DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 07/06/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 13, 16-20, and 23-27 are pending and rejected. Claims 1, 5 and 13 are amended, claims 14 and 21 are canceled and claims 2-4, 6-12, 15, 22 were canceled in previous amendment.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application 2021-064901 filed in Japan on 04/06/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5,13,17-20 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Echigo et al (WO 2022201404 A1) (hereinafter “Echigo”) (IDS) in view of Su et al (US 20240188001 A1/PCT/IB2022/053132) (hereinafter “Su”).
Regarding claim 1, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), comprising:
control circuitry (see Fig. 3, lines ( 724-733) discloses hardware elements and processor controlling communications, CPU, control unit), which, in operation, in a case where a transmission resource for an uplink control channel overlaps in time with a transmission resource for an uplink shared channel using multiple slots (see lines (45-56) discloses physical uplink channel overlaps with physical shared channel in time domain spanning multiple slots),
determines a second resource amount used for transmission of uplink control information (see lines (47-49) discloses transmits control information through the physical uplink shared channel), based on a first parameter indicative of a code block size per slot of the uplink shared channel and on a first resource amount of the uplink shared channel (see lines (53-56) discloses the number of symbols for control information transmitted over the physical uplink control channel is determined based on the time resources allocated to the physical uplink shared channel),
wherein a single transport block (TB) is transmitted over the multiple slots (TBoMS) (see lines (21-23); (29-30) ;(61-62); (157-158);(317-319) discloses TBoMS (Transport Block processing over multi-slot PUSCH; example of PUSCH allocation by TBoMS; and
transmission circuitry, which, in operation, transmits the uplink control information in a resource of the determined second resource amount multiplexed on the uplink shared channel (see lines (61- 76) ;(352-353) discloses multiplexing of PUCCH to PUSCH, UCI transmission determined based on the time resources allocated to PUSCH; number of symbols for UCI to be transmitted via PUSCH based on the time resources allocated to PUSCH).
Echigo does not clearly disclose but Su teaches the first parameter is different from a second parameter indicative of a code block size transmitted through the TBoMS (see para. [0213] discloses K.sub.r is a size for code block r across the multiple slots of TBoMS. (This also appears in PCT/IB2022/053132, page 22, para. [0072]). This K.sub.r is different from the first K.sub.r that is in code block size per slot).
Echigo and Su are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of telecommunication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to include the different parameter indicative of a code block size as described by Su.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficiency on the radio link.
Regarding claim 5, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the control circuitry determines the second resource amount based on the first parameter, the first resource amount, and a third resource amount for the uplink shared channel (see lines (496-498) discloses transmit UCI using multiple slot PUSCH resource; transmit UCI using all PUSCH resources allocated).
Regarding claim 13, Echigo discloses a communication method (see lines (450-463); (465) discloses method), comprising:
determining, by a communication apparatus, in a case where a transmission resource for an uplink control channel overlaps in time with a transmission resource for an uplink shared channel using multiple slots (see lines (45-56) discloses physical uplink channel overlaps with physical shared channel in time domain spanning multiple slots), a second resource amount used for transmission of uplink control information (see lines (47-49) discloses transmits control information through the physical uplink shared channel), based on a first parameter indicative of a code block size per slot of the uplink shared channel and on a first resource amount of the uplink shared channel (see lines (53-56) discloses the number of symbols for control information transmitted over the physical uplink control channel is determined based on the time resources allocated to the physical uplink shared channel), wherein a single transport block (TB) is transmitted over the multiple slots (TBoMS) (see lines (21-23); (29-30) ;(61-62); (157-158);(317-319) discloses TBoMS (Transport Block processing over multi-slot PUSCH; example of PUSCH allocation by TBoMS); and
transmitting, by the communication apparatus, the uplink control information in a resource of the determined second resource amount multiplexed on the uplink shared channel
(see lines (61- 76) ;(352-353) discloses multiplexing of PUCCH to PUSCH, UCI transmission determined based on the time resources allocated to PUSCH; number of symbols for UCI to be transmitted via PUSCH based on the time resources allocated to PUSCH).
