DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2 Oct 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and thus the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15-18, 20-22, 24-28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0084849 (hereinafter, “KOSKINEN”) in view of US 2017/0064593 (hereinafter, “KHAY-IBBAT”).
Regarding claim 1, KOSKINEN discloses:
A method for wireless communication (Abstract: differentiated [cell] measurement reporting) at a user equipment (UE) (UE 10), comprising:
performing a cell measurement for each of a set of cells while operating in a connected mode; (¶ 0033: UE 10 in a RRC connected mode 200 with its serving cell eNB 12; ¶ 0038: UE 10 takes measurements of all detected neighbor cells 212)
determining a subset of cells of the set of cells based at least in part on one or more of the cell measurement, (¶ 0038: [T]he UE to skip reporting on the neighbor cells which are small/pico cells even though the UE 10 continues to take measurements of them. [The UE] evaluates at functional block 214 which ones to report based on cell size) cell-specific information, (Fig. 2, 202A: Configuration includes information that enables the UE to identify which cells are to be categorized as small cells) or UE-preferred cell information,
the cell-specific information comprising one or more respective cell parameters associated with each cell of the subset of cells, (Fig. 2, 202A: Configuration includes information that enables the UE to identify which cells are to be categorized as small cells; ¶ 0047: At block 302 there are identified relative sizes of neighbor cells)
. . . ; and
transmitting a cell measurement report including an indication of one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells satisfying one or more cell measurement report criteria. (¶ 0035; Fig. 2, 208: Measurement reporting is initiated if the cell is not a small cell)
While KOSKINEN discloses:
[T]he UE knows to scale its mobility parameters 208 differently for the small cells identified at 202A than for the large cells, ¶ 0035 [i.e., preferential handling],
[T]he UE 10 . . . evaluates at functional block 214 which ones to report based on cell size, ¶ 0038 [i.e., exclusive reporting], and
[T]he scaling of the mobility-related parameters . . . are limited to only specific cells, namely the larger (macro) cells and the scaling is not used for the small (pico) cells, ¶ 0028 [e.g., exclusive consideration]
KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
the UE-preferred cell information comprising one or more respective preferred cell parameters;
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
the UE-preferred cell information comprising one or more respective preferred cell parameters; (¶ 0075: UE 106 may determine the offset based at least partly on a radio access technology (RAT) with which the cell parameter is associated. For example, if the cell parameter is associated with a preferred cell, e.g., an LTE cell, the offset may be greater than if the cell parameter is associated with a less preferred cell, e.g., a GSM cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide cell parameters associated with preferred cells as taught by KHAY-IBBAT as a basis for evaluating cell selection so as to identify the best target cells among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising ordering, in the cell measurement report, the one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on a respective priority associated with each cell of the one or more cells, the indication identifying the ordering of the one or more cells of the subset of cells in the cell measurement report. (¶ 0047: [T]he neighbor cell list which the serving cell provides to the UE can include an indication dividing the list between larger cells indicated prior to the divider indication and smaller cells indicated after (or vice versa))
Regarding claim 3, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising determining a respective priority for each of the one or more respective preferred cell parameters associated with the UE-preferred cell information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the respective priority for each of the one or more respective preferred cell parameters associated with the UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0035: [T]he UE knows to scale its mobility parameters 208 differently for the small cells identified at 202A than for the large cells. For example, the UE scales down the time to trigger TTT parameter at 208A to a relatively shorter value for the larger/macro cells and scales it up to a relatively longer value for the smaller/pico cells. The network may specify the up-scaling for small cells only for fast moving UEs (those in the highest mobility state), and/or as noted above the network may define this downscaling for one or more specific frequency layer or for specifically identified cells (one cell PCI or a range of PCIs). In another example the network may specify down scaling for small cells for slow (normal) moving UEs (those in the lowest mobility state))
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising determining a preferred cell type from a plurality of cell types based at least in part on the UE-preferred cell information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the preferred cell type and a respective cell type associated with each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells. (¶ 0027: [I]t is often not preferred to handover a fast moving UE to a pico cell; ¶ 0028: [T]he scaling of the mobility-related parameters . . . are limited to only specific cells, namely the larger (macro) cells and the scaling is not used for the small (pico) cells)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising:
