DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are subject to examination and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TS 23.288 (3GPP TS23.288 v17.0.0, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Architecture enhancement for 5G System (5GS) to support network data analytics services (Release 17), March 2021).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 7, TS 23.288 teaches a method for performing wireless communication (TS 23.288, see page 70, data collection from UE),
performed by a SMF (Session Management Function), comprising:
receiving, from a UE (User Equipment), a PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session establishment request message (TS 23.288, see page 71, UE has an active PDU Session for the UE Application. Even though failing expressly teaching about ‘SMF’, it is embedded that a PDU session is established among a UE, AMF, SMF and UPF or core network. Therefore, TS 23.288 teaches about SMF establishing an active PDU session with a UE),
wherein the PDU session establishment request message includes information that the UE supports to form user plane connection for collecting UE data by a request (TS 23.288, see page 71, The UE Application provides the External Application ID to the AF. The AF stores the information from the UE Application along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application);
transmitting, to the UE, a PDU session establishment accept message in respond to the PDU session establishment request message (TS 23.288, see page 71, UE has an active PDU Session for the UE Application);
receiving, from a network node, a request for the UE to form user plane connection for collecting UE data (TS 23.288, see pages 70-71, The AF stores the information from the UE Application along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application. The UE Application establishes a user plane connection to the AF. Data collection procedure from the UE is performed via the user plane connection. Therefore, TS 23.288 reveals that the AF sends a request of data collection from the UE, and the UE establishes a user plane connection to the AF via the existing PDU session);
transmitting, to the UE, the request for the UE to form user plane connection for collecting UE data (TS 23.288, see pages 70-71, The AF stores the information from the UE Application along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application. The UE Application establishes a user plane connection to the AF. Data collection procedure from the UE is performed via the user plane connection).
Regarding claim 2, TS 23.288 teaches wherein the network node is a NWDAF (network data analytics function) (TS 23.288, see page 70, The data collection request from NWDAF may trigger the AF to collect data from the UE Application).
Regarding claim 3, TS 23.288 teaches further comprising: transmitting, to an AF (application function), information on the UE (TS 23.288, see page 71, The UE Application provides the External Application ID to the AF. The AF stores the information from the UE Application along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application),
wherein the information on the UE includes identification information of the UE (TS 23.288, see page 71, The UE Application provides the External Application ID to the AF. The AF stores the information from the UE Application along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application),
wherein the network node is the AF (application function) (TS 23.288, see page 71, the AF).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, TS 23.288 teaches wherein the request for the UE to form user plane connection is a NAS (Non-Access-Stratum) message (TS 23.288, see page 71, The AF stores the information from the UE Application along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443