DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
A new grounds of rejection has been set forth based on the amendments filed in the response submitted on 6/9/2026. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Terminal Disclaimer filed on 6/9/2026 to obviate a double patenting rejection over a U.S. Patent Number 12577421 has been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatada (CN 101368016).
Regarding claim 1, Hatada discloses: An inkjet ink comprising a pigment, a water-soluble organic solvent, and an organic compound excluding the pigment and the water-soluble organic solvent [0069], [0079], wherein the inkjet ink satisfies any one of conditions (1) to (3) below and has a surface tension of 27.0 to 43.1 mN/m or less at 25°C [0150]: (1) the water-soluble organic solvent has a logP value of more than -5.420 and less than 1.258,the organic compound has an interfacial tension against polyethylene terephthalate (PET) of 15.50 mN/m or less, wherein the interfacial tension at 25°C between a PET film and a mixture of 1 part by mass of the organic compound, 9 parts by mass of 1,4-butanediol, and 90 parts by mass of purified water, as determined by contacting the mixture with the PET film, is defined as the interfacial tension of the organic compound against PET, and a value of (B)/(A) is 0.005 to 1, where (A) is a total mass of the water-soluble organic solvent contained in the inkjet ink, and (B) is a total mass of the organic compound; (2) the organic compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of ethylene glycol monobenzyl ether, diethylene glycol monobenzyl ether, and diethylene glycol monophenyl ether [0140] (penetrating agent, diethylene glycol monphenyl ether); and (3) the organic compound is a C7-C9 1,2-alkanediol, and a value of (C)/(A) is less than 0.4, wherein (A) is the total mass of the water-soluble organic solvent contained in the inkjet ink, and (C) is a total mass of the 1,2-alkanediol, anda content of the organic compound is 0.05% to 1% by mass [0140].
Regarding claim 2, Hatada discloses: the organic compound has an interfacial tension against PET of 14.00 mN/m or less [0140].
Regarding claim 3, Hatada discloses: the organic compound has an interfacial tension against PET of 11.00 mN/m or less [0140].
Regarding claim 4, Hatada discloses: an ink set comprising the inkjet ink according to claim 1 (taught above) and an additional inkjet ink different from the inkjet ink [0152].
Regarding claim 5, Hatada discloses: the inkjet ink according to claim 1 (see above) and a printing medium [0130].
Regarding claim 6, Hatada discloses: a printed medium to which the inkjet ink has adhered [0130].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855