DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 05/06/2026. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 6 are currently amended, Claim 2 is as originally filed, Claims 3, 4, and 7-9 are as previously presented, Claim 5 is canceled, and Claims 10-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 97/14524 A1 based on the machine translation and as evidenced by “Laird Plastics,” “Fengbai,” and “JLCCNC.”
WO 97/14524 A1 (WO ‘524) teaches a composite for making a sintered body comprising a sinterable powder and a binder. The binder contains polyacetal resin, a modified polyolefin resin, and other binder components. The other binder component is at least polyethylene or paraffin wax [0008]. Polyethylene reads on a polyolefin. Table 2 on page 12 exemplifies the binder composition. Below is this table with a machine translation:
The table above is used to compare the values to the ratios in Claim 1:
The values of density are from the following: low-density polyethylene (LDPE) [0047] is from “Laird Plastics,” ethylene-methyl methacrylate copolymer [0038] is from “Fengbai,” and polyacetal resin (POM) [0043] is from “JLCCNC.” Therefore, WO ‘524 teaches the claimed binder with overlapping ranges for the ratio of the polyolefin to the polyacetal resin. The “sinterable inorganic powder” is not recited in the body of the claim, though WO ‘524 teaches the sintered molded powders can include ceramics and metals [0009] in the form of powders [0023], which reads on “inorganic powder.” Regarding the limitations of the bending modulus and the bending yield strength, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the sintered material of WO ‘524 would have the at least overlapping properties of bending modulus and bending yield strength as claimed, since WO ‘524 teaches substantially the same material. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. See MPEP § 2144.09 I.
Regarding Claim 2, WO ‘524 teaches substantially product of the bending modulus and the bending yield strength, since WO ‘524 teaches the same material as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, WO ‘524 does not teach the number of voids as claimed but teaches a similar process of making the claimed molded body by pressurized kneading and molding into a dumbbell-shaped test piece [0029].
Regarding Claim 4, the average particle size is 10 µm (see page 10 of original document and [0027] of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 6, the melt flow rate of the binder composition is a chemical property. Since WO ‘524 teaches the claimed binder composition, WO ‘524 substantially teaches the claimed property of melt flow rate.
Regarding Claim 7, the binder is 5-85% by volume [0009]. Since metals have a higher density than the binder components taught by WO ‘524, WO ‘524 teaches at least substantially an overlapping range of the mass % of the contained sinterable inorganic powder.
Regarding Claim 8, the powder is a metal powder [0009].
Regarding Claim 9, Figure 2 teaches measurement positions but not the dimensions. The thickness and area of the composition read on intended use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733