DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on 7/28/2026 has been received and entered. Application No. 18/553,553 Claims 1-14 & 16 are now pending. Claims 1-3, 5-9 & 11-14 have been amended. Claim 15 is canceled. Claim 16 is new.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection.
This action is made final in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 9, 10 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "receive an output of the executed remote computing device form the server;" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites an executed remote computing device without prior claims to teach an executing of a remote computing device.
Claims 2-4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "receive an output of the executed remote computing device form the server." in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites an executed remote computing device without prior claims to teach an executing of a remote computing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Pub 2016/0044139) hereinafter Lin, in view of RENSCHLER et a. (U.S. Pub 2022/0261951) hereinafter Ren.
As per Claim 1, Lin teaches A system for providing a remote computing resource to a user equipment, the system comprising the user equipment and at least one server, wherein: (Fig. 2A, ¶5, ¶6, ¶88 wherein transmitting hardware data from drivers on a client to a server wherein receiving a rendering command, a parameter and/or a texture from the server, and transmitting the rendering command, the parameter and/or the texture to a driver on the client to render the graphic with a GPU on the client wherien interactive region 116 may be configured as a shutter button and the picture (the hardware data) generated when interactive region 116 is acted (shutter button pressed) may be transmitted to second computing device 200/server (or the virtual machine 212 or the second app 2).)
the user equipment is configured to: receive a user input from an input device of the user equipment; and (Fig. 2A, ¶39, ¶48, ¶52 , ¶88 wherien After configuration based on hardware setting is complete (i.e. after configuring first app 1 based on the received hardware setting), when a user presses button 116 shown on UI 118, first app 1 may initiate the camera module of first computing device 100 to take a picture wherien When a user interacts with UI 118 shown on the screen of first computing device 100 (e.g., by touching the screen of the smartphone), a coordinate on screen/UI 118 representing the location where the user touched may be transmitted to daemon 26 by first app 1 wherien the user may initiate a process via first app 1 on first computing device 100 to operate second app 2 on virtual machine 212. The user may touch the screen of first computing device 100. This generates an input event wherein the hardware setting relates to configuring first app 1 to take a picture. Accordingly, interactive region 116 may be configured as a shutter button and the picture (the hardware data) generated when interactive region 116 is acted (shutter button pressed) may be transmitted to second computing device 200/server (or the virtual machine 212 or the second app 2))
send data identifying the user input to the server, (Fig. 3A, ¶39, ¶48, ¶52, ¶88 when a user presses button 116 shown on UI 118, first app 1 may initiate the camera module of first computing device 100 to take a picture. Subsequently, the picture (in a file, binary code or other data format) may be transmitted to daemon 26 wherien when a user interacts with UI 118 shown on the screen of first computing device 100 (e.g., by touching the screen of the smartphone), a coordinate on screen/UI 118 representing the location where the user touched may be transmitted to daemon 26 by first app 1 wherein the touch event may be transmitted to second computing device 200 (via or by the help of daemon 26) as an input to second app 2 wherien the picture (the hardware data) generated when interactive region 116 is acted (shutter button pressed) may be transmitted to second computing device 200/ server)
wherein the data identifying the user input is based on data from a hardware driver of the input device; (¶50, ¶89 wherien the function or method may include receiving hardware data from a Bluetooth, a Wi-Fi, an NFC, a camera, a GPS, a gyroscope, an e-compass and an accelerometer wherien solid lines represent hardware data transfer, e.g., picture or other kinds of hardware data (may be a file, binary code, and/or value/data in JSON/XML structure which comes from hardware device 12 or first app 1)
and is sent from the hardware driver; and (Fig. 3A, ¶56, ¶64 wherien first app 1 may use a camera (hardware device 12) via the first camera API (e.g., initiating a first camera driver, that is, a driver 111 on first computing device 100) to take a picture or an image in binary format (i.e., the hardware data e.g., binary code, file value or data). The picture may be sent to memory 10 or other storage (not shown), and first app 1 may access memory 10 or the storage to get the picture. Next, first app 1 may transmit the hardware data (i.e. the picture/image) to daemon 26, and the hardware data may be kept in memory 20. Moreover, first app 1 may also notify virtual machine 212 (thru daemon 26) that the picture is successfully taken by hardware device 12. After receiving the notification, second app 2 may access memory 20, that is, app 2 may use the picture (i.e., to display the picture on UI 218 or include the picture in the screen output of second app 2 wherien the Arowser™ (first app 1) may couple with a plurality of drivers prior to receiving any hardware setting, and later transmit the relevant hardware data from the selected driver to second computing device 200 based on the hardware setting)
receive an output of the executed remote computing device from the server; and (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, ¶36 wherien A user may use first app 1 to receive screen output (or UI 218) of second app 2 and display it as a screen output (or UI 118) of first app 1. Via the screen output/UI 218 of second app 2 shown on the screen output/UI 118 of first app 1, a user may further operate second app 2 by sending the coordinate of a point on UI 118 that was touched by user to a daemon 26, a software or a software server that runs on virtual machine 212 or couples with virtual machine 212 wherien if daemon 26 does not run on virtual machine 212 but instead couples with virtual machine 212, daemon 26 may be executed on second computing device 200 or on any computing device that couples with virtual machine 212 in the network. In another example, a remote desktop protocol may also be applied to generate a touch event to second app 2 when the user touches a point on UI 118.)
