Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must
show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two guide cylinder rod set forth in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-4, 6, 12-14, and 17-18 are 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the original disclosure does not disclose that “the upper blade holder is provided with one of a straight knife, an oblique knife, a concave knife, or a curved knife, and the upper blade holder is configured to replace a blade with the straight knife, the oblique knife, or the concave knife to achieve vertical-motion shearing, or with the curved knife to achieve rolling-motion shearing.” The specification merely states that blades of different shapes may be switched or replaced when shearing strips having different thicknesses and widths. For example, paragraphs [0016]-[0018] indicate that different blade shapes may be selected to accommodate different operating conditions and production requirements. However, these passages only suggest that a blade may be replaced by a user or operator with another blade as needed. They do not disclose that the upper blade holder itself is configured to replace the blade.
Moreover, the specification fails to describe any structure, mechanism, or arrangement that would enable the upper blade holder to perform the claimed blade-replacement function. As shown in Fig. 1, the upper blade holder (5) is merely depicted as a holder. The disclosure does not describe any quick-change mechanism, mounting structure, fastening arrangement, actuator, or other feature that would support the claimed functionality.
In addition, the recitation that “the upper blade holder is configured to replace a blade” is itself unsupported by the original disclosure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand a blade holder to be a component that supports, mounts, or retains a blade. The act of replacing a blade is ordinarily performed by an operator or by a dedicated blade-changing mechanism, not by the blade holder itself. The specification does not attribute any blade-replacement capability to the upper blade holder, nor does it disclose any structure that would permit the holder itself to carry out such a function. Accordingly, the original disclosure does not reasonably convey possession of an upper blade holder having the claimed blade-replacement capability. Accordingly, while the original disclosure may support that blades of different shapes can be used or exchanged, it does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed an upper blade holder configured to replace a blade with a straight knife, oblique knife, concave knife, or curved knife as recited in claim 1. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 1 lacks written-description support in the original disclosure and constitutes new matter.
Claims 1-4, 6, 12-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or
35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It should be noted that the specification does not provide any description of a blade holder that itself performs blade replacement. Consequently, the meaning of the recited limitation cannot be reasonably ascertained from the claim language in light of the specification, further contributing to the indefiniteness of the claim.
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part, “the upper blade holder is configured to replace a blade with the straight knife, the oblique knife, or the concave knife to achieve vertical-motion shearing, or with the curved knife to achieve rolling-motion shearing.” It is unclear what is meant by the limitation that “the upper blade holder is configured to replace a blade.” A blade holder is generally understood to be a structure that supports, mounts, or retains a blade. The claim language appears to attribute the act of replacing a blade to the upper blade holder itself. However, it is unclear how the holder performs such replacement, whether replacement is performed automatically, manually by an operator, or by a separate blade-changing mechanism, and what structural features of the upper blade holder allegedly provide the recited capability. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim because it is unclear whether the claim is directed to (i) an upper blade holder capable of receiving different blades, (ii) a blade holder having a blade-changing mechanism, (iii) a system in which an operator replaces blades mounted on the holder, or (iv) some other arrangement. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1 and 6, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Baur et al. (WO 2011045072 A1), hereinafter Baur (same as
CN 102596466 A, cited in the IDS filled on 10/03/2023), as is evidenced in Fig. 5
of Ma et al. CN 107363317 A; and Soderberg (1,986,685), in view of Becker
(2,779,409). Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Baur teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism, comprising an upper blade holder (defined by the holder of the upper blade 1 which is connected to the drive device 4; Fig. 2) and a lower blade holder (defined by the holder that is connected to the lower blade 2; best shown in Fig. 1c) that are provided on a frame (defined by the frame of the shearing machine that accommodates the upper and lower blades, as is evidenced in Fig. 5 of Ma et al. CN 107363317 A; and Soderberg (1,986,685)) and arranged correspondingly in a vertical direction, wherein a left connecting rod 4 and a right connecting rod 4 that are arranged side by side are provided between the upper blade holder and the frame, a left eccentric shaft (defined by the eccentric shaft used on one end of the rod 4; second paragraph on page 2 of the English translation) is provided at a joint of the left connecting rod and the frame, a right eccentric shaft (defined by the eccentric shaft used on one end of the rod 4; second paragraph on page 2 of the English translation) is provided at a joint of the right connecting rod and the frame, and at least one guide cylinder rod 3 (defined by the variable lateral guide which comprises a hydraulic or a pneumatic piston-cylinder; the large paragraph in the middle of page 4 of the attached English translation) is hinged (defined by the pivot point connection of the end of the guide cylinder rod to the upper blade holder and to the frame; claim 9 and Fig. 2) between the upper blade holder and the frame (Fig. 2), wherein the upper blade holder is provided with a curved knife configured to achieve rolling-motion shearing (as evidenced by the curved upper blade 1 and the rolling shearing action described throughout the reference).
Baur does not explicitly teach that the upper blade holder is configured to replace the curved knife with a straight knife to achieve vertical-motion shearing. Becker teaches a blade holder or lever arm 13 carrying a straight knife blade 12 and further teaches replacing the straight knife blade with a curved knife blade 12a depending upon the cutting operation to be performed (col. 4, lines 61-66; Fig. 5). Therefore, Becker teaches that the same blade holder may selectively receive either a straight blade or a curved blade. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the upper blade holder of Baur to be configured to selectively receive either a straight knife or a curved knife as taught by Becker in order to permit different shearing operations and accommodate different cutting requirements while utilizing the same blade holder structure. Accordingly, the combination of Baur and Becker teaches or suggests wherein the upper blade holder is provided with one of a straight knife or a curved knife, and the upper blade holder is configured to replace a blade with the straight knife to achieve vertical-motion shearing, or with the curved knife to achieve rolling-motion shearing.
