Status of claims
This office action is in response to claims filed on 10/03/2023; the foreign application priority date of 07/16/2021 is considered
Claims 1-5 are pending and rejected; claim 1, is independent claim
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In Claim 1:
“A registration device installed at an institution that issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card”
“The registration device comprises a registration unit that registers My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card on the digital ID app”
“A hash value generation module that generates a hash value from the unique identifier of My Number Card, driver's license, and insurance card registered on the digital ID app through the registration unit, and the unique identifier of the IoT device on which the digital ID app is installed”
“A hash value provision module that sends the hash value generated by the hash value generation module to the management server”
“A hash value provision module that provides the hash value generated by the hash value generation module to the website when the website is browsed”
In Claim 2:
“a registration device installed at an institution that issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card, equipped with a biometric information registration unit that registers biometric information”
“a separately provided biometric authentication device comprises a biometric information acquisition module that obtains the biometric authentication information of the user”
“a usage management module that suspends the use of the digital ID app based on the instruction from the user whose identity has been verified”
“an IC card issuance unit that issues an IC card”
In Claim 3:
“an authentication module that performs authentication through an IC reader between the IoT device (master) and the IoT device (slave) on which the digital ID app is installed”
“an authentication information retention module that retains the authentication information authenticated by the authentication module in the IoT device (slave)”
“A location information setting module to set the location information that allows login to the IoT device (slave) using the password registered in the password setting module”
In Claim 4:
“a hash value generation module that generates a hash value based on a unique identifier of the bank account or credit card and the unique identifier of the user when a bank account or credit card is created on the website of a financial institution”
In Claim 5:
“hash value comparison module that compares the hash value provided by the hash value provision module and the hash value that is stored on the website or the management server”
“A notification module to notify the digital ID app of the client that a procedure has been performed by the proxy, when the specialist who has been delegated the work performs the procedure on behalf of the client at the designated institution”
“An approval module using which the client approves the contents notified by the notification module”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the management server " in the fourth limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In Claim 1:
Claim limitation “A registration device installed at an institution that issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “The registration device comprises a registration unit that registers My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card on the digital ID app” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “A hash value generation module that generates a hash value from the unique identifier of My Number Card, driver's license, and insurance card registered on the digital ID app through the registration unit, and the unique identifier of the IoT device on which the digital ID app is installed” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “A hash value provision module that sends the hash value generated by the hash value generation module to the management server” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “A hash value provision module that provides the hash value generated by the hash value generation module to the website when the website is browsed” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In Claim 2:
Claim limitation “a registration device installed at an institution that issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card, equipped with a biometric information registration unit that registers biometric information” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “a separately provided biometric authentication device comprises a biometric information acquisition module that obtains the biometric authentication information of the user” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “a usage management module that suspends the use of the digital ID app based on the instruction from the user whose identity has been verified” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “an IC card issuance unit that issues an IC card” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In Claim 3:
Claim limitation “an authentication module that performs authentication through an IC reader between the IoT device (master) and the IoT device (slave) on which the digital ID app is installed” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “an authentication information retention module that retains the authentication information authenticated by the authentication module in the IoT device (slave)” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “A location information setting module to set the location information that allows login to the IoT device (slave) using the password registered in the password setting module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In Claim 4:
Claim limitation “a hash value generation module that generates a hash value based on a unique identifier of the bank account or credit card and the unique identifier of the user when a bank account or credit card is created on the website of a financial institution” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In Claim 5:
Claim limitation “hash value comparison module that compares the hash value provided by the hash value provision module and the hash value that is stored on the website or the management server” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “A notification module to notify the digital ID app of the client that a procedure has been performed by the proxy, when the specialist who has been delegated the work performs the procedure on behalf of the client at the designated institution” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “An approval module using which the client approves the contents notified by the notification module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loughlin-Mehugh et al. US Pub. No.: 2018/0089419 A1 (hereinafter Loughlin) in view of Kirsch US Pub. No.: 2012/0323786 A1 (hereinafter Kirsch).
