DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 19, 23, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US2022/0116156A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda teaches a method for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook, applied to a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a total number of occasions for candidate physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception based on sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for multiple candidate services (Paragraph [0007]: the UE determines a codebook including certain HARQ-ACK bit(s) (also referred to as a HARQ-ACK codebook, a HARQ codebook, or the like), based on HARQ-ACK timing value(s), and feeds back the codebook to the base station. Paragraph [0199]: FIG. 14 is a diagram to show an example of the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on the HARQ-ACK timing value K1 at the slot level. FIG. 14 shows the PDSCH time domain RA table common to the services shown in FIG. 13A or the PDSCH time domain RA table for each service shown in FIG. 13B, and the candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on a format of the slot. Paragraph [0200]: Specifically, the UE may determine the HARQ-ACK window (set C (K1) of HARQ-ACK timing values K1) so as to be common to the plurality of services. For each HARQ-ACK timing value K1, the UE may determine the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service, based on the PDSCH time domain RA table of FIG. 13A or FIG. 13B and a format of a certain time unit. Indices for each service may be assigned to each of the candidate PDSCH reception occasions in the HARQ-ACK window.)
and determining a codebook order corresponding to occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback (Paragraph [0200]: Specifically, the UE may determine the HARQ-ACK window (set C (K1) of HARQ-ACK timing values K1) so as to be common to the plurality of services. For each HARQ-ACK timing value K1, the UE may determine the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service, based on the PDSCH time domain RA table of FIG. 13A or FIG. 13B and a format of a certain time unit. Indices for each service may be assigned to each of the candidate PDSCH reception occasions in the HARQ-ACK window. Paragraph [0202]: FIG. 15 is a diagram to show an example of the semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook determination operation at the slot level according to the second method of the second aspect. In FIG. 15, the UE may determine the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions MA, c in slot #n-K1 for each service and for each HARQ-ACK timing value K1, according to the semi-static HARQ codebook determination operation at the slot level (see, for example, FIGS. 1A to 1C and 2 to 4).
determining a value of each bit in an HARQ codebook based on whether downlink data is correctly received on each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception; and transmitting the HARQ codebook (Paragraph [0201]: For example, in FIG. 14, the candidate PDSCH reception occasions assigned the indices “0” to “8” are included in the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions MA, c available for the URLLC service in the HARQ-ACK window. On the other hand, the candidate PDSCH reception occasions assigned the indices “0” to “2” are included in the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions MA, c available for the eMBB service in the HARQ-ACK window. Paragraph [0206]: For example, in FIG. 15, PDSCH # 0 for eMBB is allocated to candidate PDSCH reception occasion # 0 for eMBB that includes symbols # 0 to #13 in slot #n-K1 (K1=7). The HARQ-ACK bits for the PDSCH # 0 are mapped to the positions corresponding to the candidate PDSCH reception occasion index “0” in the HARQ-ACK codebook for eMBB. Abstract: A user terminal includes: a control section that determines a set of one or more candidate occasions for reception of a downlink shared channel available in a time unit, based on a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest-ACKnowledge (HARQ-ACK) timing value using a same or different time unit between a plurality of services and a format of the time unit; and a transmitting section that transmits a codebook being determined based on the set of the one or more candidate occasions.)
Regarding claim 19, Takeda teaches a method for receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook, applied to a network side device, comprising: receiving an HARQ codebook transmitted from a user equipment (UE), wherein the HARQ codebook is transmitted after the UE, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service in multiple candidate services, determines a total number of occasions for candidate physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, and determines a codebook order corresponding to occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and a value of each bit in the HARQ codebook based on whether downlink data is correctly received at each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception (see rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, Takeda teaches a user equipment (UE), comprises a memory, a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is used for storing computer programs; the transceiver is used for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor; and the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to perform the following operations (Paragraph [0338]: Physically, the above-described base station 10 and user terminal 20 may each be formed as computer an apparatus that includes a processor 1001, a memory 1002, a storage 1003, a communication apparatus 1004, an input apparatus 1005, an output apparatus 1006, a bus 1007, and so on. Paragraph [0341]: Each function of the base station 10 and the user terminals 20 is implemented, for example, by allowing certain software (programs) to be read on hardware such as the processor 1001 and the memory 1002, and by allowing the processor 1001 to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus 1004. Paragraph [0346]: The communication apparatus 1004 is hardware (transmitting/receiving device) for allowing inter-computer communication via at least one of wired and wireless networks.)
