DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/19/2026 is acknowledged. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (US 2019/0338141 A1 cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 8, Hattori et al. disclose an article (laminate) comprising a substrate, a hard coat (first layer) and a hydrophilic layer (second layer) (see page 7, claim 1). The laminate is used to prepare articles (see Abstract). Accordingly, Hattori et al. disclose an article comprising the laminate. The hard coat (first layer) comprises 5 to 60 wt% of a binder and 60 to 90 wt% of nanoparticles (see page 7, claim 1 and page 8, claim 4). Hattori et al. disclose that the hydrophilic layer (second layer) contains zwitterionic silane (see paragraph 0044).
The binder comprises a cured (meth)acrylic oligomer or monomer, i.e. a cured product of a binder precursor (see page 8, claim 3 and paragraph 0021). A specific example of the binder includes trifunctional aliphatic urethane acrylate such as EBECRYL 8701 (see paragraph 0023).
The nanoparticles include SiO2 nanoparticles (silica), ZnO nanoparticles (zinc oxide), ZrO2 nanoparticles (zirconium oxide), indium-tin-oxide nanoparticles or antimony-doped tin oxide nanoparticles (see page 8, claim 7). That is, the nanoparticles are inorganic nanoparticles. The nanoparticles can be surface modified nanoparticles (see paragraph 0030). A specific example of the surface modified nanoparticles include silica particles modified using 3-methacryoxypropyl-trimethoxysilane (see paragraphs 0079-0081). As evidenced by the present specification, surface modification using 3-methacryoxypropyl-trimethoxysilane introduces a (methyl)acryloyl group (see page 9, lines 3-8 of present specification). Accordingly, the inorganic nanoparticles have a (meth)acryloyl group.
In light of the overlap between the claimed laminate and article, and that disclosed by Hattori et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a laminate and an article that is both disclosed by Hattori et al. and is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Hattori et al. disclose that the substrate includes a transparent substrate (see paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 6, Hattori et al. disclose the laminate as set forth above. The laminate comprises the substrate, the first layer comprising the binder and the inorganic particles and the second layer as hydrophilic layer. The laminate has a haze value of less than 10% (see page 7, Table 3, Ex-1, Ex-2 and Ex-3) Further, given that the laminate including the substrate, the first layer comprising the binder and the inorganic particles and the second layer as hydrophilic layer are identical to that presently claimed, the binder and the inorganic particles identical to that presently claimed, with the amounts of the binder and the inorganic particles overlapping with that presently claimed, within the overlapping ranges, the laminate has necessarily inherently a haze value as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Hattori et al. disclose an adhesive layer can be applied on the opposite surface of the substrate having the hard coat layer (first layer) thereon (see paragraph 0051). Given that the hydrophilic layer (second layer) is formed on the first layer, the adhesive layer is opposite to a side of the second layer.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Hattori et al. disclose the article as set forth above. Hattori et al. do not disclose the article is used as a medical device or a microfluidic chip.
However, the recitation in the claims that the article is used as a medical device or a microfluidic chip is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Hattori et al. disclose article as presently claimed, it is clear that the article would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. medical device or a microfluidic chip, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, Hattori et al. disclose the hard coat layer comprising the binder as a cured product of the binder precursor and the inorganic nanoparticles including their amounts as presently claimed as set forth above. A composition used for preparing the hard coat layer reads on a coating composition as presently claimed. That is, the coating composition forms a layer (hard coat layer) on which the hydrophilic layer is applied.
In light of the overlap between the claimed coating composition and that disclosed by Hattori et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a coating composition that is both disclosed by Hattori et al. and is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Hattori et al. disclose the coating composition as presently claimed. The coating composition used for preparing the hard coat layer includes the binder such as trifunctional aliphatic urethane acrylate such as EBECRYL 8701 (see paragraph 0023) which is identical to that used in the present invention and therefore would inherently possess (meth)acryloyl equivalent as presently claimed (see page 21 of the specification, Table 1, Binder precursor, Monomer 7).
Regarding claim 14, Hattori et al. disclose the coating composition as presently claimed. The coating composition used for preparing the hard coat layer includes 60 to 90 wt% of inorganic nanoparticles as noted above. According to the present claim, the amount of inorganic nanoparticles is greater than 33 wt% (33 = 50/150 x 100) as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the Office Action equates the PECVD layer 108 with Applicant's claimed second layer. As discussed above, layer 108 of Hattori does not contain a zwitterionic silane. The only layer that Hattori teaches may contain a zwitterionic alkoxy silane is layer 109. As can be seen in the Figure, layer 109 of Hattori is not disposed on hardcoat layer 104. To summarize, Hattori fails to disclose, teach, or suggest "a first layer comprising a binder and an inorganic nanoparticle," and "a second layer that is hydrophilic and contains a zwitterionic silane" which is "disposed on the first layer." Thus, claims 1 and 11 are nonobvious over Hattori.
However, the examiner does not equate the PECVD layer 108 with the claimed second layer. Instead, the examiner equates layer 109 of Hattori as the claimed second layer. Hattori disclose the second layer contains a zwitterionic silane (see paragraph 0044). The layer 109 (second layer) is disposed on the hard coat layer 104 (first layer) (see Figure). Nothing in the present claims requires the second layer to directly contact or be directly disposed on the first layer. If applicants were to amend claim 1 to recite that “the second layer being directly disposed on the first layer”, the rejection of the record would be overcome.
In light of amendments, claim objections are withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787