determining a mobility state associated with the UE based at least in part on sensor information from one or more sensors associated with the UE; and (¶ 0038: [M]easurements made by the fast moving UE 10 (for example, high or medium mobility state) are made with relatively relaxed requirements as compared to if the UE 10 were in a low mobility state. Knowing from 202A which cells are small cells, the UE 10 evaluates at 214 and knows not to send measurement reports on those identified small cells so long as it is high (or either medium or high) speed per block 204. The relaxed requirements for cell measurements when the UE 10 is high speed enables the UE 10 to react faster to changes in the speed detection states at 204 as the cell detection and measurements are performed; ¶ 0053: Block 310 stipulates as in the above examples that the differentiated measurement reporting of block 304 is conditional on a UE which sends the measurement reports being classified as fast moving (that is, for a UE classified as slow moving there is no differentiated measurement reporting based on neighbor cell size). There are different approaches in various different radio access technologies for classifying UE speed, in the above examples UE mobility state was used but other technologies may use other ways to classify. In different embodiments the medium mobility state may be includes with either the high or the low mobility state)
updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on the mobility state associated with the UE, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0031: [F]actors such as UE mobility state which may manifest a differential reporting of neighbor cells; ¶¶ 0041-0042: [T]he high/medium mobility state UE 10 can thereby react faster to changes in its speed detection states as the cell detection and measurements are still performed and available already within the UE 10 when for example the UE transitions to a low mobility state, at which time measurement reporting can be done without delay. [0042] Similar to FIG. 2, the high/medium mobility state idle mode UE 10 can also skip taking measurements of the identified small/pico cells)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
determining an enhanced coverage condition based at least in part on one or more of the cell measurement for each of the set of cells or sensor information from one or more sensors associated with the UE; and updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on the enhanced coverage condition, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
determining an enhanced coverage condition based at least in part on one or more of the cell measurement for each of the set of cells or sensor information from one or more sensors associated with the UE; and updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on the enhanced coverage condition, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0043: [A] device may not be inherently link budget limited, e.g., may have sufficient size, battery power, and/or transmit/receive power for normal communications over LTE or LTE-A, but may be temporarily link budget limited due to current communication conditions, e.g., a smart phone being at the edge of a cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide current communication conditions as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to updated UE-preferred cell information as a basis for evaluating cell selection at the edge of a cell such that the best target cells are identified among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising receiving control signaling indicating the UE-preferred cell information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the receiving of the control signaling indicating the UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0033: In the connected mode the UE 10 will receive a measurement configuration from the network with its RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 202 (or with the RRC Connection Configuration, RRC Configuration Establishment, or RRC Connection Reestablishment message) describing the details of how the UE 10 shall perform measurements and report the results to the eNB 12. In accordance with the FIG. 2 embodiment, the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 202 is the means by which the network 12 identifies to the UE 10 which cells are to be categorized as small cells 202A)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE-preferred cell information corresponds to one or more of a high-speed train network, a new radio dual connectivity, a closed subscriber group k, a multimedia broadcast multicast service, a cellular vehicle-to-everything, a UE capability, or a configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
wherein the UE-preferred cell information corresponds to one or more of a high-speed train network, a new radio dual connectivity, a closed subscriber group k, a multimedia broadcast multicast service, a cellular vehicle-to-everything, a UE capability, or a configuration. (¶ 0073: At 604, the UE 106 may determine (e.g., generate) an offset to the cell parameter. The offset may be based at least in part on operating parameters of the UE 106, such as link budget or link budget degradation. For example, the link budget limited UE 106 may have reduced transmit and/or receive capabilities relative to a UE that is not link budget limited. The UE 106 may determine the amount (e.g., a fixed amount, a proportional amount, etc.) by which the transmit and/or receive capabilities are reduced, and base the offset at least in part on that amount)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide consideration of an amount of reduction of transmit and/or receive capabilities as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to UE-preferred cell information as a basis for evaluating cell selection such that the best target cells are identified among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising determining one or more radio access technologies associated with the UE based at least in part on UE capability information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the one or more radio access technologies associated with the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
