Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 5, 11-15, 19, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preradovic et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2020/0384951; hereinafter “Preradovic”; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action] In view of Oman et. al. ( U.S Patent Application Publication 2019/126889; hereinafter “Oman”; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action) further in view of Thong et.al. (WO 2018/080431; hereinafter “Thong”; Reference cited by applicant)
Regarding claim 1, Preradovic discloses , An electronic device comprising[ “ key fob 22”, 0029 Fig.1]:
a first wireless transceiver[ “a Bluetooth Low Energy (“BLE”) transceiver 40”, 0029 Fig.1]
a second wireless transceiver[ “a first transceiver 38 “, 0029 Fig.1; and
a processor connected to the first wireless transceiver and the second wireless transceiver[“The key fob 22 further includes a processor 42 configured to control operation of the first transceiver 38 and the BLE transceiver 40..”, 0029; Fig.1], wherein the processor is to: establish a first wireless communication with an external device via the first wireless transceiver [“.. an access control system 24 that communicates with an identification device or key fob 22”, 0029; Fig.1; ( i.e access control system of a vehicle corresponds to the external device);” In the first phase 46, the BLE transceiver 38 sends out connection data in a process known as advertising at regular intervals..”, 0033; Once the key fob 22 moves into closer proximity with the vehicle 20 as shown in the second phase 48, a communication link is established. In one disclosed embodiment, the second phase 48 occurs when the distance 44 is less than about 100 meters (328 feet)”, 0035 .] ;
monitor a distance between the electronic device and the external device via the first wireless transceiver[ “When the key fob 22 establishes a communication link with the vehicle 20, the BLE transceiver 38 and the BLE transceiver module 28 perform range measurements between the key fob 22 and the vehicle 20. The range measurements can be performed utilizing known range devices and techniques such as RSSI, TOF, Phase, AOA, and AOD. The measured range is periodically updated and stored in the key fob 22.”, 0037];
in response to a determination that the monitored distance crosses a first threshold [ “In a third phase 50, the key fob 22 is closer to the vehicle 22 and prompt activation of the LF transceiver 40. In one disclosed embodiment, once the key fob 22 is within 10 meters (32 feet) of the vehicle 20, the processor 42 turns on the LF transceiver 40 inside the key fob 22...”, 0038; “ the predefined threshold distance for activation the LF transceiver is 10 meters”, 0039]:
establish a second wireless communication with the external device via the second wireless transceiver[ “… The vehicle transceiver 26 also will activate the LF transceiver module 30 to establish an LF communication link.”, 0038] and monitor the distance between the electronic device and the external device via the second wireless transceiver [“Once the LF transceiver 38 is activated, the LF communication link is utilized to perform ranging measurements. The LF communication link is capable of better and more accurate distance and position determinations as compared to the BLE communication link. Accordingly, the LF communication link is utilized to provide precise distance and position determinations that are utilized for measurements used for passive entry and passive start functions of the vehicle 20.”, 0040; In a fourth phase 52, the LF communication link is utilized to provide the precise measurements required to enable access to the vehicle. In one disclosed embodiment, actuation of the door latch 34 triggers a comparison of the measured distance determined by the LF communication link and a predefined threshold distance. The precise position of the key fob 22 relative to the vehicle 20 is determined by the communication link between the LF transceiver within the key fob 22 and the vehicle transceiver 26 instead of utilizing the less accurate BLE communication link.”, 0042] ; and
However, Preradovic does not expressly disclose in response to a determination that the monitored distance crosses a first threshold from movement of the external device establishing a second wireless communication with the external device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. controlling power consumption of a host device by activating a sensor based on detecting a presence of a user) , Oman teaches, in response to a determination that the monitored distance crosses a first threshold from movement of the external device establishing a second wireless communication with the external device [ “The system 10 also includes the controller 30 in communication with the host-transceiver 14 and the radar-sensor 20”, 0014; 0015; “The controller 30 activates the radar-sensor 20 in accordance with a determination that the mobile-transceiver 18 is within a distance-threshold 34 of the host-vehicle 12. That is, the controller 30 “wakes-up” the radar-sensor 20, that may have been deactivated to conserve the host-vehicle 12 battery power, when the mobile-transceiver 18 is detected. The distance-threshold 34 of at least 2 m, as previously mentioned, would enable the system-activation-time of about 1 s, for the person 26 in possession of the mobile-transceiver 18 that is approaching the host-vehicle 12 at a typical walking-speed of 1.5 m/s. The distance-threshold 34 may extend to a maximum detectable range of the passive entry subsystem.”, 0016-0017; ( i.e. in response to the movement of the user in possession of the mobile-transceiver crossing the distance -threshold enabling communication with the host-transceiver and activating the radar-sensor) ]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic with Oman. Oman’s teaching of activating a sensor to detect presence of an user will substantially enhance Preradovic’s system to increase the power savings by providing access to the system based on presence of a user.
However, Preradovic, Oman does not expressly disclose in response to the determination that the monitored distance crosses the first threshold, detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device and control the electronic device to operate in the second power state when the display panel is in the open position, and maintain the electronic device in the first power state when the display panel is in a closed position.
