DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amended claims filed on 27 February 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jeong fails to teach network- slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA), that Tiwari fails to teach setting NSSAA status in a UE context stored by the AMF to pending, and that neither reference teaches determining from such a pending status that NSSAA was interrupted or incomplete and subsequently sending a registration accept indicating that NSAA should be executed.
These arguments are not persuasive.
The rejection does not rely upon Jeong alone to disclose the disputed NSSAA-specific limitations. Rather, Jeong is relied upon for teaching the AMF registration processing framework, including UE registration handling and associated response signaling, while Tiwari is relied upon for teaching interrupted NSSAA state preservation and reprocessing.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Tiwari teaches pending information only at the UE, Tiwari expressly teaches that upon interruption of ongoing NSSAA during handover, the source AMF about the ongoing NSSAA procedures, aligns pending status to affected requested S-NSSAIs, and transmits UE context information including the pending NSSAA status to the target AMF (Tiwari, fig. 5, steps 510-514, fig. 9, steps s904-s908, fig 6B, [0087]-[0105], [0117]-[0127]). Because this pending status is transferred as UE context between AMF entities, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the pending NSSAA state to be maintained within AMF-stored UE context.
Further, Tiwari expressly defines pending status as indicating an ongoing or incomplete NSSAA process (Tiwari, fig. 6A, [0094]-[0117]). Thus, the pending NSSAA state indicates that the NSSAA procedure remains incomplete and would have suggested to one of ordinary skill that continued or re-executed NSSAA processing is required upon subsequent registration processing.
Applicant additionally argues that Tiwari does not disclose a subsequent UE registration request or sending a registration accept including an indication that NSSAA should be executed. While Tiwari focuses on preservation of interrupted NSSAA state across handover events, Jeong teaches registration processing and AMF response signaling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tiwari’s pending NSSAA state preservation into Jeong’s registration framework such that, upon subsequent registration processing, the AMF would indicate corresponding slice status requiring continued or re-executed NSSAA processing for affected network slices.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Jeong and Tiwari to preserve incomplete authorization state across interruption events and ensure reliable continuation of network slice authorization processing during subsequent registration operations, thereby improving continuity and efficiency of slice authorization handling.
Accordingly, the combination of Jeong and Tiwari teaches or renders obvious the disputed limitations.
Thus, the examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20210153157 A1) (hereinafter Jeo) in view of Tiwari et al. (US 20210160769 A1) (hereinafter Ti).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20210153157 A1) (hereinafter Jeo) in view of Tiwari et al. (US 20210160769 A1) (hereinafter Ti):
In regards to claims 26, 30, and 34, Jeo-Ti teaches:
A method (Jeo, see fig. 3)/An apparatus (Jeo, see fig. 1)/ A process (Jeo, see fig. 3) for an access and mobility management function (AMF) configured to operate in a communication network, the AMF comprising (Jeo, Fig. 1, [0042]-[0058]):
interface circuitry configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) (Jeo, Fig. 1, [0042]-[0058]: [0052] A policy and charging function (PCF) entity 154 may be a network entity that applies a service policy, a charging policy, and a PDU session policy of a mobile communication service provider to the UE 120.); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the interface circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry and interface circuitry are configured to (Jeo, Fig. 8, [0132]-[0136]: [0136] Also, the processor 830 may control a series of processes such that the terminal may operate according to the above embodiments. The processor 830 may include one or more processors. For example, the processor 830 may include a communication processor (CP) for performing control for communication and an application processor (AP) for controlling an upper layer such as an application program.):
initiating a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure for a user equipment (UE) with respect to a first network slice of the communication network, wherein the first network slice is associated with a first identifier (Jeo, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0059]-[0086], [0087]-[0097]: [0062] Referring to FIG. 2, a case in which a first network slice 211 may be accessed by 10,000 UEs and accommodate 30,000 sessions is illustrated. [0097] In step S310, the UDM stores current status information of a particular slice (the number of UEs currently in use for each slice, a list of subscriber identifiers in use for each slice, or whether the upper limit of the quota has been reached for each slice) and notifies the same to other NFs (for example, the UDR, the AMF, the SW, the NSSF, and the NRF).) ;
