DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 2/26/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-14, 16-19, 21, and 38 are now pending.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 38 has overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/26/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10-13 of the remarks, in regard to claim 1, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soleymani et al. US 20230091763 (hereinafter “Soleymani”).
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Soleymani does not disclose the pre-configuration of at least two distinct, complete sets of partial sensing configuration parameters from which a terminal selects at least one set. Rather, Soleymani teaches a single parameter that is adjustable, not multiple parameter sets. The UE in Soleymani receives and applies a single set of parameters from the network side and does not involve "selecting" or "determining" from multiple preset sets.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding (1), first, Soleymani teaches that a transceiver (which can be a user device as mentioned in [0038]) is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing which is dependent on multiple parameters as shown in [0174]. This clearly teaches "determining, by a terminal, at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters". Second, the value of these parameters can be "pre-configured" as mentioned in [0132] "In embodiments, the at least one parameters of the partial sensing is pre-configured [e.g., in dependence on the state of the wireless communication network or the parameter of the sidelink or the sidelink communication" and Table 1 and 3 specifically show various configuration values or at least two different sets that can be determined by the transceiver (or user device). In addition, FIG. 7 shows an example where Pstep = 20ms (Table 3, configuration type 4 and sub carrier spacing of 15kHz) which is an example of one set of configuration parameters that can be determined by the user device. Therefore, the applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 11-13, 16-17, 19, 21, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soleymani et al. US 20230091763 (hereinafter “Soleymani”).
As to claim 1, 16, and 38 (claim 1 is the method claim for the terminal and storage medium in claim 16 and 38 respectively):
Soleymani discloses:
A terminal, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein: the memory is configured to store a computer program; (FIG. 11, Soleymani)
A partial sensing method for a sidelink resource, comprising: determining, by a terminal, at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters from at least two different sets of partial sensing configuration parameters; (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181])
and performing, by the terminal, partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters. (“In accordance with embodiments, the sensing step size, i.e., Pstep, is configurable for a UE performing partial sensing for NR sidelink communication.”, Soleymani [0211])
As to claim 2 and 17 (claim 2 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 17):
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein a sensing density of each set of partial sensing configuration parameters is different from a sensing density of each other set of partial sensing configuration parameters. (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184])
As to claim 3:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein each set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises the following parameters: a minimum quantity of candidate resources and a bit sequence of candidate sensing intervals. (“When the higher layer configures the partial sensing, then the UE performs the candidate radio resources selection as follows [1, section 14.1.1.6]: [0075] 1. Candidate radio resources for data transmission Rxy is a set of contiguous sub-channels Lsubch with x+j subchannel in subframe t_m where j=1, . . . , Lsubch, and the UE selects y subframes within the [n+Tproc,1,n+T2] wherein y depends on the UE implementation”, Soleymani [0074]) (“Note that y should fulfill the higher layer paparameter minNumCandidateSF within Mtotal, wherein the Mtotal is a total number of subframe resources. [0076] 2. When the k-th bit of the higher layer signaling is toggled, the UE shall monitor all t_(y−k*Pstep) subframe resources, where k is gapCandidatesensing with 10 bits which is configured by the higher layer signaling.”, Soleymani [0075])
As to claim 4:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein after performing the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters, the method further comprises: performing initial transmission and/or retransmission of data based on a sensing result obtained from the partial sensing. (“An embodiment may have a transceiver of a wireless communication network, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which the transceiver is configured or preconfigured to allocate or schedule resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink autonomously or network controlled, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine, for said sidelink communication, a set of candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink by means of partial sensing said resources of the sidelink prior to a sidelink transmission to another transceiver of the wireless communication network”, Soleymani [0019])
As to claim 7 and 19 (claim 7 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 19):
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters. (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: there are two sensing time instances where k=[3,5] before transmission)
As to claim 9:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters. (“The P-UE identifies the candidate subframe resources, i.e., Step 1, and selects the radio resources for initial transmission and re-transmission,”, Soleymani [0113]) (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: there are two sensing time instances where k=[3,5] before transmission)
As to claim 11 and 21 (claim 11 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 21):
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters only contains a first set of configuration parameters or a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters. (“The P-UE identifies the candidate subframe resources, i.e., Step 1, and selects the radio resources for initial transmission and re-transmission,”, Soleymani [0113]) (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: there are two sensing time instances where k=[3,5] before transmission)
As to claim 12:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters; (“The P-UE identifies the candidate subframe resources, i.e., Step 1, and selects the radio resources for initial transmission and re-transmission,”, Soleymani [0113]) (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: sensing time instances can be kept the same )
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a third time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the third time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters, wherein the third time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the third time and the time of the data initial transmission is a third preset duration f3;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a third time, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the third time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the third time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the third time and the time of the data initial transmission is a third preset duration f3.
