DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fakoorian et al (US 2021/0329646, hereinafter Fakoorian, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/013,433).
Regarding claim 1, Fakoorian discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: determining a first plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for a first set of slots, wherein the first set of slots are preconfigured for a first link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]); and receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating utilizing a first bandwidth part for the first set of slots for a second link (BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second (i.e. first) BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056]), wherein the first link is one of uplink and downlink and the second link is the other one of uplink and downlink (the second BWP can be for uplink BWP, downlink BWP or both, Para [0056]. Also see Para [0066] from the provisional application).
Regarding claim 16, Fakoorian discloses a user equipment (UE, Para [0006]), comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor (processor and memory, Para [0006]) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: determine a first plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for a first set of slots, wherein the first set of slots are preconfigured for a first link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]); and receive, from a base station, a configuration indicating utilizing a first bandwidth part for the first set of slots for a second link (BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second (i.e. first) BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056]), wherein the first link is one of uplink and downlink and the second link is the other one of uplink and downlink (the second BWP can be for uplink BWP, downlink BWP or both, Para [0056]. Also see Para [0066] from the provisional application).
Regarding claim 20, Fakoorian discloses a processor (processor, Para [0006]) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (processor and memory, Para [0006]) and configured to cause the processor to: determine a first plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for a first set of slots, wherein the first set of slots are preconfigured for a first link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]); and receive, from a base station, a configuration indicating utilizing a first bandwidth part for the first set of slots for a second link (BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second (i.e. first) BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056]), wherein the first link is one of uplink and downlink and the second link is the other one of uplink and downlink (the second BWP can be for uplink BWP, downlink BWP or both, Para [0056]. Also see Para [0066] from the provisional application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11, 14, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian and in view of Hsieh et al (US 2021/0144644, hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding claim 10, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 1, but not wherein the configuration is associated with an RRC signaling with a bitmap. Hsieh discloses the BS can transmit an RRC message with a bitmap, where the bitmap corresponds to the configured BWPs, Para [0070]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hsieh in the system of Fakoorian in order to reduce power consumption and properly indicate the BWPs in the configuration.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, wherein the first bandwidth part is included in a first additional plurality of bandwidth parts (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], obvious to one of ordinary skill this can be additional BWPs).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 2/17, further comprising: performing data transmission or reception with at least one of the first plurality of bandwidth parts for the first link and the first bandwidth part for the second link in a same slot (full duplex, both UL and DL BWP are in the same slot, Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Fakoorian discloses the method/UE of claim 1/16, further comprising: determining a second plurality of bandwidth parts for a second set of slots, wherein the second set of slots are preconfigured for the second link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], slots can be configured for TDD communications (i.e. uplink slots or downlink slots), Para [0055] or configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]).
Regarding claim 5, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the configuration further indicates utilizing a second bandwidth part for the second set of slots for the first link (BS transmits a second BWP configuration to the UE, where second BWP is for one or more slots, Para [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the second bandwidth part is selected from a second additional plurality of bandwidth parts for the first link (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], obvious to one of ordinary skill this can be additional BWPs).
Regarding claim 7, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: performing data transmission with at least one of the first plurality of bandwidth parts for the first link and the first bandwidth part for the second link in a same slot; and performing data transmission with the second plurality of bandwidth parts for the second link and the second bandwidth part for the first link in a same slot (UE is configured with multiple BWPs, Para [0070], BWP configuration may indicate downlink BWPs and uplink BWPs, Para [0108], configured for sub-band full duplex, Para [0122]/Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: each of the first plurality of bandwidth parts has a same center frequency as a corresponding one in the second plurality of bandwidth parts (UL and DL BWPs may have the same center frequencies, Para [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: each of the first plurality of bandwidth parts is paired with a corresponding one in the second plurality of bandwidth parts, which has a same bandwidth part ID (UL and DL BWPs may have the same BWP identifiers, Para [0035], they can be paired, Para [0108]).
Regarding claim 11, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration is associated downlink control information (DCI) (the second BWP configuration may include instructions for receiving DCI, Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 2, wherein each of the bandwidth part in the first plurality of the bandwidth parts is associated with a corresponding bandwidth part of a first additional plurality of the bandwidth parts configured for the UE, and a first bandwidth part in the first plurality of the bandwidth parts is associated with a first bandwidth part of the first additional plurality of the bandwidth parts (UL and DL BWPs can be paired together, Para [0108], also obvious variation the BWPs have some association with each other).
Regarding claim 15, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 14, wherein if bandwidth part switching happens between two bandwidth parts in the first plurality of BWPs, bandwidth part switching happens between two bandwidth parts in the first additional plurality of bandwidth parts associated with the two bandwidth parts in the first additional plurality of bandwidth parts (optional limitation, dynamic switching BWP configurations, Para [0103], DCI BWP switching field, Para [0108]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian and in view of Shi (US 2020/0328867, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 12, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 1, but not wherein the configuration further indicates a first time duration for activating the first bandwidth part. Shi discloses activation time rule for the terminal to control activation of at least one BWP, Para [0020], which can be a pre-configured time pattern, Para [0060]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shi in the system of Fakoorian in order to allow for possible BWP activation control on the terminal side.
Regarding claim 13, Fakoorian discloses the method of claim 1, but not wherein the configuration further indicates a second time duration for deactivating the first bandwidth part. Shi discloses deactivation time rule for the terminal to control deactivation of at least one BWP, Para [0020], which can be a pre-configured time pattern, Para [0060].
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461