DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-27 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/30/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to as reading “triacryl” not “triacyl” glyceride. This appears to be an inadvertent typographical error. For the purpose of on the merits the Examiner will interpret the claims as reciting “triacyl” instead of triacryl. Appropriate correction is requested.
Specification
The specification is objected to for reading “triacryl” instead of triacyl (Paragraph [0007]), Line 23), (Paragraph [0008], Line 3), (Paragraph [0009], Line 6), (Paragraph [0058]), Line 16), and (Paragraph [0068]), Line 20). This appears to be an inadvertent typographical error. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez US 20190300637.
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, Hernandez teaches a block copolymer comprising three blocks PA, PB and PC (Paragraph [0022]). Hernandez teaches block A is a polymerized lactic acid monomer (Paragraph [0023]). The PLLA block reads on the limitations of formula (1) where R3 is a C2 substituted alkylene and b is zero. Hernandez also teaches the PLLA block or PA block comprises CTA end groups (Paragraph [0047]). The PLLA block reads on the claimed polylactide. This reads on the limitations of claim 1 where R4 is an carbonotrithioate substituted alkyl group where the end group is -S-C(S)-S- (Paragraph [0037]), and d and e are zero.
Hernandez also teaches the PC block comprises a polymerized triglyceride (Paragraph [0025]). Hernandez teaches the polymerized triglyceride can be an acrylated epoxidized soybean oil (Claim 53). It would have been obvious to select acrylated epoxidized soybean oil as the polymerized triglyceride because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. This reads on the claimed “soybean oil”
A polymerized acrylated epoxidized soybean oil has the structure of formula (II) where R1 is a hydrogen and R4 is a carbonotrithioate substituted alkyl group where the end group is -S-C(S)-S-.
Hernandez is silent on the value of a, and c. However, Hernandez does teach that the PA block has a MW of 10-30kDa and PC block has a MW of 5-500 KDa (Paragraph [0022]). The range of 5-500 kDa overlaps with the claimed range of 10-1000 kDa. Hernandez also teaches the total degree of polymerization of the block is less than 100,000 (Paragraph [0009]).
The MW of the repeat unit polylactide is 72 therefore the a value of the PA block is from 138-416. This falls within the claimed range of a+b.
The MW of AESO is 1200-1300. The range of the PAESO or PC block is therefore 4-400. This overlaps with the claimed range of c.
Regarding claim 2, Hernandez teaches the PA block is made by polymerizing one or more monomers (Paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious for the PA block to be made by polymerizing more than one monomer because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. This reads on the claimed “copolymer.”
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762