DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the amendment received on 08/03/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11 and 13-15 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 13 are drawn to a system which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine). Claim 14 is drawn to a method which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). Claim 15 is drawn to a non-transitory medium which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. manufacture).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claims 1 and 14 have been amended to recite:
“providing, by a central computing entity, a software component to at least one local medical entity via a request by the least one local medical entity according to a medical support function to be provided to the patient, wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function,
acquiring, by the at least one local medical entity, physiological data of a patient,
preprocessing, by the at least one local medical entity, the physiological data to generate anonymous preprocessed data using the software component, the anonymous preprocessed data including one or more technical parameters derived from the physiological data of the patient and relating to an execution of the medical support function,
sending, by the at least one local medical entity, the anonymous preprocessed data to a central computing entity via at least one communications network,
analyzing, by at least one artificial intelligence module of the central computing entity, the anonymous preprocessed data to determine one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function,
sending, by the central computing entity, the determined one or more parameters to the at least one local medical entity via the at least one communications network, and
implementing, by the at least one local medical entity, the one or more parameters received from the central computing entity to provide the medical support function for the patient”.
The limitations of “acquiring, by the at least one local medical entity, physiological data of a patient, preprocessing, by the at least one local medical entity, the physiological data to generate anonymous preprocessed data using the software component, sending, by the at least one local medical entity, the anonymous preprocessed data to a central computing entity via at least one communications network, analyzing… the anonymous preprocessed data to determine one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function, sending, by the central computing entity, the determined one or more parameters to the at least one local medical entity via the at least one communications network,…” correspond to an abstract idea of “certain methods of organizing human activity” using generic computing components (a generic central computing entity, local medical entity and generic communications network).
This is a method of managing interactions between people, such as user following rules and instructions. The mere nominal recitation of a generic central computing entity, local medical entity and generic communications network does not take the claims out of the methods of organizing human interactions grouping. The current specification describes the central computing entity as a generic computing entity (the specification recites “the central computing entity 110 is a cloud computing entity (cloud or cloud system), and the at least one local medical entity 120 is an edge computing entity (edge node or edge device). Such edge computing is distributed computing that can improve response times and save bandwidth, enabling a real-time medical support function.” on page 9, lines 8-13).
The limitations of “analyzing, by at least one artificial intelligence module of the central computing entity, the anonymous preprocessed data to determine one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function” within claims 1, 14, “the artificial intelligence algorithm is trained based on anonymous patient data” within claim 5, “the at least one local medical entity is configured to encrypt the anonymous preprocessed data …and/or wherein the central computing entity is configured to encrypt the one or more parameters…” within claim 8 correspond to performing mathematical relationships, therefore the limitation falls within the “Mathematical concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
The limitation of “generating an anonymous preprocessed data”, “analyzing… the anonymous preprocessed data” and “determining… one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function based on the analysis of the anonymous preprocessed data” also correspond to an abstract idea of a mental process. These limitations cover a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (which can be done in the human mind or by human using pen and paper), but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The limitation of “providing, by a central computing entity, a software component to at least one local medical entity via a request by the least one local medical entity according to a medical support function to be provided to the patient, wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function” corresponds to an additional element, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see the section below).
The limitation of “implementing, by the at least one local medical entity, the one or more parameters received from the central computing entity to provide the medical support function for the patient”, which corresponds to an insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 15 is a computer readable medium for claim 14, and therefore covers that same limitations and is rejected for the same reasons given above for claim 14.
After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination and in ordered combination, it has been determined that the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 2, 4-5, 8-11, 13 are ultimately dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2, 4-5, 8-11, 13 recite the same abstract idea. Claims 2, 4-5, 8-11, 13 describe a further limitation regarding the basis for determining one or more parameters for medical support function. These are all just further describing the abstract idea recited in claim 1, without adding significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims recite the additional elements of “a central computing entity”, “at least one local medical entity”, “at least one communications network”, “at least one local medical entity configured to obtain physiological data of a patient, preprocess the physiological data to generate anonymous preprocessed data, and send the anonymous preprocessed data, and send the anonymous preprocessed data to the central computing entity via at least one communications network”, “the central computing entity is configured to analyze the anonymous preprocessed data, determine one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function based on the analysis of the anonymous preprocessed data”, “send the determined one or more parameters to the at least one local medical entity via the at least one communications network”, and “providing, by a central computing entity, a software component to at least one local medical entity via a request by the least one local medical entity according to a medical support function to be provided to the patient, wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function” and “the at least one local medical entity and the central computing entity are configured to communicate in real-time to provide medical support function” which are hardware and software elements, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “practical application” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these elements are merely invoked as a tool to apply instructions of the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and mere instructions to apply/implement/automate an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular field or technological environment do not provide practical application for an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)).