the server is configured to: receive the data identifying the user input; (¶39, ¶52 wherien Daemon 26 may be configured to receive the picture and store it in memory 20, the touch event may be transmitted to second computing device 200 (via or by the help of daemon 26) as an input to second app 2. In another example, first app 1 may only transmit the coordinate to daemon 26. Daemon 26 may then send the coordinate to generate an input event)
cause execution of the remote computing resource based on the data identifying the user input; and (¶39, ¶49 wherien second app 2 may go to memory 20 to retrieve the picture and display it on the screen output Next, second app 2 may receive an input event and respond to such input event accordingly (e.g., receiving notice that shutter button 216 is pressed based on the coordinate and using the camera API on virtual machine 212 to take a picture). Operating second app 2 on the virtual machine/server remotely via first app 1 on first computing device 100 is therefore achieved)
send the output of the executed remote computing resource to the user equipment. (Fig. 3C, ¶54 wherien Next, second app 2 may respond to the touch event as if the user is directly touching a point corresponding to (238, 458) on UI 218. [...] Hardware-setting module 214 may generate a hardware setting (e.g., a value or a set of values) that dispatches hardware-related module 17 to use a first camera API (not shown) on first computing device 100. The hardware setting may be transmitted to first app 1 by daemon 26 via internet)
However, Lin does not explicitly teach and is sent from without passing through a local application layer of the user equipment; and
Ren teaches send data to the server wherein the data is sent without passing through a local application layer of the user equipment; and receive an output; and (Fig. 2, ¶53 wherein By reading directly from the image buffer, much of the negotiation process between hardware drivers, an operating system, and the software application can be bypassed. Because checking how much of the image frame is currently stored in the image buffer can be done very quickly (e.g., through a quick memory read at a watermark position for one or more watermarks), a partial image frame can be reliably sent with certainty that the partial image frame includes data from the newly captured image frame and not any pre-existing data in the image frame buffer. A processor that receives partial image frames can process the partial image frames while the rest of the image frame is still being captured, reducing wasted time. In examples where image frame data is composited with virtual content, a camera frame rate can by synchronized in rate and/or in phase with the virtual content)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of low latency frame delivery of Ren with the teaching of communications between apps and virtual machines of Lin because Ren teaches an improved image processing for quick receipt of partial image frames at an application. An image processing system marks existing image frame buffer data in an image frame buffer with watermarks (and/or other metadata) at in one or more predetermined regions. An image sensor captures image frame data corresponding to an image frame, and gradually fills the image frame buffer with the image frame data as the image sensor captures the image frame and/or once some early image processing tasks complete. The image processing system can read the memory at one or more of the predetermined regions to identify which of the watermark still remain in the image frame buffer, and which of the watermarks have been overwritten by new or alternate data, such as the image frame data. The image processing system can efficiently identify, based on which watermarks have been overwritten by the image frame data, that at least a predetermined amount (e.g., percentage) of the image frame has been captured and stored in the image frame buffer. (¶5)
As per Claim 2, Lin as modified further teaches wherein one or more of the at least one servers
comprises a remote hardware abstraction layer for the input device of the user equipment, (Fig. 3A-3C, ¶59 wherein HAL 208 may receive hardware data (the picture) directly from the internet (i.e., by the help of daemon 26) and pass it to second app 2 or store it in memory 20 for second app 2 to access; as taught by Lin)
