DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed June 22, 2026. Claims 1-15 are being examined on the merits herein.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-8, 13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of US 11,207,310. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are drawn to method of treating prodromal Huntington Disease (HD) in a subject who has at least 36 CAG repeats in the huntingtin (Htt) gene, wherein said method comprises administering a composition comprising pridopidine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 1); in doses ranging from 10 mg/day -225 mg/day (claim 8); employing various diagnostics to define the patient population, TCF 13 (claim 2), HD subject in Stage 1 or Stage 2 (claim 6).
The patented claims are drawn to a method of (a) maintaining functional capacity, or (b) improving functional capacity, in a human patient afflicted with early stage Huntington disease (HD1 and HD2, TFC 7-13) comprising periodically orally administering to the patient a pharmaceutical composition comprising pridopidine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof such that a dose of 90-225 mg of pridopidine is administered to the patient per day, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered for at least 26 weeks, so as to thereby maintain functional capacity, or improve functional capacity in the human patient.
Thus, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time it was made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayden (US 2018/0055832) of record.
Hayden teaches method of maintaining functional capacity, improving functional capacity, or lessening the decline of functional capacity in a human patient in need thereof comprising periodically orally administering to the patient a pharmaceutical composition comprising pridopidine such that a dose of 90-225 mg of pridopidine is administered to the patient per day, so as to thereby maintain functional capacity, improve functional capacity, or lessen decline of functional capacity in the human patient (claim 1; [0014]).
Hayden teaches the patient has greater than or equal to 36 CAG repeats in the huntingtin gene, the human patient is afflicted with Huntington's disease, the human patient has a baseline TFC score which is greater than or equal to 9, the human patient has a baseline TFC score which is greater than or equal to 7, the human patient has a baseline TFC score of 11-13, the human patient has a baseline TFC score of 7-10, the pridopidine is pridopidine hydrochloride (claim 46).
Hayden teaches a change in UHDRS TFC indicates delay/reduction in functional decline [0246].
Hayden teaches FIGS. 44a-44c are graphs which show multiple ambulation-related endpoints demonstrating trends favoring pridopidine in early HD (stage 1-2 patients). Data for TMS showed a strong placebo effect. A trend towards improvement in TMS was observed at 52 weeks [0295].
Hayden teaches a HD patient is classified as an early-stage patient, for example, as a stage 1 or stage 2 HD (HD1 or HD2) patient. The patient has a baseline TFC score of 7-13 or at least 7, at least 8, at least 9, at least 10, at least 11, at least 12, 13 or 7-10 or 11-13. The functional capacity of a patient is measured using the Total Functional Capacity (TFC) scale of the Unified Huntington's Disease Rating Scale (UHDRS), UHDRS-TFC or TFC [0013].
Hayden teaches a method of achieving a reduced change from baseline in the Symbol Digit Modalities test (SDMT) test in a human HD patient comprising periodically orally administering to the patient a pharmaceutical composition comprising pridopidine such that a dose of 90-180 mg of pridopidine is administered to the patient per day, so as to thereby reduce the change in the SDMT test in the patient compared to a HD subject not receiving pridopidine [0018].
Hayden teaches the PRIDE-HD study was the first large study to include the HD-Cognitive Assessment Battery (HD-CAB) assessments. The HD-CAB was designed to detect symptomatic, “pro-cognitive” effects (6 months-1 year) and slowing rate of cognitive decline (>1 year) in late pre-manifest, HD1 and HD2 patients. It covers cognitive domains most impacted in HD, using tests with good psychometric properties. The battery includes the following tests: Symbol Digit Modalities Test, Emotion Recognition, Trail Making Test B, Hopkins Verbal Learning Test (revised), Paced Tapping at 3 Hz, and One Touch Stockings of Cambridge [0769].
Hayden does not specifically teach treating Huntington Disease in the prodromal stage. Nonetheless, as discussed above, Hayden teaches a HD patient is classified as an early-stage patient, for example, as a stage 1 or stage 2 HD (HD1 or HD2) patient, having a baseline TFC score of 7-13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have known that a patient population with the parameters described would obviously be afflicted with prodromal Huntington's disease. The diagnostic assessments recited by the claims of the instant application are employed by Hayden and well known in the art as common diagnostic tools used to define the patient population which is afflicted with prodromal Huntington's disease. The score obtained from each diagnostic evaluation is a tool within the purview of the skilled artisan to employ in order to embrace the patient population of interest.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Claims 9-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayden (US 2018/0055832) of record, as applied to claims 1-8, 13, and 15 in the 103 rejection above, and Sonesson (WO 2005/121092).
Hayden is discussed above.
Hayden does not the addition of compound 1 or compound 4 combined with the composition as required by the limitations of the instant claims.
Sonesson teaches compounds having therapeutic effect again CNS disorders, namely Huntington’s disease (page 14, lines 20-23).
Sonesson teaches specifically exemplifies compound 1 as an agent that may be employed for said treatment (page 10, compound 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed pridopidine for the treatment of prodromal Huntington Disease as taught by Hayden and combined said therapeutic with compound 1 as taught by Sonesson. As taught by Sonesson, compound 1 is also taught for the treatment of Huntington Disease. The examiner respectfully points out the following from MPEP 2144.06: "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose ....[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.', In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850,205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
The concentration of the two components relative to one another is a parameter within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify. Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382 "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." MPEP 2114.04.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622