setting an NSSAA status associated with the first identifier to pending in a UE context stored by the AMF (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097]: [0094] In step S307, by using the allowed NSSAI received from the AMF, the UDM updates the availability of the slice to which the quota-based control is applied and the current status of use of the slice. Particularly, with respect to the received NSSAI, the UI)M may determine whether the received NSSAI is subject to quota limitation for each S-NSSAI included in the NSSAI, and in the case of a new slice that has not been used by the UE (subscriber), may determine whether the slice has not reached the upper limit of the quota limitation. When the slice does not reach the upper limit of the quota limitation, the status of the slice may be updated (i.e., the number of UEs to be used may be increased). When the existing information stored in the UDM does not include information about the slice in use for the UE in the NSSAI, the status of the slice may be updated (i.e., the number of UEs to be used may be reduced). When the slice has already reached the upper limit of the quota, the status information may be notified to the AMF in step S308, and in this case, the status of the slice (i.e., the number of UEs to be used) may not be updated. When a particular slice is reserved in the above operation, the reservation may be released or updated to a confirmed or in-use status. Also, subscriber-specific status information (i.e., a context) may be stored including a list of slices currently being used by the subscriber. Also, the UDM may store/update a list of subscribers in use for each slice (S-NSSAI).);
Thus, Jeo does not teach based on the NSSAA status in the stored UE context set to pending, determining that the NSSAA was interrupted or not completed and that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed for the UE with respect to the first network slice; and in response to a subsequent request by the UE to register with the communication network, sending the UE a registration accept that includes an indication that a NSSAA procedure with respect to the first network slice should be executed.
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches assessing the stored S-NSSAI authorization states, marking them as allowed, rejected, or pending, and acting on those results by initializing corresponding network procedures, including reprocessing NSSAA when authorization fails, which can be seen as, based on the NSSAA status in the stored UE context set to pending, determining that the NSSAA was interrupted or not completed and that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed for the UE with respect to the first network slice (Ti, Fig. 3B, [0074]-[0080]: [0080] At step 336, the AMF device (206) may initiate the UE configuration update procedure towards the UE (102) to update the UE configuration for access and mobility management-related parameters, Allowed NSSAI, Configured NSSAI and NSSAA status. For example, the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a) is stored as allowed S-NSSAI in the UE (102) when successful grant of the access request of the S-NSSAI is received. However, if the access request of the S-NSSAI slice (116a) is un-successful then the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a) is stored as rejected S-NSSAI in the UE (102). Further, the requested S-NSSAI slices for which response is awaited from the AMF device (206) are stored as pending S-NSSAI slice in the UE (102). At step 338, if the Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization fails for all S-NSSAIs (if any) in the existing Allowed NSSAI for the UE (102) and (if any) for all S-NSSAIs in the Requested NSSAI, the AMF (206) shall execute the Network-initiated Deregistration procedure described in clause 4.2.2.3.3 and the AMF (206) shall include in the explicit De-Registration Request the list of Rejected S-NSSAIs, each of them with the appropriate rejection cause value.) ; and
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches the UE storing an authentication ID for the requested S-NSSAI slice and providing it to the AMF, which uses it to generate and send an authentication message, including the EAP ID, S-NSSAI, and GPSI to the NSSF, which can be seen as, in response to a subsequent request by the UE to register with the communication network, sending the UE a registration accept that includes an indication that a NSSAA procedure with respect to the first network slice should be executed (Ti, Fig. 3B, [0074]-[0080]: [0076] At step 306, the AMF device (206) sends a request to the UE (102) to share an authentication ID (i.e. EAP ID) associated with the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a). The authentication ID details are stored in the UE (102) upon successful registration/subscription of the UE (102) with the service provider network (220) for the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a). At step 308, the UE (102) sends a response to the AMF device (206) to share the requested EAP ID associated with the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a). The steps 306 and 308, are part of primary authentication for the user subscription details at the AMF device (206), and not constitute the NSSAA process. At step 310, the AMF device (206) sends an authentication message to the NSSF device (218). The authentication message includes the EAP ID of the S-NSSAI, and generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of a third-party service provider subscribed by the UE (102). The GPSI is used as a means of addressing a 3GPP subscription in data networks outside the realms of a 3GPP system, for example if the service is associated with third-party provider, and S-NSSAI slice (116a) is used by the third-party service provider, then GPSI is global ID of the third-party service provider. The NSSF device (218) is a device which communicates with the external service provider network (220). The NSSF device (218) receives IP address of the AAA-S (222) of the service provider network (220) from the AMF device (206).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeo with Ti to improve Jeo’s slice-management process by adding Ti’s established authentication-exchange mechanism, thereby providing more flexible and coordinated network services as described in TI (Ti, [0036]).