As to claim 13:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters only contains a first set of configuration parameters or a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters. (“The P-UE identifies the candidate subframe resources, i.e., Step 1, and selects the radio resources for initial transmission and re-transmission,”, Soleymani [0113]) (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleymani, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Wang et al. US 20240172321 (hereinafter “Wang”)
As to claim 5 and 18 (claim 5 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 18):
Soleymani as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in a discontinuous reception (DRX) active state (DRX on duration); and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in a DRX inactive state (DRX inactive duration).
However, Wang further teaches partial sensing configuration parameters for DRX active and inactive state which includes:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in a discontinuous reception (DRX) active state (DRX on duration); and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in a DRX inactive state (DRX inactive duration). (“In an exemplary embodiment, there is a mapping relationship between the one or more DRX configurations and the one or more partial sensing configurations, and the mapping relationship enables the first UE to perform partial sensing based on a partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration.”, Wang [0081]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, the parameters related to the partial sensing operation based on the partial sensing configuration include at least one of: [0099] a duration of a sensing window of the partial sensing operation; [0100] parameters indicating sensing slots of the partial sensing operation; [0101] an indicator indicating whether partial sensing is allowed to be performed during a DRX inactive slot; [0102] a maximum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; [0103] a minimum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; or [0104] a periodicity defining how often periodic partial sensing should be performed.”, Wang [0098]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, whether partial sensing is performed during a DRX inactive slot is determined by the first UE according to a specific rule that is configured by the node or is preconfigured to the first UE.”, Wang [0161]) (“The mapping relationship may be configured or preconfigured to the first UE in such a way that the first UE may perform partial sensing based on the partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration. In addition, the partial sensing configuration may also be configured to allow the first UE to sense certain time slots when the UE are inactive according to the DRX configuration. Here, the mapping relationship may have different forms, such as a one-to-one mapping, a multiple-to-one mapping, a one-to-multiple mapping between DRX configurations and partial sensing configurations.”, Wang [0250])
Wang and Soleymani area analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing configuration parameters for DRX active and inactive state as described in Wang into Soleymani. By modifying the method to include partial sensing configuration parameters for DRX active and inactive state as taught by Wang, the benefits of improved power savings (Soleymani [0018] and Wang [0220]) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Soleymani as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the discontinuous reception (DRX) active state (DRX on duration); and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive state (DRX inactive duration) specifically comprises: in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX; or, in a period from a sensing start time to a time of the initial transmission of the data, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX; or, in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a last retransmission of the data, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX.
However, Wang further teaches partial sensing configuration parameters for DRX active and inactive state which includes:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the discontinuous reception (DRX) active state (DRX on duration); and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive state (DRX inactive duration) specifically comprises: in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX; (“In an exemplary embodiment, there is a mapping relationship between the one or more DRX configurations and the one or more partial sensing configurations, and the mapping relationship enables the first UE to perform partial sensing based on a partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration.”, Wang [0081]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, the parameters related to the partial sensing operation based on the partial sensing configuration include at least one of: [0099] a duration of a sensing window of the partial sensing operation; [0100] parameters indicating sensing slots of the partial sensing operation; [0101] an indicator indicating whether partial sensing is allowed to be performed during a DRX inactive slot; [0102] a maximum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; [0103] a minimum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; or [0104] a periodicity defining how often periodic partial sensing should be performed.”, Wang [0098]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, whether partial sensing is performed during a DRX inactive slot is determined by the first UE according to a specific rule that is configured by the node or is preconfigured to the first UE.”, Wang [0161]) (“The mapping relationship may be configured or preconfigured to the first UE in such a way that the first UE may perform partial sensing based on the partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration. In addition, the partial sensing configuration may also be configured to allow the first UE to sense certain time slots when the UE are inactive according to the DRX configuration. Here, the mapping relationship may have different forms, such as a one-to-one mapping, a multiple-to-one mapping, a one-to-multiple mapping between DRX configurations and partial sensing configurations.”, Wang [0250])
or, in a period from a sensing start time to a time of the initial transmission of the data, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX;
or, in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a last retransmission of the data, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX.
Wang and Soleymani area analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing configuration parameters for DRX active and inactive state as described in Wang into Soleymani. By modifying the method to include partial sensing configuration parameters for DRX active and inactive state as taught by Wang, the benefits of improved power savings (Soleymani [0018] and Wang [0220]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleymani, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sun et al. US 20230269704 (hereinafter “Sun”)
As to claim 8:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: there are two sensing time instances where k=[3,5] before transmission)
Soleymani as described above does not explicitly teach:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a first time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the first time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the first time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the first time and the time of the data initial transmission is a first preset duration f1.