determining a total number of occasions for candidate physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception based on sets of slot timing values for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multiple candidate services, and determining a codebook order corresponding to the occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback; determining a value of each bit in an HARQ codebook based on whether downlink data is correctly received [[at]]on each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception; and transmitting the HARQ codebook (see rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 41, Takeda teaches a network side device, comprises a memory, a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is used for storing computer programs; the transceiver is used for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor; and the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the network side device to perform the following operations (see rejection for claim 23)
receiving an HARQ codebook transmitted from a user equipment (UE), wherein the HARQ codebook is transmitted after the UE, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service in multiple candidate services, determines a total number of occasions for candidate physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, and determines a codebook order corresponding to occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and a value of each bit in the HARQ codebook based on whether downlink data is correctly received at each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception (see rejection for claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US2022/0116156A1) in view of Jiao et al. (US2023/0345490A1).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein in case that at most one-time division multiplexing (TDM) is supported, the determining the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception based on the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for multiple candidate services comprises: determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services; determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception (Paragraph [0199]: FIG. 14 is a diagram to show an example of the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on the HARQ-ACK timing value K1 at the slot level. FIG. 14 shows the PDSCH time domain RA table common to the services shown in FIG. 13A or the PDSCH time domain RA table for each service shown in FIG. 13B, and the candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on a format of the slot. Paragraph [0200]: Specifically, the UE may determine the HARQ-ACK window (set C (K1) of HARQ-ACK timing values K1) so as to be common to the plurality of services. For each HARQ-ACK timing value K1, the UE may determine the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service, based on the PDSCH time domain RA table of FIG. 13A or FIG. 13B and a format of a certain time unit. Indices for each service may be assigned to each of the candidate PDSCH reception occasions in the HARQ-ACK window.)
Takeda does not explicitly teach a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services.
However, Jiao teaches a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services (Paragraph [0098]: Correspondingly, the terminal may determine a union set of K values in the plurality of K value sets. In this way, the terminal may determine a quantity of HARQ-ACK feedback units of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the quantity of candidate PDSCH reception occasions and the union set of K values. Paragraph [0101]: Example 1: AK value set 1 corresponding to the DCI format 1_1 is {2, 3}, ….a K value set 2 corresponding to a DCI format 1_2 is {1, 2}….Therefore, the terminal may determine that the union set of K values is {1, 2, 3}.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services, as taught by Jiao in the system of Takeda, so that the union set of K values can be used to send HARQ feedback information of a plurality of PDSCHs in the HARQ codebook on one PUCCH, to improve communication efficiency (Jiao: Paragraph [0092], [0098]).
Regarding claim 24, Takeda teaches the UE of claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
wherein in case that at most one-time division multiplexing (TDM) is supported, the determining the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception based on the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for multiple candidate services comprises: determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services; determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception (see rejection for claim 2);
Takeda does not explicitly teach a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services.
However, Jiao teaches a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services, as taught by Jiao in the system of Takeda, so that the union set of K values can be used to send HARQ feedback information of a plurality of PDSCHs in the HARQ codebook on one PUCCH, to improve communication efficiency (Jiao: Paragraph [0092], [0098]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US2022/0116156A1) in view of Jiao et al. (US2023/0345490A1), and further in view of Kim et al. (EP4255074A1).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein in case that at most one TDM is supported, the determining the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception based on the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for multiple candidate services comprises (Paragraph [0199]: FIG. 14 is a diagram to show an example of the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on the HARQ-ACK timing value K1 at the slot level. FIG. 14 shows the PDSCH time domain RA table common to the services shown in FIG. 13A or the PDSCH time domain RA table for each service shown in FIG. 13B, and the candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on a format of the slot. Paragraph [0200]: Specifically, the UE may determine the HARQ-ACK window (set C (K1) of HARQ-ACK timing values K1) so as to be common to the plurality of services. For each HARQ-ACK timing value K1, the UE may determine the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service, based on the PDSCH time domain RA table of FIG. 13A or FIG. 13B and a format of a certain time unit. Indices for each service may be assigned to each of the candidate PDSCH reception occasions in the HARQ-ACK window.)