In regards to claims 27, 31, and 35, Jeo-Ti teaches:
A method (Jeo, see fig. 3)/An apparatus (Jeo, see fig. 1)/ A process (Jeo, see fig. 3) for an access and mobility management function (AMF) configured to operate in a communication network, the AMF comprising (Jeo, Fig. 1, [0042]-[0058]):
storing further instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the AMF to (Jeo, Fig. 6, [0121]-[0125], [0031]-[0032]: [0125] In step S604, the UDM stores/updates current status information of a particular slice (the number of UEs currently in use for each slice, a list of subscriber identifiers in use for each slice, or whether the upper limit. of the quota has been reached for each slice) and notifies the same to other NFs (e.g., the UDR, the AMF, the SMF, the NSSF, and the NRF). Particularly, the UDM may store information including slice use information in the UDR through a Nudr_DM_Update request, and the UDR may expose the information to another NF.):
wherein the processing circuitry and interface circuitry are further configured to (Jeo, Fig. 8, [0132]-[0136]: See above for paragraph [0136].):
Thus, Jeo does not teach after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, receiving from an authentication authorization and account server (AAA-S) a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice; and removing the NSSAA status associated with the first identifier from the UE context stored by the AMF.
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches that after a successful NSSAA procedure, an application server (AS) provides slice-related authentication functionality while the AMF sends a request to the UE to share the authentication ID associated with the requested S-NSSAI slice and alter returns an indication of success or failure for the UE’s access request, which can be seen as, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, receiving from an authentication authorization and account server (AAA-S) a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice (Ti, Fig. 1, 3A-3B [0047]-[0063], [0074]-[0080]: [0061] According to an example embodiment, the application (104) running on the UE (102) communicates with the AF device (118) via a data path (122) that passes through a network slice (116) of the mobile core network (112). Additionally, the AF device (118) may send information to the mobile core network (112) which can be used to optimize the network internal configuration or network behavior. In certain embodiments, the AF device (118) is an application server (“AS”) enabling the application (104) to access and use functionality provided by the application server over standardized interfaces (e.g., APIs). [0062] The wireless communication system (100) is capable of authenticating users to a network slice, specifically providing network slice access authentication and authorization using user identities and credentials different from the 3GPP subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), as described above. While a secondary authentication (i.e. network slice access authentication) for a PDU session is performed during the PDU establishment procedure, a user identity authentication is performed during the registration procedure. [0079] At step 334, the AMF device (206) sends a response to the UE (102) indicating a success or a failure of the request initiated by the UE (102) to access the S_NSSAI slice (116a).); and
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches storing the NSSAA status of an S-NSSAI as pending at a source AMF and transferring that store NSSAA status to a target AMF when a handover occurs during the NSSAA process, with the transfer taking place where detecting completion or NSSAA procedure is aborted, which can be seen as, removing the NSSAA status associated with the first identifier from the UE context stored by the AMF (Ti, Fig. 3A,[0037]-[0045], [0074]-[0080]: [0042] Accordingly, embodiments herein achieve a method for handling a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) process in a wireless network system. The method includes detecting, by a source access and mobility function (AMF) device, that a NSSAA process is ongoing for a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and an inter-AMF handover process is triggered from the source AMF device to a target AMF device during the NSSAA process. The method includes storing, by the source AMF device, the NSSAA status of the S-NSSAI as pending; and transferring, by the source AMF device, the stored NSSAA status of the S-NSSAI to the target AMF device upon detecting a completion or abortion of the NSSAA process. [0062] The wireless communication system (100) is capable of authenticating users to a network slice, specifically providing network slice access authentication and authorization using user identities and credentials different from the 3GPP subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), as described above. While a secondary authentication (i.e. network slice access authentication) for a PDU session is performed during the PDU establishment procedure, a user identity authentication is performed during the registration procedure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeo with Ti to enable Jeo’s slices-status management and AMF operations to work in coordination with Ti’s slice-related authentication and authorization functions, thereby allowing the AMF to handle slice access decisions using authenticated, slice-specific information and producing a predicable improvement in network slice control (Ti, [0062]).
