DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 27 Feb. 2026—in which claims 1, 5, 10-12, 18-20, 24, and 25 are amended—has been entered into the record and is considered herein. Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-20, 24, and 25 are pending. The amendments overcome the previous rejection of claims 19, 20, 24, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). Accordingly, the rejection has been reconsidered and is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 12-14 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 1, 11, and 19—have been fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection rely on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. So, without addressing its merit, the argument that the Prior Art, in combination, does not disclose or suggest “the claimed sequence in which the source aerial cell (i) notifies the UE of a PCID change of the source aerial cell, (ii) receives an acknowledgment of that notification from the UE, and then (iii) transmits a cell switching request to the target aerial cell,” is rendered moot.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Particularly, claims 5 and 6 recite: “the movement of the target aerial cell to the hovering position of the source aerial cell”. However, insufficient antecedent basis exists for this limitation in the claim. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, 18, 19, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0208512 (hereinafter, “AYDIN”) in view of US 2021/0274414 (hereinafter, “MAATTANEN”), and further in view of GB 2576203 (hereinafter, “HUNUKUMBURE”).
Regarding claim 1, AYDIN discloses:
A method (¶ 0067: [R]eplacement of drone base stations) of replacing a source aerial cell (Drone-BS-A 42) with a target aerial cell (Drone-BS-B 42), comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor (¶ 0050: means to command comprises a processor) of the source aerial cell, a transfer request from the target aerial cell to transfer each of a first plurality of link related parameters between the source aerial cell and a user equipment (UE) and to transfer each of a second plurality of link related parameters between the source aerial cell and a core network; (¶ 0051: [T]he controller comprises means to receive a request from the second drone base station for downlink user data to be sent to the second drone base station instead of the first drone base station by making use of IP addresses to differentiate between the first and second base stations; ¶¶ 0025-0026: [T]he first drone base station further comprises: means to, upon being informed that the second drone base station is in the vicinity, send user context information of connections with user terminals towards the second drone base station; ¶ 0030: Preferably the first drone base station comprises means to send, together with the acknowledgement, user context data of uplink user data that has been received and forwarded by the first drone base station to a backhaul node; ¶ 0078: In FIG. 6, a mobile management entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (PDN GW) are shown. These are parts for the core network 40)
transmitting, by the at least one processor to the target aerial cell, each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters in response to the transfer request, (¶ 0101: As part of the drone replacement procedure, both the cell context and user terminal context (denoted UE context) are transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B; ¶ 0067: The serving drone base station (Drone-BS-A) having cell Id1 informs the drone management module connected via a backhaul node of the need for replacement. In consequence the drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A. Configuration data is transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. Then Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). Drone-BS-A then reduces its pilot power so as to trigger handovers. Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. This involves user terminals providing measurements of pilot signals of neighbouring cells in known fashion, triggering a handover request message by Drone-BS-A for the particular user terminal)
wherein the target aerial cell stores each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters in a link database and performs a link replication process for replicating the first plurality of link related parameters and the second plurality of link related parameters; (¶ 0084: Step 5: Drone-BS-B is then configured to take over the wireless service. This includes the transfer to Drone BS-B of configuration data in respect of Drone-DB-A and the transfer of the current users' contexts)
. . . after completion of the link replication process at the target aerial cell, a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell; and (¶ 0067: It is identified that Cell ID2 (namely Drone-BS-B) which operated at a different frequency band is to be the target cell for handover, and handover is effected to the cell having Cell ID2)
transmitting, by the at least one processor to the target aerial cell, . . . along with a positioning information of the source aerial cell for a switchover of a communication operation with the UE and terrestrial cells of the core network served by the source aerial cell, (¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0032: [R]eceive a command to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station)
relocating the target aerial cell to a hovering position indicated by the positioning information of the source aerial cell, and (¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0082: Drone-BS-B has reached the given geographical position ¶ 0033: [T]ransmit a signal indicating that the location has been flown to)
establishing, by the target aerial cell, a communication with the UE and the terrestrial cells served by the source aerial cell after the link replication process based on the switchover of the communication operation. (¶ 0067: Configuration data is transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. Then Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). . . . Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. This involves user terminals providing measurements of pilot signals of neighbouring cells in known fashion, triggering a handover request message by Drone-BS-A for the particular user terminal. It is identified that Cell ID2 (namely Drone-BS-B) which operated at a different frequency band is to be the target cell for handover, and handover is effected to the cell having Cell ID2)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
notifying, by the at least one processor, to the UE via a notification message . . . , a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell; and
transmitting, by the at least one processor to the target aerial cell, after an acknowledgment of the notification message by the UE, a cell switching request . . . ,
In the same field of endeavor, however, MAATTANEN teaches:
notifying, by the at least one processor, to the UE via a notification message . . . , a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell; and (¶ 0358: At step 1720, an indication is sent to the wireless device indicating that the wireless device should prepare for the change from the first ground station to the second ground station; ¶ 0359: [D]etermine one or more parameters that the wireless device is to use to prepare for the change to the second ground station. For example, the network node may determine any of the parameters discussed herein that should be used in the switchover; ¶ 0057: [A]n indication whether a physical cell identity (PCI) associated with a cell providing coverage to the wireless device will change in connection with changing to the second ground station)
. . . after an acknowledgment of the notification message by the UE, (¶ 0360: [S]tep 1730 in which the network node further receives a response message from the wireless device in response to the indication communicated to the wireless device. The response message may include a confirmation that the indication was received or applied)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide UE notification of PCI changes of the serving cell and provide acknowledgement of its receipt from the UE, as taught by MAATTANEN, so as to handle UE mobility when the RAN node switches while the UE is connected via NR/LTE air interface, so as to prepare the UE with an RRC configuration for the upcoming change of sat-gateway. See MAATTANEN, at ¶ 0047.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, HUNUKUMBURE teaches:
transmitting, by the at least one processor to the target aerial cell, . . . a cell switching request . . . , (¶ 0051: [T]he handover process may encompass the serving gNB 310 issuing a handover command to the UE 325, once the target gNB 312 agrees to the handover [The Examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the feature: “once the target gNB 312 agrees to the handover” to implicitly teach that the agreement by target gNB 312 is responsive to a handover request issued during a handover procedure initiated by serving gNB 310. See Abstract])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide handover requests and commands as taught by HUNUKUMBURE to differentiate between UEs in RRC-connected state and UEs in RRC-inactive state so as to provide accelerated handover and/or cell-reselection procedures. See HUNUKUMBURE, at Abstract and ¶ 0010.
