DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims require a reselection of “the one TRP”. It’s unclear what is meant by this. The location server has already selected “the one TRP” thus it is unclear what is meant by the reselection of the same “the one TRP”. If the UE never loses the connection with “The one TRP” no reselection step can occur.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 16-19, 21-29, 31, 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Do et al. “Do” US 2018/0317107.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Do teaches a method and user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Figure 4, transceiver 412, processor 410 and memory 420), the at least one processor configured to:
determine to change a power mode of the UE to a new power mode, the new power mode comprising a power saving mode in which the UE measures positioning reference signals (PRSs) from one transmission/reception point (TRP) or a normal power mode in which the UE measures PRSs from two or more TRPs (Figure 2B shows a PRS muting cycle which includes 16 cells and 8 cycles. During some cycles only 1 cell (or TRP) is transmitting and other times multiple cells are transmitting PRS; Paragraphs 28-29. A UE wakes up (i.e. changes power mode) to scan/measure for PRS signals transmit by one or multiple cells; Paragraph 45 (see also Figure 5)); and
change the power mode of the UE to the new power mode (based on the need to wake up to scan/measure PRS, the UE wakes up (i.e. changes the power mode to the new power mode; Paragraph 45 (See also Figures 2B and 5).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Do teaches determining to change power of the UE to a new power mode comprises sending, to a location server, a request to change the power mode of the UE to the new power mode, and receiving from the location server, a positioning configuration associated with the new power mode (the mobile sends a request for a PRS system and receives data identifying cells, periods for PRS muting cycles and the quality of the PRS for each cell; Paragraphs 20-21 and 310 of Figure 3); and
Changing the power mode of the UE to the new power mode by using the positioning configuration for the new power mode received from the location server (Paragraphs 20-21 teaches the UE receives PRS information and muting cycle information which dictates when the UE would wake up or not (i..e changing power mode), see Figures 2B and 5 (step 540). Thus one can see the UE changes the power mode based on information received, in response to a request, from a location server as claimed).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Do teaches the new power mode is the power saving mode and wherein the positioning configuration identifies one or more PRS for the UE to measure from one TRP (The UE can selectively wake-up and listen for PRS from individual cell transmitters saving power; Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B. Thus, one can see the UE wakes up based on the muting cycle (i.e. power saving mode) and can measure one or more PRS from one TRP (periods 3 and 7 of Figure 2B)).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Do teaches the request to change the power mode of the UE indicates a preferred or suggested TRP (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Do teaches the new power mode is the normal power mode and wherein the positioning configuration identifies one or more PRSs for the UE to measure from two or more TRPs (Figure 2B shows a PRS muting cycle which includes 16 cells and 8 cycles. During cycles 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, multiples cell (or TRPs) is transmitting and other times multiple cells are transmitting PRS; Paragraphs 28-29. A UE wakes up (i.e. changes power mode to normal) to scan/measure for PRS signals transmit by one or multiple cells; Paragraph 45 (see also Figure 5)).
Regarding claims 6 and 26, Do teaches the request to change the power mode of the UE indicates a preferred or suggested TRP (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B).
Regarding claims 7 and 27, Do teaches the request includes preferred/suggested positioning indicates a start time, end time or time window for the new power mode (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B. Figure 2B shows the requested information would thus entails various time periods (start/end/time windows) with respect to cells with PRS and the power mode (the various time periods dictate sleeping/awake cycles (i.e. power modes)).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Do teaches the preferred/suggested configuration includes a positioning resource including a TRP (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B).
Regarding claims 9 and 29, Do teaches the request to change includes a request for a plurality of changes to the power mode of the UE over time (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B. Figure 2B shows there are a plurality of time periods which involve waking up and/or using power to measure one or multiple PRS signals, thus there would be a plurality of changes to the power mode for the UE over time).
