DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on February 06, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1, 4, 11, 16 and 21 have been amended.
4. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on November 10, 2025.
Statement of Substance of Interview
6. Applicant’s representative initiated the interview prior to filing the official Response and discussed proposed amendments related to currently amended claims. Agreement was reached that potential amendments for the independent claims overcome the prior arts of record, contingent upon an opportunity for the Examiner to consider applicant’s amendments to claim language in a formal response to the office. It was noted that Applicant's representative's explanations are clear, detailed and most helpful (Applicant initiated interview summary dated January 07, 2026).
Response to Arguments
7. The applicant's arguments filed on February 06, 2026 regarding claims 1-14 and 16-21 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIN et al. (US 2022/0286818 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/156,813 field on March 4, 2021), hereinafter “Chin” in view of CHANG et al. (US 2023/0388972 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 1, Chin discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.2, schematic diagram illustrating an example of a UE having a PDCP entity, as an anchor entity to support dynamic switching between the Point to Point (PTP) transmission scheme and the Point to Multipoint (PTM) transmission scheme), the method comprising:
during an active time period for a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) discontinuous reception (DRX) operation (Fig.2, paragraphs [0109], [0223]-[0234], [0257], while the new transmission timer for an MBS is running, the UE may be in the DRX Active Time for the corresponding MBS), monitoring a point to multipoint (PTM) initial transmission (Fig.2, PTM leg 202 scheduled for DL resources for a new transmission) associated with a MBS from a base station (Fig.2, paragraphs [0109], [0223]-[0234], [0257], during the DRX Active Time for the corresponding MBS, the UE may monitor on a PDCCH for possible scheduling information that schedules the corresponding MBS), wherein the PTM initial transmission (Fig.2, paragraphs [0109], [0223]-[0234], [0257], new transmission for MBS) is further associated with a first identifier (Fig.2, paragraphs [0109], [0223]-[0234], [0257], scheduling information associated with G-RNTI corresponding MBS); and
monitoring a PTM retransmission (Fig.2, PTM legs 202 or 204 scheduled for DL resources for retransmission) associated with the MBS from a base station (Fig.2, paragraph [0252], second scheduling information for PTM transmission or PTP), wherein the PTM retransmission is further associated (Fig.2, paragraphs [0193], [0208], [0252], [0254], retransmission timer configured per MBS; while the retransmission timer for an MBS is running, the UE may be in (e.g., remain/stay/operate in) the DRX Active Time for the corresponding MBS) with the first identifier, a second identifier, or both of the first and second identifiers (Fig.2, paragraphs [0193], [0208], [0252], [0254], second scheduling information associated with a G-RNTI that corresponds to the MBS or associated with a C-RNTI).
While Chin implicitly refers to “wherein the PTM retransmission is monitored during an active time period for a unicast DRX operation that is separate from the MBS DRX operation” (paragraphs [0177], [0207], [0209], UE may (re)start a retransmission timer for controlling the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE's C-RNTI (in addition to (re)starting another retransmission timer from a DRX configuration, which is mapped to the MBS, and is for controlling the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE's G-RNTI of the MBS); here, the retransmission timer may correspond to the HARQ process ID of the DL resource, e.g., a retransmission timer that corresponds to unicast DRX configuration (e.g., a non-MBS DRX configuration or a DRX configuration that does not map to any MBS) and the HARQ process ID of the first DL resource (e.g., a drx-RetransmisisonTimerDL); in another word, while the retransmission timer is running, the UE may monitor/decode a PDCCH for the second DL assignment that associates with the UE's C-RNTI; here, the first DL assignment and the second DL assignment may correspond to the same HARQ process), Chang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the PTM retransmission is monitored during an active time period for a unicast DRX operation that is separate from the MBS DRX operation (paragraphs [0049]-[0053], [0055]-[0058], [0059], for reception of the first-type MBS services, it is generally considered that the point to multipoint (PTM) multicast or broadcast mode is employed, and for the second-type MBS services, current reception modes include the following:
reception mode 1: reception is performed via only a point to multipoint (PTM) channel;
reception mode 2: reception is performed via only a point to point (PTP) channel;
reception mode 3: independent reception is performed on two channels via PTM and PTP modes simultaneously; and
reception mode 4: reception is performed via PTM and PTP modes, but the PTP channel is only used as a retransmission channel;
If MBS reception may also be configured to be DRX in the NR system, in consideration of the above MBS reception mode 4 in the RRC connected state, a DRX configuration for MBS reception may include the following implementation modes:
Implementation mode 1: DRX for a unicast service and MBS DRX operate completely independently, and do not affect each other; This is similar to an operation mode between unicast DRX and SC-PTM DRX in LTE.