In regards to claims 28, 32, and 36, Jeo-Ti teaches:
A method (Jeo, see fig. 3)/An apparatus (Jeo, see fig. 1)/ A process (Jeo, see fig. 3) for an access and mobility management function (AMF) configured to operate in a communication network, the AMF comprising (Jeo, Fig. 1, [0042]-[0058]):
Wherein: the first network slice is one of plurality of network slices for which the UE is required to perform respective NSSAA procedures (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097]: [0088] In step S301, the UE transmits a registration request including information for accessing a particular slice (one or more) to the AMF.);
Thus, Jeo does not teach the NSSAA status stored in the AMF for the respective network slices is pending; and the method further comprises appending, to the respective NSSAA status stored in the AMF, a respective indicator of whether the respective NSSAA procedures are ongoing or waiting to be started; and the processing circuitry is further configured to append, to the respective NSSAA status stored in the AMF, a respective indicator of whether the respective NSSAA procedures are ongoing or waiting to be started; and the non-transitory, computer-readable medium stores further instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the AMF to append, to the respective NSSAA status stored in the AMF, a respective indicator of whether the respective NSSAA procedures are ongoing or waiting to be started.
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches that during an ongoing NSSAA process, the source AMF stores the NSSAA status of the S-NSSAI as pending and transfer that stored NSSAA status to a target AMF when an inter-AMF handover occurs, with the transfer trigged when detecting completion or abortion of the NSSAA procedure, which can be seen as, the NSSAA status stored in the AMF for the respective network slices is pending (Ti, Fig. 3A and 3B,[0037]-[0045], [0074]-[0080]: [0042] Accordingly, embodiments herein achieve a method for handling a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) process in a wireless network system. The method includes detecting, by a source access and mobility function (AMF) device, that a NSSAA process is ongoing for a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and an inter-AMF handover process is triggered from the source AMF device to a target AMF device during the NSSAA process. The method includes storing, by the source AMF device, the NSSAA status of the S-NSSAI as pending; and transferring, by the source AMF device, the stored NSSAA status of the S-NSSAI to the target AMF device upon detecting a completion or abortion of the NSSAA process. [0062] The wireless communication system (100) is capable of authenticating users to a network slice, specifically providing network slice access authentication and authorization using user identities and credentials different from the 3GPP subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), as described above. While a secondary authentication (i.e. network slice access authentication) for a PDU session is performed during the PDU establishment procedure, a user identity authentication is performed during the registration procedure.). ; and
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches maintain in the AMF an indicator of whether an NSSAA procedure is ongoing for a particular S-NSSAI and using that indicator to determine when to initiate a UE configuration update procedure, which can be seen as, the method further comprises appending, to the respective NSSAA status stored in the AMF, a respective indicator of whether the respective NSSAA procedures are ongoing or waiting to be started (Ti, Fig. 3A,[0037]-[0045], [0074]-[0080]: [0080] At step 336, the AMF device (206) may initiate the UE configuration update procedure towards the UE (102) to update the UE configuration for access and mobility management-related parameters, Allowed NSSAI, Configured NSSAI and NSSAA status. For example, the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a) is stored as allowed S-NSSAI in the UE (102) when successful grant of the access request of the S-NSSAI is received. However, if the access request of the S-NSSAI slice (116a) is un-successful then the requested S-NSSAI slice (116a) is stored as rejected S-NSSAI in the UE (102). Further, the requested S-NSSAI slices for which response is awaited from the AMF device (206) are stored as pending S-NSSAI slice in the UE (102). At step 338, if the Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization fails for all S-NSSAIs (if any) in the existing Allowed NSSAI for the UE (102) and (if any) for all S-NSSAIs in the Requested NSSAI, the AMF (206) shall execute the Network-initiated Deregistration procedure described in clause 4.2.2.3.3 and the AMF (206) shall include in the explicit De-Registration Request the list of Rejected S-NSSAIs, each of them with the appropriate rejection cause value.);
