DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 4 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding amended claim 7 with respect to the amended claim feature of “the operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell” which is a claim feature from previous claim 8, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues on Pg.’s 6-7 of the remarks, that neither CATT and Tang, whether considered separately or in combination, fail to teach the limitation. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as the teachings of Tang discloses the claim limitation and the combined teachings of CATT in view of Tang arrive to the claim feature which will be explained below.
For example, although Catt teaches that an indication of beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed for the network and the beam information can be indicated to the network (Catt, see Pg. 4 & Pg. 5 i.e., issue 1-1-5 and option 1 i.e., The beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed to be indicated to NW), Catt does not disclose the claim feature of “the operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell”. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2021/0251040).
Tang discloses an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell (see Fig. 5 i.e., L1-RSRP measurement and reporting steps 525-526 performed during Tactivation_time 302 & Para’s [0051-0053] i.e., the UE 101 can dynamically activate one or more of the SCells 120a-120n, [0100] i.e., the process 500 starts with phase 351 where the PDSCH 331 carrying the SCell activation MAC CE 341 is decoded & [0102] i.e., After the cell search process 524, an L1-RSRP measurement process 525 and an L1-RSRP reporting process 526 can be successfully performed. In the process 525, beam sweepings with Tx beams of the base station 105 and beam sweepings with Rx beams of the UE 101 can be performed on the SCell 120a. Beam pair link qualities (e.g., RSRP) can be measured based on SSBs. In the process 526, L1-RSRP measurement results (i.e., “beam information”) of the SCell 120a can be reported to the base station 105 on the PCell 110…At this point, the base station 105 becomes aware of the beam level link qualities (i.e., “beam information”), and can use the beam level link qualities as a basis for determining the TCI states carried in the MAC CEs 442 and MAC CE 472). Therefore Para [0120] of Tang discloses the UE transmits the beam level link qualities (i.e., “beam information”) via the L1-RSRP measurement results of the SCell 120a reported to the base station during SCell activation.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated which can be indicated to the network as disclosed in Catt to be transmitted by the terminal to the network during PUCCH Scell activation based on the teachings of Tang who discloses an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell, because the motivation lies in Tang for indicating the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) to the base station for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities).
For the reasons explained, the combined teachings of Catt in view of Tang discloses the claim feature of “the operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell” as recited in independent claim 7 and 10-11.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the teachings of Tang on (Pg. 7 of the remarks), the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example the applicant argues Para [0102] of Tang and states that however, Tang does not mention PUCCH SCell, nor does it address beam information transmission in the context of a PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as the rejection is an obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103(a), and the applicant is arguing the teachings of Tang individually for not disclosing PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA which is taught in Catt (Catt, i.e., see Pg. 10 i.e., NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the beam information transmitted by the UE to the base station during SCell activation as disclosed in Tang to be performed for the PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA disclosed in Catt who discloses that an indication of beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed to be indicated to the network (Catt, see Pg. 4 & Pg. 5 i.e., issue 1-1-5 and option 1 i.e., The beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed to be indicated to NW).
As previously mentioned and for the reasons explained, the combined teachings of Catt in view of Tang discloses the claim feature of “the operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell” as recited in independent claim 7 and 10-11.
For the reasons explained, the rejection of claims 7 and 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is maintained over the combination of Catt (Of Record) in view of Tang (Of Record).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT “WF on further RRM enhancement for NR and MR-DC-PUCCH SCell activation/deactivation requirements”, 3GPP, R4-2103675 in view of Tang et al. US (2021/0251040).
Regarding Claim 7, CATT discloses a terminal comprising: a processor that performs an activation of a specific secondary cell configured with a physical uplink control channel; (see Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”…The UE (i.e., the UE includes a processor) shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length, where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA).