Regarding claim 10 and claim 25, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1 and the wireless communication system of claim 19, respectively. AYDIN further discloses:
further comprising:
receive/receiving, by the at least one processor from the target aerial cell, an acknowledgment message indicating confirmation of reception of the cell switching request in response to the cell switching request, and (¶¶ 0025-0027: [T]he first drone base station further comprises: [0026] means to, upon being informed that the second drone base station is in the vicinity, send user context information of connections with user terminals towards the second drone base station; [0027] means to receive an instruction to stop uplink reception)
control/controlling, by the at least one processor, the source aerial cell to drift away from the hovering position in response to the [received] acknowledgment message, (¶ 0067: Once these handovers are complete, Drone-BS-A ceases providing wireless service and is directed to fly away)
wherein the target aerial cell further establishes the communication with the UE and the terrestrial cells after disconnection of communication operation of the source aerial cell with the UE and the terrestrial cells. (¶ 0067: Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). Drone-BS-A then reduces its pilot power so as to trigger handovers. Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B)
Regarding claim 11, AYDIN discloses:
A method (¶ 0067: [R]eplacement of drone base stations) of placing a target aerial cell (Drone-BS-B 42) in place of a source aerial cell, comprising:
transmitting, by at least one processor (¶ 0050: means to command comprises a processor) of the target aerial cell, a transfer request to the source aerial cell to transfer each of a first plurality of link related parameters between the source aerial cell and user equipment UE and a second plurality of link related parameters between the source aerial cell and a core network; (¶ 0051: [T]he controller comprises means to receive a request from the second drone base station for downlink user data to be sent to the second drone base station instead of the first drone base station by making use of IP addresses to differentiate between the first and second base stations)
receiving, by the at least one processor, each of the first plurality of link related parameters and the second plurality of link related parameters in response to the transfer request; (¶ 0101: As part of the drone replacement procedure, both the cell context and user terminal context (denoted UE context) are transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B; ¶ 0067: The serving drone base station (Drone-BS-A) having cell Id1 informs the drone management module connected via a backhaul node of the need for replacement. In consequence the drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A. Configuration data is transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. Then Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). Drone-BS-A then reduces its pilot power so as to trigger handovers. Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. This involves user terminals providing measurements of pilot signals of neighbouring cells in known fashion, triggering a handover request message by Drone-BS-A for the particular user terminal)
performing, by the at least one processor, a link replication process for replicating each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the received second plurality of link related parameters, (¶ 0084: Step 5: Drone-BS-B is then configured to take over the wireless service. This includes the transfer to Drone BS-B of configuration data in respect of Drone-DB-A and the transfer of the current users' contexts)
. . . after completion of the link replication process; (¶ 0067: It is identified that Cell ID2 (namely Drone-BS-B) which operated at a different frequency band is to be the target cell for handover, and handover is effected to the cell having Cell ID2)
receiving, by the at least one processor from the source aerial cell, . . . along with positioning information of the source aerial cell for a switchover of a communication operation with the UE and terrestrial cells of the core network served by the source aerial cell, (¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0032: [R]eceive a command to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station)
. . .
