DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 6/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 1, 16, and 38 are amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-17, 19, 21, and 38 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims (page 10-15) in a reply filed 6/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6,7, 9, 11-13, 16-17, 19, 21, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. US 20240172321 (hereinafter “Wang”).
As to claim 1, 16, and 38 (claim 1 is the method claim for the terminal and storage medium in claim 16 and 38 respectively):
Wang discloses:
A partial sensing method for a sidelink resource, comprising: determining, by a terminal, at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters from at least two different sets of partial sensing configuration parameters; and performing, by the terminal, partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters; (“In an exemplary embodiment, the parameters related to the partial sensing operation based on the partial sensing configuration include at least one of: [0099] a duration of a sensing window of the partial sensing operation; [0100] parameters indicating sensing slots of the partial sensing operation; [0101] an indicator indicating whether partial sensing is allowed to be performed during a DRX inactive slot; [0102] a maximum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; [0103] a minimum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; or [0104] a periodicity defining how often periodic partial sensing should be performed.”, Wang [0098])(“the at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations is selected by the first UE for partial sensing, according to a selection rule based on at least one of: [0169] an application, a service, a traffic type, a logical channel, and/or a logical channel group, that is associated with the at least one partial sensing configuration, being used by the first UE; [0170] a priority of an application, a service, a traffic type, a logical channel, and/or a logical channel group that is associated with the at least one partial sensing configuration”, Wang [0168])
wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in a discontinuous reception (DRX) active state (DRX on duration); and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in a DRX inactive state (DRX inactive duration). (“In an exemplary embodiment, there is a mapping relationship between the one or more DRX configurations and the one or more partial sensing configurations, and the mapping relationship enables the first UE to perform partial sensing based on a partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration.”, Wang [0081]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, the parameters related to the partial sensing operation based on the partial sensing configuration include at least one of: [0099] a duration of a sensing window of the partial sensing operation; [0100] parameters indicating sensing slots of the partial sensing operation; [0101] an indicator indicating whether partial sensing is allowed to be performed during a DRX inactive slot; [0102] a maximum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; [0103] a minimum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; or [0104] a periodicity defining how often periodic partial sensing should be performed.”, Wang [0098]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, whether partial sensing is performed during a DRX inactive slot is determined by the first UE according to a specific rule that is configured by the node or is preconfigured to the first UE.”, Wang [0161]) (“The mapping relationship may be configured or preconfigured to the first UE in such a way that the first UE may perform partial sensing based on the partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration. In addition, the partial sensing configuration may also be configured to allow the first UE to sense certain time slots when the UE are inactive according to the DRX configuration. Here, the mapping relationship may have different forms, such as a one-to-one mapping, a multiple-to-one mapping, a one-to-multiple mapping between DRX configurations and partial sensing configurations.”, Wang [0250])
As to claim 2 and 17 (claim 2 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 17):
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein a sensing density of each set of partial sensing configuration parameters is different from a sensing density of each other set of partial sensing configuration parameters. (“the at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations is selected by the first UE for partial sensing, according to a selection rule based on at least one of: [0169] an application, a service, a traffic type, a logical channel, and/or a logical channel group, that is associated with the at least one partial sensing configuration, being used by the first UE; [0170] a priority of an application, a service, a traffic type, a logical channel, and/or a logical channel group that is associated with the at least one partial sensing configuration”, Wang [0168])
As to claim 3:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein each set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises the following parameters: a minimum quantity of candidate resources and a bit sequence of candidate sensing intervals. (“In an exemplary embodiment, each of the partial sensing configurations may include at least one of the following parameters: [0271] identification information (e.g., an index or an ID) of the partial sensing configuration [0272] identification information (e.g., an index or an ID) of resource pools related to the partial sensing configuration [0273] information of applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups associated with the partial sensing configuration, which may include at least one of: [0274] identification information of applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups associated with the partial sensing configuration [0275] priority information of applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups associated with the partial sensing configuration [0276] QoS requirement information of applications, services, traffic types, logical channels or logical channel groups [0277] other parameters related to a partial sensing operation based on the partial sensing configuration, which may include at least one of: [0278] a duration of a sensing window of the partial sensing operation, optionally, a lower bound value of the sensing window [0279] parameters indicating sensing slots of the partial sensing operation, e.g., a bitmap indicating sensing slots during the sensing window [0280] an indicator indicating whether partial sensing is allowed to be performed during a DRX inactive slot [0281] a maximum number of sensing slots during the sensing window [0282] a minimum number of sensing slots during the sensing window [0283] a periodicity defining how often periodic partial sensing should be performed, optionally, an upper bound value of the periodicity”, Wang[0270])
As to claim 4:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein after performing the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters, the method further comprises: performing initial transmission and/or retransmission of data based on a sensing result obtained from the partial sensing. (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309])