In the same field of endeavor ( e.g. controlling the power state of an electronic device in plurality of modes based on the context of the device selected mode of operation is selected from multiple different modes of operation, depending on the context of the electronic device as determined from outputs of the sensors.), Thong teaches,
in response to the determination that the monitored distance crosses the first threshold[“Each of the sensors 1 18 can trigger generation of an interrupt in response to detecting events that satisfy respective criteria (e.g., the motion detects motion of greater than a specified threshold, the light sensor detects light less than a specified threshold or greater than a specified threshold, the proximity sensor detects a user close to the electronic device 100, etc.).”, 0025] detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device [ 0015; “Some electronic devices can be used in different modes, such as a clamshell mode (where an electronic device operates as a notebook computer) or a tablet mode (where an electronic device operates as a tablet computer). In the clamshell mode, a display unit of an electronic device is pivoted to an angle with respect to a base unit of the e..”, 0010; “..When the display unit 102 is rotated by about 360° with respect to the base unit 104, the rear surfaces of the display unit 102 and the base unit 104 can touch each other,..”, 0026-0028; “The processor 1 14 can receive a wake event 1 16, which can be an event that is responsive to an interrupt that is to trigger the electronic device 100 to awaken from a sleep state to an operational state..an interrupt may be generated in response to a user pressing a power button, opening the display unit 102 from a closed position to an open position,..”, 0020; “ sensor 1 18 can be a proximity sensor to detect proximity of a user to the electronic device 100. In some examples, the proximity sensor can be a light sensor that measures reflected light to detect distance of a display to an object, such as a person.”, 0023; ( i.e it is detecting that the display is in an open position by measuring the reflected light )] and control the electronic device to operate in the second power state when the display panel is in the open position, and maintain the electronic device in the first power state when the display panel is in a closed position [“The processor 1 14 can receive a wake event 1 16, which can be an event that is responsive to an interrupt that is to trigger the electronic device 100 to awaken from a sleep state to an operational state..an interrupt may be generated in response to a user pressing a power button, opening the display unit 102 from a closed position to an open position… the wake event 1 16 may be responsive to an interrupt from a sensor, such as any of sensors 1 18 in the electronic device 100.”, 0020; “where the selected mode of operation is selected from multiple different modes of operation, depending on the context of the electronic device as determined from outputs of the sensors. The different modes of operation can correspond to different power levels. As a result, setting the electronic device to an appropriate mode of operation based on its context can enhance power savings. Also, the different modes of operation use multiple displays of the electronic device in different ways”, 0013; 0032; 0034 ( i.e controlling the device to transition from a sleep to an operational state upon detecting an interrupt based on the open position of the display, else the sleep state is maintained)];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic in view of Oman with Thong. Thongs’ teaching of controlling power state based on the context corresponding to various sensors of the device will substantially enhance power savings of Preradovic in view of Oman system by providing various power saving modes based on the sensed distance or configuration of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Preradovic discloses, wherein the processor is to: control the electronic device to operate in the first power state when the monitored distance is greater than or equal to the first threshold [ 0031-0032;0046; ( i.e. the first power state corresponds to when BLE transceiver is activated and LF transceiver is deactivated . Further Preradovic teaches that until or within the predefined threshold of 10 meters the LF transceiver is not activated. Hence the processor controls the Key Fob device to remain in first power state when the distance is greater than the first threshold)];
control the electronic device to operate in the second power state when the monitored distance is less than the first threshold [ “In a third phase 50, the key fob 22 is closer to the vehicle 22 and prompt activation of the LF transceiver 40. In one disclosed embodiment, once the key fob 22 is within 10 meters (32 feet) of the vehicle 20, the processor 42 turns on the LF transceiver 40 inside the key fob 22...”, 0038; “ the predefined threshold distance for activation the LF transceiver is 10 meters”, 0039;( i.e less than or within first threshold )], and wherein the second power state having a power consumption different from the first power state[ “The LF transceiver 40 draws most of the quiescent current from the battery 56 in the key fob 22.”, 0031; 0038-0040; ( i.e activation of the LF transceiver increases the power consumption .Therefore the increased power consumption state when LF transceiver is activated corresponds to the second state)];.
Regarding claim 3, Preradovic discloses, wherein the processor is to: determine whether the monitored distance via the first wireless transceiver or the second wireless transceiver is less than a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is different from the first threshold [“When the key fob 22 establishes a communication link with the vehicle 20, the BLE transceiver 38 and the BLE transceiver module 28 perform range measurements between the key fob 22 and the vehicle 20. The range measurements can be performed utilizing known range devices and techniques such as RSSI, TOF, Phase, AOA, and AOD. The measured range is periodically updated and stored in the key fob 22.”, 0037;” Once the BLE communication link is established, a range between the key fob 22 and vehicle is monitored and updated to prompt establishment of more accurate LF and/or UWB communication with the vehicle once within a predefined threshold distance.”, 0046;” activate the first transceiver only when a distance measurement between the identification device and a vehicle is within a predefined range”, 0005; Fig.2; ( i.e. after establishing the communication Link, the BLE transceiver performs range ,measurements to detect the proximity of the vehicle with the Key Fob.)] ;
control the electronic device to operate in the first power state when the monitored distance is greater than or equal to the second threshold[0035-0037; i.e. LF transceiver remain deactivated when the distance is outside or greater than the range .Therefore controlling the device to operate in first power state)]; and
control the electronic device to operate in the second power state when the monitored distance is less than the second threshold[0038-0039], and wherein the second power state having a power consumption different from the first power state[(i.e Therefore the increased power consumption state when LF transceiver is activated corresponds to the second state)].