Loughlin teaches:
As to claim 1. A digital authentication system characterized by comprising a digital ID app installed on an IoT device with a SIM card (see Loughlin Fig. 4 and ¶51, smart phone with SIM card), and
A registration device installed at an institution that issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card (First, see applicant’s own disclosure ¶12, registers IDs such as My Number Card, driver's license, insurance card, etc., ) Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to interpret the recited “My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card” as any ID card. Therefore, the recited ID card is disclosed by Loughlin. (see Loughlin ¶¶4 19 50, data captured from a real-world identity document such as a passport or driving licenses; ¶92, a photo ID profile 28b which also presents the name as listed on the registration document; Fig. 4a-4b and ¶40, identity registration and authentication system referred to as an uPass system [i.e.: issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card]; Fig. 1 and ¶44, uPass service 14 is provided by a computer system with separate endpoints (14a, 14b) for registration and verification [i.e. a registration device installed at institution];), and
The registration device comprises a registration unit that registers My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card on the digital ID app (see Loughlin ¶44 )¶¶50-52, uPass service 14 is provided by a computer system with separate endpoints (14a, 14b) for registration and verification;¶59, registration endpoint 14a of the uPass system 14 [i.e.: a registration unit that registers My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card on the digital ID app];)
A hash value generation module that generates a hash value from the unique identifier of My Number Card, driver's license, and insurance card registered on the digital ID app through the registration unit, and the unique identifier of the IoT device on which the digital ID app is installed (see Loughlin Figs. 4a-4b and ¶¶11 179-186, the registrant uses their device to capture data items for a registration including device performs optional NFC chip read, camera captures, scan of identity document, photo of registrant; metadata comprising including, device identifier (ID) such as a serial number or MAC address, IP address and geolocation is recorded; this is then appended to each data item to be submitted along with the item count; a digital signature DS [i.e. hashed fingerprint] is generated for the registration request using HMAC (Hash-based Message Authentication Code);
A hash value provision module that sends the hash value generated by the hash value generation module to the management server (see Loughlin Figs. 4a-4b and ¶186-187, generate hash value encrypt the value to generate BLOB [i.e. encrypted value] and transmit to the uPass central processing server [i.e. management server]; ¶¶190-191, each encrypted item is dispatched to a separate network endpoint EP1, EP2, EP, BLOBS are collected in the registration service 14a);
A hash value provision module that provides the hash value generated by the hash value generation module to the website when the website is browsed (see Loughlin Fig. 7 and ¶¶341-347, uPass credentials [i.e. hash value] are stored and read by mobile devices using proprietary applications.. web applications running inside the device browsers);
Loughlin does not explicitly disclose but the related art Kirsch teaches:
Wherein the website comprises a hash value comparison module that performs user authentication by comparing the hash value provided by the hash value provision module and the hash value stored on the website or the management server (see Kirsch ¶144-145, log in to any OneID website using OneID hash value; ¶667, user module could send a hash of a device specific ID that is "salted" with a deterministic value that can be compared to a value at the data repository)
Therefore, It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the delayed authorization of online transaction system, disclosed by Kirsch in the digital identity system of Seger for the purpose of login to any OneID website, as suggested by Kirsch. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the OneID website authentication in order to solve the insecurity of online identities theft problem (see Kirsch ¶6)
As to claim 2, the combination of Loughlin and Kirsch discloses a digital authentication system, according to claim 1, which is characterized by a registration device installed at an institution that issues My Number card, driver's license, and insurance card, equipped with a biometric information registration unit that registers biometric information (see Loughlin Claims 4-5 biometric authentication and ¶¶59 338, facial recognition),
a separately provided biometric authentication device comprises a biometric information acquisition module that obtains the biometric authentication information of the user (see Loughlin ¶12, use of the credential is restricted to that device for added security (if the user wishes to use multiple devices to assert their identify, they can request a separate credential for each device, each credential bound to the profile; Claims 4-5 biometric authentication and ¶¶59 338, facial recognition);
Wherein the biometric authentication device comprises a function to have the biometric information registered by the biometric information registration unit on the registration device, handed over to it, and to perform identity verification of the user by matching the biometric information obtained by the biometric information acquisition module and the biometric information registered by the biometric information registration unit (see Loughlin ¶59, dispatched securely to the registration endpoint 14a of the uPass system 14 which performs necessary processing (facial recognition/OCR) to extract relevant data and create an account for the registrant; ¶¶109-110, user profile/credential authentication), and
a usage management module that suspends the use of the digital ID app based on the instruction from the user whose identity has been verified (see Loughlin ¶¶149-150, a suspension of account), and
an IC card issuance unit that issues an IC card (see Kirsh ¶58, OneID devices are all compatible, but have different forms, e.g., a card, a chip in a mobile phone or keyboard, data in a TPM, etc.; ¶464 OneID smart card [i.e. IC card]);
this card can be used as a substitute for the digital ID app based on personal information stored in the management server (see Kirsh ¶58, OneID devices are all compatible, but have different forms, e.g., a card, a chip in a mobile phone or keyboard, data in a TPM, etc [i.e. a card can be a substitute to an app in a mobile device]).
