DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of "and is located below the cross bar" in both claims 10 and 20 should read --and are located below the cross bar--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “narrow” and “wide” in claims 9 and 19 are both relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “narrow” and “wide” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear to examiner what constitutes a top as being “narrow” and a bottom as being “wide”. For the sake of compact prosecution and for use in this office action, examiner is interpreting “a plate structure with a narrow top and a wide bottom” as --a plate structure, where a width of a top end of the side plate is narrower than a width of a bottom end of the side plate--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN110391149A), attached as a PDF and hereinafter referred to as Liu, in view of Jin et al. (CN213111381U), attached as a PDF and hereinafter referred to as Jin, and in further view of Runkel (DE102006043567A1), attached as a PDF.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device (all elements shown in Fig. 3), comprising:
a vertical to horizontal transition structure (Fig. 1 element 61); and
a blowpipe (Fig. 1 element 5) disposed on a side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure (Fig. 3, where the blowpipe is disposed on a front side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure), wherein a nozzle (Fig. 3, where the exit aperture of the blowpipe which sprays the silicon wafer corresponds to a nozzle, 0065) of the blowpipe is inclined towards the side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure (Fig. 3, 0065), and the blowpipe is capable of spraying liquid or gas (0065, where "high-pressure air" corresponds to gas) towards a silicon wafer (Fig. 2 element 8, 0065) during transfer to increase an adsorption force between the silicon wafer and the vertical to horizontal transition structure (0065) and to successfully complete a turning of the silicon wafer from a vertical direction to a side close to the vertical to horizontal transition structure (0066, where "vertical state" corresponds to a vertical direction and when the wafer is turned to "a horizontal state" the wafer will be by a rear side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure which corresponds to a side close to the vertical to horizontal transition structure).
Liu fails to disclose that the vertical to horizontal transition structure is a sorting wheel and that there are multiple blowpipes and nozzles.
Jin is also concerned with a silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device and teaches the vertical to horizontal transition structure is a sorting wheel (Fig. 1 element 5, n0049). Pursuant of MPEP 2144.06-II, it has been held obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose. Liu discloses the invention except that the vertical to horizontal transition structure is a feed belt instead of a sorting wheel. Jin shows that a sorting wheel is an equivalent structure known in the art (i.e. both structures transition a wafer from a vertical position to a horizontal position). Therefore, because these two vertical to horizontal transition structure types were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute a sorting wheel for a feed belt.
Liu, as modified, fails to disclose that there are multiple blowpipes and nozzles.
Runkel is also concerned with using spray nozzles for blasting a workpiece and teaches multiple blowpipes (Fig. 2 elements 2 and 3) and multiple nozzles (Fig. 2, where the exit aperture of each blowpipe corresponds to a nozzle). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device of Liu, as modified, to use multiple nozzles instead of a single nozzle because Runkel teaches that providing multiple nozzles "can increase operational reliability and reduce production downtime" (0023).
Regarding claim 2, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses a frame set (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the blowpipes are all configured on the frame set across a width direction (Liu, Fig. 2, where the left to right direction corresponds to a width direction) of the sorting wheel and are located on a side of the frame set away from the sorting wheel (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2 below, where the bottom side of the frame set corresponds to a side of the frame set away from the sorting wheel).
Regarding claim 3, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses the nozzles of the blowpipes are configured to spray toward a surface of the silicon wafer on a side away from the sorting wheel (Liu, Fig. 3, 0065, where to "press the silicon wafer 8 against the feeding belt" requires the spray to be toward a side of the wafer which faces away from the sorting wheel).
Regarding claim 4, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses the nozzles of all the blowpipes are disposed in a same direction (Runkel, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further discloses a number of the blowpipes is at least two, and the blowpipes are disposed along a width direction of the silicon wafer or/and perpendicular to the width direction of the silicon wafer (Runkel, Fig. 2, where Fig. 2 shows the blowpipes disposed linearly along the direction of travel which corresponds to the blowpipes being disposed perpendicular to the width direction of the silicon wafer shown in Liu).