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches storing NSSAA status in the AMF and appending an indicator showing whether each NSSAA procedure is ongoing or waiting to start, which can be seen as, and the processing circuitry is further configured to append, to the respective NSSAA status stored in the AMF, a respective indicator of whether the respective NSSAA procedures are ongoing or waiting to be started (Ti, Fig. 3A,[0037]-[0045], [0074]-[0080]: See above for paragraph [0080].),
and the non-transitory, computer-readable medium stores further instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the AMF to append, to the respective NSSAA status stored in the AMF, a respective indicator of whether the respective NSSAA procedures are ongoing or waiting to be started (Ti, Fig. 7,[0096]-[0105]: [0100] The memory (730) stores instructions to be executed by the processor (710). The memory (730) may include non-volatile storage elements. Examples of such non-volatile storage elements may include magnetic hard discs, optical discs, floppy discs, flash memories, or forms of electrically programmable memories (EPROM) or electrically erasable and programmable (EEPROM) memories. In addition, the memory (730) may, in some examples, be considered a non-transitory storage medium. The term “non-transitory” may indicate that the storage medium is not embodied in a carrier wave or a propagated signal. However, the term “non-transitory” should not be interpreted that the memory (730) is non-movable. In certain examples, a non-transitory storage medium may store data that can, over time, change (e.g., in Random Access Memory (RAM) or cache). The S-AMF device (206a) is configured to implement the method (500) as explained in the FIG. 5 for handling ongoing or pending NSSAA processes during handover process of the UE (102).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeo with Ti to enhance Joe’s slice-status handling with Ti’s NSSAA-status and indicator mechanisms, thereby having a predictable improvement in AMG control of NSSAA procedures (Ti, [0036]).
In regards to claims 29, 33, and 37, Jeo-Ti teaches:
Wherein subsequent UE request is the UE's first registration request after determining that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA should be executed (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0074]-[0086], [0087]-[0097]: [0084] 1) Reject access. The UE that has transmitted an access request may know through a Reject message that the access request has been rejected, and in this case, the terminal may know that a cause for the rejection is due by the quota of the slice (i.e., the maximum value configured in the quota has been reached). Also, the UE may receive a timer value for allowing a re-access request. When the access request is a registration request for slice(s) and a reject occurs during a control process for the maximum number of accessors, the timer may be applied to the slice(s) and the UE should not retransmit an access request for the slice(s) until the timer terminates or expires. When the access request is a request for a session (data network name (DNN)) mapped to a particular slice and a reject occurs during a control process for the maximum number of sessions, the timer may be applied to the slice(s) and the mapped DNN(s) and the UE should not retransmit a session generation request for the slice(s) and the mapped DNN(s) until the timer terminates or expires. When the timer terminates or expires, the UE may retransmit an access or session generation request.); and
the method further comprises determining that the new NSSAA procedure should be executed based on one of the following (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097]: [0092] In step S305, the AMF performs a procedure such as AMF selection or slice selection (determination of allowed NSSAI) during the registration process by using the information received from the UDM in step S304. When an AMF relocation occurs, the AMF may be changed to a new AMF.):
and the processing circuitry is further configured to determine that the new NSSAA procedure should be executed based on one of the following (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097], [0031]: [0031] It will be understood that each block of process flowchart diagrams and combinations of flowchart diagrams may be performed by computer program instructions. Because these computer program instructions may be mounted on a processor of a general-purpose computer, a special-purpose computer, or other programmable data processing equipment, the instructions executed through a processor of a computer or other programmable data processing equipment may generate a means of performing the functions described in the flowchart block(s).):
