DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 9-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-8 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In formula I, R1 is hydrogen or methyl group, which is not capable of forming a double with another caron atom. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In formula I, R4 is alkyl or benzyl, which is not capable of being grafted to formula II. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims 1-2 and 5-7 of copending Application No.18/553585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the thermoplastic graft copolymer of the conflicting claims reads upon the thermoplastic graft copolymer recited in the presently examined claim. Specifically, the thermoplastic polymer formula I as in conflicting claim 1 is a species of the thermoplastic polymer in the present claims and branched chain thermoplastic polymer of formula II reading upon presently claimed formula II.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson et al (US 2019/0010326, of record, ‘326 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 6-7, ‘326 discloses a composition comprising a polylactide (R7 is alkylene, X is O, and a, b, c are 0) or/and a graft copolymer of acrylated epoxidized soybean oil with polylactide reading upon present claimed formula I ([0008], [0013], [0017], Figure 1), and an acrylated epoxidized soybean oil which forms a branched thermoplastic polymer satisfying presently claimed formula II ([0012], [0031]-[0032], acrylate group forms a polymer at elevated temperature); the composition formed a graft copolymer as presently claimed ([0008]-[0013], [0040]-[0043], Table 1, blends of PLA/AESO and PLA/AESO/SYBO, PLA/AESO/SYBO/STAR, the blends being heated at elevated temperature forms a graft copolymer as presently claimed [0062]); wherein the number average degrees of the polymerization of formula I satisfies presently claimed range of 100 to 200,000 and number average molecular weight range as in claim 7 ([0034], n of PLA block can be 10 to 10,000). ‘326 does not specifically set forth the number average degrees of polymerization of formula II, however, ‘326 discloses that the size of dispersed phase (depending upon number average degrees of polymerization) of acrylated epoxidized soybean oil significantly affect the mechanic properties such as elongation at break and tensile toughness ([0032]), thus the number average degrees of polymerization of acrylated epoxidized soybean oil is an effective variable as to the mechanic properties of the graft copolymer. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the number average degrees of polymerization of acrylated epoxidized soybean oil within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desired mechanical properties of the graft copolymer.
Regrading claims 4-5, ‘326 also disclose the polymer can be polybutadiene, polystyrene, polyamide or polymethacrylate ([0014]-[0015]).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez et al (US 20190300637, ‘637 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-7, ‘637 discloses a block copolymer comprising three blocks PA, PB and PC ([0009], [0013]-[0015], [0019]-[0022]), wherein the block A is a polylactic acid ([0023]) reads upon the presently claimed formula (I) with R3 being -O-R7-O- and R7 being a C2 alkylene; a, b, c being zero; and with a CTA end groups reading upon R4 being an carbonotrithioate group ([0037]-[0038], [0047]). The PC block can be polymerized from an acrylated epoxidized soybean oil ([0025], AESO, [0033]-[0034]), which has a chemical structure of formula (II) where R1 is a hydrogen. ‘637 discloses that the copolymer has a total number average degree up to 100,000 ([0009], [0019], [0047]), and PA block average molecular weight is in a preferred range of 10 to 30 KDa ([0022]), which satisfies number average degrees of polymerization of formula I and molecular weight as in present claim 7. ‘637 also discloses that the PC block has an average molecular weight in a preferred range of 5 to 500KDa, satisfying number average degree of polymerization of formula II.
Regarding claims 2-5, ‘637 discloses that the graft copolymer also included a block B ,which can be formed from polymerization of styrene, methyl methacrylate, butadiene, isoprene and mixture thereof ([0024]).
Regarding claim 8, ‘637 discloses the chain transfer agent having molecular structure -S-C(S)-S- can be used to initiate polymerization of AESO thus render the R4 as in presently claimed formula II having a carbonotrithioate group ([0049], [0051], [0086]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782