controlling, by the at least one processor, the target aerial cell to move to a hovering position indicated in the received positioning information; and (¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0082: Drone-BS-B has reached the given geographical position ¶ 0033: [T]ransmit a signal indicating that the location has been flown to)
establishing, by the at least one processor after the movement of the target aerial cell to the hovering position, a communication with the UE and the terrestrial cells served by the source aerial cell after the link replication process based on the switchover of the communication operation. (¶ 0067: Configuration data is transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. Then Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). . . . Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. This involves user terminals providing measurements of pilot signals of neighbouring cells in known fashion, triggering a handover request message by Drone-BS-A for the particular user terminal. It is identified that Cell ID2 (namely Drone-BS-B) which operated at a different frequency band is to be the target cell for handover, and handover is effected to the cell having Cell ID2)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the source aerial cell notifies the UE about a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell via a notification message, (¶ 0358: At step 1720, an indication is sent to the wireless device indicating that the wireless device should prepare for the change from the first ground station to the second ground station; ¶ 0359: [D]etermine one or more parameters that the wireless device is to use to prepare for the change to the second ground station. For example, the network node may determine any of the parameters discussed herein that should be used in the switchover; ¶ 0057: [A]n indication whether a physical cell identity (PCI) associated with a cell providing coverage to the wireless device will change in connection with changing to the second ground station)
. . . after an acknowledgment of the notification message by the UE, (¶ 0360: [S]tep 1730 in which the network node further receives a response message from the wireless device in response to the indication communicated to the wireless device. The response message may include a confirmation that the indication was received or applied)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide UE notification of PCI changes of the serving cell and provide acknowledgement of its receipt from the UE, as taught by MAATTANEN, so as to handle UE mobility when the RAN node switches while the UE is connected via NR/LTE air interface, so as to prepare the UE with an RRC configuration for the upcoming change of sat-gateway. See MAATTANEN, at ¶ 0047.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, HUNUKUMBURE teaches:
wherein the source aerial cell transmits the cell switching request to the target aerial cell . . . ; (¶ 0051: [T]he handover process may encompass the serving gNB 310 issuing a handover command to the UE 325, once the target gNB 312 agrees to the handover [The Examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the feature: “once the target gNB 312 agrees to the handover” to implicitly teach that the agreement by target gNB 312 is responsive to a handover request issued during a handover procedure initiated by serving gNB 310]. See Abstract.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide handover requests and commands as taught by HUNUKUMBURE to differentiate between UEs in RRC-connected state and UEs in RRC-inactive state so as to provide accelerated handover and/or cell-reselection procedures. See HUNUKUMBURE, at Abstract and ¶ 0010.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, renders obvious the method as claimed in claim 11. AYDIN further discloses:
further comprising:
transmitting, by the at least one processor to the source aerial cell, an acknowledgment message indicating confirmation of reception of the cell switching request in response to the cell switching request, (¶¶ 0025-0027: [T]he first drone base station further comprises: [0026] means to, upon being informed that the second drone base station is in the vicinity, send user context information of connections with user terminals towards the second drone base station; [0027] means to receive an instruction to stop uplink reception)
wherein the source aerial cell drifts away from the hovering position in response to the acknowledgment message; and (¶ 0096: Step 16: Drone-BS-A flies away)
establishing, by the at least one processor, the communication with the UE and the terrestrial cells after disconnection of communication operation of the source aerial cell with the UE and the terrestrial cells. (¶ 0067: Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). Drone-BS-A then reduces its pilot power so as to trigger handovers. Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B)
Regarding claim 19, AYDIN discloses:
A wireless communication system including a source aerial cell (Drone-BS-A 42) (¶ 0067: [R]eplacement of drone base stations) replaceable by a target aerial cell (Drone-BS-B 42), the source aerial cell comprising at least one processor (¶ 0050: means to command comprises a processor) configured to:
receive a transfer request from the target aerial cell to transfer each of a first plurality of link related parameters between the source aerial cell and a user equipment UE and each of a second plurality of link related parameters between the source aerial cell and a core network; (¶ 0051: [T]he controller comprises means to receive a request from the second drone base station for downlink user data to be sent to the second drone base station instead of the first drone base station by making use of IP addresses to differentiate between the first and second base stations; ¶¶ 0025-0026: [T]he first drone base station further comprises: means to, upon being informed that the second drone base station is in the vicinity, send user context information of connections with user terminals towards the second drone base station; ¶ 0030: Preferably the first drone base station comprises means to send, together with the acknowledgement, user context data of uplink user data that has been received and forwarded by the first drone base station to a backhaul node; ¶ 0078: In FIG. 6, a mobile management entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (PDN GW) are shown. These are parts for the core network 40)
transmit, to the target aerial cell, each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters in response to the received transfer request, (¶ 0101: As part of the drone replacement procedure, both the cell context and user terminal context (denoted UE context) are transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B; ¶ 0067: The serving drone base station (Drone-BS-A) having cell Id1 informs the drone management module connected via a backhaul node of the need for replacement. In consequence the drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A. Configuration data is transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. Then Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). Drone-BS-A then reduces its pilot power so as to trigger handovers. Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. This involves user terminals providing measurements of pilot signals of neighbouring cells in known fashion, triggering a handover request message by Drone-BS-A for the particular user terminal)
wherein the target aerial cell stores each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters in a link database and performs a link replication process for replication of the each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters; (¶ 0084: Step 5: Drone-BS-B is then configured to take over the wireless service. This includes the transfer to Drone BS-B of configuration data in respect of Drone-DB-A and the transfer of the current users' contexts)
. . . after completion of the link replication process at the target aerial cell, a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell; and (¶ 0067: It is identified that Cell ID2 (namely Drone-BS-B) which operated at a different frequency band is to be the target cell for handover, and handover is effected to the cell having Cell ID2)
transmit, to the target aerial cell . . . positioning information of the source aerial cell for a switchover of a communication operation with the UE and terrestrial cells of the core network served by the source aerial cell, (¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0032: [R]eceive a command to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station)
