DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian et al (US 2021/0329646, hereinafter Fakoorian, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/013,433) and in view of Hosseini et al (US 2023/0247642, hereinafter Hosseini).
Regarding claim 1, Fakoorian discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: determining a first plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for a first set of slots, wherein the first set of slots are preconfigured for a first link and second plurality of bandwidths parts for a second set of slots, wherein the second slots are preconfigured for a second link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122], UL BWPs would be for UL slots and DL BWPs would be for DL slots); wherein the first link is one of uplink and downlink and the second link is the other one of uplink and downlink (the second BWP can be for uplink BWP, downlink BWP or both, Para [0056]. Also see Para [0066] from the provisional application); but does not fully disclose receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating utilizing a first bandwidth part for the first set of slots for a second link and utilizing a second bandwidth part for the second set of slots for the first link, wherein the first bandwidth part is selected from a first additional plurality of bandwidth parts configured for the second link and not for the first link, and the second bandwidth part is selected from a second additional plurality of bandwidth parts configured for the first link and not for the second link. Fakoorian discloses BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second (i.e. first) BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056] and the UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], obvious to one of ordinary skill this can be additional BWPs. Hosseini discloses the BS can dynamically reconfigure slots to switch among any of the full DL, full UL or full duplex modes, Para [0087]. In view of the combination the appropriate UL and DL BWPs will be selected for the re-configured slots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hosseini in the system of Fakoorian in order to aggregate spectrums to dynamically support high-bandwidth services.
Regarding claim 16, Fakoorian discloses a user equipment (UE, Para [0006]), comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor (processor and memory, Para [0006]) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: determine a first plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for a first set of slots, wherein the first set of slots are preconfigured for a first link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]); wherein the first link is one of uplink and downlink and the second link is the other one of uplink and downlink (the second BWP can be for uplink BWP, downlink BWP or both, Para [0056]. Also see Para [0066] from the provisional application); but does not fully disclose receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating utilizing a first bandwidth part for the first set of slots for a second link and utilizing a second bandwidth part for the second set of slots for the first link, wherein the first bandwidth part is selected from a first additional plurality of bandwidth parts configured for the second link and not for the first link, and the second bandwidth part is selected from a second additional plurality of bandwidth parts configured for the first link and not for the second link. Fakoorian discloses BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second (i.e. first) BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056] and the UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], obvious to one of ordinary skill this can be additional BWPs. Hosseini discloses the BS can dynamically reconfigure slots to switch among any of the full DL, full UL or full duplex modes, Para [0087]. In view of the combination the appropriate UL and DL BWPs will be selected for the re-configured slots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hosseini in the system of Fakoorian in order to aggregate spectrums to dynamically support high-bandwidth services.
Regarding claim 20, Fakoorian discloses a processor (processor, Para [0006]) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (processor and memory, Para [0006]) and configured to cause the processor to: determine a first plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for a first set of slots, wherein the first set of slots are preconfigured for a first link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]); wherein the first link is one of uplink and downlink and the second link is the other one of uplink and downlink (the second BWP can be for uplink BWP, downlink BWP or both, Para [0056]. Also see Para [0066] from the provisional application); but does not fully disclose receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating utilizing a first bandwidth part for the first set of slots for a second link and utilizing a second bandwidth part for the second set of slots for the first link, wherein the first bandwidth part is selected from a first additional plurality of bandwidth parts configured for the second link and not for the first link, and the second bandwidth part is selected from a second additional plurality of bandwidth parts configured for the first link and not for the second link. Fakoorian discloses BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second (i.e. first) BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056] and the UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], obvious to one of ordinary skill this can be additional BWPs. Hosseini discloses the BS can dynamically reconfigure slots to switch among any of the full DL, full UL or full duplex modes, Para [0087]. In view of the combination the appropriate UL and DL BWPs will be selected for the re-configured slots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hosseini in the system of Fakoorian in order to aggregate spectrums to dynamically support high-bandwidth services.
Claims 3, 7-11, 14, 15, 18 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian, in view of Hosseini and in view of Hsieh et al (US 2021/0144644, hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, but not wherein the configuration is associated with an RRC signaling with a bitmap. Hsieh discloses the BS can transmit an RRC message with a bitmap, where the bitmap corresponds to the configured BWPs, Para [0070]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hsieh in the system of Fakoorian in view of Hosseini in order to reduce power consumption and properly indicate the BWPs in the configuration.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 2/17, further comprising: performing data transmission or reception with at least one of the first plurality of bandwidth parts for the first link and the first bandwidth part for the second link in a same slot (full duplex, both UL and DL BWP are in the same slot, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: performing data transmission with at least one of the first plurality of bandwidth parts for the first link and the first bandwidth part for the second link in a same slot; and performing data transmission with the second plurality of bandwidth parts for the second link and the second bandwidth part for the first link in a same slot (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]/Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, further comprising: each of the first plurality of bandwidth parts has a same center frequency as a corresponding one in the second plurality of bandwidth parts (UL and DL BWPs may have the same center frequencies, Para [0035]).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, further comprising: each of the first plurality of bandwidth parts is paired with a corresponding one in the second plurality of bandwidth parts, which has a same bandwidth part ID (UL and DL BWPs may have the same BWP identifiers, Para [0035], they can be paired, Para [0108]).
Regarding claims 11 and 25, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, wherein the configuration is associated downlink control information (DCI) (the second BWP configuration may include instructions for receiving DCI, Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 2, wherein each of the bandwidth part in the first plurality of the bandwidth parts is associated with a corresponding bandwidth part of a first additional plurality of the bandwidth parts configured for the UE, and a first bandwidth part in the first plurality of the bandwidth parts is associated with a first bandwidth part of the first additional plurality of the bandwidth parts (UL and DL BWPs can be paired together, Para [0108], also obvious variation the BWPs have some association with each other).
Regarding claim 15, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 14, wherein if bandwidth part switching happens between two bandwidth parts in the first plurality of BWPs, bandwidth part switching happens between two bandwidth parts in the first additional plurality of bandwidth parts associated with the two bandwidth parts in the first additional plurality of bandwidth parts (optional limitation, dynamic switching BWP configurations, Para [0103], DCI BWP switching field, Para [0108]).
Claims 12, 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian, in view of Hosseini and in view of Shi (US 2020/0328867, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, but not wherein the configuration further indicates a first time duration for activating the first bandwidth part. Shi discloses activation time rule for the terminal to control activation of at least one BWP, Para [0020], which can be a pre-configured time pattern, Para [0060]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shi in the system of Fakoorian in view of Hosseini in order to allow for possible BWP activation control on the terminal side.
Regarding claim 13, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 1, but not wherein the configuration further indicates a second time duration for deactivating the first bandwidth part. Shi discloses deactivation time rule for the terminal to control deactivation of at least one BWP, Para [0020], which can be a pre-configured time pattern, Para [0060].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues against the 102 rejection over Fakoorian. These arguments are moot in view of the new rejection in response to the amendments. Further Applicant argues Fakoorian does not disclose taking slot preconfigured for one link and reassigning them to the opposite link via the base station configuration. In response, the new reference Hosseini does disclose dynamically changing the slot from one link to another. Applicant argues over other secondary references but this argument is moot as those references are not being relied on to disclose the amended limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461