Takeda does not explicitly teach determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for frequency division multiplexing (FDM) supported by the UE and/or a maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain in a union set, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and in case that the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain of the union set, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula: MAt(n-i) = min( countt(n-i), numFDM); wherein MAt(n-i) is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback, countt(n-i) is the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and numFDM is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE.
However, Jiao teaches a union set (Paragraph [0098]: Correspondingly, the terminal may determine a union set of K values in the plurality of K value sets. In this way, the terminal may determine a quantity of HARQ-ACK feedback units of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the quantity of candidate PDSCH reception occasions and the union set of K values. Paragraph [0101]: Example 1: AK value set 1 corresponding to the DCI format 1_1 is {2, 3}, ….a K value set 2 corresponding to a DCI format 1_2 is {1, 2}….Therefore, the terminal may determine that the union set of K values is {1, 2, 3}.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a union set, as taught by Jiao in the system of Takeda, so that the union set of K values can be used to send HARQ feedback information of a plurality of PDSCHs in the HARQ codebook on one PUCCH, to improve communication efficiency (Jiao: Paragraph [0092], [0098]).
The combination of Takeda and Jiao does not explicitly teach determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for frequency division multiplexing (FDM) supported by the UE and/or a maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and in case that the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula: MAt(n-i) = min( countt(n-i), numFDM); wherein MAt(n-i) is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback, countt(n-i) is the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and numFDM is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE.
However, Kim teaches determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for frequency division multiplexing (FDM) supported by the UE and/or a maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception (Paragraph [0200]: For example, when the FDM scheduling is allowed, the terminal may independently generate a HARQ sub-codebook for the multicast PDSCH and a HARQ sub-codebook for the unicast PDSCH. Paragraph [0201]: Method 4.1-1: The terminal may generate a HARQ sub-codebook for each multicast group, generate one multicast HARQ sub-codebook by concatenating the HARQ sub-codebooks, and generate one HARQ codebook by concatenating the multicast HARQ sub-codebook and a unicast HARQ sub-codebook.)
and in case that the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula: MAt(n-i) = min( countt(n-i), numFDM);wherein MAt(n-i) is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedbacktime unit, countt(n-i) is the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and numFDM is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE (Paragraph [0200]: For example, when the FDM scheduling is allowed, the terminal may independently generate a HARQ sub-codebook for the multicast PDSCH and a HARQ sub-codebook for the unicast PDSCH. Paragraph [0201]: Method 4.1-1: The terminal may generate a HARQ sub-codebook for each multicast group, generate one multicast HARQ sub-codebook by concatenating the HARQ sub-codebooks, and generate one HARQ codebook by concatenating the multicast HARQ sub-codebook and a unicast HARQ sub-codebook. Paragraph [0208]: Method 4.1-3: When Method 4.1-1 is applied, the terminal may generate one multicast HARQ sub-codebook by concatenating HARQ sub-codebooks according to an order of multicast IDs or multicast group IDs. The terminal may generate one HARQ codebook by concatenating the multicast HARQ sub-codebook and the unicast HARQ sub-codebook. Paragraph [0209]: Alternatively, the terminal may generate one HARQ sub-codebook for multicast transmission. The terminal may receive (e.g., decode) some of multicast PDSCHs based on priorities among multicast PDSCHs allocated by the base station. Accordingly, the terminal may generate a HARQ sub-codebook of a small size instead of a HARQ sub-codebook of each multicast PDSCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for frequency division multiplexing (FDM) supported by the UE and/or a maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and in case that the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula: MAt(n-i) = min( countt(n-i), numFDM); wherein MAt(n-i) is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback, countt(n-i) is the maximum number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in frequency domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and numFDM is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Takeda and Jiao, so that a HARQ codebook of a smaller size can be generated (Kim: Paragraphs [0200], [0201], [0208], [0209]).
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US2022/0116156A1) in view of Jiao et al. (US2023/0345490A1), and Kim et al. (EP4255074A1), and further in view of Yang (US2024/0163028A1).