However, Sun further teaches partial sensing from the time of resource selection to initial transmission using another set of configuration parameters which includes:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; (“Alternatively, the UE may perform partial sensing in the additional sensing window based on the configured reservation periods. In the primary sensing window, the UE may perform full sensing, or partial sensing depending on the practical requirements.”, Sun [0047]) (“The UE can determine whether to perform sensing in the additional sensing window based on the Y selected resources and the values of short resource reservation periods configured with the resource pool.”, Sun [0048]) (FIG. 4 shows additional partial sensing that’s configured to sense up until the reserved transmission resource, Sun)
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a first time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the first time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the first time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the first time and the time of the data initial transmission is a first preset duration f1.
Sun and Soleymani area analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to initial transmission using another set of configuration parameters as described in Sun into Soleymani. By modifying the method to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to initial transmission using another set of configuration parameters as taught by Sun, the benefits of improved power savings (Soleymani [0018] and Sun [0035]) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 9, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, (“The P-UE identifies the candidate subframe resources, i.e., Step 1, and selects the radio resources for initial transmission and re-transmission,”, Soleymani [0113]) (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: there are two sensing time instances where k=[3,5] before transmission)
Soleymani as described above does not explicitly teach:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a second time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the second time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the second time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the second time and the time of the data initial transmission is a second preset duration f2.
However, Sun further teaches partial sensing from the time of resource selection to data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters which includes:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; (“Alternatively, the UE may perform partial sensing in the additional sensing window based on the configured reservation periods. In the primary sensing window, the UE may perform full sensing, or partial sensing depending on the practical requirements.”, Sun [0047]) (“The UE can determine whether to perform sensing in the additional sensing window based on the Y selected resources and the values of short resource reservation periods configured with the resource pool.”, Sun [0048]) (FIG. 4 shows additional partial sensing that’s configured to sense up until the reserved transmission resource, Sun) (Examiner’s Note: as shown in FIG. 4, there are multiple retransmissions after SL_t0)
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a second time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the second time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the second time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the second time and the time of the data initial transmission is a second preset duration f2.
Sun and Soleymani area analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as described in Sun into Soleymani. By modifying the method to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as taught by Sun, the benefits of improved power savings (Soleymani [0018] and Sun [0035]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleymani, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Dong et al. US 20230254878 (hereinafter “Dong”)
As to claim 14:
Soleymani discloses:
The method according to claim 13, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, (“The P-UE identifies the candidate subframe resources, i.e., Step 1, and selects the radio resources for initial transmission and re-transmission,”, Soleymani [0113]) (“As indicated in FIG. 5, the UE performs, prior to the time instance m, partial sensing at sensing time instances m−k*Pstep for k=[3,5], i.e. at time instances m−5*Pstep and m−3*Pstep, wherein in FIG. 5 it is exemplarily assumed that Pstep=20 ms. Further, in FIG. 5, time instance m′ indicates a start of transmission, which can take place at the start of a selection window 120, wherein m′=m+Tproc,1, wherein Tproc,1 is the processing time, and T2 indicates the packet delay budget 122.”, Soleymani [0074]) (“In embodiments, the variable step size is indicated by the control information by means of different configuration types or indexes.”, Soleymani [0183]) (“In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to receive a control information [e.g., transmitted on a physical layer [e.g. DCI or SCI] or on a higher layer [e.g. RRC]], wherein the control information comprises an information about at least one configurable parameter [e.g., time instances, or Pstep] of the partial sensing, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine a duration of sensing of the partial sensing in dependence on the at least one parameter [e.g., traffic density].”, Soleymani [0184]) (Table 1 and Table 3 show different configurations, Soleymani) (“For example, the transceiver can be configured to determine the time instances of the partial sensing based on the formula Time Instances=m−(K′−1)*P′step−f(K,K″)*Pstep,”, Soleymani [0181]) (Examiner’s Note: sensing time instances can be kept the same )
Soleymani as described above does not explicitly teach:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4.
However, Dong further teaches partial sensing from the time of resource selection to last data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters which includes:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters; (“For example, for a subframe t.sub.1 and a subframe t.sub.2 in FIG. 3, assuming that values of k determined through the higher-layer parameter gapCandidateSensing are k′ and k″, in FIG. 3, four subframes, t.sub.1″, t.sub.2″, t.sub.1′, and t.sub.2″, need to be separately monitored.”, Dong [0162]) (FIG. 3, FIG. 10, FIG. 11, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, and FIG. 19 show the same configuration being used for “last data retransmission”, Dong)
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4.
Dong and Soleymani area analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to last data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as described in Dong into Soleymani. By modifying the method to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to last data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as taught by Dong, the benefits of improved power savings (Soleymani [0018] and Dong [0196]) are achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471