Echigo does not clearly disclose but Su teaches the first parameter is different from a second parameter indicative of a code block size transmitted through the TBoMS (see para. [0213] discloses K.sub.r is a size for code block r across the multiple slots of TBoMS. (This also appears in PCT/IB2022/053132, page 22, para. [0072]). This K.sub.r is different from the first K.sub.r that is in code block size per slot).
Echigo and Su are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of telecommunication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to include the different parameter indicative of a code block size as described by Su.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficiency on the radio link.
Regarding claim 17, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the first resource amount is a number of symbols of the uplink shared channel per slot (see line 491 PUCCH resource that overlap transmission is performed using PUSCH resource).
Regarding claim 18, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the first resource amount comprises a number of symbols used for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol (see lines (154-155) ;(313-315) discloses UE can transmit DMRS spanning multiple slots for the gNB to perform channel estimation: control unit 270 may set a DMRS symbol (OFDM symbol) to be used for each predetermined number of repetitions).
Regarding claim 19, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the second resource amount is a number of symbols used for the uplink control information (see lines (496-498) discloses transmit UCI using multiple slot PUSCH resource; transmit UCI using all PUSCH resources allocated).
Regarding claim 20, Echigo discloses communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the uplink control information includes at least one of acknowledgement (ACK) information (see Fig.15, lines (615-616) disclose UE may use offset values corresponding to TBoMS when calculating coded modulation symbols for UCI; beta_offset values for HARQ-ACK information) or channel state information (CSI) (see Fig. 15, lines (615-616) discloses UE may use offset values corresponding to TBoMS when calculating coded modulation symbols for UCI; beta_ofsset values for CSI information).
Regarding claim 24, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the first resource amount is a number of symbols of the uplink shared channel per slot (see lines (53-56) discloses the number of symbols for control information transmitted over the PUCCH is determined based on the time resources allocated to the PUSCH).
Regarding claim 25, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the first resource amount comprises a number of symbols used for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol (see lines (154-155) ;(313-315) discloses UE can transmit DMRS spanning multiple slots for the gNB to perform channel estimation: control unit 270 may set a DMRS symbol (OFDM symbol) to be used for each predetermined number of repetitions).
Regarding claim 26, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the second resource amount is a number of symbols used for the uplink control information (see lines (496-498) discloses transmit UCI using multiple slot PUSCH resource; transmit UCI using all PUSCH resources allocated).
Regarding claim 27, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block), wherein the uplink control information includes at least one of acknowledgement (ACK) information (see Fig.15, lines (615-616) discloses UE may use offset values corresponding to TBoMS when calculating coded modulation symbols for UCI; beta_offset values for HARQ-ACK information) or channel state information (CSI) (see Fig. 15, lines (615-616) discloses UE may use offset values corresponding to TBoMS when calculating coded modulation symbols for UCI; beta_ofsset values for CSI information).
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Echigo et al (WO 2022201404 A1) (hereinafter “Echigo”) (IDS) in view of (US 20240188001 A1/PCT/IB2022/053132) (hereinafter “Su”) as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of in view of Wang et al (US 20200367265 A1) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 16, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block).
Echigo fails to disclose but Wang teaches wherein a transport block size of the single TB is calculated by multiplying a number of resource elements per slot by a number of slots in the multiple slots (see para. [0339];[0344] discloses UE transmit K PUSCHs on K time units; K PUSCHs correspond to a same TB).
Echigo and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to include the transport block as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability of uplink data.
Regarding claim 23, Echigo discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 3, lines (702-705) disclose device and functional block).
Echigo fails to disclose but Wang teaches, wherein a transport block size of the single TB is calculated by multiplying a number of resource elements per slot by a number of slots in the multiple slots (see para. [0339];[0344] discloses UE transmit K PUSCH on K time units; K PUSCHs correspond to a same TB).
Echigo and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to include the transport block as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability of uplink data.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has considered the request on page 5 from the Applicant to list Pub 2023/0354324 on PTO-892. The Pub 2023/0354324 is now included in PTO-892, list of references.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Su et al (US 20240188001 A1/PCT/IB2022/053132).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419