DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara JP2005013166 (translation provided with the Office action relied on herein for reference) with evidence provided by Sammartino “Enzymes in Brewing” MBAA TQ vol. 52, no. 3, 2015, pp. 156–164.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 16, Fujiwara teaches a process of making a barley extract comprising:
Roasting barley in a rotary roaster at 100°-250°C (pg. 2)
Immersing the roasted barley in an extracting solvent at 80°C (pg. 2,3)
Recovering the extract (pg. 2)
The roasting temperature and solvent extraction temperature of Fujiwara overlap the values recited in claims 1, 15 and 16. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Sammartino teaches that in barley β-glucanase is deactivated at 140°F, ferulic acid esterase is deactivated at 149°F, proteases are deactivated at 158–167°F, dextrinase is deactivated at 145°F, β-amylase is deactivated at 158°F, α-amylase is deactivated at 176°F and β-glucan solubilase is deactivated 163°F. (pg. 159) Given that Fujiwara teaches roasting at temperatures above 200°F, the roasting process of Fujiwara would necessarily deactivate the endogenous enzymes in the barley grain as recited is claim 1.
Fujiwara is silent regarding the heating duration for the roasting step. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have optimized the roasting time to ensure sufficient roasted flavor development while avoiding allowing the barley to burn. As such, the heating times recited in claims 1, 15 and 16 are merely an obvious variant of the prior art. Therefore, claims 1, 15 and 16 do not recite any patentable distinctions from the prior art.
Regarding claim 3, Fujiwara teaches the barley may be crushed which is interpreted to read on barley grits. (pg. 2)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara JP2005013166 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Savory Spice “Examining Baking Extracts: How Are They Made?” https://www.savoryspiceshop.com/blogs/news/examining-extracts?srsltid=AfmBOoq9vKpqDa9V-HpZ0cW8_mw7isEGmSkGif2C5yISZrBUS5i69xuC published online 26 November 2014, retrieved 12 May 2025.
Regarding claim 2, Fujiwara teaches what has been recited above. The solvent for extraction used in Fujiwara is disclosed to comprise ethanol and water. (pg. 2)
Savory Spice teaches regarding extracts “Alcohol is used with water to extract solvents and to keep the essential oils from separating (as oil and water are prone to do). For this same reason, solvents are used to maximize the extraction of flavor compounds that aren’t water-soluble. When looking at many of our extracts you’ll likely see one of the following: propylene glycol or polysorbate.” “Propylene glycol (or PG) is recognized by the FDA as being safe for use in food and is a clear, slightly syrupy solvent that has a bitter and slightly sweet taste but is otherwise flavorless. PG is highly effective in dispersing oil soluble flavor compounds and, because most extracts are added to food in very small amounts, the flavor is rarely perceptible in food.” (pg. 1)
Fujiwara and Savory Spice are both directed towards flavor extracts for food. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have used propylene glycol as the extracting solvent in Fujiwara given that propylene glycol was well known in the extraction arts to be highly effective in dispersing oil soluble flavor compounds and, because most extracts are added to food in very small amounts, the flavor is rarely perceptible in food. Therefore, the obvious modification of Fujiwara with Savory Spice renders obvious claim 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response is sufficient to overcome the previously pending claim objection. Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is sufficient to overcome the previously pending rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 6-7 of the remarks that barley grain as claimed is distinct from malted barley grain as disclosed by Fujiwara. This assertion is not found persuasive as “barley grain” is a genus of which malted barley grain is a species. Applicant refers to “raw” barley grain, however the claims are not limited to raw barley grain and therefore any differences identified between the two are not germane to the claims. Whether barley has been malted or not, it is still barley grain as presently claimed.
Applicant asserts on page 7 of the remarks that one or ordinary skill in art would not apply the parameters of Fujiwara to raw, unmalted barley. This assertion is not germane as the rejection does not rely on this modification of Fujiwara.
Applicant’s assertions on page 7 of the remarks regarding roasting duration fail to address the merits of the rejection that relies on the obvious optimization of the roasting process time to ensure sufficient roasted flavor development while avoiding allowing the barley to burn. Applicant asserts that variables must be explicitly identified by the prior art to be optimizable. Clearly, the level of ordinary skill in the food art includes the knowledge that if you roast something, there is a threshold at which the roasting improves flavor and at which the roasting results in burning. This fundamental principle of cooking has been known since homo erectus invented using fire to roast meat. Applicant’s assertion that one of ordinary skill in the art does not understand roasting is contrary to the common sense possessed by any individual who has cooked something. Applicant has failed to demonstrate any criticality to the roasting time claimed and therefore the recitation of the roasting time in claim 1 is not patentable distinction over the prior art.
Applicant asserts on page 8 that the roasting temperature of Sammartino would not necessarily inactivate all of the enzymes in Fujiwara. However, claim 1 does not require deactivation of “all” of the enzymes. Claim 1 recites “to deactivate endogenous enzymes in the barley grain” which is interpreted to require the deactivation of only some of the endogenous enzymes. As such, since the heating of Fujiwara takes place at temperatures that cause enzyme deactivation as taught by Sammartino, the present rejection satisfies the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793