Regarding Claim 4, Preradovic discloses, wherein the processor is to utilize the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication to: measure a signal strength or a time-of-flight(ToF) of a received signal [0029; 0035; Fig.2]; and estimate the distance between the electronic device and the external device based on the measured signal strength or the measured ToF[0008;0031; 0035].
Regarding Claim 20, Preradovic discloses, wherein the second power state has a power consumption that is greater[0038-0039; (i.e. the increased power consumption state when LF transceiver is activated corresponds to the second power state)] than the first power state [0035-0037; i.e. LF transceiver remain deactivated when the distance is outside or greater than the range corresponds to the first power state . Therefore, the power consumption in the second power state is greater than the first power state )];
Regarding claim 5, Preradovic discloses , control the electronic device to operate in the first power state or the second power state based on a combination of the physical configuration mode and the determination whether the monitored distance crosses the first threshold [“In a third phase 50, the key fob 22 is closer to the vehicle 22 and prompt activation of the LF transceiver 40. In one disclosed embodiment, once the key fob 22 is within 10 meters (32 feet) of the vehicle 20, the processor 42 turns on the LF transceiver 40 inside the key fob 22...”, 0038; “ the predefined threshold distance for activation the LF transceiver is 10 meters”, 0039;( i.e less than or within first threshold )], and wherein the second power state having a power consumption different from the first power state[ “The LF transceiver 40 draws most of the quiescent current from the battery 56 in the key fob 22.”, 0031; 0038-0040; ( i.e. controlling to operate the device in higher power consumption state based on the monitored distance and activation of the LF transceiver. Therefore, based on the physical configuration and monitored distance the power consumption is controlled)] .
However, Preradovic, Oman does not expressly disclose a physical configuration mode of the electronic device, wherein the physical configuration mode comprises a clamshell-closed mode, a laptop mode, and a tablet mode, a stand mode, or a tent mode.
In the same field of endeavor ( e.g. controlling the power state of an electronic device in plurality of modes based on the context of the device selected mode of operation is selected from multiple different modes of operation, depending on the context of the electronic device as determined from outputs of the sensors.), Thong teaches,
Detect a physical configuration mode of the electronic device, wherein the physical configuration mode comprises a clamshell-closed mode, a laptop mode, and a tablet mode, a stand mode, or a tent mode [ “Some electronic devices can be used in different modes, such as a clamshell mode (where an electronic device operates as a notebook computer) or a tablet mode (where an electronic device operates as a tablet computer). In the clamshell mode, a display unit of an electronic device is pivoted to an angle with respect to a base unit of the e..”, 0010; “where the selected mode of operation is selected from multiple different modes of operation, depending on the context of the electronic device as determined from outputs of the sensors. The different modes of operation can correspond to different power levels. As a result, setting the electronic device to an appropriate mode of operation based on its context can enhance power savings. Also, the different modes of operation use multiple displays of the electronic device in different ways”, 0013].
Regarding claim 11, Preradovic discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, cause the processor to:
establish a first wireless communication with an external device[ 0029; Once the key fob 22 moves into closer proximity with the vehicle 20 as shown in the second phase 48, a communication link is established. In one disclosed embodiment, the second phase 48 occurs when the distance 44 is less than about 100 meters (328 feet)”, 0035; Fig.1];
monitor a distance between the electronic device and the external device via the first wireless communication [ “When the key fob 22 establishes a communication link with the vehicle 20, the BLE transceiver 38 and the BLE transceiver module 28 perform range measurements between the key fob 22 and the vehicle 20. The range measurements can be performed utilizing known range devices and techniques such as RSSI, TOF, Phase, AOA, and AOD. The measured range is periodically updated and stored in the key fob 22.”, 0037;] : when the monitored distance is greater than a first range[“..a distance measurement between the identification device and a vehicle is within a predefined range..”, 0005; “in the second phase 48, a communication link is established between the BLE transceiver 38 within the key fob 22 and the BLE transceiver module 28 within the vehicle transceiver 26. The LF transceiver 40 within the key fob 22 and the LF transceiver module 30 within the vehicle 20 remain off and/or deactivated. The distance 44 between the key fob 22 and the vehicle 20 is monitored and updated. Accordingly, a BLE communication link is established while the LF transceiver 40 receiver remains off.”, 0036; Fig.2; ( i.e. The monitored distance is greater than 10 meters as illustrated in the second phase of Fig.2. The range within 10 meters of the vehicle corresponds to a first range.] , control the electronic device to operate in a first power state[The BLE transceiver 38 is a BLE chip and determines the distance 44 with a RSSI. The power state (on/off) of the LF transceiver 40 inside key fob 22 is controlled by the processor 42 based on information regarding distance that is determined utilizing only the BLE transceiver 38. The LF transceiver 40 draws most of the quiescent current from the battery 56 in the key fob 22”, 0031; “Accordingly, when the LF transceiver 40 is off, only the BLE transceiver 38 draws power from the battery 56. The reduced power drawn by the BLE transceiver 38 enables a significant increase in the operational life of the battery 56”, 0032; (i.e. a reduced power consumption state of a Key Fob device with LF transceiver in the deactivated state , BLE transceiver in the activated state corresponds to the first power state based on the distance monitored by BLE transceiver) : when the monitored distance is within the first range[ “In a third phase 50, the key fob 22 is closer to the vehicle 22 and prompt activation of the LF transceiver 40….once the key fob 22 is within 10 meters (32 feet) of the vehicle 20, the processor 42 turns on the LF transceiver 40 inside the key fob 22. The vehicle transceiver 26 also will activate the LF transceiver module 30 to establish an LF communication link.”, 0038-0039; Fig.2], control the electronic device to operate in a second power state in which a power consumption is greater than the first power state[0031; 0038; (i.e when the monitored distance is within the predefined range of 10 meters as illustrated in Fig.2, the LF transceiver is activated that consumes more current than the BLE transceiver. Hence the power consumption is greater than the first power state) ; and