wherein the target aerial cell moves to a hovering position indicated by the transmitted positioning information, and (¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0082: Drone-BS-B has reached the given geographical position ¶ 0033: [T]ransmit a signal indicating that the location has been flown to)
wherein the target aerial cell establishes a communication with the UE and the terrestrial cells served by the source aerial cell based on the link replication process and the switch over of the communication operation. (¶ 0067: Configuration data is transferred from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. Then Drone-BS-B activates its cell coverage (Cell Id2). . . . Currently connected user terminals are then handed over from Drone-BS-A to Drone-BS-B. This involves user terminals providing measurements of pilot signals of neighbouring cells in known fashion, triggering a handover request message by Drone-BS-A for the particular user terminal. It is identified that Cell ID2 (namely Drone-BS-B) which operated at a different frequency band is to be the target cell for handover, and handover is effected to the cell having Cell ID2)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
notify, to the UE via a notification message . . . , a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell; and
transmit, to the target aerial cell after an acknowledgment of the notification message by the UE, a cell switching request
In the same field of endeavor, however, MAATTANEN teaches:
notify, to the UE via a notification message . . . , a change in Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) of the source aerial cell; and (¶ 0358: At step 1720, an indication is sent to the wireless device indicating that the wireless device should prepare for the change from the first ground station to the second ground station; ¶ 0359: [D]etermine one or more parameters that the wireless device is to use to prepare for the change to the second ground station. For example, the network node may determine any of the parameters discussed herein that should be used in the switchover; ¶ 0057: [A]n indication whether a physical cell identity (PCI) associated with a cell providing coverage to the wireless device will change in connection with changing to the second ground station)
. . . after an acknowledgment of the notification message by the UE, (¶ 0360: [S]tep 1730 in which the network node further receives a response message from the wireless device in response to the indication communicated to the wireless device. The response message may include a confirmation that the indication was received or applied)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide UE notification of PCI changes of the serving cell and provide acknowledgement of its receipt from the UE, as taught by MAATTANEN, so as to handle UE mobility when the RAN node switches while the UE is connected via NR/LTE air interface, so as to prepare the UE with an RRC configuration for the upcoming change of sat-gateway. See MAATTANEN, at ¶ 0047.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, however, HUNUKUMBURE teaches:
transmit, to the target aerial cell . . . , a cell switching request (¶ 0051: [T]he handover process may encompass the serving gNB 310 issuing a handover command to the UE 325, once the target gNB 312 agrees to the handover [The Examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the feature: “once the target gNB 312 agrees to the handover” to implicitly teach that the agreement by target gNB 312 is responsive to a handover request issued during a handover procedure initiated by serving gNB 310. See Abstract])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide handover requests and commands as taught by HUNUKUMBURE to differentiate between UEs in RRC-connected state and UEs in RRC-inactive state so as to provide accelerated handover and/or cell-reselection procedures. See HUNUKUMBURE, at Abstract and ¶ 0010.
Claims 2, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over AYDIN in view of MAATTANEN and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, and further in view of US 2020/0221355 (hereinafter, “HONG”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. AYDIN further discloses:
wherein the UE is connected to the source aerial cell via a wireless interface, and (¶ 0073: [D]rone base station 42 provides a small cell coverage area to provide service to user terminals; ¶ 0067: Drone-BS-A ceases providing wireless service)
wherein each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters corresponds to information . . . parameters. (¶ 0103: [D]rone base stations exchange information over the X2 interface using, as addresses in the information messages, their IP identifiers, IP1 and IP2; ¶ 0104: UE context is transmitted directly between the drones)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
information elements (IE) parameters
In the same field of endeavor, however, HONG teaches:
information elements (IE) parameters (¶ 0047: [H]andover preparation signaling is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE of the handover request signaling)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide handover request signaling as taught by HONG to provide handover preparation signaling in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE so as to solve the problem that the target base station may not recognize the UE during handover and then may not provide service meeting a UE's requirement. See HONG, at ¶ 0041.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, renders obvious the method as claimed in claim 11. AYDIN further discloses:
further comprising
storing, by the at least one processor in a link database, each of the received first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second set of link related parameters, (¶ 0084: Step 5: Drone-BS-B is then configured to take over the wireless service. This includes the transfer to Drone BS-B of configuration data in respect of Drone-DB-A and the transfer of the current users' contexts)
wherein each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters corresponds to information . . . parameters. (¶ 0103: [D]rone base stations exchange information over the X2 interface using, as addresses in the information messages, their IP identifiers, IP1 and IP2; ¶ 0104: UE context is transmitted directly between the drones)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
information elements (IE) parameters
In the same field of endeavor, however, HONG teaches:
information elements (IE) parameters (¶ 0047: [H]andover preparation signaling is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE of the handover request signaling)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide handover request signaling as taught by HONG to provide handover preparation signaling in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE so as to solve the problem that the target base station may not recognize the UE during handover and then may not provide service meeting a UE's requirement. See HONG, at ¶ 0041.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of AYDIN and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, renders obvious the wireless communication system of claim 19. AYDIN further discloses:
wherein the UE is connected to the source aerial cell via a wireless interface, and (¶ 0073: [D]rone base station 42 provides a small cell coverage area to provide service to user terminals; ¶ 0067: Drone-BS-A ceases providing wireless service)
wherein each of the first plurality of link related parameters and each of the second plurality of link related parameters corresponds to information . . . parameters. (¶ 0103: [D]rone base stations exchange information over the X2 interface using, as addresses in the information messages, their IP identifiers, IP1 and IP2; ¶ 0104: UE context is transmitted directly between the drones)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
information elements (IE) parameters
In the same field of endeavor, however, HONG teaches:
information elements (IE) parameters (¶ 0047: [H]andover preparation signaling is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE of the handover request signaling)
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over AYDIN in view of MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, and further in view of US 2023/0388865 (hereinafter, “MURRAY”), and further in view of US 2016/0262144 (hereinafter, “KITAZOE”), US 2020/0015120 (hereinafter, “LIN”), and US 2022/0264397 (hereinafter, “DA SILVA”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2.
