DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1-3 and 6-15 have been amended, and new claims 16-20 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10 and 11 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kavuri.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0008143) in view of Kavuri et al. (US 2021/0105866).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method performed by a first core network function in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving a request from a user equipment ("UE") to leave the communication network (Paragraphs [0069]-[0071] describes the UE/terminal sending requests or indications related to leaving network);
Li doesn’t teach determining to keep the UE in a mobility management (MM) Connected state to preserve a non-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first core network function while the UE is away from the communication network ;
In analogous art Kavuri teaches determining to keep the UE in a mobility management (MM) Connected state to preserve a non-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first core network function while the UE is away from the communication network (Paragraphs [0125]; [0132]; [0134]-[0135] describes keeps the RM and CM states intact (RM-REGISTERED/ CM-CONNECTED) during the tune-away period or maintaining NAS connection and MM connected state during the UE’s absence);
Li teaches identifying a leave time for the UE (Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] describes determining and identifying the duration/time period for leaving);
Li teaches and transmitting, to a second network function, an indication that the UE is leaving the communication network for the identified leave time and an instruction not to release a user plane context of the UE (Paragraphs [0069]-[0072] describes sending information from the UE to network function (AMF, NG-RAN) with indication about leaving, assistance information, and instructions about maintaining context (MT filter assistance, going to idle without full release)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to incorporate
the teachings of Kavuri to keep the UE in a mobility management (MM) Connected state to preserve a non-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first core network to improve security checks in a 5G NR network (Kavuri, Paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Kavuri, Li teaches wherein the request received from the UE includes one or more of: an expected away duration and a type of procedure to be performed in another communication network, wherein the leave time is identified based on the expected away duration or the type of procedure (Paragraphs [0061];[0064]-[0066] describes that the leave time (whether long/short, periodic/one-shot, and specific durations) is determined based on the expected away duration provided by the UE).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Kavuri, Li teaches wherein determining to keep the UE in the MM Connected state while the UE is away from the communication network is based on an expected leave duration corresponding to the expected away duration or the type of procedure (Paragraph [0058]; [0064]; [0066] describes the decision to keep the connection (MM connected state) is based on the expected duration and type of procedure. For GBR bearers (requiring continuous connection), short leaving is used to maintain connected state; for non-GBR, long leaving (Idle/inactive state)).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Kavuri, Li teaches wherein the request further comprises paging restriction information ("PRI") and a PRI validity time (Paragraphs [0067]; [0069]; [0071]; [0089] describes paging restriction and validity time).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Kavuri, Li teaches wherein the first network function is a mobility management function (Paragraph [0069] identifies the first core network function as the AMF (or more generally, the mobility management function) which receives the leaving request from the terminal, and coordinates with other network functions).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Kavuri, Li teaches wherein the second network function is an access network ("AN") function (Paragraph [0054] describes the RAN node as receiving the leaving procedure information, establishing it as the second network function),
wherein transmitting the indication to the AN function comprises transmitting assistance information indicating that the UE is leaving the communication network for the identified leave time (Paragraph [0069] the AMF sends message to the NG-RAN, the message includes “MUSIM MT filter assistance information”. The assistance information indicating the terminal is leaving),
the assistance information also including a request to keep the UE in the MM Connected state (Paragraphs [0066]-[0068] shows that for long leaving, different assistance information is sent. For short leaving (keeping MM connected) the assistance information would request maintaining the state).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Kavuri, Li teaches a first network function for wireless communication (Fig. 2 shows an electronic device that implements a network node or network base station),
comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first network function to (Paragraphs [0048]; [0050] describes transceiver coupled to processor):
receive a request from a UE to leave a communication network (Paragraphs [0069]-[0071] describes the UE/terminal sending requests or indications related to leaving network);
Li doesn’t teach determine to keep the UE in a mobility management ("MM") Connected state to preserve anon-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first network function while the UE is away from the communication network;
In analogous art Kavuri teaches determine to keep the UE in a mobility management ("MM") Connected state to preserve anon-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first network function while the UE is away from the communication network (Paragraphs [0125]; [0132]; [0134]-[0135] describes keeps the RM and CM states intact (RM-REGISTERED/ CM-CONNECTED) during the tune-away period or maintaining NAS connection and MM connected state during the UE’s absence);
Li teaches identify a leave time for the UE (Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] describes determining and identifying the duration/time period for leaving);
Li teaches and transmit, to a second network function, an indication that the UE is leaving for the identified leave time, the indication including an instruction not to release a user plane context of the UE (Paragraphs [0069]-[0072] describes sending information from the UE to network function (AMF, NG-RAN) with indication about leaving, assistance information, and instructions about maintaining context (MT filter assistance, going to idle without full release)).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kavuri in further view of Ly et al. (US 2023/0056442; hereinafter Ly).