Regarding claims 11 and 31, Do teaches a method and a location server (LS) (312 of Figure 3), comprising:
a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (PRS system with server has processors/memories; Figure 3), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a user equipment (UE), a power mode change request indicating a requested power mode, the requested power mode comprising a power saving mode in which the UE measures positioning reference signals (PRSs) from one transmission/reception point (TRP) or a normal power mode in which the UE measures PRSs from two or more TRPs (Figure 2B shows a PRS muting cycle which includes 16 cells and 8 cycles. During some cycles only 1 cell (or TRP i.e. power saving mode)) is transmitting and other times multiple cells are transmitting PRS (normal mode; Paragraphs 28-29. A UE wakes up (i.e. changes power mode) to scan/measure for PRS signals transmit by one or multiple cells; Paragraph 45 (see also Figure 5). The mobile sends a request (thus the server receives the request) for a PRS system and receives data identifying cells, periods for PRS muting cycles and the quality of the PRS for each cell; Paragraphs 20-21 and 310 of Figure 3); and
configure the UE to measure positioning reference signals (PRSs) according to the requested power mode (based on the need to wake up to scan/measure PRS, the UE wakes up (i.e. changes the power mode to the new power mode; Paragraph 45 (See also Figures 2B and 5). This is performed based on the information the server sends to the UE in response to the request, Thus the server configures the UE).
Regarding claims 16 and 36, Do teaches the request includes preferred/suggested positioning indicates a start time, end time or time window for the new power mode (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B. Figure 2B shows the requested information would thus entails various time periods (start/end/time windows) with respect to cells with PRS and the power mode (the various time periods dictate sleeping/awake cycles (i.e. power modes)).
Regarding claims 17 and 37, Do teaches configuring the UEs to measure PRSs according to the power mode includes configuring the UEs to use a portion of the preferred or suggested positioning configuration (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B. Figure 2B shows the requested information would thus entails various time periods (start/end/time windows) with respect to cells with PRS and the power mode (the various time periods dictate sleeping/awake cycles (i.e. power modes)). As the UE receives signals from the suggested/preferred TRPs, it has used “at least a portion” as claimed).
Regarding claims 18 and 38, Do teaches the preferred/suggested configuration includes a positioning resource including a TRP (The request is for PRS assistance data regarding TRPs in the area (i.e. suggested/preferred TRP); Paragraph 20, see also Paragraph 29 and Figure 2B).
Regarding claims 19 and 39, Do teaches the request is for a plurality of changes to the power mode over a period of time (Figure 2B shows a PRS muting cycle which includes 16 cells and 8 cycles. The mobile sends a request for a PRS system and receives data identifying cells, periods for PRS muting cycles and the quality of the PRS for each cell; Paragraphs 20-21 and 310 of Figure 3. As can be seen there are multiple different power changes that occur as the UE can scan various cells); and
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15, 32, 33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do in view of Berggren et al. “Berggren” US 2023/0127908.
Regarding claims 12 and 32, Do teaches the power saving mode as shown in claims 11 and 31, Do does not teach notifying other TRPs to stop transmitting PRS towards the UE. Berggren teaches the location server sends signals to stop transmitting PRS to a subset of the base stations; Paragraph 140. Thus one can see some base stations are told, by the location server, to stop transmitting PRS towards the UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Do to include notifying other TRPs to stop sending PRS to the UE as taught by Berggren.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that particular base stations can be notified as to whether or not (and when) to transmit PRS signals as taught by Berggren; Paragraph 140.
Regarding claims 13 and 33, while Do teaches power savings mode (based on the need to wake up to scan/measure PRS, the UE wakes up (i.e. changes the power mode to the new power mode; Paragraph 45 (See also Figures 2B and 5). This is performed based on the information the server sends to the UE in response to the request. The idea that a UE wakes up to perform scanning and when not scanning goes into an idle/sleep state shows a power savings method).
Do does not expressly disclose the server selecting the TRP based on information provided by the TRP; however, Breggren teaches base stations (TRPs) send their PRS configuration information to the location server; S1001a/b Figure 10. From this a base station (TRP) will later be chosen to send the PRS transmission based on the PRS configuration sent to the LS; Figure 10 and Paragraph 135.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Do to include choosing a TRP based on information received from the TRP as taught by Berggren.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that particular base stations can be notified as to whether or not (and when) to transmit PRS signals as taught by Berggren; Paragraph 140.
Regarding claims 15 and 35, Do teaches the normal mode as shown in claims 11 and 31, Do does not teach notifying at least two TRPs to start or continue transmitting PRS towards the UE. Berggren teaches the location server sends signals to activate (i.e. start) transmitting PRS to a subset of the base stations; Paragraph 140. Thus one can see some base stations are told, by the location server, to transmit PRS towards the UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Do to include notifying other TRPs to start sending PRS to the UE as taught by Berggren.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that particular base stations can be notified as to whether or not (and when) to transmit PRS signals as taught by Berggren; Paragraph 140.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 20, 30, 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411