further comprising determining one or more radio access technologies associated with the UE based at least in part on UE capability information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the one or more radio access technologies associated with the UE. (¶ 0075: UE 106 may determine the offset based at least partly on a radio access technology (RAT) with which the cell parameter is associated. For example, if the cell parameter is associated with a preferred cell, e.g., an LTE cell, the offset may be greater than if the cell parameter is associated with a less preferred cell, e.g., a GSM cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide capability information for a UE as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to an associated radio access technology (RAT) as a basis for evaluating cell selection such that the best target cells are identified among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising determining one or more of a cell global identifier, a network radio frequency spectrum band identifier, or a primary cell identifier based at least in part on the cell-specific information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of one or more of the cell global identifier, the network radio frequency spectrum band identifier, or the primary cell identifier.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
further comprising determining one or more of a cell global identifier, a network radio frequency spectrum band identifier, or a primary cell identifier based at least in part on the cell-specific information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of one or more of the cell global identifier, the network radio frequency spectrum band identifier, or the primary cell identifier. (¶ 0008: [T]he operating procedures upon which the offset value is based may include link budget degradation of the UE. The offset value may be further based on a frequency band of communications between the UE and the base station)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide a network radio frequency spectrum band identifier as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to cell-specific information as a basis for evaluating cell selection such that the best target cells are identified among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
receiving system information from each cell of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, the system information comprising a system information block; and determining the one or more respective cell parameters based at least in part on the receiving of the system information from each cell of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, wherein determining the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the receiving of the system information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
receiving system information from each cell of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, the system information comprising a system information block; and determining the one or more respective cell parameters based at least in part on the receiving of the system information from each cell of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, wherein determining the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the receiving of the system information. (¶ 0072: UE 106 may receive, from a cellular network (e.g., from a base station of the cellular network, such as the base station 102), a cell parameter used by the UE 106 in determining whether the signal strength of signals received from the base station 102 of the cellular network are sufficiently strong to allow camping on a cell associated with the base station 102. For example, the cell parameter may specify a threshold value, such that the network expects that the UE 106 will camp on a cell only if signals received by the UE 106 from the cell have a received signal strength (e.g., RSRP) meeting or exceeding the cell parameter. In some embodiments, the cell parameter is the qRxLevMin received from the base station 102 in system information block 1 (SIB1))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide a system information block (SIB) as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to cell parameters as a basis for evaluating cell selection such that the best target cells are identified among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising collecting the cell-specific information based at least in part on the cell measurement for each of the set of cells while operating in the connected mode, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the collecting of the cell-specific information. (¶ 0033: [I]n the context of the LTE system and a UE 10 in a RRC connected mode 200 with its serving cell eNB 12. In the connected mode the UE 10 will receive a measurement configuration from the network with its RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 202 (or with the RRC Connection Configuration, RRC Configuration Establishment, or RRC Connection Reestablishment message) describing the details of how the UE 10 shall perform measurements and report the results to the eNB 12)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating the cell-specific information; and (¶ 0033: In the connected mode the UE 10 will receive a measurement configuration from the network with its RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 202 (or with the RRC Connection Configuration, RRC Configuration Establishment, or RRC Connection Reestablishment message) describing the details of how the UE 10 shall perform measurements and report the results to the eNB 12. In accordance with the FIG. 2 embodiment, the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 202 is the means by which the network 12 identifies to the UE 10 which cells are to be categorized as small cells 202A)
KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
updating the cell-specific information based at least in part on the receiving of the control signaling, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated cell-specific information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