Claims also recite other additional limitations beyond abstract idea, such as claims 1 and 14 recite “implementing, by the at least one local medical entity, the one or more parameters received from the central computing entity to provide the medical support function for the patient”, which corresponds to an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05 (g)), which does not provide a practical application for the abstract idea. In particular, the current specification (on page 5, lines 5-8) and claim 10 recite “the medical support function is selected from the group consisting of medical diagnostics, medical decision-making, medical treatment of the patient, and combinations thereof”.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a medical entity to perform both the generating, analyzing and determining steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the central computing entity is configured to provide a software component to the at least one local medical entity, and wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to generate the anonymous preprocessed data using the software component, wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to request the software component from the central computing entity according to the medical support function to be provided to the patient, and wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function”. This feature is found to be a well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field, as evidenced by the applied art Zhao. In particular, Zhao teaches “Cloud computing provides computation, Software, data access, and storage services that do not require end-user knowledge of the physical location and configuration of the system that delivers the services. Cloud computing providers deliver applications via the Internet, which are accessed from Web browsers, desktop and mobile apps, while the business Software and data are stored on servers at a remote location. Cloud application services deliver software as a service over the Internet, eliminating the need to install and run the application on the customer's own computers and simplifying maintenance and Support.” in col. 6, lines 27-37.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (hereinafter Zhao) (US 8,553 965 B2) in view of Hegendorfer et al. (hereinafter Hegendorfer) (CN 110223765 A).
Claim 1 has been amended now to recite a medical support system for patient treatment, comprising:
a central computing entity (Zhao discloses “cloud servers” in abstract); and
at least one local medical entity configured to obtain physiological data of a patient, preprocess the physiological data to generate anonymous preprocessed data, and send the anonymous preprocessed data, and send the anonymous preprocessed data to the central computing entity via at least one communications network (Zhao discloses “a local device receives 3D medical image data captured by a medical imaging device. The 3D medical image is anonymized by removing certain metadata associated with the 3D medical image data based on an anonymization template. The local device automatically uploads the anonymized 3D medical image data to a cloud server over a network based on a set of one or more rules, using a network connection established via an internet port of the local device.” in abstract, “…cloud 103 may include an advanced preprocessing system (not shown) to automatically perform certain pre-processing operations of the received images using certain advanced image processing resources provided by the cloud systems…” in col. 5, lines 53-57, col. 21, lines 18-59), the anonymous preprocessed data including one or more technical parameters derived from the physiological data of the patient and relating to an execution of the medical support function (Zhao discloses “data anonymizers” in col. 21, lines 18-34, and also discloses “The 3D medical image is anonymized by removing certain metadata associated with the 3D medical image databased on an anonymization template.” in abstract, “Metadata, also known as metadata elements, broadly refers to parameters and/or instructions for describing, processing, and/or managing the medical image data.” in col. 10, lines 1-14),
…
send the determined one or more parameters to the at least one local medical entity via the at least one communications network, and wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to implement the one or more parameters received from the central computing entity to provide the medical support function for the patient (Zhao; col. 15, lines 7-14),
wherein the central computing entity is configured to provide a software component to the at least one local medical entity, and wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to generate the anonymous preprocessed data using the software component, wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to request the software component from the central computing entity according to the medical support function to be provided to the patient, and wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function (Zhao discloses “Cloud computing provides computation, Software, data access, and storage services that do not require end-user knowledge of the physical location and configuration of the system that delivers the services. Cloud computing providers deliver applications via the Internet, which are accessed from Web browsers, desktop and mobile apps, while the business Software and data are stored on servers at a remote location. Cloud application services deliver software as a service over the Internet, eliminating the need to install and run the application on the customer's own computers and simplifying maintenance and Support.” in col. 6, lines 27-37).
Zhao discloses “artificial intelligence” and “intelligent clinical data mining” in col. 12, lines 37-56 and col. 14, lines 49-58, but fails to disclose “wherein the central computing entity includes at least one artificial intelligence module configured to analyze the anonymous preprocessed data using an artificial intelligence algorithm to determine one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function based on the analysis of the anonymous preprocessed data”. However, this feature is well known in the art, as evidenced by Hegendorfer.