Regarding claim 6, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above, but fails to disclose a central width of two outermost blowpipes in a same row is not greater than 3/4 of a width of the silicon wafer and not less than 1/2 of the width of the silicon wafer. Liu, as modified, discloses that there is a central width of two outermost blowpipes in a same row, but is silent to the specific dimension/provide a range for the central width to fall within. In other words, Liu, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the central width is to range between not greater than 3/4 of a width of the silicon wafer and not less than 1/2 of the width of the silicon wafer. The central width is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the pushing power supplied by the two outermost blowpipes (which is in this case the only two blowpipes) is directly proportional to the spacing between the two outermost blowpipes, and thus it is directly proportional to the central width. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the two outermost blowpipes in a same row has a central width, was disclosed in the prior art (specifically, having two outermost blowpipes in a same row means that you will necessarily have a central width between them) by Liu, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the two outermost blowpipes in a same row disclosed by Liu, as modified, have a central width which is not greater than 3/4 of a width of the silicon wafer and not less than 1/2 of the width of the silicon wafer based on the desired pushing power to be supplied from two outermost blowpipes in a same row.
Regarding claim 7, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses the frame set comprises a cross bar and a side plate fixed on the cross bar, and the cross bar is detachably connected with the side plate (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2' below, where the cross bar is capable of being detached from the side plate).
Regarding claim 8, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses both ends of the cross bar are respectively fixed on a frame placed outside the sorting wheel (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2'' below and annotated Fig. 2 above, where both the top and bottom ends of the cross bar are respectively fixed on the frame shown in annotated Fig. 2'' below and the frame is outside the sorting wheel).
Regarding claim 9, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses the side plate is vertically disposed and configured as a plate structure (Liu, Figs. 1-3 show the side plate being vertically disposed and Fig.2 shows the side plate as having a plate structure (i.e. plate shaped structure)).
Liu, as modified, fails to disclose that the side plate has a narrow top and a wide bottom. Pursuant MPEP 2144.04-IV-B, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device of Liu, as modified, with regards to a desired shape (in this case, the top of the side plate being narrower than a bottom of the side plate) in adapting the connector for a particular application, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide criticality for this limitation in the specification. Paragraph 0038 of Applicant’s specification provides a purported benefit that this limitation “can reduce its weight” but does not provide any reasons why the particular claimed configuration is necessary to reduce weight or why the side plate would be non-functional if it did not have the claimed shape, and therefore examiner finds that there is no criticality provided for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 10, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses the blowpipes are configured on a side of the side plate away from the sorting wheel and is located below the cross bar (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2''' below, annotated Fig. 2 above, and annotated Fig. 2' above, where the bottom side of the side plate corresponds to a side of the side plate away from the sorting wheel and annotated Fig. 2 above shows the downward direction and that the blowpipes are located below the cross bar).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a slicing machine (all elements shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
a silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device (all elements shown in Fig. 3), comprising:
a vertical to horizontal transition structure (Fig. 1 element 61); and
a blowpipe (Fig. 1 element 5) disposed on a side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure (Fig. 3, where the blowpipe is disposed on a front side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure), wherein a nozzle (Fig. 3, where the exit aperture of the blowpipe which sprays the silicon wafer corresponds to a nozzle, 0065) of the blowpipe is inclined towards the side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure (Fig. 3, 0065), and the blowpipe is capable of spraying liquid or gas (0065, where "high-pressure air" corresponds to gas) towards a silicon wafer (Fig. 2 element 8, 0065) during transfer to increase an adsorption force between the silicon wafer and the vertical to horizontal transition structure (0065) and to successfully complete a turning of the silicon wafer from a vertical direction to a side close to the vertical to horizontal transition structure (0066, where "vertical state" corresponds to a vertical direction and when the wafer is turned to "a horizontal state" the wafer will be by a rear side of the vertical to horizontal transition structure which corresponds to a side close to the vertical to horizontal transition structure).
Liu fails to disclose that the vertical to horizontal transition structure is a sorting wheel and that there are multiple blowpipes and nozzles.
Jin is also concerned with a silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device and teaches the vertical to horizontal transition structure is a sorting wheel (Fig. 1 element 5, n0049). Pursuant of MPEP 2144.06-II, it has been held obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose. Liu discloses the invention except that the vertical to horizontal transition structure is a feed belt instead of a sorting wheel. Jin shows that a sorting wheel is an equivalent structure known in the art (i.e. both structures transition a wafer from a vertical position to a horizontal position). Therefore, because these two vertical to horizontal transition structure types were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute a sorting wheel for a feed belt.
Liu, as modified, fails to disclose that there are multiple blowpipes and nozzles.