Implementation mode 2: DRX for a unicast service and MBS DRX use the same DRX functionality; That is, the DRX operation is performed without distinguishing between the unicast service and the MBS service. In this mode, MBS service reception and unicast service reception employ the same DRX operation and configuration.
Implementation mode 3: unicast DRX and MBS DRX are configured separately, and the DRX operations may affect each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the PTM retransmission is monitored during an active time period for a unicast DRX operation that is separate from the MBS DRX operation” as taught by Chang, in the system of Chin, so that it would provide relevant problems involved in achieving support or capabilities required in a radio access network (RAN) to enable MBS services to be supported in a 5G system (Chang, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Chin discloses the first identifier is a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), and the second identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE (Fig.2, paragraphs [0109], [0257], PTM leg 202 to receive scheduling information (e.g., DCI associated with a G-RNTI) that schedules a group-common PDSCH; for PTM transmission scheme 2, the UE may also use the PTM leg 202 to receive scheduling information (e.g., DCI associated with C-RNTI) that schedules a group-common PDSCH; or the PTP transmission scheme, the UE may use the PTP leg 204 to receive scheduling information (e.g., DCI associated with a C-RNTI) that schedules a UE-specific PDSCH).
Regarding claim 3, Chin discloses the MBS DRX operation is configured for the PTM initial transmission and the PTM retransmission, the active time period is an MBS DRX active time period, the MBS DRX active time period includes a first MBS DRX active time period and a second MBS DRX active time period (paragraphs [0207]-[0208], [0252while the retransmission timer (e.g., the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL-PTM) is running, the UE may monitor/decode a PDCCH for (DCI indicating) a second DL assignment), and
the first MBS DRX active time period indicates an active time period while one of an MBS DRX on duration timer and an MBS DRX inactivity timer is running, and the second MBS DRX active time period indicates an active time period while an MBS DRX retransmission timer is running (paragraphs [0207]-[0208], [0252], retransmission timer equivalent to one of drx-RetransmissionTimerDL-PTM, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-InactivityTimerSCPTM, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL-PTM).
Regarding claim 4, Chin discloses during the first MBS DRX active time period (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0252], [0254], during scheduling information DL assignment associated with MBS), monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the first identifier (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0254], G-RNTI), and
during the second MBS DRX active time period, monitoring the PDCCH for the second identifier in the case of for PTM retransmission over PTP (Fig.2, paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0254], PTM over PTP), monitoring the PDCCH for the first identifier for PTM retransmission over PTM, or monitoring both of the PDCCH for the second identifier and the PDCCH for the first identifier if both PTM retransmission over PTP and the PTM retransmission over PTM are supported (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0252], [0254], the first scheduling information may be for PTM transmission scheme 1, and the second scheduling information may be for PTM transmission scheme 2).
Regarding claim 5, Chin discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising deciding to monitor the PDCCH for the second identifier or monitor the PDCCH for the first identifier based on:
an indication in downlink control information (DCI) indicating whether the PTM retransmission is over PTP or over PTM (Figs.2, 4, paragraphs [0113], [0189], [0207], monitoring behavior from PTM leg to PTP based on dynamic switching indication); if MBS DRX related retransmission timers are configured; or a combination thereof (Figs.2, 4, paragraphs [0113], [0189], [0207], drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL-PTM configured per HARQ process for the UE's MBS DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 6, Chin discloses the MBS DRX operation is configured for the PTM initial transmission, and a unicast DRX operation is configured for the PTM retransmission over PTP, the active time period includes an active time period for the MBS DRX operation and an active time period for the unicast DRX operation (paragraphs [0207]-[0208], [0223], [0234], [0257], drx-HARQ-RTTDL configured for unicast DRX configuration while restransmission is running),
the active time period for the MBS DRX operation indicates an active time period while one of an MBS DRX on duration timer and an MBS DRX inactivity timer is running, and the active time period for the unicast DRX operation indicates an active time period while an MBS DRX retransmission timer is running (paragraphs [0207]-[0208], [0223], [0234], [0257]period defined by drx-HARQ-RTTDL configured for unicast DRX configuration)
Regarding claim 7, Chin discloses: during the active time period for the MBS DRX operation, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the first identifier (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0252], [0254], PDCCH for possible scheduling information associated with G-RNTI of corresponding MBS), and
during the active time period for the unicast DRX operation, starting the unicast DRX operation and monitors the PDCCH for the second identifier (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0252], [0254], while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL-PTM is running for second DL assignment with C_RNTI and/or G-RNTI).