updating the cell-specific information based at least in part on the receiving of the control signaling, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated cell-specific information. (¶ 0091: UE 106 may perform one or more updated measurements of signal strength of one or more signals from base stations of the cells associated with the at least one cell parameter, and may compare the updated measurements with the modified cell parameters)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising storing the cell-specific information in a local memory associated with the UE or a remote memory associated with the UE, the remote memory comprising a remote database. (¶ 0061: For the UE the block 10E represents the stored parameters/scaling factors and the algorithm to implement them differentially depending on the cell size; for the eNB that block 12E represents the stored parameters/factors which the eNB 12 sends to the UE 10)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
determining that the cell measurement for each of the set of cells corresponds to a radio access technology; and
selecting the UE-preferred cell information from a set of UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on the radio access technology associated with the cell measurement for each of the set of cells, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the selecting of the UE-preferred cell information from the set of UE-preferred cell information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
determining that the cell measurement for each of the set of cells corresponds to a radio access technology; and (¶ 0075: UE 106 may determine the offset based at least partly on a radio access technology (RAT) with which the cell parameter is associated. For example, if the cell parameter is associated with a preferred cell, e.g., an LTE cell, the offset may be greater than if the cell parameter is associated with a less preferred cell, e.g., a GSM cell)
selecting the UE-preferred cell information from a set of UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on the radio access technology associated with the cell measurement for each of the set of cells, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the selecting of the UE-preferred cell information from the set of UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0075: UE 106 may determine the offset based at least partly on a radio access technology (RAT) with which the cell parameter is associated. For example, if the cell parameter is associated with a preferred cell, e.g., an LTE cell, the offset may be greater than if the cell parameter is associated with a less preferred cell, e.g., a GSM cell)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN further discloses:
further comprising determining that the one or more cells of the subset of cells satisfy the one or more cell measurement report criteria based at least in part on the performing of the cell measurement for each of the set of cells while operating in the connected mode. (¶ 0033: [I]n the context of the LTE system and a UE 10 in a RRC connected mode 200 with its serving cell eNB 12. In the connected mode the UE 10 will receive a measurement configuration from the network with its RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 202 (or with the RRC Connection Configuration, RRC Configuration Establishment, or RRC Connection Reestablishment message) describing the details of how the UE 10 shall perform measurements and report the results to the eNB 12)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising determining the cell-specific information associated with each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on previously camping on each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the cell-specific information associated with each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
further comprising determining the cell-specific information associated with each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on previously camping on each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the cell-specific information associated with each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells. (¶ 0099: At 802 the UE 106 may camp on a current cell; Fig. 8, 802: Camp on a current cell, 804: Receive cell reselection parameter, 806: Determine a reselection offset to cell reselection parameter based on link budget degradation, 808: Apply determined reselection offset to cell reselection parameter, 814: Remain camped on the current cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide camping on a current cell as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to cell-specific information as a basis for evaluating cell selection such that the best target cells are identified among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more cells of the subset of cells comprise one or more non-preferred cells based at least in part on one or more preferred cells of the subset of cells failing to satisfy the one or more cell measurement report criteria.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
wherein the one or more cells of the subset of cells comprise one or more non-preferred cells based at least in part on one or more preferred cells of the subset of cells failing to satisfy the one or more cell measurement report criteria. (¶ 0088: If the UE 106 determines at 706 that none of the measured signal strengths satisfy the cell parameter for the respective associated cell, then the UE 106 may modify the cell parameter for link budget limited operation; ¶ 0092: At 716, the UE 106 may camp on a cell based on the comparison of the at least one of the measurements of signal strength with the modified cell parameters. For example, if the UE 106 determines (e.g., in response to the UE 106 determining) that at least one of the signal strength measurements exceeds (or meets) the associated modified threshold value, then the UE 106 may camp on the associated cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide modification of the cell parameter for link budget limited operation as taught by KHAY-IBBAT with respect to non-preferred cells as a basis for evaluating satisfaction cell measurement threshold values such that cell selection parameters occur in situations in which a link budget limited UE would otherwise enter a “no service” state because of the absence a cell with RSRP above qRxLevMin. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0094.
