Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 2-3 and 12-18) and
Species 1a (Fig. 6), as set forth in the reply filed on 02/13/2026, is acknowledged.
The traversal is based on the assertion that the species restriction is based solely on the figures and that Fig. 6 reads on all species or embodiments illustrated in Figs. 6-9. However, the purpose of the restriction requirement is to ensure that a single species is elected for prosecution of the application. In other words, the Examiner is permitted to focus examination on one species rather than multiple species during prosecution. In addition, the claims may be further amended to reflect the elected species during prosecution.
Moreover, Figs. 6-9 clearly illustrate distinct species. Although the searches for the individual species may overlap to some extent, they do not coincide. A search directed to elected Species Ia would not be sufficient to address the distinct features of non-elected Species Ib-Id. Furthermore, a text and subclass search necessary to locate the specific feature of one species would not necessarily disclose the distinct features of the remaining species. Each species, by virtue of its distinct feature(s), occupies a separate position in the prior art and requires a different field of search.
It should also be noted that Applicant has not elected one species from Group II (Species IIa-IId) corresponding to the elected species in Group I, as required in Item 6 of the Restriction Requirement. In response to this Office Action, Applicant must elect one of the species in Group II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
2. Claims 7-11 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must
show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two guide cylinder rod set forth in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated
by Baur et al. (WO 2011045072 A1), hereinafter Baur (same as CN 102596466 A, cited in the IDS filled on 10/03/2023), as is evidenced in Fig. 5 of Ma et al. CN 107363317 A; and Soderberg (1,986,685)).
Regarding claim 1, Baur teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism, comprising an upper blade holder (defined by the holder of the upper blade 1 which is connected to the drive device 4; Fig. 2) and a lower blade holder (defined by the holder that is connected to the lower blade 2; best shown in Fig. 1c) that are provided on a frame (defined by the frame of the shearing machine that accommodates the upper and lower blades, as is evidenced in Fig. 5 of Ma et al. CN 107363317 A; and Soderberg (1,986,685)) and arranged correspondingly in a vertical direction, wherein a left connecting rod 4 and a right connecting rod 4 that are arranged side by side are provided between the upper blade holder and the frame, a left eccentric shaft (defined by the eccentric shaft used on one end of the rod 4; second paragraph on page 2 of the English translation) is provided at a joint of the left connecting rod and the frame, a right eccentric shaft (defined by the eccentric shaft used on one end of the rod 4; second paragraph on page 2 of the English translation) is provided at a joint of the right connecting rod and the frame, and at least one guide cylinder rod 3 (defined by the variable lateral guide which comprises a hydraulic or a pneumatic piston-cylinder; the large paragraph in the middle of page 4 of the attached English translation) is hinged (defined by the pivot point connection of the end of the guide cylinder rod to the upper blade holder and to the frame; claim 9 and Fig. 2) between the upper blade holder and the frame (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Baur teaches everything noted above including that
the upper blade holder is provided with one of a straight knife, an oblique knife, a concave knife, or a curved knife. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
Regarding claim 6, Baur teaches everything noted above including that a special-shaped structure of each of the upper blade holder and the lower blade holder on a horizontal projection thereof is in one of a triangular shape, an arc shape, a rectangular shape, or an oblique shape. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
7. Claims 2, 4, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view of Ishii et al. (4,079,649), hereinafter Ishii. Regarding claim 2, Baur teaches that guide cylinder 3 and a hinge point between the guide cylinder rod and the upper blade holder is located at a middle of a side in a length direction, or a top-end surface of the upper blade holder, or is located between the middle of the side and the top-end surface. See Fig. 2 in Baur. Baur does not explicitly teach two guide cylinders. However, Ishii teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism including a guide cylinder 17 (similar to the guide cylinder 3 of Baur) connected to an upper blade holder 16 and another guide cylinder 24 also connected to the upper blade holder 16. See Figs. 4-5 in Ishii. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism with another guide cylinder, as taught by Ishii, in order to adjust the gap between the upper and lower blades.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Baur does not explicitly teach that the upper blade holder is provided with at least one sliding plate and roller configured to be in slide cooperation with the frame in the vertical direction. However, Ishii teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism including an upper blade holder 15 is provided with at least one sliding plate 19 and roller 20 configured to be in slide cooperation with a frame 2 in a vertical direction. See Fig. 4 in Ishii. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism with the sliding plate and roller, as taught by Ishii, in order to facilitate vertical sliding of the upper blade holder.
