DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed February 20, 2026.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed February 20, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent August 28, 2025 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed February 20, 2026, the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) previously presented in the Office Action sent August 28, 2025 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed February 20, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent August 28, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the organic electronic component" on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Amending “the organic electronic component” to “the electronic component” would overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorok et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0155047 A1).
With regard to claims 1-5 and 7, Dorok et al. discloses a chemical compound of
the general formula I (see C12 at Table 1, column 12).
Dorok et al. does not teach, in a single embodiment, wherein the central phenyl derivative is a naphthyl derivative.
However, Dorok et al. teaches A can be a C10 aryl (see claim 4).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected C10 aryl as A in the chemical compound of Dorok et al. because Dorok et al. teaches C10 aryl as an appropriate selection for A in the chemical compound.
It would have also been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried the opposite/para attachment sites on the central naphthyl derivative (providing for the claimed Compound 2) because the opposite attachment sites on the central naphthyl derivative are one in a finite number of options immediately recognizable by a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
With regard to claim 8, independent claim 1 is obvious over Dorok et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Dorok et al. discloses
A method of using a chemical compound, the method comprising: manufacturing an electronic component comprising the chemical compound as claimed in claim 1 (see, for example, [0024-0027]).
With regard to claim 9, independent claim 1 is obvious over Dorok et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Dorok et al. discloses
an electronic component having an electrode, a counter-electrode and a layer system between the electrode and the counter-electrode, wherein the layer system comprises at least one organic layer and at least one transport layer, wherein the at least one organic layer and/or the at least one transport layer comprises at least one chemical compound as claimed in 1 (see, for example, [0024-0027]).
With regard to claim 10, claim 9 is obvious over Dorok et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Dorok et al. discloses wherein
the proportion of the at least one chemical compound in the at least one organic layer and/or the at least one transport layer is in each case at most 35% by weight based on the total weight of the layer (see [0063] teaching “higher than 10 wt.%” which includes values within the ranges of “at most 35% by weight based on the total weight of the layer”).
With regard to claim 11, claim 8 is obvious over Dorok et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Dorok et al. discloses wherein manufacturing an electronic component comprising the chemical compound as claimed in claim 1 comprises
doping at least one transport layer and/or injection layer in the organic electronic component (see, for example, [0024-0027]).
With regard to claim 12, claim 9 is obvious over Dorok et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Dorok et al. discloses wherein
the at least one organic layer and/or the at least one transport layer comprises at least one chemical compound as claimed in claim 1 as a dopant (see, for example, [0024-0027]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the response that none of the chemical compounds taught by Dorok fall within the claimed formula.
However, the rejections of the claims do not rely on or allege Dorok to explicitly teach the claimed formula.
Applicant argues in the response that Dorok does not specifically teach selecting naphthalene within the genus of “C6-C18 arene”. However, this argument is not persuasive.
Dorok teaches “C6-C18 arene”, which includes C10.
Applicant argues in the response that there is no reasonable expectation of success to try opposite/para attachment sites on the central naphthyl derivative.
However, this argument is not persuasive. Dorok teaches achieving high conductivity by use of the chemical compound as a dopant and teaches C10 as an appropriate selection for A in the chemical compound.
Selecting C10 as an appropriate selection for A in the chemical compound would necessarily include attachment sites on the central naphthyl derivative, and selecting opposite/para attachment sites would have provided reasonable expectation of success of achieving high conductivity by use of the chemical compound as a dopant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 May 26, 2026