Regarding claim 25, KOSKINEN discloses:
An apparatus (size-dependent cell reporting parameters/scaling factors 10E) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), (UE 10) comprising:
a processor; (data processor 10A)
memory (memory 10B) coupled with the processor; and
instructions (computer instructions 10C) stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
perform a cell measurement for each of a set of cells while operating in a connected mode; (¶ 0033: UE 10 in a RRC connected mode 200 with its serving cell eNB 12; ¶ 0038: UE 10 takes measurements of all detected neighbor cells 212)
determine a subset of cells of the set of cells based at least in part on one or more of the cell measurement, (¶ 0038: [T]he UE to skip reporting on the neighbor cells which are small/pico cells even though the UE 10 continues to take measurements of them. [The UE] evaluates at functional block 214 which ones to report based on cell size) cell-specific information, (Fig. 2, 202A: Configuration includes information that enables the UE to identify which cells are to be categorized as small cells) or UE-preferred cell information,
the cell-specific information comprising one or more respective cell parameters associated with each cell of the subset of cells, (Fig. 2, 202A: Configuration includes information that enables the UE to identify which cells are to be categorized as small cells; ¶ 0047: At block 302 there are identified relative sizes of neighbor cells)
. . . ; and
transmit a cell measurement report including an indication of one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells satisfying one or more cell measurement report criteria. (¶ 0035; Fig. 2, 208: Measurement reporting is initiated if the cell is not a small cell)
While KOSKINEN discloses:
[T]he UE knows to scale its mobility parameters 208 differently for the small cells identified at 202A than for the large cells, ¶ 0035 [i.e., preferential handling],
[T]he UE 10 . . . evaluates at functional block 214 which ones to report based on cell size, ¶ 0038 [i.e., exclusive reporting], and
[T]he scaling of the mobility-related parameters such as those reviewed in the background section above are limited to only specific cells, namely the larger (macro) cells and the scaling is not used for the small (pico) cells, ¶ 0028 [i.e., limited consideration]
KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
the UE-preferred cell information comprising one or more respective preferred cell parameters;
In the same field of endeavor, however, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
the UE-preferred cell information comprising one or more respective preferred cell parameters; (¶ 0075: UE 106 may determine the offset based at least partly on a radio access technology (RAT) with which the cell parameter is associated. For example, if the cell parameter is associated with a preferred cell, e.g., an LTE cell, the offset may be greater than if the cell parameter is associated with a less preferred cell, e.g., a GSM cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting to provide cell parameters associated with preferred cells as taught by KHAY-IBBAT to perform cell selection so as to identify the best option among the various available neighboring cells. See KHAY-IBBAT, at the Abstract and ¶ 0115.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 25. KOSKINEN further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to order, in the cell measurement report, the one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on a respective priority associated with each cell of the one or more cells, the indication identifying the ordering of the one or more cells of the subset of cells in the cell measurement report. (¶ 0047: [T]he neighbor cell list which the serving cell provides to the UE can include an indication dividing the list between larger cells indicated prior to the divider indication and smaller cells indicated after (or vice versa))
Regarding claim 27, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 25. KOSKINEN further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to determine a respective priority for each of the one or more respective preferred cell parameters associated with the UE-preferred cell information, wherein the instructions to determine the subset of cells of the set of cells are further executable by the processor based at least in part on the determining of the respective priority for each of the one or more respective preferred cell parameters associated with the UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0035: [T]he UE knows to scale its mobility parameters 208 differently for the small cells identified at 202A than for the large cells. For example, the UE scales down the time to trigger TTT parameter at 208A to a relatively shorter value for the larger/macro cells and scales it up to a relatively longer value for the smaller/pico cells. The network may specify the up-scaling for small cells only for fast moving UEs (those in the highest mobility state), and/or as noted above the network may define this downscaling for one or more specific frequency layer or for specifically identified cells (one cell PCI or a range of PCIs). In another example the network may specify down scaling for small cells for slow (normal) moving UEs (those in the lowest mobility state))
Regarding claim 28, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 25. KOSKINEN further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to determine a preferred cell type from a plurality of cell types based at least in part on the UE-preferred cell information, wherein the instructions to determine the subset of cells of the set of cells are further executable by the processor based at least in part on comparing the preferred cell type and a respective cell type associated with each of the one or more cells of the subset of cells. (¶ 0027: [I]t is often not preferred to handover a fast moving UE to a pico cell; ¶ 0028: [T]he scaling of the mobility-related parameters . . . are limited to only specific cells, namely the larger (macro) cells and the scaling is not used for the small (pico) cells)