when the monitored distance is less than the first range [ “the LF communication link is utilized to provide the precise measurements required to enable access to the vehicle. In one disclosed embodiment, actuation of the door latch 34 triggers a comparison of the measured distance determined by the LF communication link and a predefined threshold distance. The precise position of the key fob 22 relative to the vehicle 20 is determined by the communication link between the LF transceiver within the key fob 22 and the vehicle transceiver 26 instead of utilizing the less accurate BLE communication link.”, 0042-0043; ( i.e. when the Key Fob is within the vehicle monitored distance is lesser than the first range as illustrated in Fig.2 fourth / fifth phase) control the electronic device to operate in a third power state in which the power consumption is greater than the second power state [“The useful life of the battery is limited and largely dependent on power consumption utilized to establish the communication link with the vehicle”, 0003; 0042-0043;0046 ; (i.e. Utilizing the LF communication link for precise measurements further increases the power consumption than the second power state) ].
However, Preradovic does not expressly disclose when the monitored distance is less than the first range, trigger a sensor of the electronic device to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device, and when a user is determined present control the electronic device to operate in a third power state in which the power consumption is greater than the second power state.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. controlling power consumption of a host device by activating a sensor based on detecting a presence of a user) , Oman teaches,
when the monitored distance is less than the first range, trigger a sensor of the electronic device to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device [“The system 10 also includes a radar-sensor 20 that detects movement 22 of one or more body parts 24 of a person 26 proximate to the host-vehicle 12. ..”, 0012 “The controller 30 activates the radar-sensor 20 in accordance with a determination that the mobile-transceiver 18 is within a distance-threshold 34 of the host-vehicle 12. That is, the controller 30 “wakes-up” the radar-sensor 20, that may have been deactivated to conserve the host-vehicle 12 battery power, when the mobile-transceiver 18 is detected. The distance-threshold 34 of at least 2 m, as previously mentioned, would enable the system-activation-time of about 1 s, for the person 26 in possession of the mobile-transceiver 18 that is approaching the host-vehicle 12 at a typical walking-speed of 1.5 m/s”, 0030]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic with Oman. Oman’s teaching of activating a sensor to detect presence of an user will substantially enhance Preradovic’s system to increase the power savings by providing access to the system based on presence of a user.
However, Oman does not expressly disclose when the monitored distance is less than the first range detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device, trigger a sensor of the electronic device to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device upon a determination that the display panel is in the open position, and when a user is determined present, control the electronic device to operate in a third power state in which the power consumption is greater than the second power state.
In the same field of endeavor ( e.g. controlling the power state of an electronic device in plurality of modes based on the context of the device as determined from outputs of the sensors.), Thong teaches ,
when the monitored distance is less than the first range detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device,[0025; 0026-0028] determine whether a user is present at the electronic device upon a determination that the display panel is in the open position[0020; “ sensor 1 18 can be a proximity sensor to detect proximity of a user to the electronic device 100. In some examples, the proximity sensor can be a light sensor that measures reflected light to detect distance of a display to an object, such as a person.”, 0023], when a user is determined present control the electronic device to operate in a third power state in which the power consumption is greater than the second power state [“The processor 1 14 can receive a wake event 1 16, which can be an event that is responsive to an interrupt that is to trigger the electronic device 100 to awaken from a sleep state to an operational state…. the wake event 1 16 may be responsive to an interrupt from a sensor, such as any of sensors 1 18 in the electronic device 100.”, 0020; 0023; “Each of the sensors 1 18 can trigger generation of an interrupt in response to detecting events that satisfy respective criteria (e.g., the motion detects motion of greater than a specified threshold, the light sensor detects light less than a specified threshold or greater than a specified threshold, the proximity sensor detects a user close to the electronic device 100, etc.).”, 0025; 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic in view of Oman with Thong. Thongs’ teaching of controlling power state based on the context corresponding to various sensors of the device will substantially enhance power savings of Preradovic in view of Oman’s system by providing various power saving modes based on the sensed distance or configuration of the device.
Regarding claim 12, Preradovic discloses when the monitored distance is less than the first range, establish a second wireless communication with the external device, the second wireless communication having a property different from the first wireless communication[0042-0043]; and
monitor the distance between the electronic device and the external device vie the second wireless communication [0043; 0046] .
Regarding claim 13, Preradovic discloses , determine whether the monitored distance via the second wireless communication is within a second range, wherein the second range is less than the first range[0042-0043]; a time-of-flight (ToF) camera [0009;0029].
However Preradovic does not expressly disclose a trigger a sensor to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device when the monitored distance via the second wireless communication is within the second range; and perform an operation associated with the electronic device when the user is present at the electronic device, wherein the operation associated with the electronic device comprises return the electronic device to a working state from the third power state, unlock an operating system of the electronic device, turn on a display pane! of the electronic device, or any combination thereof.