AYDIN further discloses:
parameters that are used for data sessions between the UE and the source aerial cell, and (¶ 0074: [T]he radio link from each drone base station 42 to the backhaul node 36 is on the same Radio Access Technology (RAT), same frequency band and same antenna type as the connections to the user terminals UE1, UE2; ¶ 0097: [U]ser terminals that were connected to Drone-BS-A before the drone replacement. Their user data transmissions continue as the connections to the user terminals are seamlessly handed over)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, transport channel configuration parameters, logical channel configuration parameters, state related parameters, and sub-state related parameters . . . , and
wherein the physical channel configuration parameters include, for the UE, used for maintaining sessions between the source aerial cell and the UE, terrestrial network parameters, at least one of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration, BWP configuration, reference signals, Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list, Carrier aggregation configurations, power control parameters, link budget parameters, and CSI reports sent by the UE to the source aerial cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, MURRAY teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, . . . state related parameters, . . . and wherein the physical channel configuration parameters include, for the UE, used for maintaining sessions between the source aerial cell and the UE, terrestrial network parameters, at least one of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration, BWP configuration, reference signals, Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list, Carrier aggregation configurations, power control parameters, link budget parameters, and CSI reports sent by the UE to the source aerial cell. (Claim 1: An apparatus in a network comprising circuitry configured to: receive a message via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the message comprises: . . . RACH-ConfigDedicated IE for delivering parameters related to dedicated PRACH configuration being specific to a target cell, wherein the RACH-ConfigDedicated IE comprises a first field for storing a first resource list for performing contention free random access (CFRA) with a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second field for storing a second resource list for performing CFRA with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RACH-ConfigDedicated IE as taught by MURRAY to provide a second field for storing a second resource list for performing CFRA with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) so as to support a more diverse set of use cases exhibiting different performance objectives when performing an access request. See MURRAY, at ¶ 0007.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, KITAZOE teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . transport channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0075: [A] UE in the RRC connected mode can indicate changes in its UE capability in certain Information Elements (IEs) such as “DL capability with simultaneous HS-DSCH configuration,” “transport channel capability,” “physical channel capability,” “device type,” and “UE power class extension” within “RF capability extension.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RRC information elements (IEs) regarding transport channel capability as taught by KITAZOE to enable the UE to dynamically determine an instantaneous UE capability information (IUCI) of the UE responsive to a change from the first resource allocation to a second resource allocation, the IUCI indicative of the capability of the UE during a predetermined time period, such that the UE transmits the IUCI to the network to mitigate potential resource allocation conflict among the one or more connections while maintaining at least one of the connections. See KITAZOE, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, LIN teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . logical channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0011: [T]he logical channel configuration information corresponding to each logical channel is a radio resource control (RRC) information element of the each logical channel, and the RRC information element of the each logical channel is used for configuring channel parameters of the each logical channel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RRC information elements (IEs) of each logical channel as taught by LIN for configuring channel parameters of each logical channel, such that the MAC layer can effectively schedule the data in the logical channels carrying duplicated PDCP PDUs, and thus frequency diversity gain can be obtained. See LIN, at ¶ 0003.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DA SILVA teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . sub-state related parameters, (¶ 0164: [T]rigger condition indications (e.g. triggerCondition entries in the list of IE MeasId) for a given CHO configuration, the UE perform actions upon removal of a CHO configuration for the associated CHO configuration. [0165] The method also comprises UE actions upon the modification of other measurement configuration parameters related to all measurements (i.e. all measurement identifiers, measurement objects and reporting configurations), such as if the UE receives an indication to modify the quantity configuration: [0166] The UE stops the monitoring for all trigger conditions and resets associated information (e.g. timer to trigger, state variable indicating that a condition is fulfilled))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RRC information elements (IEs) as taught by DA SILVA, indicating conditions for triggering UE handover, such that the UE stops the monitoring for all trigger conditions and resets associated information (e.g., state variable indicating that a condition is fulfilled—i.e., sub-state related parameters). See DA SILVA, at Abstract, ¶¶ 0032-0035.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2. AYDIN further discloses:
parameters that are used for maintaining sessions between the source aerial cell and the core network (¶ 0074: [T]he radio link from each drone base station 42 to the backhaul node 36 is on the same Radio Access Technology (RAT), same frequency band and same antenna type as the connections to the user terminals UE1, UE2; ¶ 0066: S1AP path routing for a User terminal's Internet Protocol (IP) data and user data via the core network)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, transport channel configuration parameters, logical channel configuration parameters, state related parameters, and sub-state related parameters
In the same field of endeavor, however, MURRAY teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, . . . state related parameters, (Claim 1: An apparatus in a network comprising circuitry configured to: receive a message via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the message comprises: . . . RACH-ConfigDedicated IE for delivering parameters related to dedicated PRACH configuration being specific to a target cell, wherein the RACH-ConfigDedicated IE comprises a first field for storing a first resource list for performing contention free random access (CFRA) with a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second field for storing a second resource list for performing CFRA with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS))