Regarding claim 7, Li doesn’t teach Regarding claim 7, Li doesn’t teach wherein the second network function is a sessions management function, wherein transmitting the indication to the sessions management function comprises transmitting a second request to stop downlink data transmission,
However, in analogous art Ly teaches wherein the second network function is a sessions management function (Paragraphs [0108]; [0143] describes the SMF as the second network function receiving communications about the pause/suspension),
wherein transmitting the indication to the sessions management function comprises transmitting a second request to stop downlink data transmission (paragraphs [0143]-[0144] describes the SMF sending instructions/notifications to user plane function to buffer data and noting that buffering is enabled constitutes a “request to stop downlink data transmission” since downlink transmission is effectively stopped (buffered rather than transmitted)),
Li teaches the method further comprising: transmitting a response to the UE indicating to keep the UE in the MM Connected state (Paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; [0066];[0068] describes maintaining MM state (connected, idle, or inactive) while the terminal is temporarily away.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li’s system for coordinating leaving procedures when a terminal needs to temporarily leave one communication network to perform activities on another network and Kavuri with Ly’s method to create a smart pause system for 5G networks to improve the user experience by avoiding interruptions (Ly, paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Kavuri and Ly, Ly teaches receiving a NAS message with a resume indication from the UE; and transmitting, to the sessions management function, a third request to resume downlink data transmission (Paragraphs [0122]; [0145]-[0146]; [0154] describes a NAS message with a resume indication from terminal to SMF to resume downlink data transmission).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kavuri in further view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0104163; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches :starting a timer with a duration equal to the leave time (Paragraphs [0086]; [0102]-[0103] describes the UE use a timer to control the gap duration, the timer controls “the gap duration” which is the leave time. The timer mechanism controls when the UE returns or takes action after the gap);
Li doesn’t teach and initiating a procedure to transfer the UE to an idle mode in response to expiry of the timer.
However, in analogous art Kim teaches and initiating a procedure to transfer the UE to an idle mode in response to expiry of the timer (Paragraphs [0176]; [0223]; [0240] teaches timer expiry triggers sate change, terminal enters IDLE mode upon expiry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li’s system for coordinating leaving procedures when a terminal needs to temporarily leave one communication network to perform activities on another network and Kavuri with Kim’s managing RRC connections when a Multi-USIM (MUSIM) device needs to switch between two different networks to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Kim, Paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke (US 20230189106; hereinafter Ke) in view of Kavuri.
Regarding claim 11, Ke teaches a user equipment ("UE") for wireless communication (Paragraph [0101] defines an electronic device),
comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Paragraphs [0024]; [0617] describes transceiver coupled to processor sending messages):
transmit a first request to leave a first communication network; receive from a first network function (Paragraphs [0388] describes the UE/terminal sending requests or indications related to leaving network),
a response message comprising a leave time (Paragraph [0391]; [0394]shows that the response message includes indication information about the leave period)
Ke doesn’t teach and an instruction to keep the in a mobility management ("MM") Connected state to preserve anon-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first network function;
In analogous art Kavuri teaches and an instruction to keep the in a mobility management ("MM") Connected state to preserve anon-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first network function (Paragraphs [0125]; [0132]; [0134]-[0135] describes keeps the RM and CM states intact (RM-REGISTERED/ CM-CONNECTED) during the tune-away period or maintaining NAS connection and MM connected state during the UE’s absence);
Ke teaches perform communication activity in a second communication network (Paragraph [0110] describes the terminal performs services (“completing an important service”) in the second network, which is communication activity);
and transmit to the first network function, a resume message indicating the UE has returned to the first communication network (Paragraphs [0110]; [0124]-[0126]; [0620] describes the transceiver is configured to send “first return information,” which is the resume message and “connection resuming request,” which indicates return to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ke to incorporate the teachings of Kavuri to keep the UE in a mobility management (MM) Connected state to preserve a non-access stratum ("NAS") connection between the UE and the first core network to improve security checks in a 5G NR network (Kavuri, Paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 12, Ke in view of Kavuri, Ke teaches wherein transmitting the first request message comprises transmitting to a MM function (Paragraphs [0098]; [0392];[0388] the terminal sends its MM request to this function),
a MM request comprising a leave request indication and one or more of: an expected away duration and a type of procedure to be performed in another network (Paragraphs [0388]; [0068]-[0070; [0110] describes MM request to MM function, leave request indication, expected away duration, and type of procedure to be performed in another network).
Regarding claim 13, Ke in view of Kavuri, Ke teaches wherein the MM request further comprises paging restriction information ("PRI") and a PRI validity time (Paragraphs [0084]-[0085]; [0087] describes “validation time” and “validation duration” of first auxiliary information. Since first auxiliary information includes paging restrictions, this validation time is the PRI validity time, it specifies how long the paging restriction remain valid).
Regarding claim 14, Ke in view of Kavuri, Ke teaches wherein the first network function comprises a RAN function (Paragraphs [0099]; [0390] defines what constitutes a RAN ),
wherein the response message comprises RRC reconfiguration information indicating a ServiceGapTime parameter indicating the leave time (Paragraphs [0068]; [0070]; [0391] describes duration/timing parameters between terminal and network. The negotiated duration for keeping connected state is functionally equivalent to a serviceGapTime parameter)
and configuring the UE to immediately notify the RAN function using uplink RRC signaling when the UE returns to the first communication network (Paragraph [0089]; [0124] describes return information is sent when the terminal returns, which would be via RRC signaling to notify the Ran function immediately upon return).
Regrading claim 15, Ke in view of Kavuri, Ke teaches wherein the first network function comprises a MM function (Paragraphs [0098]; [0388]; [0394] describes the AMF identified as the first network element receiving the leave request. AMF is the 5G MM function, confirming the first network function comprises an MM function),
wherein the response message comprises a Leave Time parameter indicating the leave time (Paragraphs [0394];[ 0422] describes the leave time parameter that indicates the away time in the response message)
and a Paging Restriction Information ("PRI") validity time (Paragraphs [0084]-[0085]; [0087] describes “validation time” and “validation duration” of first auxiliary information. Since first auxiliary information includes paging restrictions, this validation time is the PRI validity time).
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11 respectively.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12 respectively.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13 respectively.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 15 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464