preferably wherein the user equipment comprises an interface that is configured to communicate the data identifying the user input to the remote hardware abstraction layer of the server. (Fig. 3A-3C, ¶39, ¶48, ¶66 wherien When a user interacts with UI 118 shown on the screen of first computing device 100 (e.g., by touching the screen of the smartphone), a coordinate on screen/UI 118 representing the location where the user touched may be transmitted to daemon 26 by first app 1. In one example, daemon 26 may generate a corresponding input event to virtual machine 212. In another example, daemon 26 may send the coordinate it received to virtual machine 212 and a virtual IO module/interface (e.g., a vr_io_int 210c in FIG. 3A, 3B, 4A or 4B) may generate a corresponding input event to second app 2 wherien first app 1 may further include a transmitter 19. Transmitter 19 may be configured to transmit hardware data from the driver (the driver 111) to virtual machine 212. ; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the remote hardware abstraction layer of the server comprises or is configured to communicate using one or a plurality of application programming interfaces, APIs configured to cause the server to receive the data identifying the user input, preferably wherein the one or a plurality of APIs are configured to cause the server to interface with one or a plurality of respective hardware drivers of the user equipment to receive the data identifying the user input. (Fig. 3A-3C, ¶50, ¶54 wherien dash lines represent API calls/function calls/system calls, commands/instructions and/or parameters/values (e.g., in JSON or XML structure), while solid lines represent hardware data transfer wherien point (238, 458) may locate in a range of shutter button 216 on UI 218, and second app 2 may use a second camera API (not shown) after receiving the touch event. Since virtual machine 212 does not have a camera module (or relative hardware device), hardware-setting module 214 may be configured to intercept the call when/before it is sent to a camera driver (i.e. a driver 211 or a pseudo camera driver in this example) on virtual machine 212. Hardware-setting module 214 may generate a hardware setting (e.g., a value or a set of values) that dispatches hardware-related module 17 (shown in FIG. 3C) to use a first camera API (not shown) on first computing device 100. The hardware setting may be transmitted to first app 1 by daemon 26 via internet (e.g., via HTTP protocol). ; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the remote computing resource comprises: a cloud-based operating system, OS, configured to be executed based on the data identifying the user input; and/or a remote application configured to be executed based on the data identifying the user input. (Fig. 2A-2B, ¶36 wherien first app 1 may be executed on first computing device 100 and second app 2 may be executed on virtual machine 212 that runs on second computing device 200. A user may use first app 1 to receive screen output (or UI 218) of second app 2 and display it as a screen output (or UI 118) of first app 1. Via the screen output/UI 218 of second app 2 shown on the screen output/UI 118 of first app 1, a user may further operate second app 2 by sending the coordinate of a point on UI 118 that was touched by user to a daemon 26, a software or a software server that runs on virtual machine 212 or couples with virtual machine 212 (please refer to FIG. 2C, 2D, 3A, 3B, 4A or 4B). If daemon 26 does not run on virtual machine 212 but instead couples with virtual machine 212, daemon 26 may be executed on second computing device 200 or on any computing device that couples with virtual machine 212 in the network. In another example, a remote desktop protocol may also be applied to generate a touch event to second app 2 when the user touches a point on UI 118. ; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches further configured to send buffered content to the user equipment, preferably wherein the buffered content comprises any one or more of: screen animations; audio content; video content; image content, vibration, and/or haptic feedback. (Fig. 2A-2C, Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 4A-4B, ¶41, ¶48 wherien the 3D graphics rendered by GPU 22 may be kept in memory 20 (wherein a part of memory 20 may be a framebuffer in this example), and the 3D graphics in the framebuffer may subsequently be accessed by daemon 26 and transmitted to first app 1 and displayed as app stream on UI 118 or the screen output of first app 1, as shown in FIG. 2C. wherein In one example, daemon 26 may generate a corresponding input event to virtual machine 212. In another example, daemon 26 may send the coordinate it received to virtual machine 212 and a virtual IO module/interface (e.g., a vr_io_int 210c in FIG. 3A, 3B, 4A or 4B) may generate a corresponding input event to second app 2. In one example, vr_io_int 210c may be configured to transmit/receive/buffer general input/output to/from the second app 2. Moreover, the general input/output may include an image, an audio or other hardware data. as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein: the output of the executed remote computing resource comprises any one or more of: an image; an audio stream; a video stream; an instruction to provide haptic feedback; and/or an instruction to operate a sensor of the user equipment. (Fig. 3C, ¶55 wherien a pair of coordinates transmitted with hardware setting can be used to configure a rectangular area (i.e., shutter button 116) on screen output/UI 118 of first app 1 (i.e., the pair of the coordinates mean, e.g., a left-top and right-down point of the area to be configured) wherein First app 1 may be configured to couple the area with corresponding API (or hardware device), or with a camera (i.e., hardware