Oman teaches , trigger a sensor to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device when the monitored distance via the second wireless communication is within the second range; [ 0011-0012; 0017;0030; 0033].
Thong teaches , perform an operation associated with the electronic device when the user is present at the electronic device, wherein the operation associated with the electronic device comprises return the electronic device to a working state from the third power state[0020; 0023; 0025, 0029];
unlock an operating system of the electronic device: turn-on a display panel of the electronic device [ 0029] : or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Preradovic discloses estimate a rate of change of the distance between the electronic device and the external device[0019;0022; (i.e. a rate of change of the distance is estimated based on the frequency of ranging) ]; and
control the electronic device to operate in the first power state, second power state, or the third power state based on the monitored distance and the estimated rate of change[ 0035-0037; 0046].
Regarding claim 15, Preradovic discloses, a time-of-flight (ToF) camera [0009;0029].
Thong teaches , detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device[ 0026-0028]; and
determine the distance of the user from the display pane! upon a determination that the display panel is in the open position[ 0023;0025; 0029] .
Regarding Claim 19, Preradovic discloses,
determine whether the monitored distance via the second wireless communication is within a second range, wherein the second range is less than the first range [0042-0043]; trigger a time-of-flight (ToF) camera via the second wireless communication is within the second range [0029; 0037; ( i.e. triggering a ToF camera to perform the ranging measurements via LF communication link i ( the second wireless communication within a second range) ]
Oman teaches determine whether a user is present at the electronic device when the monitored distance via the second wireless communication is within the second range [0011-0012; 0017;0030; 0033;]; and
Thong teaches turn on a display panel of the electronic device when the user is determined present at the electronic device[ 0023; 0025; 0029].
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oman et. al. ( U.S Patent Application Publication 2019/126889; hereinafter “Oman”) in view of Preradovic further in view of Thong et.al. (WO 2018/080431; hereinafter “Thong”; Reference cited by applicant)
Regarding claim 6, Oman discloses, An electronic device comprising :
a wireless transceiver [ “..The host-transceiver 14 ..”, 0011; Fig.1];
a sensor [ “ a radar-sensor 20 “, 0012];
processor connected to the wireless transceiver and the sensor, wherein the processor is to: establish a wireless communication with an external device via the wireless transceiver [“..The host-transceiver 14 detects a signal 16 from a mobile-transceiver 18 (e.g. a key fob, smart phone, etc.) that is paired to the host-transceiver 14 through the respective wireless communication protocols associated with the passive entry device,..”, 0011; “The system 10 also includes the controller 30 in communication with the host-transceiver 14 and the radar-sensor 20. The controller 30 may include a processor (not shown) such as a microprocessor or other control circuitry such as analog and/or digital control circuitry ..”, 0014 Fig.1 ;(i.e mobile transceiver is the external device ]
in response to a determination that the monitored distance is less than the threshold, activate the sensor to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device [“The system 10 also includes a radar-sensor 20 that detects movement 22 of one or more body parts 24 of a person 26 proximate to the host-vehicle 12. ..”, 0012 “The controller 30 activates the radar-sensor 20 in accordance with a determination that the mobile-transceiver 18 is within a distance-threshold 34 of the host-vehicle 12. That is, the controller 30 “wakes-up” the radar-sensor 20, that may have been deactivated to conserve the host-vehicle 12 battery power, when the mobile-transceiver 18 is detected. The distance-threshold 34 of at least 2 m, as previously mentioned, would enable the system-activation-time of about 1 s, for the person 26 in possession of the mobile-transceiver 18 that is approaching the host-vehicle 12 at a typical walking-speed of 1.5 m/s”, 0030; ]
However, Oman does not expressly discloses monitor a distance between the electronic device and the external device via the wireless communication, the electronic device operating in a power saving mode; detect whether the monitored distance is less than a threshold via the wireless transceiver, return the electronic device to a working state from the power saving mode in response to a determination that the user is present at the electronic device and the monitored distance is less than the threshold.
In the same field of endeavor(e.g. controlling the power consumption of an identification device by enabling or disabling a transceiver), Preradovic teaches,
monitor a distance between the electronic device and the external device via the wireless communication, the electronic device operating in a power saving mode [0029; 0035; “When the key fob 22 establishes a communication link with the vehicle 20, the BLE transceiver 38 and the BLE transceiver module 28 perform range measurements between the key fob 22 and the vehicle 20. The range measurements can be performed utilizing known range devices and techniques such as RSSI, TOF, Phase, AOA, and AOD. The measured range is periodically updated and stored in the key fob 22.”, 0037 ; Fig.1; “Accordingly, when the LF transceiver 40 is off, only the BLE transceiver 38 draws power from the battery 56. The reduced power drawn by the BLE transceiver 38 enables a significant increase in the operational life of the battery 56”, 0032; (i.e. a power saving mode of a Key Fob device with LF transceiver in the deactivated state , BLE transceiver in the activated state.]