Regarding claim 30, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 25. KOSKINEN further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to determine a mobility state associated with the UE based at least in part on sensor information from one or more sensors associated with the UE; and (¶ 0038: [M]easurements made by the fast moving UE 10 (for example, high or medium mobility state) are made with relatively relaxed requirements as compared to if the UE 10 were in a low mobility state. Knowing from 202A which cells are small cells, the UE 10 evaluates at 214 and knows not to send measurement reports on those identified small cells so long as it is high (or either medium or high) speed per block 204. The relaxed requirements for cell measurements when the UE 10 is high speed enables the UE 10 to react faster to changes in the speed detection states at 204 as the cell detection and measurements are performed; ¶ 0053: Block 310 stipulates as in the above examples that the differentiated measurement reporting of block 304 is conditional on a UE which sends the measurement reports being classified as fast moving (that is, for a UE classified as slow moving there is no differentiated measurement reporting based on neighbor cell size). There are different approaches in various different radio access technologies for classifying UE speed, in the above examples UE mobility state was used but other technologies may use other ways to classify. In different embodiments the medium mobility state may be includes with either the high or the low mobility state)
update the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on the mobility state associated with the UE, wherein the instructions to select the subset of cells of the set of cells are further executable by the processor based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information. (¶ 0031: [F]actors such as UE mobility state which may manifest a differential reporting of neighbor cells; ¶¶ 0041-0042: [T]he high/medium mobility state UE 10 can thereby react faster to changes in its speed detection states as the cell detection and measurements are still performed and available already within the UE 10 when for example the UE transitions to a low mobility state, at which time measurement reporting can be done without delay. [0042] Similar to FIG. 2, the high/medium mobility state idle mode UE 10 can also skip taking measurements of the identified small/pico cells)
Claims 5, 7, 10, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKINEN in view of KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, and further in view of US 2012/0039226 (hereinafter, “YANG”)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on a battery power level associated with the UE, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, YANG teaches:
further comprising updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on a battery power level associated with the UE, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information. (Fig. 5, 202A: Q: is MS battery constrained?; ¶ 0046: When the battery level of the mobile device 50 is low, the base station selection method 200 may prefer to allow the mobile station to select a pico cell 40 as its attachment point, as shown above in FIG. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide UE battery level threshold information as taught by YANG as a basis for evaluating serving base station selections so as to make optimal target cell selections for the mobile device as it travels through the wireless neighborhood. See YANG, at the Abstract and ¶ 0014.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on a data throughput associated with the UE,
wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, YANG teaches:
further comprising updating the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on a data throughput associated with the UE, (Claim 13: [A]scertaining whether the mobile device has a high downlink quality of service requirement relative to a throughput of the mobile device or not, wherein the serving base station of the mobile device is either a macro cell that supports high-mobility devices or a pico cell that provides low-mobility coverage on the network)
wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information. (Claim 13: [I]f the mobile device has a high downlink quality of service requirement relative to the throughput of the mobile device, then either maintaining an attachment of the mobile device to the macro cell or handing the mobile device to the macro cell as its serving base station, wherein the macro cell is the nearest to the mobile device of a plurality of macro cells in the wireless neighborhood)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide UE’s data throughput information as taught by YANG as a basis for evaluating serving base station selections so as to make optimal target cell selections for the mobile device as it travels through the wireless neighborhood. See YANG, at the Abstract and ¶ 0014.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE-preferred cell information is based at least in part on one or more of a user preference associated with the UE, a network operator associated with the UE, or a subscription service associated with the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, however, YANG teaches:
wherein the UE-preferred cell information is based at least in part on one or more of a user preference associated with the UE, a network operator associated with the UE, or a subscription service associated with the UE. (¶ 0041: The threshold for high mobility versus low mobility is determined by network operators on a case-by-case basis, and may change depending on the traffic in the wireless neighborhood 100, on the network 80, and other considerations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide by network operators’ determinations as taught by YANG as a basis for evaluating serving base station selections so as to make optimal target cell selections for the mobile device as it travels through the wireless neighborhood. See YANG, at the Abstract and ¶ 0014.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the subset of cells are associated with one or more of a high-speed train network, a new radio dual connectivity, a closed subscriber group, a multimedia broadcast multicast service, or a cellular vehicle-to-everything.