Regarding claim 4, Takeda teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein in case that at most one FDM is supported, the determining the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception based on the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for multiple candidate services comprises (Paragraph [0199]: FIG. 14 is a diagram to show an example of the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on the HARQ-ACK timing value K1 at the slot level. FIG. 14 shows the PDSCH time domain RA table common to the services shown in FIG. 13A or the PDSCH time domain RA table for each service shown in FIG. 13B, and the candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service that is determined based on a format of the slot. Paragraph [0200]: Specifically, the UE may determine the HARQ-ACK window (set C (K1) of HARQ-ACK timing values K1) so as to be common to the plurality of services. For each HARQ-ACK timing value K1, the UE may determine the set of candidate PDSCH reception occasions for each service, based on the PDSCH time domain RA table of FIG. 13A or FIG. 13B and a format of a certain time unit. Indices for each service may be assigned to each of the candidate PDSCH reception occasions in the HARQ-ACK window.)
Takeda does not explicitly teach determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services; determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE and/or a maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the union set, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception.
However, Jiao teaches determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services; the union set (Paragraph [0098]: Correspondingly, the terminal may determine a union set of K values in the plurality of K value sets. In this way, the terminal may determine a quantity of HARQ-ACK feedback units of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the quantity of candidate PDSCH reception occasions and the union set of K values. Paragraph [0101]: Example 1: AK value set 1 corresponding to the DCI format 1_1 is {2, 3}, ….a K value set 2 corresponding to a DCI format 1_2 is {1, 2}….Therefore, the terminal may determine that the union set of K values is {1, 2, 3}.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services; the union set, as taught by Jiao in the system of Takeda, so that the union set of K values can be used to send HARQ feedback information of a plurality of PDSCHs in the HARQ codebook on one PUCCH, to improve communication efficiency (Jiao: Paragraph [0092], [0098]).
The combination of Takeda and Jiao does not explicitly teach determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE and/or a maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception.
However, Kim teaches determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception (Paragraph [0200]: When the TDM scheduling is performed, the terminal may generate one HARQ codebook without distinction between the multicast HARQ sub-codebook and the unicast HARQ sub-codebook. Paragraph [0201]: Method 4.1-1: The terminal may generate a HARQ sub-codebook for each multicast group, generate one multicast HARQ sub-codebook by concatenating the HARQ sub-codebooks, and generate one HARQ codebook by concatenating the multicast HARQ sub-codebook and a unicast HARQ sub-codebook. Paragraph [0208]: Method 4.1-3: When Method 4.1-1 is applied, the terminal may generate one multicast HARQ sub-codebook by concatenating HARQ sub-codebooks according to an order of multicast IDs or multicast group IDs. The terminal may generate one HARQ codebook by concatenating the multicast HARQ sub-codebook and the unicast HARQ sub-codebook. Paragraph [0209]: Alternatively, the terminal may generate one HARQ sub-codebook for multicast transmission. The terminal may receive (e.g., decode) some of multicast PDSCHs based on priorities among multicast PDSCHs allocated by the base station. Accordingly, the terminal may generate a HARQ sub-codebook of a small size instead of a HARQ sub-codebook of each multicast PDSCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Takeda and Jiao, so that a HARQ codebook of a smaller size can be generated (Kim: Paragraphs [0200], [0201], [0208], [0209]).
The combination of Takeda, Jiao, and Kim does not explicitly teach determining and/or a maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the union set the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception.
However, Yang teaches determining and/or a maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the union set the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception (Paragraph [0007]: When the UE supports to receive multiple TDM (Time-division multiplexing) PDSCHs, the UE selects rows which do not overlap with each other in terms of time resources based on one or more configured time domain resource allocation tables, so as to determine multiple PDSCH reception occasions within the slot. Paragraph [0014]: determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table, or in the case that a specific K1 is included in both the first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 and the second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table. Paragraph [0056]: based on FIG. 3 , as shown in FIG. 5 , the method further includes: Step 303 of determining the quantity of elements, i.e., first element quantity, in the first set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the first time domain resource allocation table, and determining the quantity of elements, i.e., second element quantity, in the second set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the second time domain resource allocation table; and Step 304 of determining the bit length of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a maximum value of the first element quantity and the second element quantity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining and/or a maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the union set the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, as taught by Yang in the combined system of Takeda, Jiao, and Kim, so that the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions can be determined (Yang: Paragraphs [0007], [0014], [0053], [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Takeda, Jiao, Kim, and Yang teaches the method of claim 4, wherein in case that the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE and the maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the union set (see rejection for claim 4);
The combination of Takeda, Jiao, and Kim does not explicitly teach the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula:
M
A
t
n
-
i
=
m
i
n
(
T
D
R
A
c
o
m
p
u
t
t
n
-
i
,
n
u
m
T
D
M
)
;wherein
M
A
t
n
-
i
is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback,
T
D
R
A
c
o
m
p
u
t
t
n
-
i
is the maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and
n
u
m
T
D
M
is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE.