and a transmitter that transmits the physical uplink control channel to the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”… option 1 i.e., applying the received TA for uplink transmission… option 2 i.e., UE (i.e., UE includes a transmitter for transmitting PUCCH on SCell) shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell…and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated)
wherein the processor performs an operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell so as not to exceed a requested delay time when a timing advance of the specific secondary cell is not valid; (see Pg. 9 i.e., Compared to valid TA case, additional delay is needed for the NR PUCCH SCell activation delay requirements with invalid TA & Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”…option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length (i.e., “requested delay time”), where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA & PG. 11 i.e., delays T1, T2, & T3)
the requested delay time includes a first delay time determined based on a transmission occasion of a random access preamble of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay uncertainty in acquiring the first available PRACH occasion in the PUCCH SCell…option 2 i.e., The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length (i.e., “requested delay time”), where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure (i.e., delay to perform the RACH procedure includes delay time (i.e., T1) of acquiring the first available PRACH occasion in the PUCCH SCell which is part of the PUCCH SCell activation) and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., T1)
a second delay time for receiving the timing advance of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay for obtaining a valid TA for uplink transmission…option 2 i.e., where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., the delay for obtaining a valid TA command for the sTAG to which the SCell configured with PUCCH belongs)
and a third delay time for applying the timing advance of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay for applying the received TA for uplink transmission & Pg. 11 i.e., the delay for applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated (i.e., T3))
While CATT discloses the requested delay time is determined based on a NR slot length of the specific secondary cell (see Pg. 10 i.e., The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length), and that an indication of beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed for the network and the beam information can be indicated to the network (Catt, see Pg. 4 & Pg. 5 i.e., issue 1-1-5 and option 1 i.e., The beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed to be indicated to NW), CATT does not does not disclose the claim features of and the requested delay time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell, the operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell, and does not explicitly disclose the processor and transmitter of the terminal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2021/0251040).
Tang discloses the requested delay time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell (see Para’s [0051-0053], [0093] i.e., Accordingly, if the SCell activation command is received in slot n, the UE 101 can transmit the CSI report and apply actions related to the activation command for the SCell 120a being activated no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING/NR slot length …The NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a. For example, corresponding to the subcarrier spacing of 15, 30, 60, 120, and 240 KHz, the slot length can be 1, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, and 1/16ms, respectively).
an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell (see Fig. 5 i.e., L1-RSRP measurement and reporting steps 525-526 performed during Tactivation_time 302 & Para’s [0051-0053] i.e., the UE 101 can dynamically activate one or more of the SCells 120a-120n, [0100] i.e., the process 500 starts with phase 351 where the PDSCH 331 carrying the SCell activation MAC CE 341 is decoded & [0102] i.e., After the cell search process 524, an L1-RSRP measurement process 525 and an L1-RSRP reporting process 526 can be successfully performed. In the process 525, beam sweepings with Tx beams of the base station 105 and beam sweepings with Rx beams of the UE 101 can be performed on the SCell 120a. Beam pair link qualities (e.g., RSRP) can be measured based on SSBs. In the process 526, L1-RSRP measurement results (i.e., “beam information”) of the SCell 120a can be reported to the base station 105 on the PCell 110…At this point, the base station 105 becomes aware of the beam level link qualities (i.e., “beam information”), and can use the beam level link qualities as a basis for determining the TCI states carried in the MAC CEs 442 and MAC CE 472).
A processor (see Fig. 11 i.e., processing circuitry 1110) and transmitter (see Fig. 11 i.e., Radio Frequency module 1130) of the terminal used for performing activation and transmission of the secondary cell (SCell), (see Para’s [0053], [0093], & [0149-0152])
(Tang suggests the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined in order for the UE to performing an SCell activation process which results in achieving a high data throughput when data traffic from the base station towards the UE is high, (see Para’s [0004], [0051-0055], & [0093]) and the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) transmitted by the UE to the base station is used for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities), (see Para [0102])
.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the requested delay time that is determined based on a NR slot length of the specific secondary cell when performing activation of the specific secondary cell as disclosed in CATT who discloses beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated can be indicated to the network, for the beam information to be transmitted by the terminal to the network during PUCCH Scell activation and for the requested relay time to be based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell based on the teachings of Tang who discloses the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined when the UE is performing an SCell activation process and an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell, because the motivation lies in Tang the that the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined in order for the UE to performing an SCell activation process which results in achieving a high data throughput when data traffic from the base station towards the UE is high and the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) transmitted by the UE to the base station is used for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities).