Runkel is also concerned with using spray nozzles for blasting a workpiece and teaches multiple blowpipes (Fig. 2 elements 2 and 3) and multiple nozzles (Fig. 2, where the exit aperture of each blowpipe corresponds to a nozzle). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device of Liu, as modified, to use multiple nozzles instead of a single nozzle because Runkel teaches that providing multiple nozzles "can increase operational reliability and reduce production downtime" (0023).
Regarding claim 12, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 11, as described above, and further discloses a frame set (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the blowpipes are all configured on the frame set across a width direction (Liu, Fig. 2, where the left to right direction corresponds to a width direction) of the sorting wheel and are located on a side of the frame set away from the sorting wheel (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2 above, where the bottom side of the frame set corresponds to a side of the frame set away from the sorting wheel).
Regarding claim 13, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the nozzles of the blowpipes are configured to spray toward a surface of the silicon wafer on a side away from the sorting wheel (Liu, Fig. 3, 0065, where to "press the silicon wafer 8 against the feeding belt" requires the spray to be toward a side of the wafer which faces away from the sorting wheel).
Regarding claim 14, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the nozzles of all the blowpipes are disposed in a same direction (Runkel, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further discloses a number of the blowpipes is at least two, and the blowpipes are disposed along a width direction of the silicon wafer or/and perpendicular to the width direction of the silicon wafer (Runkel, Fig. 2, where Fig. 2 shows the blowpipes disposed linearly along the direction of travel which corresponds to the blowpipes being disposed perpendicular to the width direction of the silicon wafer shown in Liu).
Regarding claim 16, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 15, as described above, but fails to disclose a central width of two outermost blowpipes in a same row is not greater than 3/4 of a width of the silicon wafer and not less than 1/2 of the width of the silicon wafer. Liu, as modified, discloses that there is a central width of two outermost blowpipes in a same row, but is silent to the specific dimension/provide a range for the central width to fall within. In other words, Liu, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the central width is to range between not greater than 3/4 of a width of the silicon wafer and not less than 1/2 of the width of the silicon wafer. The central width is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the pushing power supplied by the two outermost blowpipes (which is in this case the only two blowpipes) is directly proportional to the spacing between the two outermost blowpipes, and thus it is directly proportional to the central width. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the two outermost blowpipes in a same row has a central width, was disclosed in the prior art (specifically, having two outermost blowpipes in a same row means that you will necessarily have a central width between them) by Liu, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the two outermost blowpipes in a same row disclosed by Liu, as modified, have a central width which is not greater than 3/4 of a width of the silicon wafer and not less than 1/2 of the width of the silicon wafer based on the desired pushing power to be supplied from two outermost blowpipes in a same row.
Regarding claim 17, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the frame set comprises a cross bar and a side plate fixed on the cross bar, and the cross bar is detachably connected with the side plate (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2' above, where the cross bar is capable of being detached from the side plate).
Regarding claim 18, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and further discloses both ends of the cross bar are respectively fixed on a frame placed outside the sorting wheel (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2'' above and annotated Fig. 2 above, where both the top and bottom ends of the cross bar are respectively fixed on the frame shown in annotated Fig. 2'' above and the frame is outside the sorting wheel).
Regarding claim 19, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 18, as described above, and further discloses the side plate is vertically disposed and configured as a plate structure (Liu, Figs. 1-3 show the side plate being vertically disposed and Fig.2 shows the side plate as having a plate structure (i.e. plate shaped structure)).
Liu, as modified, fails to disclose that the side plate has a narrow top and a wide bottom. Pursuant MPEP 2144.04-IV-B, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the silicon wafer transfer auxiliary device of Liu, as modified, with regards to a desired shape (in this case, the top of the side plate being narrower than a bottom of the side plate) in adapting the connector for a particular application, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide criticality for this limitation in the specification. Paragraph 0038 of Applicant’s specification provides a purported benefit that this limitation “can reduce its weight” but does not provide any reasons why the particular claimed configuration is necessary to reduce weight or why the side plate would be non-functional if it did not have the claimed shape, and therefore examiner finds that there is no criticality provided for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 20, Liu, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 18, as described above, and further discloses the blowpipes are configured on a side of the side plate away from the sorting wheel and is located below the cross bar (Liu, see annotated Fig. 2''' above, annotated Fig. 2 above, and annotated Fig. 2' above, where the bottom side of the side plate corresponds to a side of the side plate away from the sorting wheel and annotated Fig. 2 above shows the downward direction and that the blowpipes are located below the cross bar).
Conclusion
/C.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723