Same rational as above applies to combine the cited prior art references.
As to claim 3, the combination of Loughlin and Kirsch discloses a digital authentication system, according to claim 1, which is characterized by an authentication module that performs authentication through an IC reader between the IoT device (master) and the IoT device (slave) on which the digital ID app is installed (see Kirsch ¶305-338, smart card reader [i.e. master] to login with OneID app [i.e. authentication module] using NFC cards such as SmartMX [i.e. master/slave communication]; ¶399, OneID card authentication, tapping your OneID card (slave) also unlocks the door (master))
an authentication information retention module that retains the authentication information authenticated by the authentication module in the IoT device (slave) (see Kirsch ¶338-34; sign on to the OneID app [i.e. authentication information retention module] or browser plug in to enable it and then from then on the app is used to authenticate you at websites until you "log out" of the app/authentication module (or remove your authentication device such as cell phone or smart card ) [i.e. authenticated by the authentication module in the IOT device (sleve)]);
A password setting module that can set an arbitrary password when the authentication information retention module retains the authentication information (see Kirsch ¶251, OTP password enabled for that OneID so it can download a new set of random/arbitrary OTPs from the server);
Wherein the authentication module comprises a function that allows login to the IoT device (slave) by entering the password during the period when the authentication information is retained on the authentication information retention module (see Kirsch ¶338-34; sign on to the OneID app [i.e. authentication information retention module] or browser plug in to enable it and then from then on the app is used to authenticate you at websites until you "log out" of the app/authentication module (or remove your authentication device such as cell phone or smart card ) [i.e. authenticated by the authentication module in the IOT device (sleve)]);
A location information setting module to set the location information that allows login to the IoT device (slave) using the password registered in the password setting module (see Kirsch ¶¶447 501, OneID identity may be used to access physical locations and registration).
Same rational as above applies to combine the cited prior art references.
As to claim 4, the combination of Loughlin and Kirsch discloses a digital authentication system, according to claim 1, which is characterized by a digital ID app comprising of a hash value generation module that generates a hash value based on a unique identifier of the bank account or credit card and the unique identifier of the user when a bank account or credit card is created on the website of a financial institution (see Kirsch ¶145, OneID is given the URL to call to login… GET oneIDlogin? SessionID=xxxxxx & challenge="please sign a hash of MY IP, please sign that hash with a OneID associated with your domain name ¶68, logging into bank or releasing credit card info or completing a purchase if he downloads our cell phone OneID which shows him OTP numbers and also alerts he's set up like logging into bank account or gave someone a credit card; [i.e. hash value generated based on unique id of user or bank account or credit card using OneID login] )
Same rational as above applies to combine the cited prior art references.
As to claim 5, a digital authentication system, according to claim 1, which is characterized by a website comprising of a module to delegate work when a client delegates work to a specialist on the website, and the specialist performs various procedures for the work on behalf of the client with a power of attorney, after the identity of the expert is verified by the hash value comparison module that compares the hash value provided by the hash value provision module and the hash value that is stored on the website or the management server (see Kirsch ¶136, When a user logs in with his OneID username plus the PIN plus the deviceID, there is a lookup done using a key of hash(OneID+PIN+deviceID) whose value is an EK),
A notification module to notify the digital ID app of the client that a procedure has been performed by the proxy, when the specialist who has been delegated the work performs the procedure on behalf of the client at the designated institution (see Kirsch ¶399, table 1, computer is controlled notify oneID that you logged in), and
An approval module using which the client approves the contents notified by the notification module (see Kirsh ¶189, a profile which is a web proxy server that acts as a complete pass through proxy… request where it will return a page saying "calling OneID" … and for those it will call the OneID client in the iPhone (which will then call safari when done)… The simplest and easiest way is for www.oneid.com/c to know that this device has the plug-in installed (when plug is installed it will tell oneid.com) and when the service is called, simply redirect to the oneID: protocol so it is handled locally).
Same rational as above applies to combine the cited prior art references.
Conclusion
/NW/
NEGA WOLDEMARIAM Examiner, Art Unit 2407
/Catherine Thiaw/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407 8/6/2025