Regarding Claim 9, Catt discloses the terminal according to claim 7, wherein the transmitter transmits a measurement report related to a measurement in a physical layer (see Pg. 3 i.e., CSI report of PUCCH SCell is transmitted on PUCCH SCell to be activated, Pg. 5, option 4 i.e., L1-RSRP (i.e., related to measurement in physical layer L1) is transmitted on SpCell or SCell first & Pg. 10 i.e., CSI reporting), when the timing advance of the specific secondary cell is valid (see Pg. 7 i.e., the condition that TA of target PUCCH SCell is valid & Pg. 8 i.e., The PUCCH SCell activation delay when TA of target PUCCH SCell is valid), but does not disclose transmitting the measurement report when the specific secondary cell is unknown. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2021/0251040).
Tang discloses transmitting a measurement report related to a measurement in a physical layer when the specific secondary cell is unknown during SCell activation (see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0059] i.e., the UE can measure RSRP of each beam pair link at physical layer L1 referred to as L1-RSRP measurement, [0099] i.e., the process 500 assumes that the SCell 120a is unknown to the UE 101…During the phase 551, an L1-RSRP measurement process is performed on the SCell 120a being activated, and measurement results are reported to the base station 105 on the PCell & [0102] i.e., an L1-RSRP measurement process 525 and an L1-RSRP reporting process can be successively performed. In the process 525, beam sweepings with Tx beams of the base station 105 and beam sweepings with Rx beams of the UE 101 can be performed on the SCell 120a. Beam pair link qualities (e.g., RSRP) can be measured based on SSBs. In the process 526, L1-RSRP measurement results of the SCell 120a can be reported to the base station 105 on the PCell 110 & Para [0106] i.e., with consideration of the SCell 120a being unknown).
(Tang suggests the L1-RSRP measurement report including the L1-RSRP measurement indicates beam level link qualities corresponding to beam pair links for indicating which Tx beams are best choices for downlink transmission and which Rx beams are best choices for receiving a signal from a Tx beam for the SCell, (see Para’s [0059-0061] & [0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for activation of the specific secondary cell performed by the terminal as disclosed in the teachings of Catt to include transmitting a measurement report related to a measurement in a physical layer, when the specific secondary cell is unknown according to the SCell activation process performed by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Tang, because the motivation lies in Tang a L1-RSRP measurement report transmitted by the UE including the L1-RSRP measurement indicates beam level link qualities corresponding to beam pair links for indicating which Tx beams are best choices for downlink transmission and which Rx beams are best choices for receiving a signal from a Tx beam for the SCell.
Regarding Claim 10, CATT discloses a radio communication system comprising: a terminal (see Pg. 10 i.e., the UE); and a base station (see Pg.’s 4-5 i.e., the network (NW) which receives beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated includes a base station & Pg. 11 i.e., applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated will be received by a base station);
wherein the terminal comprises a processor that performs an activation of a specific secondary cell configured with a physical uplink control channel; (see Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”…The UE (i.e., the UE includes a processor) shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length, where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA).
the base station receives the physical uplink control channel to the specific secondary cell; (see Pg. 10 i.e., NR PUCCH SCell activation & Pg. 11 i.e., applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated will be received by a base station)
the processor performs an operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell so as not to exceed a requested delay time when a timing advance of the specific secondary cell is not valid; (see Pg. 9 i.e., Compared to valid TA case, additional delay is needed for the NR PUCCH SCell activation delay requirements with invalid TA & Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”…option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length (i.e., “requested delay time”), where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA & PG. 11 i.e., delays T1, T2, & T3)
the requested delay time includes a first delay time determined based on a transmission occasion of a random access preamble of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay uncertainty in acquiring the first available PRACH occasion in the PUCCH SCell…option 2 i.e., The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length (i.e., “requested delay time”), where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure (i.e., delay to perform the RACH procedure includes delay time (i.e., T1) of acquiring the first available PRACH occasion in the PUCCH SCell which is part of the PUCCH SCell activation) and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., T1)
a second delay time for receiving the timing advance of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay for obtaining a valid TA for uplink transmission…option 2 i.e., where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., the delay for obtaining a valid TA command for the sTAG to which the SCell configured with PUCCH belongs)
and a third delay time for applying the timing advance of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay for applying the received TA for uplink transmission & Pg. 11 i.e., the delay for applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated (i.e., T3))
While CATT discloses the requested delay time is determined based on a NR slot length of the specific secondary cell (see Pg. 10 i.e., The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length) and that an indication of beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed for the network and the beam information can be indicated to the network (Catt, see Pg. 4 & Pg. 5 i.e., issue 1-1-5 and option 1 i.e., The beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed to be indicated to NW), CATT does not does not disclose the claim features of and the requested delay time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell, the operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell, and does not explicitly disclose the processor and the base station comprises a receiver that receives the physical uplink control channel to the specific secondary cell. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2021/0251040).