and the non-transitory, computer-readable medium stores further instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the AMF to determine that the new NSSAA procedure should be executed based on one of the following (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097], [0031]: [0032] Also, each block may represent a portion of a module, segment, or code including one or more executable instructions for executing one or more specified logical functions. Also, it should be noted that the functions mentioned in the blocks may also occur in a different order in some alternative implementation examples. For example, two blocks illustrated in succession may actually be performed substantially at the same time or may sometimes be performed in the opposite order depending on the corresponding function.):
the UE context stored in the AMF including the first identifier with associated NSSAA status of pending (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097]: [0097] In step S310, the UDM stores current status information of a particular slice (the number of UEs currently in use for each slice, a list of subscriber identifiers in use for each slice, or whether the upper limit of the quota has been reached for each slice) and notifies the same to other NFs (for example, the UDR, the AMF, the SW, the NSSF, and the NRF). Particularly, the UDM may store slice use information in the UDR through a Nudr_DM_Update request, and the UDR may expose the same to another NF. In this case, other NFs are not limited thereto, and any network entity capable of performing a function related to slice control as well as the NF described above in FIG. 1 may be used.); or
the UE context stored in the AMF does not include an associated NSSAA status for the first identifier (Jeo, Fig. 3, [0087]-[0097]: [0094] In step S307, by using the allowed NSSAI received from the AMF, the UDM updates the availability of the slice to which the quota-based control is applied and the current status of use of the slice. Particularly, with respect to the received NSSAI, the UI)M may determine whether the received NSSAI is subject to quota limitation for each S-NSSAI included in the NSSAI, and in the case of a new slice that has not been used by the UE (subscriber), may determine whether the slice has not reached the upper limit of the quota limitation. When the slice does not reach the upper limit of the quota limitation, the status of the slice may be updated (i.e., the number of UEs to be used may be increased). When the existing information stored in the UDM does not include information about the slice in use for the UE in the NSSAI, the status of the slice may be updated (i.e., the number of UEs to be used may be reduced). When the slice has already reached the upper limit of the quota, the status information may be notified to the AMF in step S308, and in this case, the status of the slice (i.e., the number of UEs to be used) may not be updated. When a particular slice is reserved in the above operation, the reservation may be released or updated to a confirmed or in-use status. Also, subscriber-specific status information (i.e., a context) may be stored including a list of slices currently being used by the subscriber. Also, the UDM may store/update a list of subscribers in use for each slice (S-NSSAI). [0097] In step S310, the UDM stores current status information of a particular slice (the number of UEs currently in use for each slice, a list of subscriber identifiers in use for each slice, or whether the upper limit of the quota has been reached for each slice) and notifies the same to other NFs (for example, the UDR, the AMF, the SW, the NSSF, and the NRF).).
Thus, Jeo does not teach associated NSSAA status of pending.
Similar to the system of Jeo, Ti teaches that during an ongoing network slice-specific authentication and authorization process, the source AMF detects that the NSSAA process is active for a particular S-NSSAI, stores the NSSAA status for that slice as pending, and transfers the stored NSSAA status to a target AMF when an inter-AMF handover occurs, with the transfer triggered when detecting completion or abortion of the NSSAA process, which can be seen as, associated NSSAA status of pending (Ti, Fig. 3A and 3B, [0037]-[0045], [0074]-[0080]: See above for paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeo with Ti to add Ti’s handing of pending NSSAA status during ongoing or aborted NSSAA procedures so that Jeo’s AMF could maintain and update associated NSSAA states in a consistent way, thereby providing a predictable improvement in AMF control of NSSAA procedures (Ti, [0036]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468