In particular, Hegendorfer discloses “…the invention method uses the application of artificial intelligence at the interface between the electronic device and the back end, and analyzing the machine data. should be established in the context of understanding the term "artificial intelligence", i.e., the term includes any suitable machine learning algorithm such as neural network. the machine data of the electronic device should be understood as in the electronic device during normal operation (e.g., generated in the process of imaging tasks) of any information. machine parameters, such as, machine data of the MR apparatus may include for the imaging task, a series of statements of the program summary imaging process, the sensor output value. the machine parameter can be set by a user parameter and/or parameter set by the device itself. of such machine data may also include one or more images generated during the imaging task. In the method of the invention, the analyzing the machine data and the machine data is compared with the expected content, makes it possible to immediately identify and evaluation and any deviations from the expected performance.” On page 3, lines 17-28, and “…Because the information is part of a performance log, so the data before being sent to the remote service centre, preferably steps are taken to anonymous to patient data…” on page 4, lines 25-27.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the aforementioned limitation as disclosed by Hegendorfer with the motivation of “protecting information and prevent sensitive data for third party access” (Hegendorfer; page 4, lines 27-28.
Claim 2 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the central computing entity is a cloud computing entity, and/or wherein the at least one local medical entity is an edge computing entity, and/or wherein the at least one local medical entity and the central computing entity are configured to communicate in real-time to provide the medical support function (Zhao; col. 5, lines 14-32).
Claim 4 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm is a machine learning algorithm, in particular a neural network (Zhao; col. 12, line 57 to col. 13, line 8, col. 14, lines 49-58).
Claim 5 recites the medical support system of claim 4, wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm is trained based on anonymous patient data (Zhao; col. 12, line 57 to col. 13, line 8, col. 14, col. 14, lines 49-58).
Claim 8 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to encrypt the anonymous preprocessed data and send the encrypted anonymous preprocessed data to the central computing entity, and/or wherein the central computing entity is configured to encrypt the one or more parameters and send the encrypted one or more parameters to the at least one local medical entity (Zhao; col. 21, lines 18-34, col. 22, lines 26-29).
Claim 9 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the at least one communications network includes at least one of a local network and a mobile network, in particular a 5G mobile network, and/or wherein a latency of the at least one communications network is 10 ms or less, and/or wherein a bandwidth of the at least one communications network is 100 Mbit/s or higher (Zhao; col. 7, lines 41-55).
Claim 10 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the medical support function is selected from the group consisting of medical diagnostics, medical decision-making, medical treatment of the patient, and combinations thereof (Zhao; col. 15, lines 7-14).
Claim 11 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the medical support system is configured for cardiac disease diagnostics, cardiac disease treatment, neurological treatment, electrophysiology, medical virtual reality procedures, medical enhanced reality procedures, robot-assisted surgery, and combinations thereof (Zhao; col. 15, lines 7-27).
Claim 13 recites the medical support system of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters determined by the central computing entity are procedure control parameters for controlling the medical support function, in particular wherein the procedure control parameters are determined based on the one or more technical parameters provided by the at least one local medical entity (Zhao; col. 10, lines 1-14).
Claim 14 has been amended now to recite medical support method for patient treatment, comprising:
providing, by a central computing entity, a software component to at least one local medical entity via a request by the least one local medical entity according to a medical support function to be provided to the patient, wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function (Zhao discloses “Cloud computing provides computation, Software, data access, and storage services that do not require end-user knowledge of the physical location and configuration of the system that delivers the services. Cloud computing providers deliver applications via the Internet, which are accessed from Web browsers, desktop and mobile apps, while the business Software and data are stored on servers at a remote location. Cloud application services deliver software as a service over the Internet, eliminating the need to install and run the application on the customer's own computers and simplifying maintenance and Support.” in col. 6, lines 27-37),
acquiring, by the at least one local medical entity, physiological data of a patient, preprocessing, by the at least one local medical entity, the physiological data to generate anonymous preprocessed data (Zhao; abstract, col. 5, lines 53-57, col. 21, lines 18-59), the anonymous preprocessed data including one or more technical parameters derived from the physiological data of the patient and relating to an execution of the medical support function (Zhao discloses “data anonymizers” in col. 21, lines 18-34, and also discloses “The 3D medical image is anonymized by removing certain metadata associated with the 3D medical image databased on an anonymization template.” in abstract, “Metadata, also known as metadata elements, broadly refers to parameters and/or instructions for describing, processing, and/or managing the medical image data.” in col. 10, lines 1-14),
sending, by the at least one local medical entity, the anonymous preprocessed data to a central computing entity via at least one communications network (Zhao; abstract, col. 5, lines 53-57, col. 21, lines 18-59),
…
sending, by the central computing entity, the determined one or more parameters to the at least one local medical entity via the at least one communications network (Zhao; col. 15, lines 7-14), and
implementing, by the at least one local medical entity, the one or more parameters received from the central computing entity to provide the medical support function for the patient (Zhao; col. 15, lines 7-14).