Tang discloses the requested delay time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell (see Para’s [0051-0053] [0093] i.e., Accordingly, if the SCell activation command is received in slot n, the UE 101 can transmit the CSI report and apply actions related to the activation command for the SCell 120a being activated no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING/NR slot length …The NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a. For example, corresponding to the subcarrier spacing of 15, 30, 60, 120, and 240 KHz, the slot length can be 1, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, and 1/16ms, respectively)
an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell (see Fig. 5 i.e., L1-RSRP measurement and reporting steps 525-526 performed during Tactivation_time 302 & Para’s [0051-0053] i.e., the UE 101 can dynamically activate one or more of the SCells 120a-120n, [0100] i.e., the process 500 starts with phase 351 where the PDSCH 331 carrying the SCell activation MAC CE 341 is decoded & [0102] i.e., After the cell search process 524, an L1-RSRP measurement process 525 and an L1-RSRP reporting process 526 can be successfully performed. In the process 525, beam sweepings with Tx beams of the base station 105 and beam sweepings with Rx beams of the UE 101 can be performed on the SCell 120a. Beam pair link qualities (e.g., RSRP) can be measured based on SSBs. In the process 526, L1-RSRP measurement results (i.e., “beam information”) of the SCell 120a can be reported to the base station 105 on the PCell 110…At this point, the base station 105 becomes aware of the beam level link qualities (i.e., “beam information”), and can use the beam level link qualities as a basis for determining the TCI states carried in the MAC CEs 442 and MAC CE 472).
A processor (see Fig. 11 i.e., processing circuitry 1110) and transmission unit (see Fig. 11 i.e., Radio Frequency module 1130) of the terminal used for performing activation and transmission of the secondary cell (SCell), (see Para’s [0053], [0093], & [0149-0152])
and a base station (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station 105 & Fig. 11 & Para’s [0149]) comprises a receiver (see Fig. 11 i.e., radio frequency module 1130) that receives the physical uplink control channel to the specific secondary cell (see Para’s [0047-0050], [0053] i.e., As a result of the SCell activation process, the UE 101 can become ready to perform normal operations on the SCells being activated including PUCCH transmission, [0149], [0152] i.e., The RF module 1130 performs reception and transmission operations)
(Tang suggests the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined in order for the UE to performing an SCell activation process which results in achieving a high data throughput when data traffic from the base station towards the UE is high, (see Para’s [0004], [0051-0055], & [0093]) and the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) transmitted by the UE to the base station is used for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities), (see Para [0102])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the requested delay time that is determined based on a NR slot length of the specific secondary cell when performing activation of the specific secondary cell as disclosed in CATT who discloses beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated can be indicated to the network, for the beam information to be transmitted by the terminal to the network during PUCCH Scell activation and for the requested relay time to be based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell based on the teachings of Tang who discloses the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined when the UE is performing an SCell activation process and an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell, because the motivation lies in Tang the that the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined in order for the UE to performing an SCell activation process which results in achieving a high data throughput when data traffic from the base station towards the UE is high and the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) transmitted by the UE to the base station is used for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities).
Regarding Claim 11, CATT discloses a radio communication method comprising: a step A of performing an activation of a specific secondary cell configured with a physical uplink control channel; (see Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”…The UE (i.e., UE includes a processor which may be the “control unit”) shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length, where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA).