Also, in the same field of endeavor, KITAZOE teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . transport channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0075: [A] UE in the RRC connected mode can indicate changes in its UE capability in certain Information Elements (IEs) such as “DL capability with simultaneous HS-DSCH configuration,” “transport channel capability,” “physical channel capability,” “device type,” and “UE power class extension” within “RF capability extension.”)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, LIN teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . logical channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0011: [T]he logical channel configuration information corresponding to each logical channel is a radio resource control (RRC) information element of the each logical channel, and the RRC information element of the each logical channel is used for configuring channel parameters of the each logical channel)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DA SILVA teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . sub-state related parameters, (¶¶ 0164-0166: [T]rigger condition indications (e.g. triggerCondition entries in the list of IE MeasId) for a given CHO configuration, the UE perform actions upon removal of a CHO configuration for the associated CHO configuration. [0165] The method also comprises UE actions upon the modification of other measurement configuration parameters related to all measurements (i.e. all measurement identifiers, measurement objects and reporting configurations), such as if the UE receives an indication to modify the quantity configuration: [0166] The UE stops the monitoring for all trigger conditions and resets associated information (e.g. timer to trigger, state variable indicating that a condition is fulfilled))
Regarding claim 13, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method as claimed in claim 12. AYDIN further discloses:
parameters that are used for data sessions between the UE and the source aerial cell, and (¶ 0074: [T]he radio link from each drone base station 42 to the backhaul node 36 is on the same Radio Access Technology (RAT), same frequency band and same antenna type as the connections to the user terminals UE1, UE2; ¶ 0097: [U]ser terminals that were connected to Drone-BS-A before the drone replacement. Their user data transmissions continue as the connections to the user terminals are seamlessly handed over)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, transport channel configuration parameters, logical channel configuration parameters, state related parameters, and sub-state related parameters . . . , and
wherein the physical channel configuration parameters include, terrestrial network parameters, at least one of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration, BWP configuration, reference signals, Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list, Carrier aggregation configurations, power control parameters, link budget parameters, and CSI reports sent by the UE to the source aerial cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, MURRAY teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, . . . state related parameters, . . . and wherein the physical channel configuration parameters include, terrestrial network parameters, at least one of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration, BWP configuration, reference signals, Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list, Carrier aggregation configurations, power control parameters, link budget parameters, and CSI reports sent by the UE to the source aerial cell. (Claim 1: An apparatus in a network comprising circuitry configured to: receive a message via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the message comprises: . . . RACH-ConfigDedicated IE for delivering parameters related to dedicated PRACH configuration being specific to a target cell, wherein the RACH-ConfigDedicated IE comprises a first field for storing a first resource list for performing contention free random access (CFRA) with a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second field for storing a second resource list for performing CFRA with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RACH-ConfigDedicated IE as taught by MURRAY to provide a second field for storing a second resource list for performing CFRA with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) so as to support a more diverse set of use cases exhibiting different performance objectives when performing an access request. See MURRAY, at ¶ 0007.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, KITAZOE teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . transport channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0075: [A] UE in the RRC connected mode can indicate changes in its UE capability in certain Information Elements (IEs) such as “DL capability with simultaneous HS-DSCH configuration,” “transport channel capability,” “physical channel capability,” “device type,” and “UE power class extension” within “RF capability extension.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RRC information elements (IEs) regarding transport channel capability as taught by KITAZOE to enable the UE to dynamically determine an instantaneous UE capability information (IUCI) of the UE responsive to a change from the first resource allocation to a second resource allocation, the IUCI indicative of the capability of the UE during a predetermined time period, such that the UE transmits the IUCI to the network to mitigate potential resource allocation conflict among the one or more connections while maintaining at least one of the connections. See KITAZOE, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, LIN teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . logical channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0011: [T]he logical channel configuration information corresponding to each logical channel is a radio resource control (RRC) information element of the each logical channel, and the RRC information element of the each logical channel is used for configuring channel parameters of the each logical channel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RRC information elements (IEs) of each logical channel as taught by LIN for configuring channel parameters of each logical channel, such that the MAC layer can effectively schedule the data in the logical channels carrying duplicated PDCP PDUs, and thus frequency diversity gain can be obtained. See LIN, at ¶ 0003.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DA SILVA teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . sub-state related parameters, (¶ 0164: [T]rigger condition indications (e.g. triggerCondition entries in the list of IE MeasId) for a given CHO configuration, the UE perform actions upon removal of a CHO configuration for the associated CHO configuration. [0165] The method also comprises UE actions upon the modification of other measurement configuration parameters related to all measurements (i.e. all measurement identifiers, measurement objects and reporting configurations), such as if the UE receives an indication to modify the quantity configuration: [0166] The UE stops the monitoring for all trigger conditions and resets associated information (e.g. timer to trigger, state variable indicating that a condition is fulfilled))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide RRC information elements (IEs) as taught by DA SILVA, indicating conditions for triggering UE handover, such that the UE stops the monitoring for all trigger conditions and resets associated information (e.g., state variable indicating that a condition is fulfilled—i.e., sub-state related parameters). See DA SILVA, at Abstract, ¶¶ 0032-0035.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method as claimed in claim 12. AYDIN further discloses:
parameters that are used for maintaining sessions between the source aerial cell and the core network. (¶ 0074: [T]he radio link from each drone base station 42 to the backhaul node 36 is on the same Radio Access Technology (RAT), same frequency band and same antenna type as the connections to the user terminals UE1, UE2; ¶ 0066: S1AP path routing for a User terminal's Internet Protocol (IP) data and user data via the core network)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, transport channel configuration parameters, logical channel configuration parameters, state related parameters, and sub-state related parameters
In the same field of endeavor, however, MURRAY teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include physical channel configuration parameters, . . . state related parameters, (Claim 1: An apparatus in a network comprising circuitry configured to: receive a message via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the message comprises: . . . RACH-ConfigDedicated IE for delivering parameters related to dedicated PRACH configuration being specific to a target cell, wherein the RACH-ConfigDedicated IE comprises a first field for storing a first resource list for performing contention free random access (CFRA) with a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second field for storing a second resource list for performing CFRA with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS))
Also, in the same field of endeavor, KITAZOE teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . transport channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0075: [A] UE in the RRC connected mode can indicate changes in its UE capability in certain Information Elements (IEs) such as “DL capability with simultaneous HS-DSCH configuration,” “transport channel capability,” “physical channel capability,” “device type,” and “UE power class extension” within “RF capability extension.”)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, LIN teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . logical channel configuration parameters, (¶ 0011: [T]he logical channel configuration information corresponding to each logical channel is a radio resource control (RRC) information element of the each logical channel, and the RRC information element of the each logical channel is used for configuring channel parameters of the each logical channel)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DA SILVA teaches:
wherein the IE parameters include . . . sub-state related parameters, (¶¶ 0164-0166: [T]rigger condition indications (e.g. triggerCondition entries in the list of IE MeasId) for a given CHO configuration, the UE perform actions upon removal of a CHO configuration for the associated CHO configuration. [0165] The method also comprises UE actions upon the modification of other measurement configuration parameters related to all measurements (i.e. all measurement identifiers, measurement objects and reporting configurations), such as if the UE receives an indication to modify the quantity configuration: [0166] The UE stops the monitoring for all trigger conditions and resets associated information (e.g. timer to trigger, state variable indicating that a condition is fulfilled))
Claims 5, 6, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over AYDIN in view of MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, and further in view of US 2020/0314947 (hereinafter, “LATHEEF”).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 15, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2 and the method of claim 12, respectively. AYDIN further discloses:
. . . before the relocating the target aerial cell to the hovering position; and (FIG. 3; ¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0032: [A] command to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station; ¶ 0046: [A] command towards a second drone base station to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station)
controlling, by the at least one processor, the UE to return to an active state based on enforcement of an RRC ACTIVE condition for the UE after the movement of the target aerial cell to the hovering position of the source aerial cell (¶ 0057: FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the network shown in FIG. 3 but at a later time when a drone BS-B flies to the target location in preparation to be handed over to; ¶ 0082: Drone-BS-B has reached the given geographical position; ¶ 0033: [A] signal indicating that the location has been flown to; ¶ 0047: [A]n indication from the second drone base station that the second drone base station has arrived at the given location; ¶ 0085: Step 6: Drone-BS-B starts receiving uplink user data)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the IE parameters further include Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration parameters, and
wherein the method further comprises:
enforcing, by the at least one processor based on the RRC configuration parameters, an RRC_INACTIVE condition for the UE for a specific time period . . . ; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, HONG teaches:
wherein the IE parameters further include Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration parameters, and (¶ 0047: [H]andover preparation signaling is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE of the handover request signaling)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, LATHEEF teaches:
wherein the method further comprises:
enforcing, by the at least one processor based on the RRC configuration parameters, an RRC_INACTIVE condition for the UE for a specific time period . . . ; and (¶ 0057: [T]rigger a RRC state transition indication to the wireless communication network by activating at least one condition at the UE (100) based on the configuration setting, where the at least one condition is one of: a timer based threshold; ¶ 0205: [P]erforming the UE controlled state transition from the RRC CONNECTED state to the RRC INACTIVE state transition as on a configured timer; ¶¶ 0105, 0107: [T]he source node sets: . . . b) the validity timer i.e. a timer upon the expiry of which the UE (100) releases the CHO configuration; ¶ 0208: [A]t step 708a, the UE (100) monitors the condition of . . . the timer . . . to trigger the RRC INACTIVE state transition request; ¶ 0012: RRC reconfiguration message comprising a handover configuration from a source cell of the wireless communication network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide a triggering of a RRC state transition indication as taught by LATHEEF, to provide by activating a condition at the UE based on the configuration setting, where the at least one condition is a timer based threshold, so that RRC reconfiguration message provides a handover configuration from a source cell, such that the UE can indicate to the wireless communication network that radio resource control (RRC) connection can be released, thereby reducing a possible the power consumption. See LATHEEF, at ¶ 0055.