detect whether the monitored distance is less than a threshold via the wireless transceiver [ “In a third phase 50, the key fob 22 is closer to the vehicle 22 and prompt activation of the LF transceiver 40. In one disclosed embodiment, once the key fob 22 is within 10 meters (32 feet) of the vehicle 20, the processor 42 turns on the LF transceiver 40 inside the key fob 22...”, 0038; “ the predefined threshold distance for activation the LF transceiver is 10 meters”, 0039; (i.e . monitoring via the BLE transceiver and activating the LF transceiver when the distance is closer to the vehicle)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic with Oman. Preradovic’s teaching of controlling the power consumption controlling the power consumption by enabling or disabling a transceiver will substantially improve Oman’s system to reduce power consumption and increase accuracy by “utilizing the BLE transceiver 38 to keep power consumption low until a communication link is established. .. The LF and/or UWB communication link with the vehicle provides increased ranging precision and accuracy needed for operation of the vehicle access system. Operation of the BLE transceiver only until within a close proximity to the vehicle can significantly increase battery life and in some embodiments such an implementation in PEPS system more than double battery life”[ 0046].
However, Oman, Preradovic does not expressly disclose detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device; and in response to a determination that the display panel is in the open position, activate the sensor to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device and return the electronic device to a working state from the power saving mode in response to a determination that the user is present at the electronic device, the display panel is in an open position, and the monitored distance is less than the threshold.
In the same field of endeavor ( e.g. controlling the power state of an electronic device in plurality of modes based on the context of the device as determined from outputs of the sensors.), Thong teaches ,
detect whether a display panel of the electronic device is in an open position relative to a base of the electronic device[0015; 0025; 0026-0028]; and in response to a determination that the display panel is in the open position, activate the sensor to determine whether a user is present at the electronic device[0029; “..from a closed position to an open position ..”, 0020; 0022- 0023] return the electronic device to a working state from the power saving mode in response to a determination that the user is present at the electronic device, the display panel is in the open position [0020]; and the monitored distance is less than the threshold [“The processor 1 14 can receive a wake event 1 16, which can be an event that is responsive to an interrupt that is to trigger the electronic device 100 to awaken from a sleep state to an operational state…. the wake event 1 16 may be responsive to an interrupt from a sensor, such as any of sensors 1 18 in the electronic device 100.”, 0020; “ sensor 1 18 can be a proximity sensor to detect proximity of a user to the electronic device 100. In some examples, the proximity sensor can be a light sensor that measures reflected light to detect distance of a display to an object, such as a person.”, 0023; “Each of the sensors 1 18 can trigger generation of an interrupt in response to detecting events that satisfy respective criteria (e.g., the motion detects motion of greater than a specified threshold, the light sensor detects light less than a specified threshold or greater than a specified threshold, the proximity sensor detects a user close to the electronic device 100, etc.).”, 0025] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oman in view of Preradovic with Thong. Thongs’ teaching of controlling power state based on the context corresponding to various sensors of the device will substantially enhance power savings of Oman in view of Preradovic’s system by providing various power saving modes based on the sensed distance or configuration of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Oman discloses the limitations outlined in claim 6.
Preradovic teaches time-of- flight (ToF) camera to sense a distance [ “determining the distance between the identification device and the vehicle is determined utilizing one of a received signal strength indicator, time of flight, phase angle, phase delay, angle of arrival, and angle of departure”, 0023].
Thong teaches , Sense a distance of the user from a display panel of the electronic device [ “ the proximity sensor can be a light sensor that measures reflected light to detect distance of a display to an object, such as a person….”, 0023].
Regarding claim 8, Oman discloses, activate the sensor to determine whether the user is present at the electronic device based on the determination that the monitored distance is less than the threshold[ 0012;0030] .
Thong teaches detect a physical configuration mode of the electronic device, wherein the physical configuration mode comprises a clamshell-closed mode, a laptop mode, a tablet mode, a stand made, or a tent mode[ “Some electronic devices can be used in different modes, such as a clamshell mode (where an electronic device operates as a notebook computer) or a tablet mode (where an electronic device operates as a tablet computer). In the clamshell mode, a display unit of an electronic device is pivoted to an angle with respect to a base unit of the e..”, 0010; where the selected mode of operation is selected from multiple different modes of operation, depending on the context of the electronic device as determined from outputs of the sensors. The different modes of operation can correspond to different power levels. As a result, setting the electronic device to an appropriate mode of operation based on its context can enhance power savings. Also, the different modes of operation use multiple displays of the electronic device in different ways.[0013].
Regarding claim 9, Thong teaches wherein in response to the determination that the user is present at the electronic device, the processor is to : unlock an operating system of the electronic device: turn-on a display panel of the electronic device [ 0029] : or a combination thereof,
Regarding claim 10, Preradovic discloses, wherein the processor is to utilize the wireless communication to:
measure a time-of-flight (ToF} of a signal transmitted and received back by the wireless transceiver; or measure an angle-of-arrival (AoA) of a signal received by the wireless transceiver[ 0009; 0029]; and
track a location of the external device to monitor the distance based on the measured ToF or the measured AoA [0023; 0029] .
Claims 16, 17, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong as applied to claims 1, 11 further in view of Chng et. al. ( U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0098076; hereinafter “Chng”; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action)
Regarding Claim 16, Preradovic, Oman, Thong discloses the limitations outlined in Claim 1.
However, Preradovic, Oman, Thong does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is to enable the electronic device to connect to the internet when the monitored distance is less than the first threshold and when electronic device is detected to be in a first physical configuration mode.