Regarding claim 15, Baur teaches everything noted above including that
the upper blade holder is provided with one of a straight knife, an oblique knife, a concave knife, or a curved knife. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
Regarding claim 17, Baur teaches everything noted above including that a special-shaped structure of each of the upper blade holder and the lower blade holder on a horizontal projection thereof is in one of a triangular shape, an arc shape, a rectangular shape, or an oblique shape. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
8. Claims 3, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view Thomas (DE 102007019963A1) or Ma et al. (CN 107363317 A), hereinafter Ma. Regarding claim 3, Baur does not explicitly teach that the left connecting rod and the right connecting rod are each in a cylinder rod structure. However, Thomas also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 8 and a right connecting rod 8 are each in a cylinder rod structure 21 (Fig. 4). Thomas teaches a left eccentric shaft 10 I provided at a joint of the left connecting rod 8 and a frame (of the shearing apparatus, not shown), and a right eccentric shaft 11 is provided at a joint of the right connecting rod 9 and the frame.
Ma also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 1 and a right connecting rod 2 are each in a cylinder rod structure. See Fig. 1 in Ma. It would have been obvious in a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s left and right connecting rods with a cylinder rod structure, as taught by Thomas or Ma, in order to adjust the vertical position of the upper blade and provide yet another addition movement for the upper blade and enhance versatility of the shearing apparatus.
Regarding claim 16, Baur teaches everything noted above including that
the upper blade holder is provided with one of a straight knife, an oblique knife, a concave knife, or a curved knife. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
Regarding claim 18, Baur teaches everything noted above including that a special-shaped structure of each of the upper blade holder and the lower blade holder on a horizontal projection thereof is in one of a triangular shape, an arc shape, a rectangular shape, or an oblique shape. See Fig. 2 in Baur.
9. Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view of Ishii and in further view of Thomas or Ma. Regarding claim 12, Baur does not explicitly teach that the left connecting rod and the right connecting rod are each in a cylinder rod structure. However, Thomas also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 8 and a right connecting rod 8 are each in a cylinder rod structure 21 (Fig. 4). Thomas teaches a left eccentric shaft 10 I provided at a joint of the left connecting rod 8 and a frame (of the shearing apparatus, not shown), and a right eccentric shaft 11 is provided at a joint of the right connecting rod 9 and the frame. Ma also teaches a shearing apparatus including a left connecting rod 1 and a right connecting rod 2 are each in a cylinder rod structure. See Fig. 1 in Ma. It would have been obvious in a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide left and right connecting rods of Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism, as modified by Ishii, with a cylinder rod structure, as taught by Thomas or Ma, in order to adjust the vertical position of the upper blade and provide yet another addition movement for the upper blade and enhance versatility of the shearing apparatus.
10. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur in view Thomas or Ma and in further view of Ishii. Regarding claim 14, Baur does not explicitly teach that the upper blade holder is provided with at least one sliding plate and roller configured to be in slide cooperation with the frame in the vertical direction. However, Ishii teaches an intelligent shearing mechanism including an upper blade holder 15 is provided with at least one sliding plate 19 and roller 20 configured to be in slide cooperation with a frame 2 in a vertical direction. See Fig. 4 in Ishii. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Baur’s intelligent shearing mechanism, as modified by Thomas or Ma, with the sliding plate and roller, as taught by Ishii, in order to facilitate vertical sliding of the upper blade holder.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Brozym (4,228,706), Ikeda (4,507,997), Morgan (2,351,868), Soderberg (1,986,685), Hishiuma et al. (4,145,942), and Portman (4,156,387) teach an intelligent shearing mechanism.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724
February 23, 2026