Zhao discloses “artificial intelligence” and “intelligent clinical data mining” in col. 12, lines 37-56 and col. 14, lines 49-58, but fails to disclose “analyzing, by at least one artificial intelligence module of the central computing entity, the anonymous preprocessed data to determine one or more parameters in relation to a medical support function”. However, this feature is well known in the art, as evidenced by Hegendorfer.
In particular, Hegendorfer discloses “…the invention method uses the application of artificial intelligence at the interface between the electronic device and the back end, and analyzing the machine data. should be established in the context of understanding the term "artificial intelligence", i.e., the term includes any suitable machine learning algorithm such as neural network. the machine data of the electronic device should be understood as in the electronic device during normal operation (e.g., generated in the process of imaging tasks) of any information. machine parameters, such as, machine data of the MR apparatus may include for the imaging task, a series of statements of the program summary imaging process, the sensor output value. the machine parameter can be set by a user parameter and/or parameter set by the device itself. of such machine data may also include one or more images generated during the imaging task. In the method of the invention, the analyzing the machine data and the machine data is compared with the expected content, makes it possible to immediately identify and evaluation and any deviations from the expected performance.” On page 3, lines 17-28, and “…Because the information is part of a performance log, so the data before being sent to the remote service centre, preferably steps are taken to anonymous to patient data…” on page 4, lines 25-27.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the aforementioned limitation as disclosed by Hegendorfer with the motivation of “protecting information and prevent sensitive data for third party access” (Hegendorfer; page 4, lines 27-28.
Claim 15 recites a non-transitory machine readable medium comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to implement the medical support method according to claim 14 (Zhao; col. 28, lines 31-40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed below in the order in which they appear.
Arguments about 35 USC 101 rejection:
Applicant argues that claims coordinate data transfer of processed information to handle information in a secure way, each of claims 1 and 14 recite “the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function”, thereby improving the overall operation of the claimed system and streamlining the processing of the data.
In response, Examiner submits that this limitation is directed to additional elements that are hardware and software elements, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “practical application” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these elements are merely invoked as a tool to apply instructions of the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and mere instructions to apply/implement/automate an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular field or technological environment do not provide practical application for an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)).
Applicant argues that amended claims recite technical parameters derived at the edge from raw physiological data that can be computed as part of the anonymization and preprocessing steps, which is not directed to an abstract idea.
In response, Examiner submits that this feature is not part of the abstract idea, but included in the additional elements that are directed to software and hardware elements (see the rejection above). Examiner also indicates that “wherein the central computing entity is configured to provide a software component to the at least one local medical entity, and wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to generate the anonymous preprocessed data using the software component, wherein the at least one local medical entity is configured to request the software component from the central computing entity according to the medical support function to be provided to the patient, and wherein the software component indicates or defines a type and/or a content and/or a format of data required by the central computing entity to carry out the medical support function”. This feature is found to be a well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field, as evidenced by the applied art Zhao (see the rejection above).
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Arguments about 35 USC 103 rejection:
Applicant argues that Zhao does not teach “the anonymous preprocessed data including one or more technical parameters derived from the physiological data of the patient and relating to an execution of the medical support function”.
In response, Examiner submits that Zhao discloses “data anonymizers” in col. 21, lines 18-34, and also discloses “The 3D medical image is anonymized by removing certain metadata associated with the 3D medical image databased on an anonymization template.” in abstract, “Metadata, also known as metadata elements, broadly refers to parameters and/or instructions for describing, processing, and/or managing the medical image data.” in col. 10, lines 1-14. Therefore, Zhao teaches anonymizing the data by removing certain metadata (such as patient information including name, address etc.) and technical metadata (parameters and instructions for the image data) remains in the anonymized dataset.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive and claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DILEK B COBANOGLU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687