As to claim 6:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the discontinuous reception (DRX) active state (DRX on duration); and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive state (DRX inactive duration) specifically comprises: in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX; (“In an exemplary embodiment, there is a mapping relationship between the one or more DRX configurations and the one or more partial sensing configurations, and the mapping relationship enables the first UE to perform partial sensing based on a partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration.”, Wang [0081]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, the parameters related to the partial sensing operation based on the partial sensing configuration include at least one of: [0099] a duration of a sensing window of the partial sensing operation; [0100] parameters indicating sensing slots of the partial sensing operation; [0101] an indicator indicating whether partial sensing is allowed to be performed during a DRX inactive slot; [0102] a maximum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; [0103] a minimum number of sensing slots during the sensing window; or [0104] a periodicity defining how often periodic partial sensing should be performed.”, Wang [0098]) (“In an exemplary embodiment, whether partial sensing is performed during a DRX inactive slot is determined by the first UE according to a specific rule that is configured by the node or is preconfigured to the first UE.”, Wang [0161]) (“The mapping relationship may be configured or preconfigured to the first UE in such a way that the first UE may perform partial sensing based on the partial sensing configuration at a time slot when the first UE is active according to a corresponding DRX configuration. In addition, the partial sensing configuration may also be configured to allow the first UE to sense certain time slots when the UE are inactive according to the DRX configuration. Here, the mapping relationship may have different forms, such as a one-to-one mapping, a multiple-to-one mapping, a one-to-multiple mapping between DRX configurations and partial sensing configurations.”, Wang [0250])
or, in a period from a sensing start time to a time of the initial transmission of the data, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX;
or, in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a last retransmission of the data, performing the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX on duration of DRX, and performing the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters when the terminal is in the DRX inactive duration of DRX.
As to claim 7 and 19 (claim 7 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 19):
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters. (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
As to claim 9:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises a first set of configuration parameters and a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters. (“As described in Clause 6.3.2.2 in 3GPP TR 37.985 v16.0.0 (which is incorporated herein in its entirety by reference), Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing, within a (pre-)configured resource pool, which resources are not in use by other UEs with higher-priority traffic, and choosing an appropriate amount of such resources for its own transmissions. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered.”, Wang [0037]) (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
As to claim 11 and 21 (claim 11 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 21):
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters only contains a first set of configuration parameters or a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters. (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
As to claim 12:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters; (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: the UE can use only one partial sensing configuration )
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a third time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the third time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters, wherein the third time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the third time and the time of the data initial transmission is a third preset duration f3;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a third time, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the third time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the third time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the third time and the time of the data initial transmission is a third preset duration f3.
As to claim 13:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters only contains a first set of configuration parameters or a second set of configuration parameters, and the performing, by the terminal, the partial sensing by using the at least one set of partial sensing configuration parameters comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from a sensing start time to a time of a data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters. (“As described in Clause 6.3.2.2 in 3GPP TR 37.985 v16.0.0 (which is incorporated herein in its entirety by reference), Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing, within a (pre-)configured resource pool, which resources are not in use by other UEs with higher-priority traffic, and choosing an appropriate amount of such resources for its own transmissions. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered.”, Wang [0037]) (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sun et al. US 20230269704 (hereinafter “Sun”)
As to claim 8:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, (“As described in Clause 6.3.2.2 in 3GPP TR 37.985 v16.0.0 (which is incorporated herein in its entirety by reference), Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing, within a (pre-)configured resource pool, which resources are not in use by other UEs with higher-priority traffic, and choosing an appropriate amount of such resources for its own transmissions. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered.”, Wang [0037]) (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
Wang as described above does not explicitly teach:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a first time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the first time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the first time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the first time and the time of the data initial transmission is a first preset duration f1.
However, Sun further teaches partial sensing from the time of resource selection to initial transmission using another set of configuration parameters which includes:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; (“Alternatively, the UE may perform partial sensing in the additional sensing window based on the configured reservation periods. In the primary sensing window, the UE may perform full sensing, or partial sensing depending on the practical requirements.”, Sun [0047]) (“The UE can determine whether to perform sensing in the additional sensing window based on the Y selected resources and the values of short resource reservation periods configured with the resource pool.”, Sun [0048]) (FIG. 4 shows additional partial sensing that’s configured to sense up until the reserved transmission resource, Sun)
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a first time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the first time to the time of the data initial transmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the first time is located before the time of the data initial transmission, and an interval between the first time and the time of the data initial transmission is a first preset duration f1.