device 12) of first computing device 100, based on the received hardware setting; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 14, Lin teaches A user equipment for interacting with a remote computing resource, configured to: receive a user input from an input device of the user equipment; (Fig. 2A, ¶39, ¶48, ¶52 , ¶88 wherien After configuration based on hardware setting is complete (i.e. after configuring first app 1 based on the received hardware setting), when a user presses button 116 shown on UI 118, first app 1 may initiate the camera module of first computing device 100 to take a picture wherien When a user interacts with UI 118 shown on the screen of first computing device 100 (e.g., by touching the screen of the smartphone), a coordinate on screen/UI 118 representing the location where the user touched may be transmitted to daemon 26 by first app 1 wherien the user may initiate a process via first app 1 on first computing device 100 to operate second app 2 on virtual machine 212. The user may touch the screen of first computing device 100. This generates an input event wherein the hardware setting relates to configuring first app 1 to take a picture. Accordingly, interactive region 116 may be configured as a shutter button and the picture (the hardware data) generated when interactive region 116 is acted (shutter button pressed) may be transmitted to second computing device 200/server (or the virtual machine 212 or the second app 2))
send data identifying the user input to a server configured to cause execution of the remote computing resource, (Fig. 3A, ¶39, ¶48, ¶52, ¶88 when a user presses button 116 shown on UI 118, first app 1 may initiate the camera module of first computing device 100 to take a picture. Subsequently, the picture (in a file, binary code or other data format) may be transmitted to daemon 26 wherien when a user interacts with UI 118 shown on the screen of first computing device 100 (e.g., by touching the screen of the smartphone), a coordinate on screen/UI 118 representing the location where the user touched may be transmitted to daemon 26 by first app 1 wherein the touch event may be transmitted to second computing device 200 (via or by the help of daemon 26) as an input to second app 2 wherien the picture (the hardware data) generated when interactive region 116 is acted (shutter button pressed) may be transmitted to second computing device 200/ server)
wherein the data identifying the user input is based on data from a hardware driver of the input device; and (¶50, ¶89 wherien the function or method may include receiving hardware data from a Bluetooth, a Wi-Fi, an NFC, a camera, a GPS, a gyroscope, an e-compass and an accelerometer wherien solid lines represent hardware data transfer, e.g., picture or other kinds of hardware data (may be a file, binary code, and/or value/data in JSON/XML structure which comes from hardware device 12 or first app 1)
and is sent from the hardware driver; and (Fig. 3A, ¶56, ¶64 wherien first app 1 may use a camera (hardware device 12) via the first camera API (e.g., initiating a first camera driver, that is, a driver 111 on first computing device 100) to take a picture or an image in binary format (i.e., the hardware data e.g., binary code, file value or data). The picture may be sent to memory 10 or other storage (not shown), and first app 1 may access memory 10 or the storage to get the picture. Next, first app 1 may transmit the hardware data (i.e. the picture/image) to daemon 26, and the hardware data may be kept in memory 20. Moreover, first app 1 may also notify virtual machine 212 (thru daemon 26) that the picture is successfully taken by hardware device 12. After receiving the notification, second app 2 may access memory 20, that is, app 2 may use the picture (i.e., to display the picture on UI 218 or include the picture in the screen output of second app 2 wherien the Arowser™ (first app 1) may couple with a plurality of drivers prior to receiving any hardware setting, and later transmit the relevant hardware data from the selected driver to second computing device 200 based on the hardware setting)
receive an output of the executed remote computing resource from the server. (Fig. 3C, ¶54 wherien Next, second app 2 may respond to the touch event as if the user is directly touching a point corresponding to (238, 458) on UI 218. [...] Hardware-setting module 214 may generate a hardware setting (e.g., a value or a set of values) that dispatches hardware-related module 17 to use a first camera API (not shown) on first computing device 100. The hardware setting may be transmitted to first app 1 by daemon 26 via internet)
However, Lin does not explicitly teach and is sent from without passing through a local application layer of the user equipment; and