Regarding claim 8, Chin discloses: the MBS DRX operation is configured for the PTM initial transmission, the PTM retransmission, and a PTP transmission (Fig.2, paragraphs [0207]-[0208], [0223], [0234], DRX active Time for corresponding MBS), the active time period indicates an active time period while one of an MBS DRX on duration timer, an MBS DRX inactivity timer and an MBS DRX retransmission timer is running (Fig.2, paragraphs [0207]-[0208], [0223], [0234], new transmission timer for MBS).
Regarding claim 9, Chin discloses during the active time period, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the first identifier and the PDCCH for the second identifier (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0253], [0254], PDCCH monitoring associated with C-RNTI and/or G-RNTI).
Regarding claim 13, Chin discloses an MBS DRX on duration timer and/or an MBS DRX inactivity timer are configured for MBS (paragraphs [0223], [234], DRX Inactivity timer (drx-InactivityTimer)).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
10. Claims 10, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIN et al. (US 2022/0286818 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/156,813 field on March 4, 2021), hereinafter “Chin” in view of CHANG et al. (US 2023/0388972 A1), hereinafter “Chang” in view of SHRIVASTAVA et al. (US 2022/0132277 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of Foreign Application No. 202041046157 filed on October 22, 2020), hereinafter “Shrivastava”.
Regarding claim 10, Chin in view of Chang discloses the method according to claim 1.
While Chin in view of Chang implicitly refer to “the MBS DRX operation and a unicast DRX operation are a same DRX operation”, Shrivastava from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the MBS DRX operation and a unicast DRX operation are a same DRX operation (paragraphs [0024], [0026], PTP reception path follows same DRX operation as applied to PTM reception path for MBS service reception; split bearer configuration provides common DRX configuration for both PTM and OTP reception paths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the MBS DRX operation and a unicast DRX operation are a same DRX operation” as taught by Shrivastava, in the combined system of Chin and Chang, so that it would provide energy efficient and synchronized reception of multicast/broadcast services in a 5G communication network to address transmission/reception synchronization on the two legs resulting in sequence numbers for the service content packets to be out of sync or deviated (Shrivastava, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 11, Chin discloses an MBS DRX HARQ RTT timer and an MBS DRX retransmission timer are configured for the PTM retransmission (paragraph [0207], retransmission timer equivalent to drx-RetransmissionTimerDL-PTL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL-PTM).
Regarding claim 12, Chin discloses during the active time period, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the first identifier and the PDCCH for the second identifier (paragraphs [0208], [0223], [0252], [0254], PDCCH monitoring associated with C-RNTI and/or G-RNTI).
Regarding claim 14, Chin in view of Chang and Shrivastava discloses the method according to claim 13.
Shrivastava further discloses the MBS DRX operation and a unicast DRX operation share: a DRX slot offset, a DRX retransmission timer, a DRX a long cycle start offset, a DRX short cycle, a DRX short cycle timer, a DRX HARQ RTT timer, or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0021]-[0022], [0027], DRX configuration consists of MBS-Retransmission timer-DL, MBS-drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the MBS DRX operation and a unicast DRX operation share: a DRX slot offset, a DRX retransmission timer, a DRX a long cycle start offset, a DRX short cycle, a DRX short cycle timer, a DRX HARQ RTT timer, or a combination thereof” as taught by Shrivastava, in the combined system of Chin and Chang, so that it would provide energy efficient and synchronized reception of multicast/broadcast services in a 5G communication network to address transmission/reception synchronization on the two legs resulting in sequence numbers for the service content packets to be out of sync or deviated (Shrivastava, paragraph [0014]).
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414