DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/24/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 6/24/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups share a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because as described in the requirement for restriction of 5/4/26 and in the rejection of claim 1, below, the shared technical feature of the two groups of claims, when considered as a whole (i.e., upon examination of each of the elements of the claims) is known in the prior art and thus does not constitute a special technical feature. As described below, Mannheim Astete in view of Winstanley teach the shared feature of a curved laminated glazing.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-7 include numerals enclosed by parentheses. While it is believed that these numerals refer to the figures of the present application consistent with MPEP 608.01(m), it is not entirely clear from the language of the claims what these numerals are referring to because the numerals are not applied consistently through the claims. For example, claim 1 recites a “functional film (13)” and claim 3 recites the “functional film” with no corresponding numeral (claim 3, line 2). It is therefore not apparent that the numerals are intended to be part of the names of the elements themselves.
Claim 1 includes elements not separated by a line indentation. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. 37 CFR 1.75(i), MPEP 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannheim Astete et al. (US 2021/0138767, “Mannheim Astete”) in view of Winstanley et al. (US 2021/0114354, “Winstanley”).
Regarding claim 1, Mannheim Astete teaches an automotive curved laminated glazing comprising at least: a first glass sheet (e.g.,. Fig. 3, layer 201, [0021]) having an outer and an inner faces, an electrically powered functional film (Fig. 3, liquid crystal layer 16, [0023]), a second glass sheet (e.g., Fig. 3, layer 203, [0023]) having an outer and an inner faces, at least one optical coupling material (Fig. 3, layer 12, [0023] – [0025]) being a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin and provided between the said functional film and the at least first and/or the second glass sheets (Fig. 3, layer 12, [0023] – [0025]). While Mannheim Astete teaches that the glazing may be curved ([0031]), it is silent as to the degree of curving. However, in the same field of endeavor of curved automotive glazings (e.g., [0006]), Winstanley teaches that an appropriate amount of curvature for a curved automotive glazing is between 1000 and 8000 mm ([0189] and thus the ordinarily skilled artisan would have adopted such a conventional radius of curvature for the glazing of Mannheim Astete in order to effectively use such a glazing in an automobile (Winstanley, e.g., [0189], [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Mannheim Astete additionally teaches that the adhesive may aid in maintaining a distance between the liquid crystal layer and the lower glass sheet layer (see Fig. 3, lower glass layer 103 and liquid crystalline layer 16 wherein adhesive layer 12 fills a gap between these layers, see also [0023]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Mannheim Astete additionally teaches that the functional layer may be a switchable liquid crystalline film layer (thus containing liquid crystal material, [0023]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Mannheim Astete additionally teaches that the liquid resin may be, among others, an acrylic resin ([0025]) and may be UV curable ([0025]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannheim Astete in view of Winstanley as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Gahagan et al. (US 2018/0215125, “Gahagan”).
Regarding claim 5, Mannheim Astete fails to specifically teach that the glazing includes or is used in combination with an active-matrix light emitting diode (i.e., an OLED display). However, the application of a switchable glazing to such a display device is well known in the art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of switchable glasses (e.g., [0005], [0006]), Gahagan teaches to apply a switchable glazing to an OLED type display so as to provide an image to a viewer and then to suitably modulate or enhance the image (e.g., the contrast of the image, see [0005], [0006], [0025], [0026], [0035]). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied a switchable glazing to an OLED type display so as to provide an image to a viewer and then to have suitably modulated or enhanced the image (e.g., the contrast of the image, see [0005], [0006], [0025], [0026], [0035]).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782