and a step B of transmitting the physical uplink control channel to the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”… option 1 i.e., applying the received TA for uplink transmission… option 2 i.e., UE (i.e., UE includes a transmitter for transmitting PUCCH on SCell) shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell…and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated)
wherein the step A includes a step of performing an operation involved with the activation of the specific secondary cell so as not to exceed a requested delay time when a timing advance of the specific secondary cell is not valid; (see Pg. 9 i.e., Compared to valid TA case, additional delay is needed for the NR PUCCH SCell activation delay requirements with invalid TA & Pg. 10 i.e., “PUCCH SCell activation”…option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length (i.e., “requested delay time”), where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA & PG. 11 i.e., delays T1, T2, & T3)
the requested delay time includes a first delay time determined based on a transmission occasion of a random access preamble of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay uncertainty in acquiring the first available PRACH occasion in the PUCCH SCell…option 2 i.e., The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length (i.e., “requested delay time”), where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure (i.e., delay to perform the RACH procedure includes delay time (i.e., T1) of acquiring the first available PRACH occasion in the PUCCH SCell which is part of the PUCCH SCell activation) and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., T1)
a second delay time for receiving the timing advance of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay for obtaining a valid TA for uplink transmission…option 2 i.e., where TRACH is the delay to perform RACH procedure and apply the TA & Pg. 11 i.e., the delay for obtaining a valid TA command for the sTAG to which the SCell configured with PUCCH belongs)
and a third delay time for applying the timing advance of the specific secondary cell, (see Pg. 10, option 1 i.e., the following three additional delay parts (T1/T2/T3) could be reused for NR PUCCH SCell activation with invalid TA…-the delay for applying the received TA for uplink transmission & Pg. 11 i.e., the delay for applying the received TA for uplink transmission on target PUCCH SCell being activated (i.e., T3))
While CATT discloses the requested delay time is determined based on a NR slot length of the specific secondary cell (see Pg. 10 i.e., The UE shall be capable to perform uplink actions related to the SCell activation command for the SCell being activated on the PUCCH SCell no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING+TRACH/NR slot length), and that an indication of beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed for the network and the beam information can be indicated to the network (Catt, see Pg. 4 & Pg. 5 i.e., issue 1-1-5 and option 1 i.e., The beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated is needed to be indicated to NW), CATT does not does not disclose the claim features of and the requested delay time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell and an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2021/0251040).
Tang discloses the requested delay time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell (see Para’s [0051-0053] [0093] i.e., Accordingly, if the SCell activation command is received in slot n, the UE 101 can transmit the CSI report and apply actions related to the activation command for the SCell 120a being activated no later than in slot n + THARQ+Tactivation_time+TCSI_REPORTING/NR slot length …The NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a. For example, corresponding to the subcarrier spacing of 15, 30, 60, 120, and 240 KHz, the slot length can be 1, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, and 1/16ms, respectively)
an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell (see Fig. 5 i.e., L1-RSRP measurement and reporting steps 525-526 performed during Tactivation_time 302 & Para’s [0051-0053] i.e., the UE 101 can dynamically activate one or more of the SCells 120a-120n, [0100] i.e., the process 500 starts with phase 351 where the PDSCH 331 carrying the SCell activation MAC CE 341 is decoded & [0102] i.e., After the cell search process 524, an L1-RSRP measurement process 525 and an L1-RSRP reporting process 526 can be successfully performed. In the process 525, beam sweepings with Tx beams of the base station 105 and beam sweepings with Rx beams of the UE 101 can be performed on the SCell 120a. Beam pair link qualities (e.g., RSRP) can be measured based on SSBs. In the process 526, L1-RSRP measurement results (i.e., “beam information”) of the SCell 120a can be reported to the base station 105 on the PCell 110…At this point, the base station 105 becomes aware of the beam level link qualities (i.e., “beam information”), and can use the beam level link qualities as a basis for determining the TCI states carried in the MAC CEs 442 and MAC CE 472).
(Tang suggests the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined in order for the UE to performing an SCell activation process which results in achieving a high data throughput when data traffic from the base station towards the UE is high, (see Para’s [0004], [0051-0055], & [0093]) and the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) transmitted by the UE to the base station is used for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities), (see Para [0102])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the requested delay time that is determined based on a NR slot length of the specific secondary cell when performing activation of the specific secondary cell as disclosed in CATT who discloses beam information of the PUCCH SCell being activated can be indicated to the network, for the beam information to be transmitted by the terminal to the network during PUCCH Scell activation and for the requested relay time to be based on a subcarrier spacing of the specific secondary cell based on the teachings of Tang who discloses the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined when the UE is performing an SCell activation process and an operation involved with the activation of a specific secondary cell includes an operation of transmitting a beam information related to the specific secondary cell, because the motivation lies in Tang the that the NR slot length depends on a subcarrier spacing used in the SCell 120a which is determined in order for the UE to performing an SCell activation process which results in achieving a high data throughput when data traffic from the base station towards the UE is high and the beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities) transmitted by the UE to the base station is used for determining optimal TCI states to be used for communication via the activated SCell based on the reported beam information (i.e., beam level link qualities).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461