In the same field of endeavor(e.g. waking up a computing device from a low power state to an active state based on information related to a context, current state, or condition of the computing device), Chng teaches ,
wherein the processor is to enable the electronic device to connect to the internet when the monitored distance is less than the first threshold and when electronic device is detected to be in a first physical configuration mode [ “.. The processor(s) 205 can control the operation of the computing device 200 ..”, 0028; “.. Based on determining that the laptop is in a closed position, the laptop can enter a low power mode (e.g., a sleep mode). In addition, the laptop computer can determine, based on the lack of any additional data/information from the accelerometer(s) 272 as well as the input device(s) 250, the motion sensor(s) 278, the proximity sensor(s), and the touch sensor(s) 281 for a period of time (e.g., one hour as determined by a time of day clock included in the laptop computer), that the laptop computer has remained stationary (not moved). ...”, 0079; “..while the laptop computer is still in a hibernation mode, and before the user otherwise touches, moves, or interacts with the laptop computer, the laptop computer can partially wake-up (e.g., enter a display-off active state) where the laptop computer, for example, connects to an available network and downloads email and other electronic information for the user onto the laptop computer..”, 0080;( i.e. connecting to the network when the physical configuration mode of the device is stationary ); “ the computing device 200 can be a desktop computing device (e.g., the computing device 102d in FIG. 1). A user leaves an office in the evening, leaving the computing device 200 in the office. One or more sensors on the computing device 200 can determine that the user has left the office. ..the proximity sensor(s) 279 does not detect proximity of a user. Based on determining that the user has left the office, the computing device 200 enters a low power mode (e.g., a sleep mode, a hibernate mode)”, 0083; “When the user returns to the office the next day, the proximity sensor(s) 279 senses the proximity of the user to the computing device 200 (e.g., the user sits down at a desk where the computing device 200 is located). ..The computing device 200, based on detecting some or all of the contextual information, wakes up (enters an active power state) and begins to perform operations in preparation for anticipated user interactions with the computing device 200. For example, the computing device 200 connects to an available network and synchronizes data and applications with the network in preparation for the user interacting with the data and applications”, 0084; ( i.e connecting to the network based on the proximity / distance less than a threshold)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic in view of Oman with Chng. Chng’s teaching of controlling power state transitions based on based on information related to a context, current state, or condition of the computing device will substantially improve Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong’s system reduce, or eliminate the amount of time a user has to wait before being able to begin using a computing device by automatically initiating or launching an application on the computing device based on past usage of the computing device.
Regarding Claim 17 , Chng teaches , electronic device to unlock an operating system and turn-on a display panel when the monitored distance is less than the first threshold and when electronic device is in a second physical configuration mode. [0023; 0035; “The natively operating application 285 may operate using a runtime 255. The natively operating application 285 may be configured to be executed directly by the processor(s) 205 or by the O/S 235, using the runtime 255. ..”, 0036;0052; 0075 ; “the computing device 200 can automatically wake up, and launch an email application, a news service application, and a horoscope application. As described with reference to FIG. 2, the applications can be native applications 290, natively operating applications 285, or web applications 265”, 0076; ; ( i.e unlocking the operating system to execute the applications); “The user wakes up in the morning and approaches the computing device 200. The proximity sensor(s) 279 can detect the proximity of the user. Alternatively, the user may otherwise touch the computing device 200 (e.g., pick up the computing device 200, hold the computing device 200, squeeze the computing device 200). The touch sensor(s) 281 can detect the contact of the user with the computing device 200. The computing device 200 can automatically wake up (exit the low power state and enter a full power state) and be ready for use by the user. In addition, or in the alternative, the display device 260 included in the computing device 200 can display information to the user.”, 0087] .
Regarding Claim 21, Preradovic, Oman, Thong discloses the limitations outlined in Claim 1.
However, Preradovic, Oman, Thong does not expressly disclose switch the electronic device from a hibernated mode to a modern standby mode responsive to the monitored distance being less than the first range wherein in the modern standby mode the electronic device connects to the internet and downloads electronic communications
In the same field of endeavor(e.g. waking up a computing device from a low power state to an active state based on information related to a context, current state, or condition of the computing device), Chng teaches ,
switch the electronic device from a hibernated mode to a modern standby mode responsive to the monitored distance being less than the first range[“When the user returns to the office the next day, the proximity sensor(s) 279 senses the proximity of the user to the computing device 200 (e.g., the user sits down at a desk where the computing device 200 is located). ..The computing device 200, based on detecting some or all of the contextual information, wakes up (enters an active power state) and begins to perform operations in preparation for anticipated user interactions with the computing device 200. For example, the computing device 200 connects to an available network and synchronizes data and applications with the network in preparation for the user interacting with the data and applications”, 0084; ( i.e connecting to the network based on the proximity / distance less than a threshold)], wherein in the modern standby mode the electronic device connects to the internet and downloads electronic communications[ “..while the laptop computer is still in a hibernation mode, and before the user otherwise touches, moves, or interacts with the laptop computer, the laptop computer can partially wake-up (e.g., enter a display-off active state) where the laptop computer, for example, connects to an available network and downloads email and other electronic information for the user onto the laptop computer..”, 0080;( i.e. partial wake-up corresponds to the modern standby mode )].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong with Chng. Chng’s teaching of controlling power state transitions based on information related to a context, current state, or condition of the computing device will substantially improve Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong’s system reduce, or eliminate the amount of time a user has to wait before being able to begin using a computing device by automatically initiating or launching an application on the computing device based on past usage of the computing device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oman in view of Preradovic in view of Thong as applied to claim 6 further in view of Chng et. al. ( U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0098076; hereinafter “Chng”)
Regarding Claim 18, Oman , Preradovic, Thong teaches the limitations outlined in Claim 6.