Regarding claim 6 and claim 16, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2 and the method of claim 12. AYDIN further discloses:
. . . before the movement of the target aerial cell to the hovering position of the source aerial cell (FIG. 3; ¶ 0067: [T]he drone management module directs Drone-BS-B to the location of Drone-BS-A; ¶ 0032: [A] command to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station; ¶ 0046: [A] command towards a second drone base station to fly to a given location in the vicinity of the first drone base station)
AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
enforcing, by the at least one processor in an RRC_ACTIVE state, a Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (C-DRX) condition for the UE . . . such that the UE enters into a long DRX cycle.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LATHEEF teaches:
enforcing, by the at least one processor in an RRC_ACTIVE state, a Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (C-DRX) condition for the UE . . . such that the UE enters into a long DRX cycle. (¶ 0073: The activated condition based on the counter threshold includes determining a drxInactivityTimer is not started at least once on activating the trigger condition and a configured number of DRX cycles is elapsed without one of transmission or reception between the UE (100) and the wireless communication network, wherein the drxInactivityTimer is part of a RRC_CONNECTED state DRX cycle configuration; ¶ 0210: [T]he inactiveIndicationThreshold condition is specified as a percentage or the datainactivityTimer or in terms of C-DRX cycles while the datainactivityTimer is running)
Claims 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over AYDIN in view of MAATTANEN, HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, and further in view of US 2025/0365663, hereinafter, “ZHOU”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, and HONG, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2. AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the IE parameters further include Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration parameters, and
wherein the method further comprises adjusting, by the at least one processor, the RRC configuration parameters to increase an occurrence of a number of beam failure instances that can be tolerated by the UE before detection of a beam failure and triggering of a beam recovery operation.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HONG teaches:
wherein the IE parameters further include Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration parameters, and (¶ 0047: [H]andover preparation signaling is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) context IE of the handover request signaling)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, ZHOU teaches:
wherein the method further comprises adjusting, by the at least one processor, the RRC configuration parameters to increase an occurrence of a number of beam failure instances that can be tolerated by the UE before detection of a beam failure and triggering of a beam recovery operation. (¶ 0558: [C]onfiguration parameters of the BFR procedure may comprise at least one of: a first number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) indicating a number of beam failure instances which may trigger a RA procedure for the BFR; ¶ 0585: If the number of beam failure instance indications is greater than a configured value (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) at T1, the wireless device may initiate a RA for a BFR [The Examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret ZHOU’s configurable values for a number of beam failure instances for triggering beam failure recovery procedures, as taught by ZHOU, implicitly discloses reconfiguration which includes a limited number of alternatives for adjusting the RRC configuration parameters, namely, lowering or raising the threshold for triggering of a beam recovery operation.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide a configured value for beamFailureInstanceMaxCount as taught by ZHOU, to provide configuration parameters for triggering the beam failure recovery procedure, so that the first communication device receives (e.g., from the second communication device) a wake-up indication via the power saving channel, such that using the second message to indicate a switch to the power saving state improves resource utilization in a communication system. See ZHOU, at ¶ 0004.
Claims 9 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over AYDIN in view of MAATTANEN and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, and further in view of US 2021/0410034, (hereinafter, “YOU”)
Regarding claim 9 and claim 24, the combination of AYDIN, MAATTANEN, and HUNUKUMBURE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1 and the wireless communication system of claim 19, respectively. AYDIN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the notification message includes an activation time, a plurality of parameters including new Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), and security algorithm identifiers of the target aerial cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, YOU teaches:
wherein the notification message includes an activation time, a plurality of parameters including new Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), and security algorithm identifiers of the target aerial cell. (¶ 0087: [T]he handover command may include at least one of the following: a dedicated RACH resource, a C-RNTI, a security algorithm of the second network device, and a system message of the second network device, where the dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble used for contention-free random access, the system message may include a common RACH resource, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource used for contention-based random access. The first timer is configured to control the effective time of the configuration information in the handover command. For example, when the first timer expires, the configuration information in the handover command becomes invalid, and the terminal device cannot initiate handover to the second network device according to the configuration information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AYDIN’s hot switch-over of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving base station to provide a notification message as taught by YOU, to provide parameters of the target aerial cell, such that an immediate handover procedure is not adopted for conditional handover (CHO), so that the terminal device is thereby better able to initiate the handover to the target cell. See YOU, at ¶ 0003.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644