DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/23/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Sugahara et al (US 2019/0040109 A1) fails to teach or suggest a molded body comprising the combination of a sinterable inorganic powder and an organic binder. This is not found persuasive because Sugahara et al teaches introducing powder to a mold and heating to form a molded article [0055], which reads in sintering.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are as originally filed, and Clams 3-5 and 7-9 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumazawa et al (US 2009/0275678 A1) as evidenced by ASTM 790 and ISO 178.
Kumazawa et al teaches a composition comprising a thermoplastic resin [0048], which reads on an organic binder, and an inorganic powder [0110] that is sinterable, which is a property of the inorganic material. The composition including an inorganic component, and the thermoplastic resin is represented by TABLE 6 [0206]. The bending properties were measured according to ASTM D790, which defines the testing condition up to 5% strain on page 2, and ISO 178, which defines the testing condition up to 5% on page 9. The bending modulus is 5.2 GPa, 5.4 GPa, or 5.6 GPa (TABLE 6). Kumazawa et al does not teach yield strength but teaches the tensile strength is greater than 10 MPa (TABLE 6), or 55 MPa, 57 MPa, 58 MPa, and 61 MPa. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the composition of Kumazawa et al reads on the claimed yield strength, since Kumazawa et al teaches determining tensile yield strength as part of tensile properties [0183].
Regarding Claim 2, the product of the bending modulus and the tensile strength ranges from 153,900 to 164,700.
Regarding Claim 3, Kumazawa et al does not teach voids but substantially teaches the same claimed properties and composition. Therefore, Kumazawa et al substantially teaches the claimed property of voids, included when they are 10 are less when a cross section is observed under a microscope.
Regarding Claim 5, polyacetal resin is used [0048].
Regarding Claim 6, melt flow rate is a property of the polyacetal. Kumazawa et al teaches achieving the claimed properties of tensile strength and yield strength but does not teach the melt flow rate but substantially teaches the same claimed properties and composition. Therefore, Kumazawa et al substantially teaches the claimed property of melt flow rate.
Regarding Claim 8, the inorganic powder is metal [0110].
Regarding Claim 9, Kumazawa et al does not teach the claimed property of a portion with a thickness of 1 mm or less is present at 100 mm2 or more. The thickness and area of the composition reads on intended use.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (US 2023/0040808 A1) as evidenced by World Materials and Ameralabs.
Ogawa teaches a composition comprising a resin component (A) and inorganic particles (B). The composition has a flexural (or bending) modulus between 5.2 and 11.8 GPa and flexural (bending) strength between 60 and 107.1 MPa (TABLE 1). The testing condition is JIS K6911-1995 [0078] but Ogawa does not recite 0.05-0.1% strain. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the composition in Ogawa would meet the testing condition of a bending modulus of 4000 to 15,000 MPa upon 0.05% to 0.1% strain, since Ogawa teaches a composition with substantially the same properties.
Regarding Claim 2, The product of the flexural modulus and flexural strength is greater than 10 MPa.
Regarding Claim 3, Ogawa does not teach voids but substantially teaches the same claimed properties and composition. Therefore, Ogawa substantially teaches the claimed property of voids, included when they are 10 are less when a cross section is observed under a microscope.
Regarding Claim 4, the average particle size of the particles ranges from 0.5 to 1.6 μm [0094-0097].
Regarding Claim 5, the resin can contain polyacetal [0063].
Regarding Claim 6, melt flow rate is a property of the polyacetal. Ogawa teaches achieving the claimed properties of tensile strength and yield strength but does not teach the melt flow rate but substantially teaches the same claimed properties and composition. Therefore, Ogawa substantially teaches the claimed property of melt flow rate.
Regarding Claim 7, the volume% of the inorganic particles is 20-65. The density of gold [0042] is 19.30 g/cm3 (Density of Metals, page 2) and resins are generally 1.-1.5 g/cm3 (Ameralabs), so one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the mass% of gold would at least overlap 75-95 mass% or more.
Regarding Claim 8, the inorganic particles comprise metal [0042] (“gold and so on”).
Regarding Claim 9, Ogawa does not teach the claimed property of a portion with a thickness of 1 mm or less is present at 100 mm2 or more. The thickness and area of the composition reads on intended use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2013/035059 A1 teaches metallic or ceramic molded bodies by powder injection molding [0001] that contains an organic binder [0005]. The binder is polyoxymethylene copolymers [0039], which are polyacetals. The powder can be all suitable inorganic sinterable powders [0072]. The particle size is 0.3 to 30 μm [0075]. The composition is prepared in a kneader or extruder at 150-220 °C. Shaping takes place at 170-200 °C with pressures of 3-20 MPa [0090]. The final molded produce has 50-95% of the binder removed [0098].
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733