In the same field of endeavor, however, YANG teaches:
wherein the subset of cells are associated with one or more of a high-speed train network, a new radio dual connectivity, a closed subscriber group, a multimedia broadcast multicast service, or a cellular vehicle-to-everything. (¶ 0016: In addition to generally being larger than pico cells, macro cells 30 are defined as those base stations that provide seamless mobility coverage. One example of such macro cells is a base station with a large coverage area, such as one supporting all kinds of mobile device users, from pedestrians to users on a high-speed train)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide a high-speed train network as taught by YANG as a basis for evaluating serving base station selections so as to make optimal target cell selections for the mobile device as it travels through the wireless neighborhood. See YANG, at the Abstract and ¶ 0014.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 25. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to update the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on a battery power level associated with the UE, wherein the instructions to determine the subset of cells of the set of cells are further executable by the processor based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, YANG teaches:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to update the UE-preferred cell information based at least in part on a battery power level associated with the UE, wherein the instructions to determine the subset of cells of the set of cells are further executable by the processor based at least in part on the updated UE-preferred cell information. (Fig. 5, 202A: Q: is MS battery constrained?; ¶ 0046: When the battery level of the mobile device 50 is low, the base station selection method 200 may prefer to allow the mobile station to select a pico cell 40 as its attachment point, as shown above in FIG. 5)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKINEN in view of KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, and further in view of US 2014/0064176 (hereinafter, “ANCHAN”)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising determining the one or more respective cell parameters based at least in part on applying a bitmask to the cell-specific information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the one or more respective cell parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, however, ANCHAN teaches:
further comprising determining the one or more respective cell parameters based at least in part on applying a bitmask to the cell-specific information, wherein the determining of the subset of cells of the set of cells is based at least in part on the determining of the one or more respective cell parameters. (¶ 0125: At 1020, the UE receives the priority channel bitmask from the application server. At 1025, the UE determines whether the priority channel bitmask indicates a priority group call restriction. The priority channel bitmask indicates a priority group call restriction if one of the bits in the bitmask is set to 1. If there is a priority group call restriction, then at 1030, the UE determines whether it is a member of the priority group by comparing its group identifier bitmask to the priority channel bitmask. If the UE's group identifier bitmask matches the priority channel bitmask, then at 1035, the UE permits channel access procedures)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide priority channel bitmasks as taught by ANCHAN to provide for comparing of the priority group’s group identifier bitmask to the priority channel bitmask so as to dynamically control access priority to a wireless network for a plurality of subscriber devices for the members of a group call. See ANCHAN, at the Abstract and ¶ 0008.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKINEN in view of KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, and further in view of US 2021/0345201 (hereinafter, “CHENG”)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of KOSKINEN and KHAY-IBBAT, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KOSKINEN does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
performing a mobility procedure based at least in part on the transmitting of the cell measurement report including the indication of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, the mobility procedure comprising a cell handover procedure or a cell redirection procedure; and
camping on a cell associated with the one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on the performing of the mobility procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHENG teaches:
performing a mobility procedure based at least in part on the transmitting of the cell measurement report including the indication of the one or more cells of the subset of cells, the mobility procedure comprising a cell handover procedure or a cell redirection procedure; and (Abstract: A user equipment (UE) measure and report cell measurements for neighboring cells to assist the wireless network with handover decisions; ¶ 0138: UE 115-a may also measure and report beam-level measurements. In some cases, the beam measurements may assist the network for a handover decision. For example, UE 115-a may report beam-level measurements to be handed over to a best beam of the target base station)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOSKINEN’s scaling factor-based differentiated cell measurement reporting procedure to provide cell measurement reports as taught by CHENG to perform handover decisions such that beam measurements may be used by the network to configure contention-free random access (CFRA) resources for the target cell of the handover, and so as to avoid allocation of a large amount of overhead for transmitting a measurement report. See CHENG, at ¶ 0004 and ¶ 0138.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, KHAY-IBBAT teaches:
camping on a cell associated with the one or more cells of the subset of cells based at least in part on the performing of the mobility procedure. (¶ 0079: UE 106 may camp on the cell associated with the base station 102 based on the comparison of the at least one of the measurements of the signal strength with the modified cell parameter. For example, if the UE 106 determines (e.g., in response to the UE 106 determining) that the signal strength measurement exceeds (or meets) the modified threshold value, then the UE 106 may camp on the cell)
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644