the marker movement range is limited so that the marker is moved only within the settable range, p.3; in the multi-stage setting, a marker whose operation range is defined by the number of stages and stroke range information can be set while preventing malfunction, p.10; a number of markers set based on the number of injection stages set by the number of injection stages setting unit are displayed in time series, p.13).
Because Nishiyama is also directed to an injection molding machine (Nishiyama: fig.3; Okochi: figs.1-2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of “a management marker indicating the appropriate range, the change in the displayed content by the display control unit includes movement or deformation of the management marker, and the setting unit changes a set value for the appropriate range according to the movement or deformation of the management marker” as taught by Nishiyama with the injection molding machine as taught by Okochi for the purpose of easily perform the setting of the injection molding conditions and the setting of the analysis conditions (Nishiyama: p.2)
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows: US-20060247821-A1 and US-20150177980-A1. Note: US2015/0331399 filed in the IDS 09/29/23 teaches a multi-touch panel for simultaneously detecting the position of several touch points. WO2017146008 also filed in the IDS 09/29/23 appears to teach a two-point up swipe operation or two-point down swipe operation is input to a touch panel of a display of an injection molding machine.
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 December 2, 2025
1 Optional limitation.