Regarding claim 6, Baur teaches everything noted above including that a special-shaped structure of each of the upper blade holder and the lower blade holder on a horizontal projection thereof is in one of a triangular shape, an arc shape, a rectangular shape, or an oblique shape. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
7. Claims 2, 4, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view of Becker and in further view of Ishii et al. (4,079,649), hereinafter Ishii. Regarding claim 2, Baur teaches that guide cylinder 3 and a hinge point between the guide cylinder rod and the upper blade holder is located at a middle of a side in a length direction, or a top-end surface of the upper blade holder, or is located between the middle of the side and the top-end surface. See Fig. 2 in Baur. Baur does not explicitly teach two guide cylinders. However, Ishii teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism including a guide cylinder 17 (similar to the guide cylinder 3 of Baur) connected to an upper blade holder 16 and another guide cylinder 24 also connected to the upper blade holder 16. See Figs. 4-5 in Ishii. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism, as modified by Becker, with another guide cylinder, as taught by Ishii, in order to adjust the gap between the upper and lower blades.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Baur does not explicitly teach that the upper blade holder is provided with at least one sliding plate and roller configured to be in slide cooperation with the frame in the vertical direction. However, Ishii teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism including an upper blade holder 15 is provided with at least one sliding plate 19 and roller 20 configured to be in slide cooperation with a frame 2 in a vertical direction. See Fig. 4 in Ishii. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism with the sliding plate and roller, as taught by Ishii, in order to facilitate vertical sliding of the upper blade holder.
Regarding claim 17, Baur teaches everything noted above including that a special-shaped structure of each of the upper blade holder and the lower blade holder on a horizontal projection thereof is in one of a triangular shape, an arc shape, a rectangular shape, or an oblique shape. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
8. Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view of Becker and in further view of Thomas (DE 102007019963A1) or Ma et al. (CN 107363317 A), hereinafter Ma. Regarding claim 3, Baur does not explicitly teach that the left connecting rod and the right connecting rod are each in a cylinder rod structure. However, Thomas also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 8 and a right connecting rod 8 are each in a cylinder rod structure 21 (Fig. 4). Thomas teaches a left eccentric shaft 10 I provided at a joint of the left connecting rod 8 and a frame (of the shearing apparatus, not shown), and a right eccentric shaft 11 is provided at a joint of the right connecting rod 9 and the frame. Ma also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 1 and a right connecting rod 2 are each in a cylinder rod structure. See Fig. 1 in Ma. It would have been obvious in a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the left and right connecting rods of Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism, as modified by Becker, with a cylinder rod structure, as taught by Thomas or Ma, in order to adjust the vertical position of the upper blade and provide yet another addition movement for the upper blade and enhance versatility of the shearing apparatus.
Regarding claim 18, Baur teaches everything noted above including that a special-shaped structure of each of the upper blade holder and the lower blade holder on a horizontal projection thereof is in one of a triangular shape, an arc shape, a rectangular shape, or an oblique shape. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
9. Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view of Becker and Ishii and in further view of Thomas or Ma. Regarding claim 12, Baur does not explicitly teach that the left connecting rod and the right connecting rod are each in a cylinder rod structure. However, Thomas also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 8 and a right connecting rod 8 are each in a cylinder rod structure 21 (Fig. 4). Thomas teaches a left eccentric shaft 10 I provided at a joint of the left connecting rod 8 and a frame (of the shearing apparatus, not shown), and a right eccentric shaft 11 is provided at a joint of the right connecting rod 9 and the frame. Ma also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 1 and a right connecting rod 2 are each in a cylinder rod structure. See Fig. 1 in Ma. It would have been obvious in a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide left and right connecting rods of Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism, as modified above, with a cylinder rod structure, as taught by Thomas or Ma, in order to adjust the vertical position of the upper blade and provide yet another addition movement for the upper blade and enhance versatility of the shearing apparatus.
10. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view Becker and Thomas or Ma, and in further view of Ishii. Regarding claim 14, Baur does not explicitly teach that the upper blade holder is provided with at least one sliding plate and roller configured to be in slide cooperation with the frame in the vertical direction. However, Ishii teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism including an upper blade holder 15 is provided with at least one sliding plate 19 and roller 20 configured to be in slide cooperation with a frame 2 in a vertical direction. See Fig. 4 in Ishii. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism, as modified above, with the sliding plate and roller, as taught by Ishii, in order to facilitate vertical sliding of the upper blade holder.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant argument that Figs. 1 and 16 show two guide cylinder rod (6) is not persuasive. Figs. 1 and 16 merely show a single guide cylinder rod. Therefore, the objection to the drawings are maintained.
Applicant’s argument that Baur does not teach the amended limitations set forth in claim 1 is not persuasive. First, amended limitation introduces new matter. Second, as shown above Baur in combination with other reference teach the subject matter of claim 1.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Scherbakov et al. (CN 1042677 A), Holton et al. (1,459,889), and Soderberg (1,986,685) teach an intelligent shearing mechanism.
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724
June 23, 2026