Ren teaches send data to the server wherein the data is sent without passing through a local application layer of the user equipment; and receive an output; and (Fig. 2, ¶53 wherein By reading directly from the image buffer, much of the negotiation process between hardware drivers, an operating system, and the software application can be bypassed. Because checking how much of the image frame is currently stored in the image buffer can be done very quickly (e.g., through a quick memory read at a watermark position for one or more watermarks), a partial image frame can be reliably sent with certainty that the partial image frame includes data from the newly captured image frame and not any pre-existing data in the image frame buffer. A processor that receives partial image frames can process the partial image frames while the rest of the image frame is still being captured, reducing wasted time. In examples where image frame data is composited with virtual content, a camera frame rate can by synchronized in rate and/or in phase with the virtual content)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of low latency frame delivery of Ren with the teaching of communications between apps and virtual machines of Lin because Ren teaches an improved image processing for quick receipt of partial image frames at an application. An image processing system marks existing image frame buffer data in an image frame buffer with watermarks (and/or other metadata) at in one or more predetermined regions. An image sensor captures image frame data corresponding to an image frame, and gradually fills the image frame buffer with the image frame data as the image sensor captures the image frame and/or once some early image processing tasks complete. The image processing system can read the memory at one or more of the predetermined regions to identify which of the watermark still remain in the image frame buffer, and which of the watermarks have been overwritten by new or alternate data, such as the image frame data. The image processing system can efficiently identify, based on which watermarks have been overwritten by the image frame data, that at least a predetermined amount (e.g., percentage) of the image frame has been captured and stored in the image frame buffer. (¶5)
As per Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the user equipment comprises a local hardware abstraction layer for interfacing with one or a plurality of respective hardware drivers of the user equipment. (Fig. 3A, ¶56 wherien ) first app 1 may use a camera (hardware device 12) via the first camera API (e.g., initiating a first camera driver, that is, a driver 111 on first computing device 100) to take a picture or an image in binary format (i.e., the hardware data e.g., binary code, file value or data). The picture may be sent to memory 10 or other storage (not shown), and first app 1 may access memory 10 or the storage to get the picture. Next, first app 1 may transmit the hardware data (i.e. the picture/image) to daemon 26, and the hardware data may be kept in memory 20. Moreover, first app 1 may also notify virtual machine 212 (thru daemon 26) that the picture is successfully taken by hardware device 12; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the user equipment is configured to, in response to identifying that a connection between the user equipment does not satisfy one or more connection quality criteria, execute a local computing resource of the user equipment based on the data identifying the user input and using the local hardware abstraction layer, preferably wherein the local computing resource comprises a local operating system and/or a local application. (¶68, ¶99 wherien a buffering module (not shown) coupled with transmitter 19 may be configured to buffer hardware data in the storage (not shown, e.g., an SD card) or memory (e.g., memory 10 or other memory) of the client (first computing device 100) when there is no network service. In this example, transmitter 19 may be configured to transmit hardware data to daemon 26 (or virtual machine 212) after network resumes; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the one or more connection quality criteria comprise any one or more of: a measure of latency for the user equipment; a measure of latency for the user equipment and/or the server; a measure of latency between the user equipment and the server; a measure of signal strength at the user equipment; a measure of a download and/or upload bandwidth of the user equipment; a measure of a download and/or upload bandwidth of the server; a measure of a packet loss rate; an indication of whether the user equipment and/or the server is connected to a network; and/or a measure of jitter. (Fig. 2A-2D, Fig. 4A-4B, ¶41, ¶72 wherien the 3D graphics rendered by GPU 22 may be kept in memory 20 (wherein a part of memory 20 may be a framebuffer in this example), and the 3D graphics in the framebuffer may subsequently be accessed by daemon 26 and transmitted to first app 1 and displayed as app stream on UI 118 or the screen output of first app 1, as shown in FIG. 2C wherien a system for communications between first app 1 and the server or virtual machine 212 using hardware device on the client (i.e., hardware device 12 or GPU 12′) to render graphics of second app 2 on the server or virtual machine 212. ; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the local computing resource