Thong also teaches wherein in response to the determination that the user is present at the electronic device, the processor is to: turn-on a display panel of the electronic device [0020; 0023; 0025; 0029].
However, Oman , Preradovic, Thong does not expressly disclose unlock an operating system of the electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor(e.g. waking up a computing device from a low power state to an active state based on information related to a context, current state, or condition of the computing device), Chng teaches ,
unlock an operating system of the electronic device[ 0023; 0035; “The natively operating application 285 may operate using a runtime 255. The natively operating application 285 may be configured to be executed directly by the processor(s) 205 or by the O/S 235, using the runtime 255. ..”, 0036;0052; 0075 ; “the computing device 200 can automatically wake up, and launch an email application, a news service application, and a horoscope application. As described with reference to FIG. 2, the applications can be native applications 290, natively operating applications 285, or web applications 265”, 0076; ; ( i.e unlocking the operating system to execute the applications); 0087].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oman in view of Preradovic in view of Thong with Chng. Chng’s teaching of controlling power state transitions based on based on information related to a context, current state, or condition of the computing device will substantially improve Oman in view of Preradovic in view of Thong’s system to reduce, or eliminate the amount of time a user has to wait before being able to begin using a computing device by automatically initiating or launching an application on the computing device based on past usage of the computing device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong as applied to claim 15 further in view of Hurwitz et. al. ( U.S Patent Application Publication 2021/0356568; hereinafter “Hurwitz”; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action)
Regarding claim 22, Thong teaches, maintain the electronic device in a current power state when the display panel is in the closed position. [“The processor 1 14 can receive a wake event 1 16, which can be an event that is responsive to an interrupt that is to trigger the electronic device 100 to awaken from a sleep state to an operational state..an interrupt may be generated in response to a user pressing a power button, opening the display unit 102 from a closed position to an open position, or touching another user input device, such as a button, a keyboard, a mouse, a touchpad, and so forth…. the wake event 1 16 may be responsive to an interrupt from a sensor, such as any of sensors 1 18 in the electronic device 100.”, 0020; where the selected mode of operation is selected from multiple different modes of operation, depending on the context of the electronic device as determined from outputs of the sensors. The different modes of operation can correspond to different power levels. As a result, setting the electronic device to an appropriate mode of operation based on its context can enhance power savings. Also, the different modes of operation use multiple displays of the electronic device in different ways”, 0013; ( i.e controlling the device to transition from a sleep to an operational state upon detecting the open position of the display else the sleep state is maintained)].
However, Preradovic, Oman, Thong does not expressly disclose maintain the electronic device in a current power state without triggering the ToF camera. Specifically, Thong teaches maintaining the power state when the display panel is in the closed position and does not disclose without triggering the ToF camera.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. a Time of Flight (ToF) camera system configured to be operable in a proximity mode), Hurwitz teaches ,
maintain the electronic device in a current power state without triggering the ToF camera
[ “The ToF camera system 300 may be configured to switchably operate in either the low-power proximity mode or the higher-power ToF mode when depth frames and/or 2D IR frames are to be determined”, 0143; Switching between the proximity mode and the ToF mode (and a turned-off mode) may be controlled according to any suitable means. For example, the image acquisition system 310 may switch based on received control signals. For example, the image acquisition system 310 may usually be in an off, or sleep, mode and be switched to the proximity mode by a trigger signal, for example from an inertial sensor. Alternatively, it may alternate between an off, or sleep, mode and the proximity mode according to an inbuilt cycle..”, 0145; ( i.e. maintaining the sleep-or turned off state of the ToF camera system until control / trigger signals are received to switch the power mode )].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of in view of Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong with Hurwitz . Hurwitz’s teaching of a Time of Flight (ToF) camera system configured to be operable in a plurality of power modes based on the proximity of the object will substantially enhance Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong’s system to increase the accuracy and reduce power consumption [0148-0150].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to Preradovic in view of Oman in view of Thong ( Claims 1, 11), Oman in view of Preradovic in view of Thong ( Claim 6) references being used in the current rejection.
b) The new Claims 21, 22 are rejected as set forth in the above rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iyer et. al., U.S Patent Application Publication 2020/0326767, teaches , An IHS (Information Handling System) may transition to a low-power state when the IHS is not in use. Upon detecting a wake event, such as a button being pressed, the IHS exits the low-powers state and resumes a full-power operating state. When a wake event is inadvertently triggered, the IHS may reverted to full-power operations without the user's knowledge.
Ahn et al. U.S Patent Application Publication 2020/0124733, teaches An IHS (Information Handling System) may transition to a low-power state when the IHS is not in use. Upon detecting a wake event, such as a button being pressed, the IHS exits the low-powers state and resumes a full-power operating state. When a wake event is inadvertently triggered, the IHS may reverted to full-power operations without the user's knowledge.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GAYATHRI SAMPATH whose telephone number is (571)272-5489. The examiner can normally be reached on Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176
/GAYATHRI SAMPATH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2176