Sun and Wang are analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to initial transmission using another set of configuration parameters as described in Sun into Wang. By modifying the method to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to initial transmission using another set of configuration parameters as taught by Sun, the benefits of improved power savings (Wang [0060] and Sun [0035]) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 9, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, (“As described in Clause 6.3.2.2 in 3GPP TR 37.985 v16.0.0 (which is incorporated herein in its entirety by reference), Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing, within a (pre-)configured resource pool, which resources are not in use by other UEs with higher-priority traffic, and choosing an appropriate amount of such resources for its own transmissions. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered.”, Wang [0037]) (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
Wang as described above does not explicitly teach:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a second time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the second time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the second time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the second time and the time of the data initial transmission is a second preset duration f2.
However, Sun further teaches partial sensing from the time of resource selection to data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters which includes:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters; (“Alternatively, the UE may perform partial sensing in the additional sensing window based on the configured reservation periods. In the primary sensing window, the UE may perform full sensing, or partial sensing depending on the practical requirements.”, Sun [0047]) (“The UE can determine whether to perform sensing in the additional sensing window based on the Y selected resources and the values of short resource reservation periods configured with the resource pool.”, Sun [0048]) (FIG. 4 shows additional partial sensing that’s configured to sense up until the reserved transmission resource, Sun) (Examiner’s Note: as shown in FIG. 4, there are multiple retransmissions after SL_t0)
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a second time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the second time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the second time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the second time and the time of the data initial transmission is a second preset duration f2.
Sun and Wang are analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as described in Sun into Wang. By modifying the method to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as taught by Sun, the benefits of improved power savings (Wang [0060] and Sun [0035]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Dong et al. US 20230254878 (hereinafter “Dong”)
As to claim 14:
Wang discloses:
The method according to claim 13, wherein the performing, by the terminal in the period from the sensing start time to the time of the data retransmission, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters or the second set of configuration parameters specifically comprises: performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, (“As described in Clause 6.3.2.2 in 3GPP TR 37.985 v16.0.0 (which is incorporated herein in its entirety by reference), Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing, within a (pre-)configured resource pool, which resources are not in use by other UEs with higher-priority traffic, and choosing an appropriate amount of such resources for its own transmissions. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered.”, Wang [0037]) (FIG. 2A and 2B, Wang) (“In step S403, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more partial sensing configurations. Additionally or alternatively, the first UE may perform partial sensing based on at least one of the one or more DRX configurations.”, Wang [0339]) (“The dedicated partial sensing configuration may be associated with at least one resource pool. In a case where the first UE is configured with the common partial sensing configuration, the first UE uses the dedicated partial sensing configuration to perform transmission for the specific applications, services, traffic types, logical channels, and/or logical channel groups.”, Wang [0309]) (Examiner’s Note: one or more partial sensing configurations are used during the sensing window)
Wang as described above does not explicitly teach:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4.
However, Dong further teaches partial sensing from the time of resource selection to last data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters which includes:
and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters; (“For example, for a subframe t.sub.1 and a subframe t.sub.2 in FIG. 3, assuming that values of k determined through the higher-layer parameter gapCandidateSensing are k′ and k″, in FIG. 3, four subframes, t.sub.1″, t.sub.2″, t.sub.1′, and t.sub.2″, need to be separately monitored.”, Dong [0162]) (FIG. 3, FIG. 10, FIG. 11, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, and FIG. 19 show the same configuration being used for “last data retransmission”, Dong)
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a time of a resource selection, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the time of the resource selection to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters; or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the first set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the first set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4;
or, performing, by the terminal in a period from the sensing start time to a fourth time, the partial sensing by using the second set of configuration parameters, and performing, by the terminal in a period from the fourth time to a time of a last data retransmission, the partial sensing by continuing using the second set of configuration parameters, wherein the fourth time is located before a time of a data initial transmission, and an interval between the fourth time and the time of the data initial transmission is a fourth preset duration f4.
Dong and Wang are analogous because they pertain to partial sensing.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to last data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as described in Dong into Wang. By modifying the method to include partial sensing from the time of resource selection to last data retransmission using another set of configuration parameters as taught by Dong, the benefits of improved power savings (Wang [0060] and Dong [0196]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471