However, Yang teaches the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula:
M
A
t
n
-
i
=
m
i
n
(
T
D
R
A
c
o
m
p
u
t
t
n
-
i
,
n
u
m
T
D
M
)
;wherein
M
A
t
n
-
i
is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback,
T
D
R
A
c
o
m
p
u
t
t
n
-
i
is the maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and
n
u
m
T
D
M
is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE (Paragraph [0007]: When the UE supports to receive multiple TDM (Time-division multiplexing) PDSCHs, the UE selects rows which do not overlap with each other in terms of time resources based on one or more configured time domain resource allocation tables, so as to determine multiple PDSCH reception occasions within the slot. Paragraph [0056]: based on FIG. 3 , as shown in FIG. 5 , the method further includes: Step 303 of determining the quantity of elements, i.e., first element quantity, in the first set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the first time domain resource allocation table, and determining the quantity of elements, i.e., second element quantity, in the second set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the second time domain resource allocation table; and Step 304 of determining the bit length of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a maximum value of the first element quantity and the second element quantity. Paragraph [0059]: In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the quantity of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions in the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions is determined based on a type of the time domain resource allocation table, so as to save the HARQ-ACK information bits.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception is determined by the following formula:
M
A
t
n
-
i
=
m
i
n
(
T
D
R
A
c
o
m
p
u
t
t
n
-
i
,
n
u
m
T
D
M
)
;wherein
M
A
t
n
-
i
is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback,
T
D
R
A
c
o
m
p
u
t
t
n
-
i
is the maximum number of non-overlapping occasions for candidate PDSCH reception in time domain in the (n-i)-th set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback and
n
u
m
T
D
M
is the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE, as taught by Yang in the combined system of Takeda, Jiao, and Kim, so that so that the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions can be determined. And HARQ-ACK information bits can be saved (Yang: Paragraphs [0007], [0056], [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein in case that the multiple candidate services only comprise multicast broadcast services (MBSs), the determining the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception based on the sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for multiple candidate services comprises:
determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services;
determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception.
However, Jiao teaches determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services (Paragraph [0098]: Correspondingly, the terminal may determine a union set of K values in the plurality of K value sets. In this way, the terminal may determine a quantity of HARQ-ACK feedback units of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the quantity of candidate PDSCH reception occasions and the union set of K values. Paragraph [0101]: Example 1: AK value set 1 corresponding to the DCI format 1_1 is {2, 3}, ….a K value set 2 corresponding to a DCI format 1_2 is {1, 2}….Therefore, the terminal may determine that the union set of K values is {1, 2, 3}.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, based on a set of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for each candidate service, a union set of sets of slot timing values for HARQ feedback for all candidate services, as taught by Jiao in the system of Takeda, so that the union set of K values can be used to send HARQ feedback information of a plurality of PDSCHs in the HARQ codebook on one PUCCH, to improve communication efficiency (Jiao: Paragraph [0092], [0098]).
The combination of Takeda and Jiao does not explicitly teach determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception.
However, Kim teaches determining, based on the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for FDM supported by the UE and the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception for TDM supported by the UE, the number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception; and determining, based on the number of all occasions for candidate PDSCH reception, the total number of occasions for candidate PDSCH reception (Paragraph [0200]: For example, when the FDM scheduling is allowed, the terminal may independently generate a HARQ sub-codebook for the multicast PDSCH and a HARQ sub-codebook for the unicast PDSCH. When the TDM scheduling is performed, the terminal may generate one HARQ codebook without distinction between the multicast HARQ sub-c