has: lower computing resource requirements than the remote computing resource; or equal computing resource requirements to the remote computing resource. (Fig. 1A-1B, ¶34 wherien libraries or APIs related to hardware data are not coupled to real hardware (e.g., a GPU, a camera, sensors or chip, etc.) supported by mobile OS. Although mobile OS running on virtual machine can support various hardware resources (e.g., it may have APIs or drivers corresponding to the hardware), it cannot gather/receive hardware data, such as coordinates, tilts, rotation, shakings, proximity, lamination, etc., because it is not running on a device with real, physical hardware. In another example, although the PC/server on which the virtual machine is run may have hardware such as a GPU, the graphics API or driver in the mobile OS may still not be compatible with the hardware of the PC/server outside the virtual machine (e.g., GPUs for smartphones and servers may differ in both specifications, drivers, supported libraries and/or interfaces). The hardware resources on a PC or a server where the virtual machine is run may be different from those in a mobile device where mobile OS is designed to be run; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the user input comprises any one or more of: a touch input; an audio input; a camera input; a physical button input; a fingerprint reader input; and/or a proximity sensor input. (¶54 wherien second app 2 may respond to the touch event as if the user is directly touching a point corresponding to (238, 458) on UI 218. In this example, point (238, 458) may locate in a range of shutter button 216 on UI 218, and second app 2 may use a second camera API (not shown) after receiving the touch event. ; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the user equipment is further configured to: receive the output of the executed remote computing resource; and (Fig. 3C, ¶54 wherien Next, second app 2 may respond to the touch event as if the user is directly touching a point corresponding to (238, 458) on UI 218. In this example, point (238, 458) may locate in a range of shutter button 216 on UI 218, and second app 2 may use a second camera API (not shown) after receiving the touch event. Since virtual machine 212 does not have a camera module (or relative hardware device), hardware-setting module 214 may be configured to intercept the call when/before it is sent to a camera driver (i.e. a driver 211 or a pseudo camera driver in this example) on virtual machine 212. Hardware-setting module 214 may generate a hardware setting (e.g., a value or a set of values) that dispatches hardware-related module 17 (shown in FIG. 3C) to use a first camera API (not shown) on first computing device 100. The hardware setting may be transmitted to first app 1 by daemon 26 via internet (e.g., via HTTP protocol). ; as taught by Lin)
provide the output of the executed remote computing resource on an output device of the user equipment. (Fig. 3C, ¶55 wherien a pair of coordinates transmitted with hardware setting can be used to configure a rectangular area (i.e., shutter button 116) on screen output/UI 118 of first app 1 (i.e., the pair of the coordinates mean, e.g., a left-top and right-down point of the area to be configured). First app 1 may be configured to couple the area with corresponding API (or hardware device), or with a camera (i.e., hardware device 12) of first computing device 100, based on the received hardware setting. In another example, the step of transmitting the pair of coordinates back to first app 1 may not be necessary since first app 1 may be configured to generate button 116 with predetermined size/area/shape (i.e., it may generate a predetermined sized/shaped button once it receives a hardware setting and a coordinate), and it may only configure the area in the predetermined size/shape at the coordinate where the user touched. ; as taught by Lin)
As per Claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Lin as modified further teaches wherein the user equipment comprises any one or more of: a smartphone; a tablet; a personal computer; a television; a smart watch; a smart mirror; smart glasses; an augmented reality headset; a virtual reality headset; a smart windscreen; and/or a smart wearable device. (¶48, ¶53 wherien When a user interacts with UI 118 shown on the screen of first computing device 100 (e.g., by touching the screen of the smartphone), a coordinate on screen/UI 118 representing the location where the user touched may be transmitted to daemon 26 by first app 1 wherien first computing device 100 may be a tablet PC but virtual machine 212 may simulate a smartphone having different screen resolution; as taught by Lin)
Claim 16 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection wherein Ren is relied upon to teach the following limitation “and is sent from without passing through a local application layer of the user equipment; and”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-Form 892 for listed of cited references.
Inquiry
/ANGIE BADAWI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179